Find companies:
A Wireless
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
20 reviews

A Wireless Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to learn the fundamentals of wireless sales
Sales Consultant (Current Employee), Princeton, WVMay 21, 2014
A typical day would consist of some minor operational duties (open cash drawer, perform serialized inventory, clean entrance of store) followed by a quick check of email and other forms of organizational communication. The majority of the work day centers around customers- resolving issues and discovering sales opportunities. I love my co-workers and – more... direct management.. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible place with a no show boss and weak support system
Sales Consultant (Former Employee), Charleston WVMay 17, 2014
Pros: discounts on asseciores, free parking, mall discounts.
Cons: no breaks sometimes, no support system, hostile management, ever changing commision scale, no true leadership at store, faulty equipment to work with, favortism towards friends
I learned a lot from my experience at working at this mall kiosk. Mainly on how to depend on yourself and do not rely on any supervisor or coworkers. On the job at this location was horrid.
I gained a lot of self confidence while working here because i was the only one i could rely on. Adding service and programming phones are only made more erroneous – more... due to faulty computers , inept customer service and poor communication with management.You may also want to learn where every restroom and store in this massive mall is or be prepared to catch grief from customers who are convinced you are customer service.

A typical day at working at this kiosk located at the Charleston Town Center Mall, is like watching your soul being sucked out from you. Usually you get five to 10 emails daily changing everything from prices to promotions on a daily basis. Good luck on trying to keep up to date. The supervisor is usually in the dark or don't care at all unless he trying to pass the blame off on his subordinates. He rarely if ever shows up on time or at all. He seems more concerned about slandering his soon to be ex wife to customers and friends, than worrying about day to day operations of the store.He also seemed to be big pals with the sprint store manager across the floor and forced us to loan them equipment, even thought we forbidden to walk near that store to talk to customer walking by. His boss is an arrogant moron that only shows attention to his female new hires. So if you have a question be careful of contacting him or his boss. The boss once told me I was texting way too much and I was only asking for help. If you're lucky you may get a nice little reply stating not to bother them while they are off the clock, so be prepared to go at it alone.

As for co-workers, you are fair game. Unless you are part of the managers inner circle and share the same hangovers as they do or you're not the apple of their or desires, don't expect any favors and be prepared to lose commission unless you are assertive with your sales. I was told it was standard operating procedure that if I talked a customer into activation or upgrade and they had to come in another day when they had the funds , all they needed to do was mention your name and you got the commission.Total BS. I had several customers tell me they gave my name to the manager, only to find out that he credit it to one of his pals. So try to arrange your clients to be their when you are working. He also had his pals going through my personal belongings that were there. So much for a right to privacy!

There are many difficult aspects of working for this company in a kiosk. Customers think you are a direction booth and will not hesitate
to interrupt you with paying clientele to ask. No restrooms , thieves, being located in the top miserable city in America, yes look up Charleston WV, and the cherry on the cake, the ever changing commission scale. This is a train wreckage in motion. It always being altered and never for the better. You can get wrote up for selling too many iPhones. You must sale so many accessories
per phone aka APB or you can be docked your whole commission and then wrote up and fired. You find that after a customer has shelled out more than two or there hundred bucks how hard it is to talk them into a 30 dollar screen protector, but you better learn how.

The most enjoyable part of this job is providing customer who didn't think they could get Verizon with service. Verizon by far is the best in the nation and people should not let retailers like A Wireless Communications sour their opinion Verizon wireless. I am glad i had the honor and privilege of being associated with them even though through a company like A wireless – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a sales job. Period
Sales and technical consultant (Current Employee), Gonzales, LAApril 1, 2014
Pros: clear pay and commission scale.
Cons: poor lower level management, high stress, pressure to meet quotas.
This is the epitome of sales job. Numbers, numbers, numbers. Work, work, work. It does not matter what is going on in your personal life if you aren't able to make the numbers we will try to find a way to let you go or transfer you. The pay is clear and concise, as is the commission structure. But it's not uncommon for a leader to offer more money if – more... they find an applicant attractive or fits their mold better, even if they don't have experience. This company has a great upper level management, but the structure on a store to store basis leaves a lot to be desired. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Sales Representative (Former Employee), MDJanuary 22, 2014
Pros: lunch breaks
Cons: retail hours
Good company to work for. Lots of customer service experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
owner and company will take advantage of you
store leader (Former Employee), south carolinaJanuary 5, 2014
Pros: none beside you will get to file a law suit
Cons: they will arrest you for no reason.
The owner and the company will take advantage of you. They will use you then they just fire everyone who is good and even arrest everyone for no reason. This company has more law suits than any other company in the world. They are true crooks and they get a kick out of getting suied and firing people. Stay far far away from this company dont even do – more... business there at all. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Place to Work
sales consultant (Former Employee), Glen Burnie, MDMarch 29, 2013
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
I don't even know where to start with this company. After many workers brought shirts from stores they were forced to turn around and buy work shirts. 3 or 4 times a week we were forced to work open to close. District manager threatened workers after ending employment for not returning the shirts they HAD to buy. Pay was alright but not the best. I – more... would never join this company again. The higher people in charge only cared about the money and not the workers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I Love this job... It is fun to show up for work everyday
Store Manager (Current Employee), Timberlake/ Old Forest RD LynchburgMarch 26, 2013
I love this job, it provides a place where I make a difference. Both for the people that I manage, and for A Wireless. I learn something new everyday. Both from the people that I mange, and the people that manage me.
I love the feeling of a big sale, especially when the customer comes in the door and says.."I am just looking". It is wonderful to turn – more... that situation into a sale. There is nothing more satisfying to learn about a new product (and learn what the features and benefits are) and having a customer say YES I will buy that product.
Because, of the nature of my profession I find it hard to put aside my job when I am off work. This is something I am getting better with overtime. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor management
Sales Consultant (Former Employee), lake mary, flFebruary 25, 2013
did not like this job at all. company was not professional
i learned how to screen future employers
hardest part of this job was dealing with unethical co workers
i did not enjoy much about this job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Up and Coming Company a true Gem
Retail Store Manager (Former Employee), Waxhaw, NCJanuary 15, 2013
Culture is changing the company is evolving and streamlined. I hate that I have to move on from this company but do so only because we have no stores in Tampa currently.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
Sales rep-in term manager (Former Employee), LouisianaNovember 15, 2012
Pros: nothing
Cons: upper management, pay, hours
The commission structure was totally different from what we were told at the time of hire. Constantly changing pay structure, no consistency whatsoever. Upper management is horrible. My "regional manager" was never able to be reached for any reason. Didn't really have any form of management in store to delegate. Also the A Team that they send to train – more... was really shady, also training was horrible. Overall horrible. Would NEVER work for this company again. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Money is ok but thats it
Store Manager (Former Employee), FloridaOctober 12, 2012
Pros: $$$
Cons: too much politics up top. poor comapny values
Cash can be good, but there have been multiple commission cuts in the last 2 years making you sell more to make less. Hope you are a yes man
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
best company i ever worked for
Sales Representative (Former Employee), Clinton, NCSeptember 17, 2012
this is the best company i have ever worked for. if you love to sale and make money this is the place for you
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
•the most enjoyable part of the job
Store Manager (Former Employee), Tarboro, NCSeptember 5, 2012
Pros: great training
Cons: long hours worked open to close and little pay
The most enjoyable part of my job as a store manager was the people I worked with . We all got along so well but they knew there boundaries considering i was the store manager. They came to work on time and work hard while they were there. They knew what needed to be done and i didnt have to tell them to do it. They knew my expectations in order to – more... run a successful store. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
produtive company
MANAGER (Former Employee), tazewell vaMay 27, 2012
the company is a great company to work for they have a reall good thng about life and family values I would recomned them to any of my friends and would even return to work for them
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Growing Pains
District Sales Manager (Former Employee), Raleigh NCMay 11, 2012
Pros: freedom
Cons: weak executive team
The company has a severe identity crisis. Although I learned a lot working with some of the people with A Wireless, I would say that the core Executive structure would be the weakest link of the company. The CEO and Head of Marketing Operations were frat buddies and it seems that they would rather be friends than advance the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Generally a very depressing place to work. Management only cared about profit and didn't care at all for the people and how their actions affected th
Manager (Former Employee), Waxhaw, NCMay 3, 2012
Pros: i didn't see any
Cons: upper management, chaos in most areas
In my opinoin, this company is totally uncaring of its employees. They make changes affecting employees job, livelihood and finances without any care at all for them. In the short time was I with them, I saw a DM demoted & replaced by an outside candidate, 4 stores managers fired within a 12-15 store area, several store managers demoted to reps and – more... many other crazy changes. Fridays were required to be open to close for the manager which in my store was a 12 hour day. Plus they would put an "all hands" meeting at 8 am or an hour before opening. For me, that meant atleast a 13 hour day. I can't say I enjoyed much of the time I spent with them. The turnover corporate wide was 82% when I was there. This means more than 3/4 of the entire staff changed every year. How crazy is that? – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Company
Store Manager (Former Employee), Willingboro, NJApril 5, 2012
Pros: employee discounted phone plan
Cons: pay, senior management, work-life balance
This company has successfully provided me with the worst job experience in my employment history. The upper management did not support their field employees and the compensation was lousy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales and commission pay depend on employment location
Employed (Current Employee), A WirelessMarch 16, 2012
Solid retail establishment. Compensation is largely dictated by location traffic, varies widely - bonuses and commissions are easier to achieve in high traffic stores, much more difficult to achieve in low traffic stores. Store promotion (and therefore store traffic flow) is largely dependent on store staff activities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Indirect Verizon Wireless Dealer
Sales (Current Employee), Houston, TXMarch 6, 2012
A fine place to buy a phone. Working at high traffic locations can pay well, but selling and earning commissions at lower traffic spots can be a struggle.