Find companies:
Aberdeen Asset Management
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
9 reviews

Aberdeen Asset Management Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management has no clue
Business Analyst (Current Employee), Philadelphia, PAJuly 9, 2014
Pros: wine fridays, corporate events, ability to travel
Cons: management, advancement, recognition
Great company, great corporate atmosphere, but management truly has no clue. There is little room for advancement, and they don't trust Americans!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Management
Analyst (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAJanuary 11, 2014
Pros: not many
Cons: no work/life balance. terrible management.
Terrible Management who doesn't care about their employees. Only seeks approval from their bosses. Terrible work/life balance. Coworkers were incompetent and could not perform job adequately. I would not recommend the company. Culture was nothing like I expected with too many people who believed they knew everything.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not wish to review
IT Project Manager (Former Employee), London, ENGJanuary 11, 2015
Do not wish to review- enjoyed my time but wanted a new challenge
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relatively repative and occasionally intellectually stimulating
Assistant Equity Dealer (Current Employee), LondonNovember 9, 2014
Pros: big global company
Cons: long hours
A typical day starts by running daily reports for the desk. This is repetitive and boring at times, but a requirement for the desk. Once this is done I may have some orders come down that have to be placed with one of our counterparties. This is roughly three times a week though so relatively rare. Aside from this I manage the Commission Sharing Arrangement (CSA) platform which accounts all CSA credits accumulated from trading. There are monthly reporting functions which includes commissons paid and transaction cost analysis.

I try to maintain professional relationship with my colleagues. They are of a different age group so quite hard to find similarities.

The hardest part of the Job is finding something academic to get emerged into as the job is mainly a process driven. The role is purely execution based so I would prefer to have something more analytical. The long hours at the desk and early starts also makes things hard work. It is also a relatively low salary for the hours worked.

The most enjoyable part of the job is being able to put trades though but this is quite rare making the job relatively repetitive and boring at times. I really need something more analytical, such as an IFA role or financial analyst.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced and Friendly
Telecommunications Administration (Former Employee), Aberdeen, SCTAugust 4, 2014
A typical day for me within Aberdeen Asset was very fast paced, whilst working on projects I'd be juggling day to day business as usual tasks and answering a never-ending stream of phone calls and emails assisting the Service Delivery Teams within EMEA.

The staff are always friendly, nothing is ever too much bother, they always have a positive attitude and extremely helpful.

The hardest part of the job was knowing when to switch off.

The company offer an excellent bonus and pension scheme, the company love to train and help you further your career.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned new skills but to many changes in management
Facilities Coordinator (Former Employee), ondonMarch 13, 2013
Pros: different daily duties
Cons: 21 days hoildays
• Facilities helpdesk – Monitoring of helpdesk to ensure office request are dealt with by appropriate member of team.

• Frontline Services – Issuing passes for access to building and monitoring

• Print management – Managing printing service and delivering presentation to deadline. Maintaining office flit of photocopiers and consumables.

• IOSH WORKING SAFLY - Awareness of on-site health and safety issues, Assessing hazards and reducing risk in the work place.

• DSE Assessment – Carrying out desk assessments for new staff and ordering ergonomic equipment as required.

• POST &COURIER SERVICE – Efficient in all post room duties and dealing with courier requests.

• STAFF PHOTO’S – Able at take studio quality staff photos.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good firm to work in
Graduate Analyst (Current Employee), LondonFebruary 25, 2013
Pros: good people, strong growth, value graduates, excellent pension
Cons: pay is relatively low, fixed income is still weak
Strong growth momentum
Nice work environment
Management is strong
Keen focus on the graduate programme
A lot of training opportunities
People are approacheable
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
leuke kleine internationale organisatie
Office manager / Secretary voor het gehele kantoor (Former Employee), Amsterdam, zuidasSeptember 2, 2014
Pros: flexibel, reiskostenvergoeding
Cons: dichte deuren cultuur, hele slechte (bijna geen) communicatie
mijn collega en ik runde samen de receptie/secretariaat en mijn extra taak was office management. Ik had hele leuke collega's en leuke mensen om voor te werken.
Het moeilijkste in mijn baan was dingen en processen te veranderen c.q. te vereenvoudigen. Ze deden al jaren dezelfde handelingen die in mijn ogen onnodig en ouderwets waren.
Het leukste van mijn baan was de flexibiliteit en de leuke omgang met mijn collega. Ik zal haar heel erg missen.