3M Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place 15 years ago
Technical Support Specialist (Former Employee) –  Murray, UTDecember 7, 2017
I can't say what it's like now but I loved working there. Things started changing right after I started. The new CEO started cutting programs but the people working there were great. After two years they started voluntary lay-offs. I took it as I had other life changes happening.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good company with chances to move up if you work hard.
miner (Current Employee) –  Little Rock, ARDecember 7, 2017
3m is a very good company to work for. They pay you well and the benefits are through the roof. I started at 3m in the spring of 2014 and by that fall I was crew lead and running my own crew.
Pros
Pay, chances to move up.
Cons
Communication bad some times.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive challaging
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  New Ulm, MNDecember 7, 2017
3M is a company that provides many services. A typical day is checking parts for quality and packaging it for either a direct supplier or another area to be finished
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not good company
Utility Operator/Intern (Current Employee) –  Buffalo, NYDecember 6, 2017
Racist people poor management seniority rules this place. They treat their temps like trash. Hope my reviews help people decide if they want to work here
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very hard paced very demanding work environment
Materials Control Analyst (Former Employee) –  Northridge, CADecember 5, 2017
Expectation was so high dealing with 3-4 groups, it was impossible to complete the task given deadline by the management. It was impossible to please the management however hard you worked.
Pros
Great Company to work if the management was the right one
Cons
Lot of times difficult to take breaks, lunch due to project deadlines.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Overall place to work.
Carbon Senior Operator (Current Employee) –  Eagan, MNDecember 4, 2017
A typical days includes doing inventory, planning daily activities, and supporting crew members. I am given the authority to order raw material for my department when needed, so I have to pay close attention to raw material count. I need to plan out my day so that i can make enough material for production to run. When I am done with batching material for production to run, I go help them on the production floor. The people are friendly, but management is hard to engage.
Pros
paid lunch
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice people
Quality Engineering Co-op Student (Current Employee) –  Lexington, KYDecember 4, 2017
I'm just an intern so i didnt get a lot of the benefits others did. However, my work hours were more flexible. I learned a lot and actually had a fair amount of flexibility.
Pros
nice people
Cons
upper management weren't super interactive
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced
Wharehouse worker (Former Employee) –  DeKalb, ILDecember 2, 2017
they use people up then throw them away. they cant keep workers
anymore they try to fire you from day one .they yelled at us one day about the heat bill and told us it was only for our comfort. it was a big bill (so what).That is the price of doing business
Pros
good pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productivity
Manufacturing Technician (Former Employee) –  Chelmsford, MADecember 1, 2017
good place to work, different experiences, knowledge about diferents machines like goodman, eubanks and spooling, calibrate and adjust equipment. good
Pros
quiet place
Cons
no benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Pay and Benefits
Production Worker (Current Employee) –  Cumberland, WINovember 28, 2017
The pay and benefits are very good with this company. The swing shift schedule makes it hard to keep good sleep patterns. I ended up tired all the time on swing shift. Most days are busy and fly by.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport

Want to know more about 3M?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company
Senior Program Manager, Consultant (Current Employee) –  Maplewood, MNNovember 27, 2017
- Excellent company
- Good working culture
- Flexible hours
- Great management
- Challenging work
- Free parking
- Decent lunch
- Farmer's Market on site in the summer
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High paced workplace
Quality Systems Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Decatur, ALNovember 27, 2017
Job I was involved in was a one of a kind so not much opportunity for growth after topping out. Worked long hours and sometimes from home. Excellent Manager who was very supportive and backup if needed.
Pros
Good benefit package and working hours.
Cons
Long work hours and responsibilities
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
General Assembly (Former Employee) –  Columbia, MONovember 22, 2017
3m is a great work environment. It's just like one big family everyone helps take care of everyone. The pay is great and management is awesome as well.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Mature Professional Environment
Data Analyst, (Contractor) (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXNovember 21, 2017
I was a contractor, but 3M was nice place to work. The employees were friendly, no drama. Everyone seems to be dedicated to their jobs and loyal to the company. 3M offers extracurricular programs and training to employees and contractors. There seems to be lots of opportunities for employees to develop and acquire new skill sets. However, changes are slow. Patience is a requirement.
Pros
Pleasant working environment. Everyone seems to be treated the same.
Cons
Slow to make changes. Process improvement changes needed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Impressions
Licensing Paralegal (Former Employee) –  Saint Paul, MNNovember 17, 2017
HUGE company, hard for me to wrap my head around. My immediate manager was very good, and my immediate worktasks a good fit. Immediate coworkers very good as well.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working culture friendly and helpful team
Independent contractor - Software Developer (Former Employee) –  Maplewood, MNNovember 16, 2017
good work balance despite being on call after working hours
this was a conversion and new access control system implementation assignment.
i finished my portion of the project and then started to do customer support and ticket resolution
Pros
Good team
Cons
old technologies and little chance for change to newer technologies
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Learning based Culture
Global Marketing Manager (Former Employee) –  Saint Paul, MNNovember 15, 2017
Fantastic people and culture. Work is always interesting since company is in so many different markets and technologies. Great opportunities for global experiences
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
3M was an excellent place to work.
Quality Control Analyst (Former Employee) –  Auburn, MANovember 14, 2017
a typical day at work - Do my job and interact with very good people.
excellent work environment
What I leaned - I developed good skills working with different
equipment. Work to the maximum with minimum time
How to work with very diverse group of people.
Management - excellent
workplace culture - Diverse - representatives of different social,
cultural, ethnicity and religious group.
The hardest part of the job - commute during winter time.
The most enjoyable part of my job - Every time that I saw the final
good product of my work.
Always had good reviews.
Pros
very flexible time to work.
Cons
company moving to another state.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
3M Treats Contract Workers Like Garbage
Sales Analyst (Current Employee) –  Murray, UTNovember 14, 2017
If I had it to do over again, after having been here for almost a year, I would never have accepted this job. They treat contract workers like they are trash. They have parties and free food and make sure you know that you are not invited or welcome to eat the food or participate in any way. They even have meetings that will include treats that you will not be included. It's appalling! And THEN all of their employees keep giving you some story as to why they feel it's ok to treat you so poorly. What a joke!
Pros
Some of the people I worked with were nice
Cons
Everything Else
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great pay and benefits, terrible management
Production Operator (Current Employee) –  Ames, IANovember 13, 2017
If you are a drone, you will be fine here. If you have a brain or an opinion of any source, this may not be your bag. The work is fine, the pay is great, the coworkers are mostly great and helpful, but management at all levels in the Ames plant is pretty much an unfunny joke.
Pros
pay, benefits, mind-numbing work
Cons
no reward for hard work, management treats you like you should do as they say without question and not complain, working 60+ hour weeks several weeks in a row, hot and sweaty
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport