99¢ Only Stores Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great and positive
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Sugar Land, TXJanuary 3, 2018
Just had to move , I loved working there. The people and the managment was great. Thinking about going backl for a partime gig. Who wouldnt love once a week pay. But its good for a teen.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for a second job
Stocker (Former Employee) –  Colton, CAOctober 18, 2017
Was a second job for me, part time, stocked aisles, cleaned aisles, organized merchandise. 5hours per day. Morning and night schedules available. Relaxed type of job.
Pros
Relaxed workplace
Cons
Short breaks, non full time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment.
Third Key Holder (Former Employee) –  El Centro, CAAugust 22, 2017
It's a good place to start for a 1st job. The managers and employees really look out for each other and are more than happy to help you with questions that you might have. You learn a lot about working as a team, how to deal with customers inquires and how to face a challenge head on. It's a fast pace job with excellent customer service.
Pros
Employee appreciation lunches.
Cons
Short breaks.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast pace work
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Fairfield, CAAugust 9, 2017
need better training and more responsibility within upper management they need to be able to see the big picture and see what is causing the problems inside the stores, have a better system to get the merchandise in the store and into the sales floor
Pros
great health insurence
Cons
no support from upper management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dc lead
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 18, 2017
I was over a 15 man crew in charge of putting away product that came in and replenished various locations for new products, making sure the warehouse was clean and also having daily meetings about productions
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun for a while then Turn into a military
Stock Person (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVJuly 4, 2017
It could've been better manegers that actuall care bout there workers there was nothing fair thee were people who was getting treat better then other there were people getting more hours but doing less work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stressful work environment
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Queens, NYJune 23, 2017
bad heating during winter
no lunch break for staff
salary was never on time
manager was poor in behaviour
stock in store was low and customers used to complain a lot
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZJune 22, 2017
No tips at all, but it was very welcoming. Everyone was nice it was a very easy job. I also got promoted to being a key holder, I was over all of the cashiers so I have a nice amount of experience. It was a nice job I loved it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing
Warehouse Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Arcadia, CAJune 6, 2017
Great time working there great management and leadership. Fun team evirement to work in and keeps you very busy also they train you in everything to help you in your future edevours.
Pros
Everything
Cons
Nothing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAMay 29, 2017
I recommend anyone to work at this friendly environment I wish I would of stayed in the company I am currently in the process I am excited and hoping to get into it
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was an okay environment to work in.
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMay 26, 2017
Management was horrible... The hours were okay... The amount of money we were making want fair to the amount of work we had to do. They never really kept anyone for a decent about of time so We never really had a set schedule.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Fresno, CAMay 17, 2017
A typical day at work was being a cashier, greeting customers and asking if they are finding everything okay also answering the phone. The hardest part of the job is when the customer is very unsatisfied. The most enjoyable part is they work with your schedule and give lots of hours.
Pros
hours, works with your schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average
Cashier (Current Employee) –  CAMay 15, 2017
Average minimum-wage job. Expectations are high when you are new and don't know much. They are understanding about time-off and family events.Multiple ways to ask for time off.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place for a first job
Key Holder/Supervisor (Current Employee) –  San Dimas, CAMay 1, 2017
learned so much I could use in my work life, stocking is so fun as well as cashiering. so fast paced great coworkers and regular customers. loves it. xoxo
Pros
get to wear cute polos everyday.
Cons
cant wear shorts :(
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
slow
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Queens, NYApril 26, 2017
working in a department store clothing store is all the same but this place is just slow in all they do depending on who you are dealing with at the time they may have new staff but the job will bb great if they have a better staff
Pros
the work
Cons
slow workers or any work day
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a fun place to work for and fast pasted
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Tucson, AZApril 23, 2017
I really enjoy working as a team and getting things done on time,I will go out my way to help others if needed.I hope you choose me to be part of your team.
Pros
Employees discounts
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its terrible
ROP Student (Former Employee) –  Covina, CAApril 10, 2017
Management sucks, your employees are sometimes cool, the work load sucks, when you cant go in when they call you to go in because someone called out they lower your hours.. its complete poo.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful work environment
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAMarch 31, 2017
Great staff management needs some cleaning up very stressful work environment many rules and restrictions very hard to move up to higher paying positions
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Stock Clerk/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Oxnard, CAFebruary 8, 2017
Lots of different things to do at the 99 cent store I was a stocker and worked part time nights, it was a great learning experience. I learned different techniques of stocking and was able to transfer this skill to my new work place.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
99 cent only store experience
Stocker (Former Employee) –  Barstow, CAJanuary 30, 2017
I had a positive and learning experience.I also loved working with my coworkers and high respect for management. I never had any problems working for this company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at 99¢ Only Stores. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 50 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.2
Culture
3.3