A123 Systems Employee Reviews

Showing all 39 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work/life balance but no career vision
Engineer (Current Employee) –  Livonia, MIDecember 6, 2016
ELT is greedy and upper management does not have responsibility.
There is no organized job security and description.
Bad benefit and poor business.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Competitive wages
General Laborer (Former Employee) –  Detroit, MIDecember 6, 2016
A123 Systems was a excellent job working on batteries for electric cars and other motor vehicles. A123 systems had a great environment and great people
Pros
Great pay
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
prodution opp
Production Operator (Former Employee) –  Livonia, MISeptember 16, 2015
This was the temp agency to start at A 123 after working them for a probationary period I was than hired directly by A-123 as a full time employee.
Pros
Challanging
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive workplace
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Livonia, MISeptember 16, 2015
Working here was a good experience. Sometime politics and favoritism was shown by employees and other managers! i really didn't agree with it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, but no way to advance.
Production Operator 2 (Current Employee) –  Livonia, MISeptember 14, 2015
We usually would just come in and get started right away. Some times there would be a meeting, other times not so much.

I've learned how to be a team player.

Management is sort of an unknown since we hardly see them, but when we do see them they usually have an upbeat attitude.
Pros
Decent benefits
Cons
Poor communication, no incentive to want to stay
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
real nice clean place to work for
Machine Operator (Current Employee) –  Livonia, MIJuly 15, 2015
I like working for the company but I need a better company to advance myself and to get raises within the a company. I like the people that I work with. this place is a easy company to work for as long you show up for work and do your job correctly. Very clean place to work for.
Pros
not sure
Cons
short breaks and no raises
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work at
RECEIVING COORDINATOR (Former Employee) –  Livonia, MIMay 11, 2015
The typical day begins with loading the trucks with Dunn age for the Romulus facility. Shortly after that review the dock area for overnight shipments that may arrive then start adjusting inventory according to quantities on hand and packing slips of material received. The rest of the day is receiving material, unloading trucks, verifying packing slips, verifying material condition, affixing labels, and move items to warehouse. And then file documents upon completion of verification.
Pros
constantly busy
Cons
shorten breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no money
Production Team Lead (Former Employee) –  Livonia, MIMay 8, 2015
Company has not made a profit since they open in 2010 but they gave management a raise every year.They work off the buddy to get promoted. Made the employees the low man on the totem pole
Pros
none
Cons
never was happy
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a freindly place to work
Temporary Production Reactor Operator (Former Employee) –  Romulus, MichiganJanuary 17, 2015
Technical exposure was excellent - but management was very unprofessional and co-workers were rude.
Pros
Exposure to Hi-Tech Equipment
Cons
Co-workers were rude.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I worked with a group of very intelligent individuals
Document Control Specialist (Former Employee) –  Watertown, MAJanuary 7, 2015
Created, Updated EC’s, Deviations and Specifications in Microsoft Word.
Updated Excel spreadsheets.
Expedited EC’s for approval using Microsoft Outlook..
Edited pictorial BOM’s in Vthought and Excel.
Scanned and convert documents to PDF.
Controlled the flow of documents.
Shipped documents overseas.
Pros
Free snacks
Cons
Long commute
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed my job and the teamwork of my department.
Team Lead (Former Employee) –  Livonia, MIDecember 5, 2014
A typical day at worked consisted of me arriving thirty minutes before the shift to set the machines. I checked my email to review the shift notes from the previous shift on how the machines ran, maintenance to see if there were repairs made or quality alerts from IPQC Lab. I then checked to see that all necessary paperwork for the operators was present. There was a meeting at the beginning of the shift to relay any pertinent information. Any where from two to four hours into the shift I would go around the department and conduct a layered process audit.
I learned that every situation is different and needs to be treated as such. Also that if there is a clear understanding of what's expected of people and what needs to be done it's easier to get everyone on board and execute.
Management was available to all the employees.
My coworkers were awesome. Everyone was committed to getting the job done.
The hardest part of the job was not always getting the proper support to complete a task.
The most enjoyable part of my job was a sense of accomplishment with each day knowing that I gave the day one hundred percent.
Pros
Great benefits
Cons
Miscommunication
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Demanding job
Production Operator (Former Employee) –  Livonia, MINovember 27, 2014
A typical day is standing on your feet for 12 hours straight with a 15 minute break and 30 min lunch
I learned how to operate CNC Equipment
Very Demanding
Co-workers are great
Standing all day
The pay
Pros
Good Benefits
Cons
Standing all day
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment
Production Operator/Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Livonia, MISeptember 23, 2014
great place to work. Supervisors are real cool. all you have to do is be punctual.
Pros
Nice pay
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safeway
Engineer Technician (Former Employee) –  Livonia, MISeptember 16, 2014
I don't recommend this job for anyone. I leaned for to change a tire. Management treats workers bad. I didn't enjoy this at all.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company Bankruptcy
Test Engineer (Former Employee) –  Waltham, MAAugust 1, 2014
The company was fun to work like any R&D job, however the company eventually went bankrupt and I could not apply again. I would have loved to work their after college.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Internal Process are beening developed.
Sr. Supplier Quality Engineer (Current Employee) –  Livonia, MIJuly 25, 2014
A123 is a young company, and their primary source of success is totally depended on the people. All internal process are in different stages of being development which makes the work environment difficult. Pay compensation has been stagnate. Benefits have improved from last year.
Pros
If you like responsibility, this is the place to be
Cons
I haven't had a manager since I hired in.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok work environment
3rd Shift Stamping Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Livonia, MIJune 19, 2014
Good industry. General lack of direction by upper management.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love my job
X-RAY OPERATOR/ TAB WELDER (Current Employee) –  Livonia, MIMarch 21, 2014
Love what I do its a growning company that can help you grow the company is well known and I higly recommand anyone to work for this company
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All Work No Play
Pack Line Operator (Former Employee) –  Livonia, MIMarch 4, 2014
-Build Up To 6 Packs A Day Individually
-I Learned To Working With High Voltage Connections And Running The Bauer Test Machines
-Did Their Best
Some Very Hard Working Co-workers Like My Self But Others Very Unproductive
-Getting Up Early Was The Hardest Part Of The Job Nut I Made It Happen Everyday
-Best Part Of The Job Was Building The Pack Successfully All The Way To The End With No Flaws
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work but company wasnt ready
Machine Operator/ Assembly (Former Employee) –  Livonia, MIJanuary 23, 2014
It was a great place to work. The job required a lot of hours and it was hard. Only work, sleep, and back to work. It did place a strain of my household and other priorities but the pay was great. The company was a government funded company and had suffered a 500 million dollar recall on its products and was running out of funds quickly to sustain.
Pros
Great pay, great co workers and team work
Cons
Overall leadership, long hours, and faulty machinery.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at A123 Systems. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 39 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.1
Compensation/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
2.4
Management
2.5
Culture
2.9