AARP Employee Reviews in United States

Found 462 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
volunteer work
Volunteer Tax Assistance Program (Former Employee) –  Ventura, CAAugust 24, 2016
This was a volunteer job.
I enjoyed the people I worked with and the population that AARP serves.
Most of the clients were retirees and they very much appreciated that AARP provided free income tax services.
Pros
It was a nice group of people to work with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it is great where I work at Career Link .
Office Assistant (Current Employee) –  New Castle, PAAugust 18, 2016
CareerLink is a great place to work , everyone is nice and we all work together and get along as a team. I have learned typing, data entry, photo copy machines and scanning, faxing, Microsoft office. uploading documents how to save documents
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales Executive
Proessionl Volunteer Services (Current Employee) –  San Juan, PRAugust 16, 2016
On Charge base Customer of PR
• Recruit more than 50 new customers over base clients “door to door”.
Recover 40 % payables accounts over 60 days.
• Present New Categories and New Product around Puerto Rico
• Retail Sales
• Wholesale woman accessories
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a fun place to work
Customer Service Representative I (Former Employee) –  Reno, NVAugust 14, 2016
Coworkers are easy to get along with. Supervisors are under standing. Train you in different departments. Good breaks. Work with you on doctors appointments.
Pros
Work at your own pace
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work/life balance
Executive Assistant (Current Employee) –  Washington City, DCAugust 11, 2016
In my experience, working at AARP has been a great one. Employees really feel taken care of. Along with great benefits, competitive salary, there is a nice comradery.
Pros
great benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Training program
Assistant Teacher (Current Employee) –  New Orleans, LAAugust 9, 2016
Helps Seniors to find employment gives seniors training opportunities and gives seniors a chance to help other seniors. I also show them how to do resumes
Pros
good for seniors
Cons
Hard to find emploment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a retraining program for 55 and older people.
AARP grant trained (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLAugust 8, 2016
It is a maximum 4 year program to retrain one at a host agency to acquire the skills to make one employable in this new skill set world. AARP pays us our salary during this time and the host agency (a non-profit or governmental agencey) gets us for free. They are suppose to help with our retraining.
Pros
Great program to help pay the bills.
Cons
Host agencies don't do that much retraining.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
Senior Systems Engineer/Analyst (Former Employee) –  Rockville, MDJuly 15, 2016
Easy to create personal working relationships with other personnel within my team and with others throughout the comapny.
Pros
Very good benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job/life balance
ETL QA Consultant (Current Employee) –  Rockville, MDJuly 13, 2016
Great company to work for, except the compensation part.
Flexible timings and cooperative colleagues.
Supportive management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employment Specialist
Employment Specialist (Current Employee) –  Evansville, INJuly 12, 2016
I work from 8a-1pm helping placing seniors in non-profit agencies to get training while AARP pays their wages. I am also in the program which is part-time and limited to 48 months and only pays minimum wage. I am learning how tough it is for seniors with limited skills to find work. I enjoy meeting with people and helping find part-time work and training.
Pros
meeting people and helping them
Cons
low pay and short hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Senior Work Program
Temp (Former Employee) –  Reno, NVJuly 9, 2016
AARP senior work program is designed to help seniors with temporary work while they look for steady employment. It helped a lot for the times I was inside the system. I met many nice people
some who gave me references during that period of time.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Mission
Project Manager (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCJuly 9, 2016
I've enjoyed working for the Association. There's plenty of opportunity to grow and move around the Association if you're based in DC or willing to relocated to one of the state offices.
Pros
Great Mission, Leadership, Salary/Benefits for a non-profit are above par for industry.
Cons
None that I can think of
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits, salary
Senior Analyst (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCJuly 7, 2016
Management unclear about priorities, leading to stressful work environment. GREAT benefits and job flexibility. Onsite gym and personal trainer. Good opportunities to further professional education and training. Hopefully the ship will right itself again soon.
Pros
Great benefits, competitive salary
Cons
stressful work environment, unclear priorities.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent orginazation, focused on assisting the elderly.
Clerical Support (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 29, 2016
Host Agency location is convenient, being within 25 miles of home.
Working with very nice people.

They focus on assisting the elderly getting hired.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a secured place for a job
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Corpus Christi, TXJune 28, 2016
enjoyed working with everyone. worked as a team and things went well by everyone co-operating. I have no more information that I wish to discuss.
Cons
no breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Aarp
Senior Developer contractor (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCJune 28, 2016
AARP Online social networking application allows users to join the online community to connect and interact with other users. User can add friends, update personal profiles, send messages, upload photos, videos, publish journals, create/join groups and join discussions etc
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn and work
Software Developer Intern (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCJune 25, 2016
Energetic Environment
Learnt and have worked Core Java, Spring, Struts, hibernate. Internship experience was fun overall. Great Support from Manager and team members.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great office location, in old building that has been updated for today's use.
Employment Specialist (Former Employee) –  Lancaster, PAJune 25, 2016
Great non-profit to work for, mainly because the Foundation helps seniors in need of employment. This position has helped me, especially learning how to use a computer, data entry. My Project Director is a super person. The hardest part of the job is the fact that we are all enrollees, and it is getting much harder for me to find unsubsidized employment for myself.
Pros
Outings to the Reading office, Christmas lunch, appreciation day.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Day at work
Sr.Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Washington, DC 20049June 21, 2016
I get to work early, and leave late. This was just a typical administrative position, but my co-workers made me feel good about coming to work everyday. The management team seemed a little disconnected but over all a great place to work!
Pros
Great Location
Cons
No job security
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
SCSEP Employment Specialist
Employment Specialist (Current Employee) –  Melbourne, FLJune 14, 2016
This is a training program and not employment. We do receive pay while training. The program is for 55+ unemployed job seekers who are lacking in skills and/or education. I case manage an average of 18 individuals to help them achieve their goal of employment. Being able to meet and get to know many different types of people from various walks of life who are all in relatively the same situation is very rewarding and to see someone that I have personally assisted with their future is something that I will carry with me for life.
Pros
Paid training
Cons
No chance for hire in my capacity within the program
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 464 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.1
Compensation/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.8
Culture
4.0