5.11 TACTICAL Employee Reviews

Found 18 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This place is a real dump
Material Handler/Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Modesto, CAJuly 31, 2017
This company is not what I expected
The people look like zombies and there is no night shift. The leads are supposed to helpful seems like they care less than the workers.
Pros
Free lunch on friday
Cons
Management is terrible
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits. Better not make waves
Shift Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CAJuly 30, 2017
I was a shift supervisor for a store location. The HR department for 5.11 is terrible. I endured harassment and mistreatment from a manager for personal vendetta. They never offered true solution and I never felt protected. 5.11 offers great benefits. But unless you shuffle along and get along there is no room for advancement. I didn't expect for a company that hired me with promises of we are all family environment to treat anyone who brought up HR concerns would get black listed.
Pros
Benefits, comission.
Cons
Poor HR policies. No protection or support. Unless you are management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The company itself is great, fun. Management is awful
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Modesto, CAJuly 18, 2017
5.11 is a good company to work for, providing you are not in the customer service department. Management micromanages and quick to point out errors but not there to encourage. Once you get on their bad side, you're "dead" to them. VP and the higher ups, praise customer service team for exemplery dedication to their customers, then management destroys all comradary. There is no room for advancement unless you're their favorite.
Pros
Friday lunches, great benefits, matches 401K
Cons
Bad management
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The story about growth is a lie.
Leader (Current Employee) –  IrvineJune 19, 2017
They're going to tell you that 5.11 is a great place to work, and that they're growing. That's a not true.

They've shrunk from a $300 million company five years ago to a $293 million company last year. Just google their earnings. That doesn't lie.

They're trying desperately to save this dying beast. That's where the stress and the issues come in. Their culture is a joke. You can feel the stress in the air.

The management is constantly pressing to try and save the company. They're always changing everything to try and save their own hides.

It's a boys club. As a woman, it was torturous. I paid less and treated poorly. It's a testosterone filled vat of misogyny. You're expected to fawn over the men in leadership and like their geniuses. When the truth is they're running this place into the ground.

P.S. They'll tell you it's amazing that their ethos accounts for half of your employee. It's a trap. It gives them carte blanche to base and deny you opportunity regardless of your performance.
Pros
Employee discount
Cons
Culture
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work. Lots of fun people to meet.
Shift Supervisor (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CAApril 15, 2017
Every day is a new challenge. We get to help people solve problems they didn't think they could. We get to help law enforcement every day with the products they need to keep them selves safe or productive.
Pros
Fast growing company. Interesting challenges everyday
Cons
Young company not a lot of room to grow at the moment
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Custom shop employee (Former Employee) –  Modesto, CAFebruary 1, 2017
5.11 Tactical is a great place to work, willing to train and allow advancement. The management team is supportive, considerate and fun. Production is fast paced and keeps you busy.
Pros
Fun
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a great place
Director (Former Employee) –  Irvine, CAJanuary 24, 2017
Was a great place when the founder and his initial managers were there. Then during the TA years a new CEO and high priced consultant came on and changed everything.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive place to work at with home gym
Forklift Operator/Material Handler (Current Employee) –  Modesto, CAJanuary 18, 2017
511 is nice to work at the people are friendly, everyone is willing to help eachother out, if you ever have a problem you can ask anybody.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Growing Company
Forecasting & Inventory Management (Former Employee) –  Irvine, CAJanuary 14, 2016
Wonderful culture and good people. Experiencing some growing pains but growth is good! Management is pretty approachable. Unique business model can cause a learning curve.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
511
Inbound/ Recieving (Former Employee) –  Tracy, CAAugust 15, 2015
i loved working there it was a fun friendly environment. It was definitely the type of job that makes you push yourself. Overall 511 is a great company that has it's perks
Pros
free friday lunches
Cons
time demanding
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work environment that placed great emphasis on customer service
Receptionist/Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Modesto, CaJanuary 9, 2015
High paced work place that prided themselves on creating a product that was respected by service men and women.
5.11 Tactical had a mission to ensure employees were trained and updated in all aspects of job requirements.
I enjoyed to culture of 5.11, employees were approachable no matter what their position in the company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 12Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Like walking on egg shells
developer (Current Employee) –  irvine, caOctober 11, 2013
Poor management, micro managers who are unqualified to be development management. People are afraid to be themselves. Lots of gossiping and secret meetings
Pros
discount is good
Cons
incompetent manager
Was this review helpful?Yes 33No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never bored
Credit and Collections Analyst (Current Employee) –  Modesto, CAJuly 24, 2013
Daily busy,busy,busy !!!
Always have something to learn.

Lot's of changes happening. A lot of employees moving to
southern California.
Pros
Great Company
Cons
Possible closure and moving to Irvine, Ca
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 12Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people who are passionate about where they work
E-Commerce Marketing Manager (Current Employee) –  Modesto, CAJuly 18, 2013
5.11 is a growing company who has just moved past the founder stage and while becoming more structured like a corporation they are maintaining a culture that still involves some of the fun aspects of a smaller organization. The CEO is still easily accessible to any employee.

At 5.11 I had my hands in every aspect of the online initiatives. As such I learned to create successful campaigns that were unified across multiple marketing channels with specific budget allocations. I managed nearly the entire budget for advertising which required the ability to make educated decisions quickly based on a combination of all available data as well as market experience. This is not a job for the faint of heart as one must take calculated risks with large amounts of money on a daily basis and provide results analysis for the outcome.

The most enjoyable part of this job is the challenge and the opportunity to grow company with a great product offering.
Pros
Free lunch Fridays, Employee Product Discount, Good People
Cons
Some roles are still loosely defined
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 13Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Organized and fun team
Social Media Specialist (Current Employee) –  Irvine, CAJanuary 4, 2013
I write and organize a monthly prospective social media calendar that can be modified to fit upcoming events and last minute messages for our online community.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 19Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No room for error
Customer Service/Data (Former Employee) –  Modesto, CAJune 27, 2012
The department I was in is great, however there was no room for error.
Pros
free lunch on friday
Cons
health care
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 13Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
high stress, low wage, catered lunch on fridays, awesome discount
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Modesto, CANovember 15, 2011
The owner really struggled in his younger life, so he knows the value of a good employer and employee. So it's difficult to understand why he employes managers who are cruel and mean spirited. They seek to make employees afraid of them. I have seen countless people fired and careers ruined for naught. I deeply regret ever taking employment at this place. But a good company to do business with. Not to work for.
Pros
free lunch catered on friday and quarterly, awesome product discount
Cons
if you're not good at brown nosing, this job will ruin your career.
Was this review helpful?Yes 44No 5Report

See more 5.11 TACTICAL reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at 5.11 TACTICAL. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 19 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
2.9
Management
2.7
Culture
3.3