Find companies:
ABM Industries, Inc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
39 reviews

ABM Industries, Inc. Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor management, poor pay, poor team attitude.
Cashier (Former Employee), Tucson, AZ 85701December 22, 2014
Cons: everything
This company is by far the biggest joke, the manager at this location is the laziest person I've ever met. Who meets goals and get things job with the help of everyone else around her. Being a salary paid manager you'd think that she'd be willing to stay, help, or cover shifts when needed but that's not the case. The woman is paid to work from 8-4 or – more... 9-5 and on a good day at max is there maybe a solid 3 to four hours. Being a cashier my duties where to handle cash and assist monthly customers, however that become me doing all daily deposits, D.R forms, cash apps, and adding/deleting clients from the computer. I wasn't offered a raise to do these extra task and I was never thanked for them either. It became expected for me to do things that were unrelated to mt job such as taking her personal mail to the post office and so on, I can only hope that the company will do something about the lack of responsibility and the management stlye of the this location. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its okay
Cleaner (Current Employee), Columbus, OhioDecember 20, 2014
Pros: early hours, benefits, pay rate
Cons: lacking of supplies..
The company that I am assigned to is very simple to do and work with three other people. Making $10/hr for only three hours, used to be four until the manager at the company took some loads, duties off. I didn't care because I have another part time job after this one.

I've been with ABM for a year now and the current assignment is my third building – more... to work at. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Two thumbs down.
Janitor (Former Employee), Waterloo, IADecember 18, 2014
Cons: management and the lies they tell
If you want to work for a company where there is no room for advancement and you are underpaid for the work that you do, this is the place. They are like politicians, they tell you what you want to hear and once they have you, they lie and treat you like a second class citizen.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely unorganized, terrible management
project manager (Former Employee), austinDecember 16, 2014
Pros: gas
Cons: inconsistant, ill - equipped for job
decided to take a chance as a manager here. Most unorganized, almost unethical practices too. overall disappointed and shocked. I wish I would HV read these reviews first. Bad regret, wasted my time. treats workers with no respect or open communication. Too disorganized for me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
slavery work, and they are racism
Team Leader cabinet cleaner. (Former Employee), Atlanta GADecember 6, 2014
Pros: they need to shout the company down
Cons: you will work but no break. just like a slave person work all day but no break.
Never ever work for this company. They are the worst company in the US. Their managers are rude, they talk to you like, you are some kind of animal. Supervisors are also rude, operation managers are rude, General managers are also rude. they talk to you like, you're nobody, like you don't have a family. All the managers are one. If one manager or supervisor – more... do something to you, and you reported, they will not defend you. But they all will come against you and get you to loose your Job. If you have a case and you reported to the HR, he or she will not help you. They are all liars. All the managers, and supervisors, they are all high schools diploma so they all don't know how to management a company. They will hired anybody from the streets.

I was a team leader for cabinet service. Cleaning planes. They don't like foreign people. They treat them like animals. And it's not right. So think before you apply. It's a slavery work. And they will treat u like a slave as well. :-( :-( :-( so sad!!!!! Smh – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad company
Janitor (Former Employee), Vancouver, WaNovember 17, 2014
Pros: fun coworkers
Cons: bad management. liars. users
I had finally worked there for a year, when I was supposed to get my benefits. I went into the office and asked about them. I never got them. Then they cut my hours and added more work to my schedule. Then the management had my coworkers spy on me to make sure I was always on time to work and to make sure I never took l second longer on my breaks. Then – more... on Halloween I was approved to work overtime to help my coworker so she can take her kids trick or treating. After I was approved overtime from my supervisor I got written up for it. Then I was called into the office where I was talked to by two managers asking me if I still wanted my job. It was after that that I noticed they were trying to push me out the door so they didn't have to give me my benefits. I quit. After I quit, my coworker quit, my other coworker got fired and then my supervisor quit. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad working environment.
security (Former Employee), Corpus Christi TexasNovember 6, 2014
Pros: they tell you they will take care of you.
Cons: they lie treat you like an animal then they turn against you.
Very bad company too work for lies after lies professional people don't need to work here they work you as an animal and if something happens to you the management will gang up on you this company does not care about there female employees working security this job was the biggest mistake I ever made. Think twice before you work for this company in – more... security. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
all around mess of a company
sexurity officer (Former Employee), philadelphiaOctober 30, 2014
Pros: none other than plenty of hours to work due to people quitting.
Cons: unorganized, unprofessional, they hire anyone making themselves look bad, if they owe you money you wait forever to get it back, you havr to fight for your money. known to leave you stuck for 24 hrs at a time without help
Used to work for them as a security officer, they constantly double booked your schedule for different buildings, they would forget to find coverage for the next shift leaving you stuck at work for a period of 16 to 24 hours, plenty of promises broken, they don't care about their employees
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just say no
custodian (Former Employee), new yorkOctober 20, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: worthless job
Worst job ever!!! Pay is worthless never get paid on time...
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the most back stabbing joke of a company even corprate is a joke they wont hesitate to cut your throat
supervisor for wellsfargo headquarters (Former Employee), desmoines iowaOctober 19, 2014
Pros: some very nice employees minus managment
Cons: they will set you up and toss you away with no regaurds to your situations
There's no backing for anyone..they will go as far as to tell a lie and fire you. Lack of support for employees HR uses the good ones as scapegoats to cover up what they aren't doing to for employees.its all conspiries and lies.bottom line I gave 100% seven days a week to be fired for cussing at a worker and in front of corporate so they had to fire – more... me.it was a lie that turned my life upside down and complicated my life and wrecked my work history all for a lie.watch you back and take note nitely to cover your as_!!!you will need it I promise you that!!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big company, little integrity...
cleaner (Former Employee), portland oregonSeptember 25, 2014
Pros: work independently.
Cons: low pay
My job was to clean office buildings, but there was no training so I did the best I could. Management only came down if there was a complaint. Where I worked had no direct deposit so I had drive across town to get my paycheck. A big company like this should be able to address training and payroll a little better. Not worth the time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I HATE THIS COMPANY! !!!!
GENERAL CLEANER (Current Employee), Duluth, GASeptember 24, 2014
Pros: none!!!!!!!!!!!!!, !!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Cons: every inch of this job is a con!!! statring with the interview!
IF YOU ARE THINKING OF WORKING FOR THIS COMPANY , LET ME TELL YOU WITH ALL MY SOUL YOU WILL MAKE THE WORST DECISION OF YOUR LIFE!!!!! MANAGEMENT IS THE WORST! NO BENIFITS, NO ONE CARES, PEOPLE ARE RUDE AND NO STRUCTURE. RUN AS FAST AS YOU CAN.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Warning!
Lead Housekeeper (Former Employee), Bowling Green, KYSeptember 23, 2014
Cons: no breaks-lousey pay-management team no help-much more
If you like your sanity then stay clear of this company. You will be working 7 days a week, no time off, 5 hours a day and still have no money. Pay is not worth cleaning up the messes you will be subject to on a daily basis. Management does nothing to help make your life easier and half the time they will ignore your pleas's for help. You work 4 1/2 – more... hours before you can take a break. You're literally locked in your environment for 5 hours before you can step away or leave (unless you can hunt down the clients employees-your coworkers won't do-good luck on the clients employees being help). You will be pulled in all directions from your manager and the clients manager. You will be stuck trying to perform your job around everyone else. . I worked for them and it was the worse job I have ever had. Look elsewhere. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run Away
Valet (Current Employee), Cleveland OHSeptember 7, 2014
Pros: helping needy people
Cons: pay. no breaks. little tips and pay. no benefits. everything really.
A typical day is overworking yourself for as little as money as possible. Tips are close to nothing and so is the hourly pay. I've learned that going out of your way to help the customer has no impact in how they tip you. Management is terrible. Nobody ever recognizes your hard work. Co-workers are lazy. Hardest part of the job is an empty wallet. The – more... most enjoyable part is actually helping those in need.

Also, no benefits. No PTO, and no vacations. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management is horrible
Security/Firefighter (Current Employee), Mt. Vernon, INJuly 18, 2014
Pros: pay, fellow firefighters
Cons: management, unannounced rule changes, favoritism, unwillingness to help with classes and time off even when it helps the company, payroll errors, vacation errors
Management at the Mt. Vernon, IN location is horrible. Rules are constantly changed to fit their need for the day and some people can do whatever they want regardless while others suffer and get fired for the same things. Pay is the one of two positive things about this location but even then people get forced to take days off than certain ones are – more... forced to make up their hours on other days. Job is easy and would be fun but as long as the current manager is in charge there will always be a ridiculously high turnover rate and people will only stay until they get another job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good company to work for.
Lead Supervisor (Current Employee), LaPorte, INMarch 27, 2014
They treat their employees like they are party of their family. Takes great pride in pleasing their customers & going the extra mile to get matters resolved as quickly as possible, if & when they arrive.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ABM Industries,Florida
security (Current Employee), Nowhereville,never never LandSeptember 12, 2013
Pros: have not found any.
Cons: being coned into taking the position in the first place
A typical day at work: rules change by the hour.
What was learned : No one has your back, and management will throw you under the bus in a hart beat.
Management: what management ? I see people with management titles. But as for leaders, no where to be found
Co-Workers: We all feel the same way after working for ABM
The hardest part of the job: Trying – more... to find a manager that knows what a management means, and a manager that can manage.
The most enjoyable part of the job: Leaving. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
**WARNING, WARNING** Worst company in Tempe, AZ
Na (Former Employee), TempeJuly 25, 2013
Pros: absolutely none
Cons: everything about the company
The Tempe branch is awful! If you want to be treated like dirt, then this is the company to work for. Management has NO sense of teamwork, loyalty, and if your a woman they hate you even more. They treat their employees like dirt! The workers who currently do the work only get minimum wage all awhile the head manager gets pay increases and huge bonuses. – more... I would not recommend working for this company!!!!!!!!!!!! Worst time of my life ever!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
Valet attendant (Former Employee), Cleveland OhioJuly 24, 2013
Pros: no pros
Cons: everything from management to pay to whatever you can think of just bad all around
Don't do it you'll wish you never did it. Management acts if they're better than you. In my department management stays in a cool/warm office and push papers while you go outside in any condition and their saying is dont like your job quit. Glad I'm not employed there any more
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst company to work for in Las Vegas
Valet (Former Employee), Las VegasJuly 11, 2013
Pros: did not have to see mgr every day
Cons: lack of communication, poor management.
New young manager brought in to run airport valet. She was clueless on everything. Schedule changes without notice, manager sleeping with employees and her manager tried to cover it up. Poor business choices making loyal long time customers refuse to come back. HR mgr clueless, District mgr clueless, Airport mgr was breatarted. Don't work here.