Find companies:
AAR Corp.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
36 reviews

AAR Corp. Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
beware a&p licensed mechanics
aircraft mechanic (Former Employee), Indianapolis inJune 2, 2014
Pros: nice facility
Cons: cut corners, no integrity
Started aar as a contractor. All was great for a while then new d.o.m. took over. You could see things go downhill (lost contracts, lay offs etc.). Last straw was when sheetmetal crew was called into office and told to blend corrosion and sign off in limits so plane wont go late. Luckily I was on another job at the time. Cutting corners and pencil whipping – more... are commonplace at aar. Please beware. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not much Diversity. True Good ole boys system there.
Aircraft Mechanic (Current Employee), Hot Springs, ARMay 25, 2014
Pros: no pros at all
Cons: leads are lazy and clueless.
typical day at work starts with entering in the main hanger and navigating thru the hoard of day workers standing around the time clock waiting to clock out while the hanger floor is engulfed with debris and trash.

i learned how to survive inside a good ole boy system.

no comment on management.

Co- workers were ok, kinda like a union but not a union.

no – more... hard part of the job, you just stay on the same thing for however long you are there.

The christmas and thanksgivig parties. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive place
AIRCRAFT MAINTENANCE SUPERVISOR (Former Employee), MiamiApril 17, 2014
There is much opportunity to learn while working there, but there is also a great deal of frustration.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very oppressive environment
Engineering Services Manager (Current Employee), Goldsboro, NCMarch 19, 2014
Pros: the people.
Cons: lack of culture.
A typical day at this company has not been about the work but about who would be leaving next. I have learned that the culture within a company is the most important thing that should be fostered and have taken that for granted after many years of working at companies who worked hard to show they cared about their employees. Upper management here have – more... been very oppressive. There is no opportunity for teleworking, but consultants are hired and they all work from home; their is no trust of the employees that they have hired; policies are written when they are needed; it is a very backwards environment. This has been the hardest part of the job. The most enjoyable part have been my co-workers. Everyone wants to do the right thing, but get frustrated trying because of the lack of support from management. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
JOB CULTURE NEEDS WORK
AVIONICS TECHNICIAN/INSTALLER (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INMarch 6, 2014
Work day was unperdictable unknown where you would be working each day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The worst place I have ever worked!
S-61 Captain (Former Employee), AfghanistanMarch 3, 2014
Pros: pay
Cons: unsafe, horrible management, no hiring screening, disorganized
I worked for AAR for 8 months. I started in January 2011, and my employment stopped in August. Right off, my initial impression of AAR was very poorly run operations. During training, things were very disorganized, with our instructors often very disgruntled themselves. Often we did not even know what would be going on the next day, but less have some – more... sort of syllabus. After finishing my training in February, my pay suddenly stopped after getting into Afghanistan. I went from middle of February till middle of April before I received my next paycheck, and every time I raised a issue or complaint, I was given a generic answer about someone looking into it from the stateside office. It was not until I emailed the CEO of the flight branch before I finally got paid, and they refused to pay me back pay for that time I went without. Their hiring process was horrible. I thought I was going to be working and flying with the world's best pilots, and it turned out many times I was with the world's rejects. I don't think I am any top gun, but I was surrounded by guys who had not only been SIC for a year or more, but were totally clueless to flying in general. The company did not screen anyone. One guy, who was our assistant site manager, only got the position because he BS's with the country manager who was also clueless. Come to find out, our assistant site manager had been fired from his last job flying EMS for being drunk on the job, and he had been claiming to be a retired full bird from the Marine Corps, only to find out he had been let go as a 1LT because of issues. And he was not the only person with issues. There was so many layers to management that no one knew what was going on, both in country and state side in Melbourne, FL. I could go on for much longer, and if you would like to know, I can put you in contact with ever so many mechanics, crew chiefs, and pilots that all left for the same reasons. If you value your sanity and safety, do not work for AAR Airlift! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
will never work for them again
AAvionics technician (Former Employee), Indianapolis IndianaMarch 3, 2014
Pros: nice location
Cons: horrible management
Worked for aar in Oklahoma and they laid me off after a very short time. I gave them another shot in Indianapolis and the same thing happened. They left my family and myself with little options. Leads were awful and Never helped. They treated people like children and we're very disrespectful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mostly a miserable eperience
Sheet Metal Mechanic (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INFebruary 26, 2014
Pros: nice clean modern facility
Cons: everything else...i would rather be living in a box on the street
I worked here in 2013 and was treated basically like a dog....or worse...the supervisor in my department wouldnt even talk to me....if I had a question or problem my lead man would not get off of Facebook to answer my questions. Everyday at this place was a living hell for me....the turnover is terrible..and if you are contractor they barely speak to – more... you.....they have their clients not even knowing what really goes on out there.....their direct hire employees with many years of experience make so little....I feel sorry for them.....if you go to work here after reading this it is your fault....you have been warned.....lol – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, lots of advancement opportunities.
Lead A&P Mechanic (Current Employee), Indianapolis, INFebruary 5, 2014
Pros: plenty of advancement opportunities.
Cons: off shift cafeteria sometimes unavailable.
AAR has many locations and opportunities for individual advancement. I enjoyed working here because of the diverse work details, always a new opportunity and plenty of challenges daily. Plenty of opportunity to enhance individual work skills in a team environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable work environment
Alternate Lead/A&P Mechanic (Former Employee), Okc., Ok.January 26, 2014
A diverse work environment between active duty, civil service, and contractors. Equal opportunity company. Management is thorough in the training process and willing to assist with the needs of the employees. Co-workers maintain a positive outlook and care about achieving a high rank in production. The most enjoyable part of the job was being able to – more... go to work everyday with a group of people that cared about the aviation just as much as I do. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable work environment
Alternate Lead/A&P Mechanic (Former Employee), Okc., Ok.January 26, 2014
A diverse work environment between active duty, civil service, and contractors. Equal opportunity company. Management is thorough in the training process and willing to assist with the needs of the employees. Co-workers maintain a positive outlook and care about achieving a high rank in production. The most enjoyable part of the job was being able to – more... go to work everyday with a group of people that cared about the aviation just as much as I do. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I would LOVE to work here again!!
A-10 flap wedge fabrication and assembly (Former Employee), Clearwater, FLJanuary 21, 2014
Pros: everything about this place!
Very fun place to work, people are friendly, job is easy. Working composites for the A-10 flap wedge.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Warehouse (Current Employee), Warner Robins, GANovember 15, 2013
- long and slow
- supply chain management
- incompetent
- some good individules with work ethic
- incompetent employees
- enjoy logistical challenges
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun work place
A&P Mechanic (Current Employee), Oklahoma City, OKNovember 10, 2013
Pros: great vision and dental
Cons: short lunches
Hard work and some long hours, but very good work place. Co-workers are good.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a good place to work
Sales and Purchasing Representative (Former Employee), Wood Dale, ILNovember 7, 2013
A typical day was selling product through emails and phone calls. Keeping tabs on inventory levels and backlog orders to ensure we had enough stock to meet demands and timelines. Learned excellent time managemnt skills, abiility to multi task and create a maintain vendor and customer relationships. Management fostered our success and growth. My co-workers – more... were excellent and everyone really cared for each other and wanted to do well. Hardest part was losing talented colleagues and having to replace them and their skills. Most enjoyable part was building professional yet friendly relationships with vendors and suppliers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work enviornment
AAR Supervisor (Former Employee), Nash, Tx last assignment Bradley Tank THOR programSeptember 19, 2013
Pros: flexable schedule
Cons: tacom contract end with little notice
10 hours days 3 day week ends, identify parts, very good, some good & some not good, Lean events, ping pong at break time
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company assisted with great tools to advance in the manufacturing field.
Shelter Tech (Former Employee), Goldsboro, NCAugust 16, 2013
Pros: benefits
Cons: management
Workflow was steady
I gained alot of work experience
Management was unprofessional
The job qualifications were not based on production but quality
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family oriented and welcoming work place
Human Resources Generalist (Current Employee), Wood Dale, ILAugust 8, 2013
Pros: bag toss every friday, fit clubs for 3-4 months a year, employee picnics, employee holiday parties
AAR has a great family-oriented culture and always presents a welcoming environment.

A typical work day for me consists of working closely with hiring managers and outside sourcing agencies to find candidates for open positions. I am always in communication with multiple people at a time, multi-tasking, and organizing group events.

The mangement is – more... great here, they set distinct goals and steer you in specific directions to improve the daily operations of business and the success of your career path.

My co-workers are very diverse-- There are older and younger, male and female, and people of different ethnic backgrounds. It is nice to work with such a diverse workforce because it helps me learn new things about new people and it betters my ability to understand how different people think differently

The most enjoyable part of my job is being able to communicate with so many indiviudals across the corporation. I can speak with invidiuals from 10 different states all in one day and I highly enjoy that. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad place to work
Composite Technician/Assembler (Former Employee), Clearwater, FLJuly 16, 2013
PAY SUCKS, EMPLOYERS LIE ON EMPLOYEES, NOT ENOUGH WORK GIVEN THEY SEND YOU HOME
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Living nightmare
General production (Former Employee), Cadillac, MichiganMay 17, 2013
Cons: everything under the sun
Management always passing the buck. many hourly employees did nothing or very little in a days job. management turn there heads. employees did their job was ask to do more to make up for the employees not doing their job. Company took 30% of hourly employees wage away with the promise of no man power reduction.
More than half reduction has been made. – more... management pass the buck and employees pass the buck. Takes about 4 times longer and 10 times more man power to build the product for the US military.
Tax payer's are paying for a product that would cost 10 times less if AAR was a productive Company building a product for our US Military. AAR offer you a job turn around and run like hell and don't look back. – less

About AAR Corp.

AAR CORP. (AAR) is a diversified provider of products and services to the worldwide aviation and defense industries. The Company – Read more

AAR Corp. Photos