Find companies:
Ability Beyond Disability
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
32 reviews

Ability Beyond Disability Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Many opportunities for advancement and professional development
Assistant Resources and Services Coordinator (Former Employee), Bristol, CTJune 15, 2014
This company is very progressive. There are a lot of opportunities to learn and grow professionally but the compensation is not adequate for the amount of work expected at times. Great company over all.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding work with very low pay.
Life Skills Instructor (Former Employee), Bethel, CTJune 14, 2014
Pros: rewarding work
Cons: low pay, unprofessional management, no holidays off
Work is extremely rewarding. Management was unprofessional. Concerns and complaints constantly went ignored. Pay was extremely low and raises were pretty much non existent. Very hand not to get emotionally attached/involved.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Assisted clients with developmental disabilities, traumatic/acquired brain injuries, in finding/maintaining employment
Employment Specialist (Former Employee), Mount Kisco, NYMay 27, 2014
Assisted clients with developmental disabilities, traumatic/acquired brain injuries, in finding/maintaining employment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GREAT PLACE TO LEARN AND WORK!!!!
Licensed Sales Producer (Current Employee), Danbury, CTMarch 23, 2014
Pros: learn a lot, great people, great work
Great place to learn the people are generous courteous and amazing would recommend working here!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent first job in field, low pay, terrible management
LSI (Former Employee), BethelJanuary 26, 2014
Cons: mandation, treatment of workers low pay
Great job to begin working with people who have disabilities, I learned a lot but as I worked there longer I noticed lack of advancement unless you are "friends" with someone in the house. Your word means nothing against a supervisor. Very unfortunate that the company as a whole is awful the people who we serve are ultimately the ones who suffer because – more... no one is happy and the turnover rate is very high. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Internal departmental issues
Database Manager (Former Employee), Bethel, CTDecember 27, 2013
Pros: hearing about client success stories.
Cons: managers with no professional training, managers openly screaming at subordinates in open settings, managers not taking responsibility for their actions and blaming subordinates, employees are encouraged to not become friendly with people from other departments, no praise, just criticisms.
Problems w/management of Development Dept. causing dysfunction and hostile/toxic environment. Seeing/hearing co-workers being screamed at by management in open/cubicle areas was horrific. Supervisory staff promoted based on "friendships" with upper management rather than merit. Organization is doing wonderful/meaningful/humane work with clients, but – more... internal office environment is distrustful, and becoming friendly with others is openly discouraged. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and entertaining workplace
Life Skill Instuctor (Former Employee), Mount Kisco, NYNovember 18, 2013
Pros: community outting and dinners
Worked greatly with consumers in their daily lives helping them understand the importance of independent living. The consumers required a lot of attention but where a lot of fun to be around. The management time where very understanding and willing to work with the staff to keep everything in order and running smoothly. The hardest part of the job I – more... would say was to leave the consumers daily. They took a liking to me and me to them. However, the greatest feeling was the return to work the following day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
LSI
Life Skills Instructor /RFT Life Skills Instructor (Former Employee), Danbury, CTNovember 5, 2013
Pros: benefits, pay, clients
Cons: need better pay for some positions, driving everywhere
Health and human services provider serving people with developmental and neurological
disabilities. Caring for and supporting disabled individuals and providing them with the
tools they need to live independently. Developing individualized service plans for the client
to meet their personal needs and goals. Responsible for follow-up documentation,
inventory – more... control, answering phones, data entry, organizing and maintaining individual’s home to ensure it is safe and secure, personal assistant duties. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
..
Life Skills Instructor (Former Employee), Bethel, CTOctober 29, 2013
The Company is okay until you really need them to be behind you and understanding when your going through family emergence
Also the supervisors aren't really that professional,
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved this place
Life Skills Instructor (Former Employee), Bethel, CTOctober 13, 2013
Cons: illegally fire workers constantly
I loved working with the clients I had for the past almost 3 years, the joy they brought to me on a daily basis was one that cant be reciprocated.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dynamic Non Profit Changing Lives!
Resource and Services Coordinator (Current Employee), Bethel, CTOctober 4, 2013
Pros: the ability to make a difference in the lives of my clients on a daily basis
Everyday at Ability Beyond Disability has been filled with consistent challenges that have encouraged me to think outside the box in order to meet them head on. The positions I have held and currently hold have given me many opportunities to be creative in the way in which I provide services to my clients. Working as a team, a village if you will, to – more... create positive change in the lives of those with disabilities has been extremely rewarding. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience
Life Skills Instructor (Former Employee), Bethel, CTAugust 8, 2013
This position offers challenges and rewards. There are many different roles and responsibilities staff takes on over the course of the day. Staff assists with doctors appointments, direct care and recreation. There are also behavioral interventions which must be used on a daily basis depending on the consumer. It can be fun to work with a team of co-workers – more... and management is generally supportive. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Require great cooperations and team work
Life Skills Instructor (Former Employee), Bethel, CTAugust 7, 2013
Pros: free lunch some times
Cons: getting stuck to job when co-workers do not show up or call.
Seeing safety of patients/clients

Typical work day begun with cleaning, grooming, and hygiene check up and honoring appointments to clinics.

I learned how to be Compassionate and patient with people.

Team work and cooperation is the key to success.

Hardest part- not knowing what to do, and you can not get help.

Most Enjoyable part- when everyboy – more... is safe and healthy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment and great opportunity to help others
Direct Support Professional (Current Employee), Bethel, CTJune 6, 2013
I assisted consumers with cleaning, cooking, hygiene, medical appointments, and everyday activities that they can not perform on their own.
I enjoy working with my co-workers. We all are able to complete tasks for the consumers in a timely and professional manner.

The most enjoyable part of the entire job experience is knowing that I am making such – more... an impact on the lives of consumers, by allowing them to become independent and take part in community activities. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Patience is the most valuable skill here
Life Skills Instructor (Former Employee), Bethel, CTApril 4, 2013
The in home program is expanding and an exciting environment, the hardest part of it all is the fact that In-Home Residents are their own gaurdians so it makes problem solving more challenging.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
save yourself the agony...do not apply
life skills instructor (Current Employee), bethel, ctMarch 24, 2013
Pros: consumers
Cons: no money, no respect, no benefits, no breaks
This company gives the least amount of pay for this kind of work in the entire state!
Everything is political, and a managers word will always mean more than yours.
They will tell you that there is room to grow... there is not.
Raises come once a year and range between 7 and 30 cents.
There are no bonuses.
Way to much work for the pay and lack of respect. – more... This opinion is a collaboration or my entire departments views. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You must be dedicated to your positon
LSI/CNA (Current Employee), Danbury, CTMarch 7, 2013
Cons: no breaks, no room to grow
Requires hard work and dedication to clients, you have to love the work you do in order to feel fufilled in your position. The job can be very rewarding if you dedicate your life to it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Life Skills Instructor (Former Employee), Bethel, CTMarch 4, 2013
Great benefits and training, great staff! It's wehre I got my start in the feild of mental health.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terribly low pay, although most rewarding job I've had
Life Skills Instructor (Former Employee), Bethel, CTFebruary 6, 2013
Pros: the actual work
Cons: incredibly low pay, wear and tear from using your own car
I would help the patients live a life that they wanted to live.
Bring them to work, help them with household duties, bring them to activities that they had planned.
I learned so much about caring for people and teaching people rather than just doing for them.
Co-workers were a big plus for this job, everyone had the same priorities, which were the patients – more... happiness and safety.
The hardest part of the job was losing patients or making ends meet outside of work.
Enjoyable part of the job was definitely the feeling you got when you knew you were genuinely improving a person's value of life. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tough caseload, low pay, managers are not supportive
vocational (Former Employee), bristolJanuary 29, 2013
Pros: clients
Cons: everything else
Worked here for 3 years and the last 2years I was looking for another job. Tough clients but you grow to love them. Too bad you grow to hate the company and the low pay.

About Ability Beyond Disability

Ability Beyond Disability is a health and human services provider serving approximately 2,000 adults and young adults with disabilities – Read more

Ability Beyond Disability Photos