Find companies:
24 Hour Fitness
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
486 reviews

24 Hour Fitness Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to develop interpersonal skills
Membership Councilor (Former Employee), Fontana, CANovember 18, 2014
Pros: free gym membership!
Cons: disconnect between corporate and management
This job allowed me to:
-Develop coaching and development skills
-Establish professional relationships
-Fine tune my managerial style
-Coach fellow team members
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Atmosphere
Membership Counselor (Former Employee), St. Louis, MONovember 15, 2014
Pros: free membership
Cons: no advancement
• A consistent top performer in sales over the last three years. Often #1 in sales for the St. Louis and Memphis District. Internal and external marketing efforts used to drive sales.
o Collaborated with Management Staff to develop plans to meet Club goals for sales and service.
o Acted as the Club Manager during management vacations and on off shifts.
o – more... Participated in St. Louis Area Club Manager Meetings.
o Provided training and mentoring of new sales associates.
o Consulted with Club Managers from other St. Louis locations on my sales techniques at their request.
o Assisted with front desk duties to broaden experience and provide coverage when needed.
o Conducted facility tours and equipment demonstrations.
o Assisted members with training when trainers were not available. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very rewarding job
Personal Trainer (Former Employee), Tualatin, ORNovember 13, 2014
Pros: great work environment, great clientele
Cons: hectic schedule, big breaks in the middle of the day
A typical day at work included training clients and managing their accounts. I learned an incredible amount while working here. I learned a lot of different teaching techniques, training styles, and how to go about programming workouts for several months. The management was great, they for the most part left the trainers on their own and just had monthly – more... check ins with them. My co-workers were all great and fun to be around and talk to. It was always nice to have other people to bounce ideas and concepts off of and to get new ideas on how to motivate and train my own clients. The hardest part of this job was sacrificing a lot of my personal life for others. I had a very hectic schedule and would train clients whenever they could fit it in. I never learned to say no and would always rearrange my schedule to fit them in. I would sometimes be at work at 5am for a client, then on the same day I would have a client at 8pm and leave the gym around 9pm. The most enjoyable part of this job was working with people who were excited to see me. I was getting my clients results quickly and they loved me for it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I just didn't like it
Child Care Associate (Former Employee), Katy, TxNovember 13, 2014
Managers were just rude all the time. I didn't like it but it was my first job so I stayed there for two years
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Life Balance
Service Manager (Current Employee), North Hollywood, CANovember 10, 2014
Pros: free gym membership and discount on personal training
Cons: you cannot please everyone.
A typical at work involves handling team member and member concerns. Everyday is unique and exciting. Working at 24 Hour Fitness has taught me how to prioritize and organize. Being an effective communicator is key and setting a clear vision is important to lead a winning team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work enviornment!
Membership Counselor (Current Employee), Pasadena, TXNovember 10, 2014
Greet all members and introduce myself to prospective members. Give a tour of 24 Hour Fitness and build rapport with new clients. Talk to prospective members about the different membership offers 24 Hour Fitness offers, as well as informing them about classes and our certified personal trainers to help reach their goals. Management at 24 Hour is really – more... wonderful. Getting the job done and training new employees is at the top of their schedule, as well as keeping an up to date facility. The hardest part of this job is when the foot traffic is slow, we can't really sell memberships. However, if that is the case then we get on the phone and invite people in the gym and get to know them over the phone. My favorite part about being a membership counselor is seeing your members hold themselves accountable to exercise and see them change not only physically but mentally as well. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
There can be no excuse not to exercise, when 1 company offers it 24 hours a day!
Certified Personal Trainer, General Manager (Former Employee), Denver, CONovember 7, 2014
Pros: i was blessed with an opportunity to work in an environment, where i was saving and changing lives every day!
Cons: the energy of the company in which it was founded, changed when it was sold by mark mastrov to carl leibert.
If you prefer to live, breathe, and sleep fitness, this is the place for you to be!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun environment
Front Desk Consultant/Trainer (Former Employee), Austin, TXNovember 7, 2014
easy place to work at but needed a change and more pay. I would greet every guest with a smile and I would also keep all gym equipment up to par.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Career Starter
Operations Manager (Former Employee), Richardson, TXNovember 6, 2014
Pros: fun staff
Great place to start your career and as an operations manager lean how to manage people in an ever changing environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fitness For Everyone
Membership Counselor (Former Employee), Portland, ORNovember 4, 2014
I was with 24 Hour Fitness for many years and enjoyed this company a lot. Everyday I assisted in helping people making healthy choices through fitness and nutrition. This was the greatest reward of my job.

This job allowed me to meet and impact lives of several individuals in my community. Going to work always felt more like going to workout and since – more... I love working out this was always a perk. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work on sales presentations
Membership Sales Manager (Former Employee), Colorado Springs, CONovember 4, 2014
• Mentored a group of 5 sales counselors and 1 assistant membership manger to maximize sales in the membership and personal training department
• Helped clients reach their fitness goals
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work, but not really a great place if you are serious about a fitness career
Personal Trainer (Former Employee), Berkeley, CANovember 1, 2014
Pros: fun and easy job
Cons: lower income
Overall, I had a good amount of fun working for 24, I just couldn't see leading a sustainable lifestyle working here. There was no education and not that much room for growth.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Fitness Center
Membership Manager (Former Employee), Arnold, MoOctober 30, 2014
Avg equipment and laskluster upper mgmnt. Excessive berating of potential members through constant phone calling and email blitz.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace but sometimes too much stress.
facility technician (Former Employee), San Francisco, CAOctober 27, 2014
Im not happy if there are two or more machines that are broken in two or three days. Its good to learn more about water analysis. Fixing machines by trial and error is one of the most that I don't like and trying to avoid . Facility techs. compensation should be taking care of because of too much scope within it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work you into the ground type of company
Service Manager (Former Employee), San JoseOctober 23, 2014
Cons: bad managers
not a great place to work they care more about production than anything, total sales environment. Room for growth if your willing to work horrible hours and hustle for little money. Rewards not worth the work
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ITs alot about who you Know
Membership Manager (Current Employee), Dallas, TXOctober 22, 2014
I was hired as an external and being that I hadn't been with the company for 5 or more years than I felt helpless and singled out for that.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laid back easy going job
Service Representative/Membership Counselor (Former Employee), Rohnert Park, CAOctober 22, 2014
Pros: being able to see multiple people in one day
Cons: no stable hours
Providing customer service to guest’s that come in the gym while attending the front desk. Giving Tours of the facility and selling gym memberships. Answering telephone inquiries and setting appointments for possible enrollments. Selling personal training packages/programs to members and guest that need a structured program to help them succeed with – more... their fitness goals – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educational
Member Counselor (Former Employee), Chula Vista CA 91911October 18, 2014
Got to be part of others goals, I helped people pick out training programs to get them to their health goals and, learned in the process. made many new acquaintances and even work out partners.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Opportunities
Service Rep I (Former Employee), victorville, caOctober 14, 2014
Pros: free gym membership for you and husband and kids!
Cons: pay isn't that good starting off.
Fun work place to see members transform, and form relationships with members.
Coworkers can be a little catty and drama but mind your business and work on moving up in the company and it can happen fast!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good entry level job not a career
Membership Counselor (Former Employee), Lancaster, CAOctober 14, 2014
Pros: free membership, flexible hours
Cons: compensation, angry customers
I worked as a sales person, a trainer and as a front desk person. Ther environment was always fun and always had great coworkers and managers. The issue with 24 is that EVERY position is designed to make you easy to replace. The company will basically only pay you minimum wage and has no interest in developing you past that. Managers only seem to get – more... to their positions by knowing someone at the top or by being top sales people (which they generally achieve through shady business practices). I am not saying that it's that way for everyone but for the most part that is what I observed. If you are looking for a part time job or just want to get some experience on your resume than working for 24 is great. If you have a family to support, are looking for a career or have real bills to pay then don't waste your time because this company doesn't care about you. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About 24 Hour Fitness

24 Hour Fitness Worldwide, the world's largest privately owned and operated fitness center chain, began as a one-club operation – Read more

24 Hour Fitness Photos