5/3 Bank Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 23 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome management
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHMarch 22, 2016
I had an awesome experience working fifth third I had great co-workers and an awesome manager, a typical work day was about friendly competitions between coworker while still having fun the hardest but ultimately rewarding part about the job were the customers, getting to help them out with their needs and helping them save money any way possible.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLOctober 21, 2015
The benefits are among one of the major reasons anyone might strive to work at this company. Paid tuition is also a PLUS! GREAT PLACE
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Consumer Contact Center Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Grand Rapids, MISeptember 9, 2015
I have learned a lot in my tenure at the bank, and feel it is a great place to learn and grow. There are many opportunities to learn different lines of business, and to grow your knowledge of the financial world.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and excellent on boarding training.
Lead Teller (Former Employee) –  Fort Myers, FLAugust 21, 2015
Enjoyed working with the bank. Company offers plenty of job advancement opportunities with excellent benefits for their employees. Worked with a great team during my time in the branch and in operations.
Pros
Benefits, career advancement, positive work environment
Cons
Large corporation, risk of robbery
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
5/3
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAAugust 16, 2015
Small bank, small staff that are invested in helping customers and working together. Management is supportive and determined to promote employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and great place to grow
Personal Banker (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLAugust 6, 2015
It is a very fast paced environment that still allows the interaction between co-workers to be able to better serve the customer and to help each other grow personally and professionally.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work relationship between tellers.
Teller/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Smyrna, TNJune 9, 2015
I had good support from fellow tellers. I had two managers leave the branch during my time there, so it wasn't a stable work environment. The staff that was there the whole time I was employed was amazing. I was offered the job as a teller for 4 months and at that point I was supposed to be promoted to personal banker. However, I had paid out for the test and training and they denied me the position to hire another employee for the position.
Pros
good support system from other tellers, good benefits.
Cons
no stable management, no scheduled breaks cause short staff.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Everbody has to start somewhere
MERCHANT SERVICES SALES CONSULTANT (Former Employee) –  Mission Viejo, CAFebruary 9, 2015
100% You are your own boss, except you were micromanaged by 2 vp's and a sales manager. Half the employees were let go when they failed their background check that should of been at time of hire, even my first sales manager. It was a good place to get my feet wet in the payments industry
Pros
free training
Cons
micro managing straight commission employees
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical day as an OutReach Advisor
OutReach Advisor (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NC, Columbus Ohio, Cleveland OhioJanuary 23, 2015
We were held accountable by doing Daily Reports of all contacts made the prior day - Our schedules were flexible in the sense that our first stop at a customers home was around 8:00am --- We would end up working till 9:00pm depending on how our day went --- our main objective was to catch the Consumer at home and offer them several options in bringing their accounts current -- We worked from our home offices - Our incentive was based on how many contacts were made and how we were going to assist in correcting their situation at hand...The hardest thing about the job was making the initial contact and then not working more then 40 hours per week --- the most rewarding part of the job --- was making contact with these folks - while working with them in finding a resolve to their current situation --- it was great in knowing that I was apart of the process of allowing our Customers to stay in their homes.
Pros
working one on one with the customer, the incentive, flixability of schedule
Cons
we were unable to work more then 40 hours per week
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and great place to work
Teller (Former Employee) –  Fort Myers, FLSeptember 17, 2014
I learned alot about how to handle money. A typical day at work consisted of getting all of the work done for the day including attending to all the customers that walked through the door and satisfied their needs, but with also having room to be able to play and communicate with one another once all the work was completed. The most challenging part of the job would have to had been trying to meet all the goals for the day such as trying to get customers to open up new products that would benefit them. The most enjoyable part was being able to work with all the teammates even if we did not meet goals, we always tried coming up with another plan for the next day that could possibly help us more then the day before.
Was this review helpful?YesNo3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
5/3 is a great place to work
Network Control Operator (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHJune 27, 2014
A well managed company that is supportive of both employees and the community.
Pros
good work environment
Cons
...
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Forever A Teller
Customer Service Representitve (Current Employee) –  usaJune 27, 2014
Banking is way better than retail, better pay, paid holidays, good benifits, and great hours...but if you want to advance, forget about it.

The "higher-ups" are snobbish, fake, and lie so much, they begin to believe it. Your told what you want to hear, in order for them to get what they want out of you, referals! Every day, you are pushed to meet goals, and get product referals. And when you exceed your goals, they go up. There are some small incentives, but they sell you a whole idea of making $100s extra on checks, and that's almost impossible. When you do outshine the others, you're, again, told what you want to hear (promotions for example) and when time comes for that "promise" something falls through. "BUT WAIT, in 3 more months, this will happen!" and then, as history so often repeats itself, it doesn't work out. I couldn't begin to tell you the "butt-kissing" that goes on at 5/3. In order to grow, you have to minipulate, lie, even cheat your way to the top.That's not in my character to do so, and because of that, I will never be more then a teller here.
Pros
banking hours
Cons
basically you fight a losing battle.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
coffee shop
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  DeLand, FLJune 26, 2014
Family business. Internship offered. great venue and management
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
job description
Disputes Resolution Specialist (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHApril 9, 2014
answering incoming calls in a fast pace call center environment. De-escalating calls and speaking with customers who claim that they have fraud or billing errors on their bank accounts.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
best bank to be with
teller (Current Employee) –  Sharonville, OHFebruary 17, 2014
A bank that really care about its customers and its employees. The environment is fun, great and the management team always keep you on your toes.
Pros
love the environment
Cons
no breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNo3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun flexable atmosphere
Mortgage Loan Originator (Former Employee) –  Lexington, KYOctober 14, 2013
 Consult with clients purchasing first home, refinancing for debt consolidation, or exploring options for downsizing.
Pros
fun flexable atmosphere
Cons
100 % comission
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
While the work doesn't follow you home, you waste your life on the job.
CSR Teller (Former Employee) –  Bellevue, KYJune 29, 2013
5/3 Bank was known for being a local bank where the people working in the branch nearest you had a vested interest in providing the local economy with helpful banking services, contributing to the positive growth and development of the community. At some point, corporate policies moved in the direction of a sales only motivated environment.

Currently, all 5/3 personnel are faced with a monthly sales goal regardless of the condition of the local economy. While I was employed there, the focus went from providing the customer with only the financial services needed in the most prompt manner possible so as not to hold up their day. That all changed when each and every person in what was re-titled the "retail center" (notice, no mention of it being a BANK) was held to a hardline monthly sales point goal. Conversations with customers went from being one on one between the customer and the teller the customer chose to every teller vying for the attention of the customer with the intent to sell them any financial product possible so as to meet your monthly sales goal. Subsequently, customers were bombarded with requests by tellers to add numerous financial products to existing accounts, and to spread their money across as many accounts as possible within the limits of minimum necessary balances to open a new account.
Pros
located in a nice part of a pleasant little river town.
Cons
all of 5/3 bank.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stressfull
Personal Banker II (Former Employee) –  Waukegan, ILMarch 20, 2013
conference call at 8:00 am/ meet with staff, go over goals for the day/check ins at 10:00 am, 12 noon to see how much you sold to report at 1:00 pm your sales/ coach the staff throughout the day on how many units were cross sold what they said and what went wrong if they did not sell, conference call at 3pm and last one at 6pm.
On night calling more conference calls, management was very aggressive and micromanage employees. The co workers were all burned out. The hardest part of the job was that the bar never stood still, when you reached your goal with high sacrifices it was raised again. Solving customers needs was the most enjoyable part of my job
Pros
excellent customer service
Cons
unable to please everyone
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent Job
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  East Lansing, MIFebruary 28, 2013
I like my branch, my coworkers and the values, however I don't think the compensation is adequate.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Staff is expected to produce high volume error free work for very low pay compensation. Makes this mundane entry level position extremely stressful.
Payment Processor (Current Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHJuly 16, 2012
Fast-pace work environment with very little down time and a very high error free expectation.
Pros
great benefits
Cons
little to no down time, low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNo

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 23 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture