Able Body Labor Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 40 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Less than 1 star
Benefits Manager (Former Employee) –  Clearwater FLApril 6, 2015
Company stiffed its creditors and did not pay benefits premiums. Ownership was investigated by the FBI for concealing cash assets during bankruptcy.
Cons
Management treated EEs like Chattel
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
laborer
Laborer (Former Employee) –  Casa Grande, AZJuly 2, 2015
Working as a Laborer at La Palma Prison CCA Corporation before prison opened, cleaned prison pods, unloaded 50 ft. refrigeration trailers for prison kitchen, installed prison beds, construction clean up, worked alongside inmates (trustees) while supervising them on work detail, maintained a safe environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved the work
District Manager/ Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  Sarasota, BradentonJune 13, 2014
I would oversee my branches,I did sales, customer service, recruiting, collections, payroll, I had a great staff and loved working with them all.
I woudl travel the US to differant branches and help out whenever needed. I would work long hours to get the job done. The hardest part of my job was being away from home most of the time, but I did enjoy traveling.
Pros
helping people
Cons
being away form home months at a time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and people oriented
Office administrator (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNJune 15, 2015
Working for this company was an experience in itself. Being able to help individuals who were willing to work hours for little pay was this companies main priority.
Pros
Helped to employ individuals
Cons
The pay wasn't sufficient
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work.
Shipping and Receiving Clerk (Former Employee) –  Schenectady, NYJune 29, 2015
Nice place to work. Coworkers to good to work with. Friendly, Independent. Fun place to work. People look out for one another.
Pros
Good money
Cons
Different sites had to work in
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fast paced
Office Manager (Former Employee) –  Stuart, FLSeptember 25, 2014
Dispatching up to 100 workers per day. I learned a lot about payroll, customer billing, and collections. It was a great learning experience for me. The hardest part of the job was the very early mornings. The most enjoyable part was being able to entertain the customers on the company's account.
Pros
good benifits
Cons
very early mornings
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience, challenging and rewarding opportunity.
Outside Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Multi state. Florida, Arizona, TxJune 27, 2013
The Mongeluci's were caring company owners.
I appreciate the time I spent working for them .
I learned valuable skills about selling business to business.

The staffing industry has it's own special challenges.
The accounting system for commission pay was less than fair.
This area manager for Orlando changed the report before submitting it for payment. That made it impossible to ever earn more than $5,000.00 bonus money. I found this to be frustrating to say the least.

Overall, this was a great opportunity to learn all about Day Labor.
I loved the challenges and competition.

Laurie Scovel
Pros
meeting new people, everyday was different and challenging
Cons
had to rely on reporting of area manager for commission pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Laborer (Former Employee) –  Conway, SCJuly 22, 2014
A typical day I would report to the office and wait for work. Didnt learn anything from this job. Management was very cool. Co-workers were alright to work with. The hardest part working out in the sun.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Trying to get through the day!
General Laborer (Former Employee) –  Melbourne, FLApril 10, 2012
typical: lazy complaining slackers
learned: not to do everyone's work
management: rude
co workers: lazy drunks and drugggies
hardest: foul smell of co workers
enjoyable: nothing
Pros
breaks
Cons
disrespectful co workers
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work
Laborer (Former Employee) –  Fayetteville, NCJanuary 22, 2014
Rise early being alert to detail to construct a livable living construction. I've learned to pay attention to detail to work hard through hot and cool weather; whereupon, the structure of such sites depends upon timing.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temp seasonal assignment
Line Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Leesburg, FLAugust 23, 2013
Management position as a Line Cordinator
in charge of release of employers
safety overseeing workers
Pros
good pay and hours
Cons
seasonal temp
Was this review helpful?Yes6No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunity till they filed bankruptcy
Branch Manager (Former Employee) –  Pearl, MsFebruary 24, 2015
Able Body Labor was doing fine until some workers were killed on the job and the company filed bankruptcy and closed its offices nationwide.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great way to dive into the construction market.
Sales Manager/Office Manager (Former Employee) –  Ogden, UTSeptember 24, 2013
I opened up branches in Northern Utah. Great fun and easy to get customers to use us because our competition got lazy and stopped caring for them as i did when I slid in the back door. Next thing you know they gave us all there business.Fun job.
Pros
lots of room to grow and see success. got a h1 hummer to drive.
Cons
managers hired were under-qualified and it affected new accounts.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard Day's Work
Full-Time General Labor (Former Employee) –  Dade CityJune 12, 2013
The biggest benefit to working with Able Body was that I was able to take time off work when necessary to care for my wife, who had been injured in a car accident. We also had a baby at the time so time off became necessary at a moment's notice. Working day labor provided that opportunity. There is also not a thing in the world wrong with a hard day's work.
Pros
flexible schedule.
Cons
low pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never was able to get 40hrs a week.
Laborer, General (Former Employee) –  Lakeland, FLMay 1, 2012
It was what I needed at the time.Day labor places are not the best jobs around.You never know who you will work for or what you'll be doing or who you will work with. Only that its for lowest wages and usually hardest work.Also never know if there is work for the day.
Pros
pay every day, tme off when needed.
Cons
low pay, low hrs.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never a dull day...loved the challenges that came with the everyday job duties
Branch Manager (Former Employee) –  Miami FloridaJanuary 27, 2014
A typical day at Able Body would start as early as 430 in the morning. Dispatched my employees out to work, made sure they were safety certified prior to going to a jobsite, input all work orders, visit clients & prospective clients, A/P, A/R, Collections, Billing, daily & weekly payroll, CS, Sales, responsible for the P/L of my branch
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work production and fun family environment
Accounts Receivable Clerk (Former Employee) –  Clearwater, FLNovember 5, 2014
As a team we helped each other out. Our department also worked hand in hand with other departments. We maintained a family friendly environment while still being productive. One of my favorite jobs was working for Able Body Labor.
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
real competitive work enviroment
WORKER (Former Employee) –  Coachella, CAOctober 23, 2014
typical day at work you show up to the main office and hopefully there's a call that you meet the credentials for. If not then you come back the next day. Which the hardest part is getting work.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a stable productive employment agency.
pressure washer operator (Current Employee) –  Tampa, FLFebruary 18, 2014
able body labor provided good reliable jobs and a good work enviornment and promt payment of wages to its employees.
Pros
good stable jobsites
Cons
wages could hace been higher
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a day to day temp service
Construction Laborer (Former Employee) –  Auburndale, FLJune 6, 2013
I enjoyed the random jobs which gave me some experience in different job settings. The work was somewhat reliable depending on my own want to work which was reliable as long as I was there I got work day to day.
Pros
steady work
Cons
wasnt gauranteed
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 40 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Compensation/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
2.6
Management
2.9
Culture
2.9