ABCO Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive environment and excellent customer service
Administration (Current Employee) –  Alexandria, VAOctober 25, 2017
75% daily fast paced

Give those around you the proper tools and guidance to help them succeed.

Do not micro manager, train, walk away, check back for followup

99% positive environment.

Commuting

Respect upper management gave all employees, which in turn created a respectful workplace for all.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Floral Department Manager (Former Employee) –  Mesa, AZMay 15, 2017
I enjoyed working for the company. I worked in the produce department doing the floral department. I got to do design work which I loved. The hardest part was probably being cold and wet most of the time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work here if desperate.
Warehouse Associate (Current Employee) –  Middle Village, NYMarch 22, 2017
Abco starts their warehouse associates at 12.00$ an hour. You will definetly be overworked. Especially the 6pm - to whenever crew. Mandatory overtime in the summer season with no fan or air conditioning in the building.
Pros
Break times
Cons
No room for advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company in the making
Driver (Former Employee) –  Ocala, FLDecember 6, 2016
Lots of mis communication , dispatchers don't keep you informed of loads, they take the best drivers and run them in the ground to make for lazy drivers.

Good benefits , Improved equipment, get you home 90% of the time requested.

Needs more drop and hook, long wait time for pickups and deliveries
wait up to 4 hrs or more

Good over the roadside services

improving company that had and still have lots a problems.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wire and mental products
Floor Hand (Former Employee) –  Russell, KSNovember 9, 2016
Fabrication assembly line, If you have no experience they train you in safety tips, how to work machinery correctly, Welding/tack welding, etc. awesome environment to work in.
Pros
Great benefits
Cons
Temporary work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  Carlstadt, NJOctober 5, 2016
A typical day is doing common office duties, such as typing, filing, faxes. I learned quickbooks and had to schedule pickups and deliveries. I loved working with my co workers. They were always happy, nice and funny.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was hard work but layed back at the same time
Sorter/Inspector (Former Employee) –  Sterling Heights, MIAugust 24, 2016
its was pretty easy. The section that I was in, we would get through our project really quickly. We did have to relocate once.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and independant workplace
Security Guard (Current Employee) –  Berlin, MDJune 26, 2016
Very reliable workplace. Co-workers and Management are teamworkers. Great communication. The hardest part is resolving security issues.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Packer (Former Employee) –  Salinas, CAOctober 16, 2015
fun place to work, everyone was friendly with the new employers, everyone helped and did there part in the building. projects where done ahead of schedule.
Pros
long lunch, good pay
Cons
healthcar
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great on hands employment
Facility Maintenance (Former Employee) –  Staten Island, NYSeptember 18, 2015
a typical day here goes really fast especially when you work as hard as do. Its easy work and very very good. I advise anyone who can work with their hands to go and work here!
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work place with good people.
Sheet Metal Worker (Former Employee) –  queensJuly 8, 2015
skilled craftsmen and state-of-the-art design, with fabrication, installation and coordination that building owners and developers have come to expect for their sheet metal needs.
Pros
start early finish early
Cons
crazy individuals
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome career
Air Balance Technician (Current Employee) –  Los AngelesJune 3, 2015
The work is mainly construction based, with integrated mathematical equations. It was a rewards positions that is interested in the Air Balance field.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good environment
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Middle Village, NYMarch 25, 2015
Abco is a great place to work however, everyone in the company has been there for many years so room for advancement is minimal. I worked in the distribution center so it was fast paced. You get to learn many aspects of the company compared to working in a branch.
Pros
Family environment, pay, and they treat their employees with respect.
Cons
summer hours are long and demanding.
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I liked operating the machines, building different parts, doing different things, usually had a regular day shift schedule (7:00 am-3:30 pm, m-f)
Press Operator (Former Employee) –  Florence, ALFebruary 10, 2015
I liked operating the machines, building different parts, doing different things, usually had a regular day shift schedule (7:00 am-3:30 pm, mon.-fri.) with occasional over-time in the afternoons, off weekends and most typical holidays plus 2 weeks paid vacation and perfect attendance bonus hours. I generally got along with most of the people and tried to avoid arguments but there was mainly one fellow who tried to get me fired for 8 or 9 out of the last 14 years because of religious differences in spite of trying to avoid arguments by trying to avoid discussions about it. Other than harassment from religious discrimination mainly because I'm a 7th day Sabbatarian (because I wouldn't work on saturdays), I generally enjoyed working there.
Pros
doing different things, mostly good people, good insurance, regular schedule, occasional overtime, weekends off, paid holidays, vacation, perfect attendance bonus
Cons
harassment because of religious discrimination
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work many people met and objects gained.
Mover helper (Former Employee) –  Port Orange, FLJanuary 13, 2015
moving furniture to the desired location and place the customer
wanted. traveling a set amount of miles to the place of delivery.

management was on our own time, we had a time and day to get there and get it taken care of but it was well managed.

co workers are a blast to hang out with in the truck and you meet so many different people and personalities.
Pros
items givin to us if, our own time managment
Cons
weather conditions can be really harsh depending on the day and time
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
communication is a big problem
tech (Former Employee) –  njNovember 30, 2014
Managment hires people who don't know anything about the work they manage,op managers don't communicate with other managers sitting next to them , always trying to rush the techs then when the techs are done they make the techs sit and waste time 45 minutes plus
Pros
will make anyone a project manager that has no experiance
Cons
no benefits, no paid vacations, no holiday pay, no respect, charges companies for emergancy responce but won't pay the techs any more
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Ac Specialist / HVAC Installer (Former Employee) –  Fremont, CAJuly 1, 2014
its a job in the union that pays good and good benefits i learned everythiong i know about sheetmetal at this company
Pros
..
Cons
..
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
independant contractor
Moroccanoil Educator (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXJune 29, 2014
most communication is through email.
Very nice family owned distributor company.
Pros
work on your own pace
Cons
no benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job
Equipment operator (Former Employee) –  Morgan Hill caFebruary 19, 2014
always had work ,pay was good learned a lot about demolition
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family owned and friendly
Delivery Driver (Former Employee) –  Alexandria, VADecember 4, 2013
Great Owners and hands on. Very diverse and small team. Great co-workers and willing to pay fair.
Pros
Great team.
Cons
Absolutely very small chance to advance
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 3Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at ABCO. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 39 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.6
Culture
3.7