AES Corporation Employee Reviews

Found 158 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment and home balance.
Maintenance Planner/Scheduler (Current Employee) –  Manchester, OHDecember 30, 2016
The company has fantastic work to life balance and the pay and benefits are superb. Excellent opportunities to advance as long as you are willing to put the work in.
Pros
Great Opportunities
Cons
Shrinking economy for certain areas
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits and pay
Power Plant Tester (Current Employee) –  Aberdeen, OHDecember 16, 2016
Great secure job with excellent benefits and pay. This is a great place to learn a craft wth continuing education and on the job training. Have loved every bit of my time working here.
Pros
Great Pay
Cons
Rising healthcare
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Help desk Support
Temporary Service Desk Specialist, ANTHC (Former Employee) –  Anchorage, AKDecember 10, 2016
tracking tickets requests for support
perform software updates
building computers
Strong team leads
disposing of old equipment
Management
Co works always willing to help out and teach other
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for.
Instrumentation and Electrical Junior Technician (Current Employee) –  Kapolei, HIDecember 4, 2016
I have greatly enjoyed my time at AES. The business promotes a very community oriented view much more than other companies I've worked for. Benefits were good, management was reasonable, and they always take safety very seriously.
Pros
Company Events, Good Benefits, Good Safety Culture
Cons
Sometimes a little too fast paced.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The CFB technology was very interesting
Turbine Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Guayama, PRNovember 30, 2016
During my year at AES work from performance enginner to monitor the units and recomend best practice in opration. The most challenging experiece was managing the material handling team with all day to day problem. Fnally managmnt rurbine in the operations and also budgets assing to the team
Pros
Learning experience and always the day is differents
Cons
Days manangment not synchronize with the operation
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
part time worker
Traffic Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Boise, IDNovember 20, 2016
Once you are hired to a company you may work for one day or six months. Never know for sure. Their is allways some other job you can try if the one your sent to is just one day or ?. Not knowing abut the company your going to work for until you get their.
Pros
Not many
Cons
no ling term jobs
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable work environment.
Executive Assistant (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXNovember 9, 2016
AES had more pros than cons. The majority of the people there were great. Management was not the best so I feel it could have been an even more amazing company if it had the right people in the management roles.
Pros
Wednesday Salad Days, bonus at Christmas, several perks that made it a enjoyable work environment. You enjoyed coming to work.
Cons
Job security was low with the Oil & Gas industry.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Office work.
Adminstrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Panama, OKNovember 4, 2016
My job was mostly office work; majority of employees worked in the coal fired power plant generating electricity. On occasion my job required me to go out into the plant.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hostile Work Environment
Customer Service Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Rockford, TNOctober 17, 2016
Lack of training for new associates. Very unprofessional atmosphere.
A typical day at work was getting all of the work that the seasoned associates didn't want to do.
What I learned was "off the cuff".
Co-Workers were extremely unprofessional through attitudes, language, and teamwork.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun work place
arctic slope regional corporation (Current Employee) –  Anchorage, AKSeptember 8, 2016
I enter and edit timecards
review 8 straight hours
send it out to the billing department.

I enjoy everything I do here.

I have been here since july2, 2014 and would like to continue working here until further notice.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport

Want to know more about AES Corporation?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Standard oilfield service company
Senior Engineering Technician (Former Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKAugust 16, 2016
Oilfield service company, providing drilling fluid chemical sales and support for drilling locations. 20 hour work days, 14 days on 14 days off schedule. compensation @ 700-800$ / day for experienced engineers. A good company to work for at the time, changes in management and drop in oil prices causing problems for all such service companies.
Pros
good pay
Cons
long days
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company, Great people. Would like to go back when oilfield picks back up
Mud Engineer (Former Employee) –  Midland, TXAugust 8, 2016
Easy days, learned a lot about drilling rig and what my specific job was. Great supervisor and co workers, no problem with any one. making the right decision.
Pros
company truck, inusrance
Cons
21 days on 7 off
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Union Job
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Harrisburg, PAAugust 3, 2016
The pay was commiserate with the work performed. There was a slim chance of advancement, however job security was great a well as the benefits.

Management was very strict and the guidelines implemented got tougher and tougher as the months moved on.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A big team with a lor of diversit
Sift Supervisor, Hydroelectric Power Plant (Former Employee) –  SongloulouJuly 12, 2016
Ensure safe, efficient operation of a 71 employee-plant capable of producing 400 MWs to power grid. Start, shut down, and operate entire plant at normal conditions. Supervise/evaluate one control room operator, two plant operators, and one dam operator.
I learned how to manage a team and maintained plant stability through black out situation as supervisor in charge.
I had a wonderful chief who learned me how to lead a team.
The hardest part of the work is to write a report when we perform on night time, during shift, after 8 days far from families.
The most enjoyable moment is when we leave the work site to go back to family
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i was happy with the pay , but it is a change of life style
Asst. Manager Trainee (Former Employee) –  West Decatur, PAJune 24, 2016
This life style is not for every one. But if you are a young person able to commit a life style change of be on call 24/7 this is your job. Hard work and fast pace
Pros
good pay and see the country
Cons
its a life style not just a job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alot of work with hard to handle conditions
Scenic Carpenter (tradesman) (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLJune 11, 2016
Any thing could happen on anyday. Be tasked out to go to site and repare/modify something the company may have build, or something they only installed. Be tasked to build something from blue prints in Shop (in appropriate time frame until complete). Be tasked to take crews of workers and yourself to a site in another city/state and successfully complete out of shop projects independently.
Pros
lots of work hours
Cons
no life
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for.
Consulting Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Canonsburg, PAMay 18, 2016
Managed sales and service and engineering personnel.

Co workers generally skilled and hard working.

Training personnel with little or no experience.

Company did not micro manage.
Pros
Did not micromange
Cons
Local management had little experience
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shady Point is an excellent place to work.
Outside Boiler Operator / Training (Former Employee) –  Panama, OKMay 8, 2016
Professional plant in safety and job work ethics. Family oriented and a lot of knowledge learned. Many out of work activities for family and employees to grow and enjoy.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Owners and Coworkers
Mechanical Designer (Current Employee) –  Montgomeryville, PAMay 4, 2016
Busy Cleanroom Design and manufacturing company.
Company exceed clients needs and expectations.
Getting to meet the clients and surveying a possible work site is a favorite of mine.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable experience.
Internal Communications Specialist (Current Employee) –  Arlington, VAMay 4, 2016
Enjoyable experience. Professional atmosphere with intelligent, driven core of employees. Due to setbacks in the company's home country, job security isn't guaranteed. But overall a good company to work for.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at AES Corporation. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 452 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Compensation/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.5
Culture
3.8