Abercrombie & Fitch Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An excellent college job
BRAND REPRESENTATIVE (Former Employee) –  San Luis Obispo, CADecember 17, 2017
The job itself was easy enough. However, company policy required only one manager and one brand representative on shift at a time, making shifts at times feel understaffed. At other times, the culture of the workplace would change with employees, from friendly to somewhat clique-like.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible
BRAND REPRESENTATIVE (Current Employee) –  Sacramento, CADecember 15, 2017
Helping customers with any questions they had, working cashier. Most days at work are very relaxed and slow paced, except around the holidays. Management team is great, willing to work with you and what fits your schedule best. Working here helped be more social and its always fun getting to meet new people and getting to talk to them.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great starter/entry level job for any young person passionate about clothing
Impact Team Member (Former Employee) –  Lexington, KYDecember 14, 2017
Abercrombie and Fitch was a fun company to work for, especially if you have an interest in their clothing products/fashion in general. Although the pay may not be the greatest, I don't believe this is a job intended to support a large family. It's great for kids who just graduated high school and is a job one can easily work while also attending college for some extra spending money. For most employees the discount you receive on the clothing as an employee is enough incentive to work a few days a week there.
Pros
Discount on clothing, fun YOUNG work environment without overwhelming responsibilities
Cons
Low pay, lack of tangible career advancement within the company
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's ok as a first job
Brand Representative (Former Employee) –  Wellington, FLDecember 14, 2017
The paid is not fair, you do not get enough hours but during Christmas they do overtime, it is not worth it because there is not a career raise chance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service
Model/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  King of Prussia, PADecember 14, 2017
The position of Abercrombie & Fitch floor model entails a number of job duties. In addition to showcasing fashions and accessories, floor models assist customers with sales and answer questions about products and merchandise. Some A&F locations may require floor models to operate cash registers and organize stock shelves and clothing racks, as well. Fashionable and personable workers typically perform well during the Abercrombie & Fitch hiring process. Training takes place over the course of a week or two and involves verbal and visual demonstration.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
Model/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXDecember 13, 2017
Fast paced job. If you do not like dealing with customers, kids and other thing this would not be the job for you. Also folding clothes that get rearranged 5 minutes later is a big deal there also
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Fun
Retail Associate (Former Employee) –  Kingston, MADecember 13, 2017
This was maybe the worst working experience I have had. The managers put me on for one 4 hour shift a week. When hired I was told I would be able to work 20 hours a week.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was decent
Stock Associate (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLDecember 13, 2017
Working at Abercombie was decent. They just work you like a slave and pay below minimum wage. The mangers were pretty cool. That job has taught me how to communicate well with others.
Pros
Breaks
Cons
Low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor salary.
Cashier (Former Employee) –  South Portland, MEDecember 12, 2017
You don't get paid enough and there aren't any raises. All you do is fold clothes, greet customers, and use the register. You usually only work 4 hours a day if you're part time which isn't really much.
Pros
Discounts
Cons
Bad pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Engaging management
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Rockaway, NJDecember 12, 2017
Management was knowledgeable of products and operations. Through them the companies culture was passed onto their subordinates, a love for Abercrombie & Fitch was visible among the staff.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work for
Sorter (Former Employee) –  New Albany, OHDecember 12, 2017
Awesome warehouse to work for. Everyone is friendly. The supervisors actually do their job and more. I worked peek season this year and everyday of it Abercrombie and Fitch catered lunch breaks, gave out freebies and did a daily raffle.
Pros
Cafeteria in breakroom and great management
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overwhelming fast pace tasks
Warehouse Worker (Seasonal) (Former Employee) –  New Albany, OHDecember 11, 2017
Workflow was draining and aggressive
Fast pace work
Breaks time shortened by distance
Fear of losing job by simple accidents
Competitive environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company in flux still trying to dig itself out of a hole
Merchandising (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHDecember 11, 2017
Great corporate culture filled with people who are genuinely dedicated to turning the business around. My take is that they're trying to accomplish too many things at once. The product has improved immensely, but processes are still lagging behind. Merchants recently had Production responsibilities taken off their plate which is good. Management is enthusiastic, but there seems to be a disconnect between top-down strategy and bottom-up execution. The talent level is there as is the design vision.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok Place to start your career in management
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  New HampshireDecember 10, 2017
Abercrombie is a great place to start a career development in management skills as well as business skills. It starts out fun and very inclusive. However, once you really start to understand this company and how these people orchestrate in the middle management, you realize this place is very cut-throat, EXCLUSIVE (not INCLUSIVE ...which is what they try to say in their core values). It's all about who you know, not how talented you are. Theres more pressure than any other retail store i've ever seen. They talk about the company changing but really it is just the same as it used to be 5-10 years ago. The benefits are pretty fair but thats about it. In terms of PTO, you can't even use it unless you find someone to cover for you, which I suppose is understandable but if no one wants to do it then you can't use that and you don't get that back... unless you have a good team (which is very rare) this is not the place to work.
Pros
health care, dental care, vision care
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They can be rough around the edges
Processor (Former Employee) –  New Albany, OHDecember 10, 2017
They don't care about you as a person. You are only an employee. Long hours and you don't feel like you are appreciated for working them. Not a great experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lighthearted but hard work is required
Brand Representative/Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Boise, IDDecember 9, 2017
I enjoy working at Abercrombie & Fitch because it is a respectable company but because they are a more expensive clothing store i feel like associates should get paid more than they do. All the managers are friendly and work around associates lives but their time management could use some help. I have worked late almost every shift.
Pros
Friendly work environment, easy going scheduling
Cons
minimum wage
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place with good people.
Sales Associate/Head Stock Associate (Former Employee) –  Canoga Park, CADecember 8, 2017
I had fun working for this company. I interacted with a lot of customers and helped them with their shopping. I kept the store clean and organized and it kept me busy.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Student Job
Brand Ambassador (Former Employee) –  Arden-Arcade, CADecember 8, 2017
This job is great if you don't have many responsibilities because you'll be getting maybe 2 shifts a week being 4 hours each during a normal week. The employee discount is 50% off which is good and they've been doing a lot of incentive based programs at Abercrombie where the company gives employee free stuff! The best thing about the job was the friends that i made, were all the same age range working towards the same goals. Management isn't very understanding that people can't live off of 8 hours a week, instead of giving the loyal employees a consistent amount of hours they instead distribute the hours through a lot of employees, meaning seniority does not count. And there is no room to move up unless you have a bachelors in which case you can be a store or assistant manager. Overall i enjoyed my time here and the environment was amazing to be in and i wouldn't trade it for the world!
Pros
Discount, Great Co Workers, Laid Back
Cons
Hours, No Call Outs
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
job duties
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  City of Sunrise, FLDecember 7, 2017
clean,fold clothes,organizing my station,helping the customers with their outfits, make sales on items, fitting rooms, cashier, stand on my feet long period time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXDecember 6, 2017
The environment at Abercrombie & Fitch is through the roof.
When your at work, there is no term called "my co-worker". Everyone who works their is basically like family.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Abercrombie & Fitch. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 3,347 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Compensation/Benefits
2.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.3
Culture
3.5