A123 Systems Employee Reviews

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work at
RECEIVING COORDINATOR (Former Employee), Livonia, MIMay 11, 2015
Pros: constantly busy
Cons: shorten breaks
The typical day begins with loading the trucks with Dunn age for the Romulus facility. Shortly after that review the dock area for overnight shipments that may arrive then start adjusting inventory according to quantities on hand and packing slips of material received. The rest of the day is receiving material, unloading trucks, verifying packing slips, verifying material condition, affixing labels, and move items to warehouse. And then file documents upon completion of verification.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no money
Production Team Lead (Former Employee), Livonia, MIMay 8, 2015
Pros: none
Cons: never was happy
Company has not made a profit since they open in 2010 but they gave management a raise every year.They work off the buddy to get promoted. Made the employees the low man on the totem pole
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a freindly place to work
Temporary Production Reactor Operator (Former Employee), Romulus, MichiganJanuary 17, 2015
Pros: exposure to hi-tech equipment
Cons: co-workers were rude.
Technical exposure was excellent - but management was very unprofessional and co-workers were rude.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I worked with a group of very intelligent individuals
Document Control Specialist (Former Employee), Watertown, MAJanuary 7, 2015
Pros: free snacks
Cons: long commute
Created, Updated EC’s, Deviations and Specifications in Microsoft Word.
Updated Excel spreadsheets.
Expedited EC’s for approval using Microsoft Outlook..
Edited pictorial BOM’s in Vthought and Excel.
Scanned and convert documents to PDF.
Controlled the flow of documents.
Shipped documents overseas.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed my job and the teamwork of my department.
Team Lead (Former Employee), Livonia, MIDecember 5, 2014
Pros: great benefits
Cons: miscommunication
A typical day at worked consisted of me arriving thirty minutes before the shift to set the machines. I checked my email to review the shift notes from the previous shift on how the machines ran, maintenance to see if there were repairs made or quality alerts from IPQC Lab. I then checked to see that all necessary paperwork for the operators was present. There was a meeting at the beginning of the shift to relay any pertinent information. Any where from two to four hours into the shift I would go around the department and conduct a layered process audit.
I learned that every situation is different and needs to be treated as such. Also that if there is a clear understanding of what's expected of people and what needs to be done it's easier to get everyone on board and execute.
Management was available to all the employees.
My coworkers were awesome. Everyone was committed to getting the job done.
The hardest part of the job was not always getting the proper support to complete a task.
The most enjoyable part of my job was a sense of accomplishment with each day knowing that I gave the day one hundred percent.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Demanding job
Production Operator (Former Employee), Livonia, MINovember 27, 2014
Pros: good benefits
Cons: standing all day
A typical day is standing on your feet for 12 hours straight with a 15 minute break and 30 min lunch
I learned how to operate CNC Equipment
Very Demanding
Co-workers are great
Standing all day
The pay
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment
Production Operator/Team Leader (Former Employee), Livonia, MISeptember 23, 2014
Pros: nice pay
Cons: short breaks
great place to work. Supervisors are real cool. all you have to do is be punctual.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safeway
Engineer Technician (Former Employee), Livonia, MISeptember 16, 2014
I don't recommend this job for anyone. I leaned for to change a tire. Management treats workers bad. I didn't enjoy this at all.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company Bankruptcy
Test Engineer (Former Employee), Waltham, MAAugust 1, 2014
The company was fun to work like any R&D job, however the company eventually went bankrupt and I could not apply again. I would have loved to work their after college.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Internal Process are beening developed.
Sr. Supplier Quality Engineer (Current Employee), Livonia, MIJuly 25, 2014
Pros: if you like responsibility, this is the place to be
Cons: i haven't had a manager since i hired in.
A123 is a young company, and their primary source of success is totally depended on the people. All internal process are in different stages of being development which makes the work environment difficult. Pay compensation has been stagnate. Benefits have improved from last year.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok work environment
3rd Shift Stamping Supervisor (Former Employee), Livonia, MIJune 19, 2014
Good industry. General lack of direction by upper management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
LOVE MY JOB
X-RAY OPERATOR/ TAB WELDER (Current Employee), Livonia, MIMarch 21, 2014
LOVE WHAT I DO ITS A GROWNING COMPANY THAT CAN HELP YOU GROW THE COMPANY IS WELL KNOWN AND I HIGLY RECOMMAND ANYONE TO WORK FOR THIS COMPANY
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All Work No Play
Pack Line Operator (Former Employee), Livonia, MIMarch 4, 2014
-Build Up To 6 Packs A Day Individually
-I Learned To Working With High Voltage Connections And Running The Bauer Test Machines
-Did Their Best
Some Very Hard Working Co-workers Like My Self But Others Very Unproductive
-Getting Up Early Was The Hardest Part Of The Job Nut I Made It Happen Everyday
-Best Part Of The Job Was Building The Pack Successfully All The Way To The End With No Flaws
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work but company wasnt ready
Machine Operator/ Assembly (Former Employee), Livonia, MIJanuary 23, 2014
Pros: great pay, great co workers and team work
Cons: overall leadership, long hours, and faulty machinery.
It was a great place to work. The job required a lot of hours and it was hard. Only work, sleep, and back to work. It did place a strain of my household and other priorities but the pay was great. The company was a government funded company and had suffered a 500 million dollar recall on its products and was running out of funds quickly to sustain.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Research of battery components for production products
Research Scientist (Former Employee), Ann Arbor, MIJuly 28, 2013
Research of battery components for consideration into production of products
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Struggling to adjust to new ownership and lower than expected new business.
Sr. Commodity Manager (Former Employee), Westborough, MAApril 1, 2013
Recent Chapter 11 has caused adjustments in work force and cuts in work-life benefits. Times will be tight into 2014 as the company tries to recover business. New owner should provide some stability financially during this time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great and enjoyable company to work for.
Quality Technician (Former Employee), Livonia, MIMarch 25, 2013
Pros: good health insurance, nice breaks, good pay, good working environment
Cons: my position was terminated for unknown reasons
Overall rating* 5

Compensation / Benefits 5

Culture / Values 4

Job Security / Advancement 3

Management 3

Work / Life Balance 4

The following errors occurred:
•Review Summary is required.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Production Worker (Current Employee), Romulus, MIMarch 10, 2013
Pros: great environment
Cons: stablity
great job...job security is shaky...but a great place to work...very good people....wish we made alittle more...but things will hopefully get better as the company grows...
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Start up feel but limited future
Engineer (Former Employee), Waltham, MAMarch 5, 2013
Pros: good fringe benefits
Cons: unstable
Project success was highly dependent on team members ranging the entire gamut. Some managers are easy to work with while others are notoriously difficult. Many of the engineers and technicians are willing to go out of their way to help on a day-to-day basis.

Company recently filed for bankruptcy protection, and the stability of a future is somewhat up in the air.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good atmosphere
Production Technician (Former Employee), Romulus, MIFebruary 27, 2013
Kind people, positive attitudes, clean and comfortable work environment, and always opportunities to advance and learn more.
Claim this company page
Headquarters
200 West Street
Waltham MA, United States 02451
Revenue
$100M to $500M (USD)
Employees
1,001 to 5,000
Industry