Aarons Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful
Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXOctober 16, 2017
Working at Aaron's was very stressful. If you worked in collections. Your job was to call customers about payments if they were late. If they didn't answer. You would make a house visit. If they couldn't pay. You would pick up the product.
Pros
Pay
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Aarons
Sales (Former Employee) –  2605 N. BroadwayOctober 16, 2017
I worked there for 4 years, i started out at 10.25 an hour, i left making 10.93. their raises were bogus the entire time i was there. the management sucked, they went through employees left and right.
Pros
benefits
Cons
everything else
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced
Customer Accounts Manager (Former Employee) –  Albany, GAOctober 16, 2017
This is a fast-paced, high volume company. There was a management change during my tenure and the styles were evident.We never had an issue with any employees.
Pros
Weekly department meetings
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
General Manager (Former Employee) –  Chattanooga, TNOctober 15, 2017
Hours are long with strict goals. The store is often understaffed and overworked. Upper management does not care whether all efforts are put forth. Pay is good.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a great place to work
Delivery Driver (Former Employee) –  Athens, TXOctober 13, 2017
Poor management. Poor pay for the work you do. They have a rule if you damage any merchandise or customer property, you have to pay for it which is ridiculous.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive/Hard working/ Fun work Place
Delivery Driver (Current Employee) –  Elkins, WVOctober 12, 2017
Load Appliances, How to put together certain furniture, and sales experience, laid back but hard working when help is needed, sales and delivering, Field Visits for people who refuse to pay, The employees
Pros
fun job
Cons
no career advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I can advance to a gm in a minimum of a year if you have a passion for sales and networking this is the place for you
Lead Product Technician (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXOctober 12, 2017
It's a great job when There's just no real room for advancement or compensation I have several goal and dreams to fullfill and I firmly believe that I'm not gonna get these things accomplished at the following job
Pros
Interacting with new pails every day and seing new places every day
Cons
Very little time for family and underpaid
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lack of communication and leadership
Customer Account Manager (Former Employee) –  York, PAOctober 12, 2017
a good place to start but unwilling to pay any real money unless you devote 7+ years an become part of the club. if you bring up a problem that is not in there immediate best interest then it is overlooked.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overworked
Product Technician (Current Employee) –  Seneca, SCOctober 11, 2017
You do your job and everyone else's while they get to sit around and be lazy. Management will usually try to send you to do all the back breaking work by yourself and do it quickly with no mistakes.
Pros
Paid per stop and per hour plus bonus
Cons
You do most everything with no help
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company to work for
General Manager (GM) (Former Employee) –  Blytheville, AROctober 11, 2017
A typical day at Aaron's was pleasing as a Manager. It was like a family away from home. The company took care of the staff and a friendly environment.
Pros
great benefits
Cons
long hours due to family as Manager
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report

Want to know more about Aarons?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Product Technician/Delivery Driver (Former Employee) –  Conroe, TXOctober 10, 2017
I loved working for Aarons and I gained a lot of experience while working for them. My boss was great and the job was super easy. Looking to reapply with them
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee) –  Obetz, OHOctober 10, 2017
hours vary everyday. You have to stay until the job is done so if you have to have a set start and stop time this job may be difficult. Managers are nice and will work with you as much as they can. There are many opportunities to advance if you want to and work hard enough.
Pros
plenty of hours
Cons
work schedule inconsistant
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to start.
Product Tech (Current Employee) –  Hereford, TXOctober 10, 2017
Typical day at work starts by clocking in, checking to see what needs to be done that day, getting that days paperwork, loading up the truck, delivering to customers, pick up merchandise from customers, service/repair customers merchandise, lots of driving and out of the store if the store is making sales.

I've learned quite a bit by working here. A lot I can use in my everyday life, how to clean things, fix them, move in/out organize rooms. Seems like common knowledge but you'd be surprised how many people don't know.

Management is what you make of it. If your get your work done and do what you're asked things will go smoothly. If you make up excuses as to why you're not getting things done and argue about it all day multiple times a week you're going to have a bad time. There tends to be favoritism, even if you've been there for a while expect the favorite to get away with a lot. No being on your phone, no showing up late, etc applies to everyone especially if someone keeps (for ex.) showing up late then management will be stricter with everyone. Collective punishment, kind of like when the whole class gets their field trip cancelled because one kid decide to egg the principals house.

Workplace culture tends to be like every other place. Set or rules, morals, etc to make the company look good and discourage bad behavior.

The hardest part of the job is when there's nothing to do because sales slow down. School starting up, graduations, college, etc keeps people from buying.

Most enjoyable part of the job is that it isn't hard labor, improving social skills
  more... by meeting new people, being out on the road, peeling plastic off of electronics and appliances.  less
Pros
Hour Lunch, pay, only one shift, coworkers
Cons
Bi-weekly pay, favoritism
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and demanding workplace with great benefits
Divisional Sales/Management Team (Current Employee) –  Slidell, LAOctober 9, 2017
Start with strategy meetings with sales and collections to map out day and set goals. Load product for delivery. Conduct week inventory. Continuously interview for new talent. Customer interaction through out the day. Mid day follow up on strategy meetings to evaluate progress for meeting goals.
Most enjoyable part of the job is working with the customers.
Pros
5 weeks vacation, Sundays off
Cons
micro managed
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
daily work day
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Kennesaw, GAOctober 9, 2017
On any given day I help customer's with their online Ecom orders, or I help the file a formal complaint from the store they are currently leasing from. I think the hardest part is that most of the stores don't know about the online process and tell the customer anything, which makes it hard for us to explain the correct procedures. I like talking to different people through out the day, makes it enjoyable.
Pros
good hours
Cons
no room for advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management, Poor pay, Poor benefits, Horrible hours and bad customer service
Sales Representative (Current Employee) –  Burlington, VTOctober 8, 2017
I wouldn't recommend working here to anyone. The management is impossible to deal with and you have to beg for any time off or have a family emergency. You'll work 12 hour days and they'll try to make you work 15 for slave wages. don't work here
Pros
discounts on over priced furniture
Cons
long hours, no time off, poor pay, bad benefits, bully managers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Delivery
Delivery Driver (Former Employee) –  Niles, OHOctober 7, 2017
Working with Aarons was great experience from the teamwork of all the employees to having great customers. The work wasn't to hard and lifting was a breeze but we did work together a lot to make things happen easy.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced
General Manager (Former Employee) –  Mocksville, NCOctober 7, 2017
Fast paced work environment. Rapid changes that are rolled out at times with out thought at what affect it might have on the store or how the store might be able to handle it with the small foot prints available to them. Upper management very supportive in trying to help to implement rollout if possible.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Staff
Accounts Manager (Former Employee) –  DeRidder, LAOctober 6, 2017
As an Account Manager my jobs was to call clients that were past do on their accounts. In some cases I had to go retrieve the items from their homes and return them to the store.
Pros
good co-workers
Cons
low pay for a manager and dealing with angry people daily
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Sales Manager (Current Employee) –  Elkin, NCOctober 5, 2017
The atmosphere is amazing, the management is fair ans there is always room for growth. You decide on how far you wanna grow! Definitely a great place to work!
Pros
Contests, great benefits, awesome staff
Cons
None!
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Aarons. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 2,184 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.8
Compensation/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.0
Culture
3.2