Find companies:
A123 Systems
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
25 reviews

A123 Systems Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company Bankruptcy
Test Engineer (Former Employee), Waltham, MAAugust 1, 2014
The company was fun to work like any R&D job, however the company eventually went bankrupt and I could not apply again. I would have loved to work their after college.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Internal Process are beening developed.
Sr. Supplier Quality Engineer (Current Employee), Livonia, MIJuly 25, 2014
Pros: if you like responsibility, this is the place to be
Cons: i haven't had a manager since i hired in.
A123 is a young company, and their primary source of success is totally depended on the people. All internal process are in different stages of being development which makes the work environment difficult. Pay compensation has been stagnate. Benefits have improved from last year.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok work environment
3rd Shift Stamping Supervisor (Former Employee), Livonia, MIJune 19, 2014
Good industry. General lack of direction by upper management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
LOVE MY JOB
X-RAY OPERATOR/ TAB WELDER (Current Employee), Livonia, MIMarch 21, 2014
LOVE WHAT I DO ITS A GROWNING COMPANY THAT CAN HELP YOU GROW THE COMPANY IS WELL KNOWN AND I HIGLY RECOMMAND ANYONE TO WORK FOR THIS COMPANY
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All Work No Play
Pack Line Operator (Former Employee), Livonia, MIMarch 4, 2014
-Build Up To 6 Packs A Day Individually
-I Learned To Working With High Voltage Connections And Running The Bauer Test Machines
-Did Their Best
Some Very Hard Working Co-workers Like My Self But Others Very Unproductive
-Getting Up Early Was The Hardest Part Of The Job Nut I Made It Happen Everyday
-Best Part Of The Job Was Building The Pack Successfully – more... All The Way To The End With No Flaws – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work but company wasnt ready
Machine Operator/ Assembly (Former Employee), Livonia, MIJanuary 23, 2014
Pros: great pay, great co workers and team work
Cons: overall leadership, long hours, and faulty machinery.
It was a great place to work. The job required a lot of hours and it was hard. Only work, sleep, and back to work. It did place a strain of my household and other priorities but the pay was great. The company was a government funded company and had suffered a 500 million dollar recall on its products and was running out of funds quickly to sustain.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Research of battery components for production products
Research Scientist (Former Employee), Ann Arbor, MIJuly 28, 2013
Research of battery components for consideration into production of products
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Struggling to adjust to new ownership and lower than expected new business.
Sr. Commodity Manager (Former Employee), Westborough, MAApril 1, 2013
Recent Chapter 11 has caused adjustments in work force and cuts in work-life benefits. Times will be tight into 2014 as the company tries to recover business. New owner should provide some stability financially during this time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great and enjoyable company to work for.
Quality Technician (Former Employee), Livonia, MIMarch 25, 2013
Pros: good health insurance, nice breaks, good pay, good working environment
Cons: my position was terminated for unknown reasons
Overall rating* 5

Compensation / Benefits 5

Culture / Values 4

Job Security / Advancement 3

Management 3

Work / Life Balance 4

The following errors occurred:
•Review Summary is required.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Production Worker (Current Employee), Romulus, MIMarch 10, 2013
Pros: great environment
Cons: stablity
great job...job security is shaky...but a great place to work...very good people....wish we made alittle more...but things will hopefully get better as the company grows...
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good atmosphere
Production Technician (Former Employee), Romulus, MIFebruary 27, 2013
Kind people, positive attitudes, clean and comfortable work environment, and always opportunities to advance and learn more.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company anaunced bancrapcy
Tests Technician (Former Employee), Westborough, MADecember 4, 2012
Working was interested. I have learned something new, but not fully my profile as electronic tech.I was not very happy bu management, You could stay for a few day without any work. My work place was very noisy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wouldnt recommend until after the buyout
Production Operator (Current Employee), Livonia, MINovember 28, 2012
Pros: cant think of none
Cons: short breaks, management does not listen to the smaller guys
At risk of losing your job before the company gets bought out at any moment, any position. Management has no clue what they are doing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive & clean place to work.
Machine Operator/Team Leader (Current Employee), Livonia, MINovember 7, 2012
Pros: free doughnut fridays
Cons: the lack of work hours.
we are currently looking for an owner for the company & has filed bankruptcy, though I am an loyal employee there are a few concerns with job security,
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting cutting edge technology atmosphere
Facilities Manager (Former Employee), Westborough, MANovember 7, 2012
It was a more reactionary workplace ,not much planning . I learned to always be ready for a new direrection tomorrow. There were some very good managers but with little direction. There were alot of very dedicated workers. Seeing the same mistakes beening made over and over. Seeing new products being brought to market.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive & Clean Enviroment
Machine Operator/Team Leader (Current Employee), Livonia, MINovember 5, 2012
Pros: free doughnuts on fridays
Cons: 2 breaks in a 8 hour shift
clean, queit, fun, & fast we are currently awaiting a potential buyer & quite frankly I am afraid of another layoff, currently the stock is @ 18 cents...
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work. Nice schedule.
Mix Operator (Former Employee), Romulus, MIOctober 25, 2012
Pros: free coffee
At the start of our day we would have a pre-shift meeting to understand where the lines are since we left. The co-workers were great, always smiling and friendly. I learned how to run a mix line to create lithium ion batteries. The hours were the most enjoyable part of the job. Three days on four days off, four days on three days off at 12 hour shifts.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Sr. Electronics Technician/Lab Coordinator (Former Employee), Livonia, MIOctober 25, 2012
Pros: holidays, vacation, benefits
Cons: too bad they are bankrupt
Good place to work. Most of the the people were very nice to work with.......
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun company to work for, especially 2nd shift.
Assembler / Group Leader (Former Employee), Watertown, MAOctober 19, 2012
Pros: breaks time, dinner time, overall good company to work for.
Very fun company to work for, especially 2nd shift. I am very happy to have these people as friends to work for and to kidding around.

I missed these people a whole lot.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people and great benefits
Designer Pro Engineer Wildfire 5, NX7.5, Catia V5 (Current Employee), Livonia, MIOctober 18, 2012
Its a great place to work.
Several different programs to work on with courtious engineers and managers.
Most people are helpful and willing to share their knowledge.

About A123 Systems

A123 Systems wants to get everyone all charged up over electric vehicles -- as long as they use its rechargeable lithium-ion batteries. – Read more