84 Lumber Company Employee Reviews in United States

Found 208 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
amazing 6 years that i worked there.
Yard Manager (Former Employee) –  Pataskala, OHFebruary 29, 2016
84 lumber/ Helton Trucking was a great company to work for, I was a yard manager meaning I built loads and made sure everything was right an ready to be put on the truck, when good to go I loaded an unloaded any trucks using a forklift.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
challenging
Management Trainee (Former Employee) –  Jeffersonville, INFebruary 28, 2016
We never had all the people we were expected to. I had to do the job of multiple people while learning and doing my own job. It was hard work but it made me value quality jobs that much more
Pros
made me value a good job
Cons
not enought workers
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Insulation Installer (Former Employee) –  Toledo, OHApril 11, 2016
load up , rout out , insulate, forklift , go home when job is done, unload, prepare for next day, fill out all paperwork, respond to calls drive box truck ,complete work orders
Pros
good money
Cons
closed
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard tow work in the summer.
Yard worker (Former Employee) –  Yuma, AZMay 15, 2016
Summer time is the hardest when working outside in Yuma. I enjoyed learning new things with my boss. I wanted to move up within the company to grow a career.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place
Door & Window Installer (Former Employee) –  Lubbock,TXMay 9, 2016
installing doors and windows
good customer service
great manager
great co-workers
heavy lifting
everything is enjoyable
Pros
8-5 weekends off
Cons
lay offs
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
General Laborer (Former Employee) –  Bakersfield, CAMay 12, 2016
Working with this company was a different experience than what I'm used to but it was a great place to work I enjoyed the staff and the management team
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Contractor Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Butler, PAFebruary 7, 2016
incentive based pay really allows for you to want to push yourself and you are permitted many freedoms which is very nice
Pros
too many to name
Cons
you can burn yourself sometimes as with any job, cold buildings
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good stable work, poor managment
manager (Former Employee) –  fairless hills, paOctober 6, 2015
good face paced work environment with a mix of sales and customer service. the management structure is horrible, store manager doesn't properly delegate responsibilities.
Was this review helpful?Yes9No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job
Management (Current Employee) –  Martinsville, INMay 3, 2016
Good place to work.
Work 48 hours a week.
I work with a good group of people.
You work with the customers and sales while making bid estimates.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company to be creative with the customers and finding their needs.
manager trainee to co mgr to mgr to salesman (Former Employee) –  southeast territoriesDecember 12, 2015
Great company to get promoted within. learned many things from electrical to plumbing not to mention lumber . great atomsphere. to bad they closed the dooors when the economy fell in mississippi
Pros
ability to meet new people from all around
Cons
weather
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2

Want to know more about 84 Lumber Company?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very hard work
Yard Worker (Former Employee) –  hanahan, mdSeptember 28, 2015
I cut the LVL and I-joist, the work was very physically demanding. Almost everyday was busy and I had to come in with the attitude that I knew I was going to have to work hard or we would fall behind.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent Company to work for
yard assocoaite (Former Employee) –  mt. pleasant, paJuly 25, 2015
• Builds loads for delivery
• Load and unload lumber and building supplies to/from delivery truck
• Operates forklift
• Keeps management apprised of any delays or discrepancies
• Keeps lumber yard clean, well organized, and safe
• Delivers orders to customers’ homes/locations
• Assists sales with orders
• Assists management with closing procedures including balancing the registers and money deposits.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company to work for if they dont close your store down
Manager (Former Employee) –  Dickson, TNJuly 26, 2015
Started 84 as a manager trainee and worked my way to store manager before new owner ship took over company had great job security and a strong back. I don't know if the company has gotten its strength back or not. I learned much from this company and it has helped me with growth as a business leader.
Pros
Advancement, growth
Cons
If you dont like hard work or long hrs not for you
Was this review helpful?Yes6No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very fun
door assembler (Former Employee) –  Christiansburg, VAFebruary 8, 2016
very fun workplace, very friendly. the atmosphere was very friendly and outgoing. loved the work that i did there. the general manager was very good at what he did.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible
Manager Trainee (Former Employee) –  VirginiaMarch 20, 2015
hired with the understanding I would need to learn the field (since I'm an IT grad, and not a contractor. Area Manager said he was hiring me because I was a college grad so I could learn the field. Then, I was fired less than 6 months later with my only given reason being that I wasn't familiar enough with the industry, regardless of having passed all tests I had been given to that point.
Pros
work day goes by quick due to business
Cons
lack of management/ethics
Was this review helpful?Yes22No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and focused place to work
Estimator (Current Employee) –  Bridgeville, PAJanuary 6, 2016
84 has been a great place for me to focus on my work and utilize all of my Job experiences. The team atmosphere is fantastic
Was this review helpful?Yes5No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a good place to work
Co- Manager (Former Employee) –  Richland, MSJanuary 22, 2016
would not tell people about this job didn't want black people working on the inside all they wanted was for them to work outside
Pros
great pay
Cons
not a good place to work
Was this review helpful?Yes9No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Minimal work/life balance
Co-Manager (Former Employee) –  PAAugust 10, 2015
Old school managerial hierarchy and principles
Terrible work conditions (Stifling in the summer, freezing in the winter, dust, etc.)
Outdated software and technology
Long work days, and inefficient work schedules (Off days were random such as Tuesday and Saturday, not enough time to live outside of work)
Work started at 7 and ended at 6, typical work week was 50+ hours
Money was okay due to tremendous overtime and opportunities to hit sales goals (Personal goals and store goals)

Overall, I would not recommend this job, however I am happy to have gotten the experience in such conditions and circumstances. I really liked my coworkers also.
Was this review helpful?Yes10No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
84 Lumber
Door assembler (Current Employee) –  Elkton, FLSeptember 7, 2015
Manager has no organizational skills, people skills or management skills.Worked here for 6 weeks and never got 40 hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Day in the Life
Contractor Sales Representative (Current Employee) –  Rockaway NJAugust 4, 2015
Pretty great company to work for. They give you a reasonable level of freedom and offer great promotion opportunities if you're willing to relocate.
Was this review helpful?Yes12No2

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 210 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture