A&W Employee Reviews in United States

Found 102 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced environment
Cook (Former Employee) –  Ortonville, MI 48462April 13, 2016
A&W was my first job and it taught me many things about being an efficient and fast paced worker. I was taught how to clean and operate the fry machine along with the coney assembly line.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
Driver (Current Employee) –  Rifle, COApril 3, 2016
Good company to work for but there is not enough hours a week for me to even do 40 a week, want to leave the oil company,

I enjoyed working there but lately is not any more hours for me
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
too many workers
casher (Former Employee) –  Iola, KSMarch 29, 2016
i wasnt to excited about this job they had alot of workers and split shifts so i would only work 2 or 3 hours per day and maybe 3 days a week if that.
Pros
not enough hours
Cons
not worth it
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful place to work
Fry Cooke (Former Employee) –  Ortonville, MIMarch 7, 2016
Good day, kept busy, learned how to do the fryer and how to unbox the freezer, the manger was amazing, the hardest part was rush hours which was lunch and dinner, most enjoyable part of the job was my co-workers and being there
Pros
daily deals
Cons
rush hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Assistant Manager
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Grantsville, UTDecember 24, 2015
This was a great establishment, I managed the store as well as employees. I did scheduling, inventory (ordering product). I pride myself on quality of food and getting orders out in a timely manner.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive with different culture coming to eat.
Cashier, Food Preparation (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLDecember 23, 2015
I love to see people from all over the world come to eat here. They teach me new words. My co-worker were lazy and did not like to help out. The hardest part of this job was doing two parts as one. The co-workers use to leave me by myself when the manager use to go to the bathroom. So, i would have to make their food and take their order. In a way, i enjoyed it. I realized that i can do it and i felt like it was a game to accomplish it.
Pros
free lunch
Cons
lack of teamwork
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fuuuunnnn
Waitress (Former Employee) –  Aurora, MNNovember 26, 2015
This is overall one of the best places I've ever worked. The bosses are so welcoming and they teach you how to do things thoroughly. They are always around to help out when needed and they are wonderful people. I would tell anyone to work there
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laid back fun place to work
Waitress (Current Employee) –  Frankfort, MIOctober 23, 2015
*I truly enjoy working here the management is what keeps me around.
*My one complaint is we really should hire busers during the busy season
Pros
Free lunch and discounted take away
Cons
Favoritism is reflected in the work schedual
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
FAst food
Cook (Former Employee) –  Standish, MIOctober 20, 2015
It is a fast food place, it was a typical job. I enjoyed the people I worked with in the kitchen. The store manager was very hard to get a long with.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Childish
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Lansing, MIOctober 14, 2015
Both employees and managers talked about other employees behind their backs on a daily basis. It was like high school all over again.
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice people
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Saint Helena, CASeptember 20, 2015
They were good with people though very slow and not very team manageable or thriving. They would always h\change the schedules on people and didn't have a good over system on hand.
Pros
Discounts on food
Cons
Fluctuating times for work on a weekly basis
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very sexist, and no andvancment workplace
Trainee (Former Employee) –  Indianola, IAAugust 17, 2015
In my time working at a&W, i felt unwelcomed. I took the test to use the cash register, but never got trained. Very unprofessional. I worked there longer then most of the girls whom i worked with in the front, but i was always doing their trainee work, and they sat around and talked. At the end of the night girls, got to scrub the floor while guys, got to go home. Very Sexist. I would never work for them again in my life.
Pros
Discounted food.
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work
Crew Person (Former Employee) –  Clintonville, WIAugust 13, 2015
I never got a break, my schedule was made regardless of my plans with my family. You either worked or get fired. There were no managers. Whatever shift you were working, the person that was hired first was acting manager and a lot of the time it was a 15 year old kid.
Pros
you were paid
Cons
no breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great hours, good pay
Staff Masters (Former Employee) –  Durham, NCAugust 1, 2015
I was a forklift driver on third shift. I learned a lot of my warehouse work while working for them. I very much enjoyed my managers and co-workers.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good life experience
shift leader (Current Employee) –  birch run miJuly 14, 2015
Obtain a greater knowledge of the inter workings of a fast food restaurant. Worked with different batch of people on a regular basis.

Over all management was easy to work with.
Pros
learned a lot
Cons
low pay and not enough hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and stress free work place
Cook (Current Employee) –  Grand Ledge , Michigan , 48837July 7, 2015
A typical day at work I go in and start making customers orders. I learned new techniques on how to cook and have orders filled all at the same time rather than having a burger sit and wait on the side dish. The management is caring and well organized. All my co-workers are friendly and respectful. The hardest part of the job would be cleaning the grill at the end of the night when we close (Which is not even that hard). The most enjoyable part of the job would be working with my co-workers.
Pros
Discounted meals, stress free work place
Cons
N/A
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Work Place
Cashier/Cook (Former Employee) –  Grandville, MIJune 21, 2015
A&W was a good job for me in high school. Fun people and good management. All of the coworkers got along creating a positive and fun work place. I enjoyed working with the manager and saw him as a good leader. I left this job to attend an out of town college.
Pros
Fun Atmosphere
Cons
Fast Food
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to start
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  De Pere, WIMay 28, 2015
While this was a good first job, it was not something that a person would want to continue in for a long period of time. No benefits, hard to move up, and management was a little scarce when needed. Very stressful work conditions.
Pros
50% off on duty meals, flexible scheduling when fully staffed
Cons
Often short staffed and stressful work conditions
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok job setting
A&W cook (Former Employee) –  Neenah, WIApril 24, 2015
hectic work days
being patient
management is too young
co - workers can get irritating in a good way
time constraints
working with people
Pros
yummy food, the owner was always nice
Cons
unorganized manegement
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
witress
waitress/cook (Former Employee) –  sweet home orApril 20, 2015
I took orders by phone and in person. I learned how to be kind, freindly and respectful to all types of people and I learned how to make cole slaw from scratch. The fast pace is what i enjoyed about this job, it made the work day fly by. The hardest part of this job was dealing with rude people when they where having bad day.
Was this review helpful?YesNo

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 509 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture