ABM Industries, Inc. Employee Reviews

Found 1,993 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent benefits
Cleaner (Former Employee) –  New York, NYDecember 2, 2016
Everyday is the same routine of cleaning offices. The hardest part of the job is making sure the office looks as close to perfect as possible. The easy part is talking with all the tenants. The managers are nice. I learned more skills on how to handle people when they are upset and how to work in a team of two, sometimes more
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work environment.
Manager (Former Employee) –  Syracuse, NYNovember 30, 2016
Cash handling and stock was a daily activity. Maintaining guest service relations all the while maintaining the look and atmosphere of the store. I was in charge of shipments and receiving product.
Pros
Great hours and pay.
Cons
Long hours and the store wventally closed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ABM was a great company
Payroll Billing Clerk (Former Employee) –  San FranciscoNovember 29, 2016
Unfortunately it was only a 6 month contract and could not budget to create for me a permanent role.
I did a lot of billing and accounts payable in this role. (See Resume)
Pros
good office
Cons
not adequate training
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easygoing & straightforward job with little repercussions.
Janitor (Former Employee) –  Jasper, GANovember 28, 2016
A typical day at word included a routine cleaning of an individual hallway consisting of classrooms, bathrooms, media centers, small rooms for either special education or storage, and a row of lockers all through the corridor,
Besides the brushing up of ordinary tasks such as sweeping, mopping, dusting, and collecting disposables, I learned a number of skills regarding the operation of machinery that: scrubbed floors clean of dirt & stains, buffers that shined up the top layer of wax on tile floors, top scrubbing that removed the layers of wax & excess debris that became trapped beneath the wax, wet vacuums that sucked up solution or other chemicals that were needed to strip floors, and other minor tasks pertaining to the listed above.
Management was very easy to get along with and very flexible with the freedom of employees to perform their tasks with less hindrance or supervision that other jobs may have, at the same time management still was able to ensure that work was completed by employees on a daily basis by the end of the night.
The co-workers are necessary to the job to complete other sections of the workplace that cannot be immediately accessed by you, and they may be sparsely working alongside your own areas to offer assistance when necessary.
The most difficult part of the job is working outside of a set schedule or routine that you may employ as part of the job, while it might not seem like it attempting different tasks that are requested on the spot by other co-workers will significantly slow down your progress on your ordinary work.
The most enjoyable part
  more... of the job is the usual lack of interference by other individuals in preventing you from doing your work but also having a reasonable amount of space to move around in without stopping too often.  less
Pros
Multiple breaks when needed, casual dress code, lengthy lunch time.
Cons
Lack of healthcare, payment on odd dates, occasionally short-handed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
boring place to work
Janitor (Former Employee) –  kongviewNovember 23, 2016
I hardly ever saw the management or supervisors. never had any contact with my supervisor and was a boring place to work and my hours were cut to 7 hours a week .
Pros
quiet place to work
Cons
bad managment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productived and gain knowledge of trade
Building Engineer (Former Employee) –  Long Beach, CANovember 23, 2016
customer service A+, everyday a new challenge and learning path. management provided 110% support in order to complete my daily routine and functions. coworkers were always going the extra mile to help when needed, the hardest part of the job was keeping up with the technology. trial and error at times. the most enjoyable part of the job was that everyday i learned something new and the trainer was always willing to teach.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and a good way to earn money
Janitor (Former Employee) –  Framingham, MANovember 22, 2016
i would come in everyday, clock in , and get straight to work. the people are friendly and the workplace is calm and fun. you learn from your co-workers and they learn from you
Cons
short or no breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ABM Parking Denver
Personal Accounts Representative (Former Employee) –  Downtown DenverNovember 21, 2016
I loved working with my co-workers but the management was really awful. I worked for a lady that did not enjoy working with her co-workers someone who went out her way to make he people miserable. The upper management didn't really care for their employees as well it was ALWAYS her work against ours, I was happy to have been laid off when they let me go and god blessed me with a great job after dealing with horrible management for 8 years.
Pros
The pay was satisfying
Cons
The Denver Office Manager who is still there till this day
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
experience
Janitor (Former Employee) –  Centralia, WANovember 21, 2016
Was not a good company to work for.
A typical day had very long hours, dealing with constant heat and constant complaints from customers.
Management was inadequate
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
After Event Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CANovember 20, 2016
everything was great at this company. I just had a few serious personal issues that came up along during my employment so I really didn't get to take advantage of enjoying the great people and work place environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cleaner
Cleaner (Current Employee) –  Lexington, KYNovember 18, 2016
It is a good company. I enjoy cleaning there. Our breaks are 10 minutes and our lunch breaks are half an hour, which are good amounts.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job
Maintenance Worker (Former Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 17, 2016
i liked working for ABM the job was good the coworkers were good to work with the job was a experience and the pay rate and benefits was very good and the location was very good close to the world trade center over all good job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great industry to work in
Janitor (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CANovember 17, 2016
I would love to go back and work for them if you get a chance dont let it go it was the best place to work fun great expirience the management itd great co workers great hours great and salary great
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
many Jobs
High Rise Engineer (Current Employee) –  los angelesNovember 16, 2016
Abm is a good company to work for, they have many commericial buildings through out los angeles and greater los angels . Abm gives their employees to find other buildings to work in if reputation is in good standings.
Pros
benefits
Cons
non
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
well worth experience
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Doral, FLNovember 16, 2016
loved going to work at this place a live long experience that wont ever leave me. sad it had to end how it did but i enjoyed it while it lasted. would i go back of course in an heartbeat
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great employer.
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, GANovember 12, 2016
This employer trusts that you will get the work done. I was assigned to supervise 3 other employees in cleaning a school. I made sure that we kept the bathrooms, hallways, classrooms, and cafeteria clean, so we had an excellent relationship with the employer.
Pros
Employees are trusted
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Custodian (Current Employee) –  Pasadena, CANovember 11, 2016
Cleaning restrooms locker rooms the Rose bowl stadium the soccer field working events like concerts football games soccer games flee market carnivals food truck events sponsored runs and walks
Pros
Lots of events to work but only seasonally
Cons
Supervisors need help
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
is decent job
Recycler janitor (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, IANovember 8, 2016
is decent job the managent is a joke . if management would change I probrably would stay there. u work alone and u are independent. management don't care for abm employess
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lost contract
Floor Technician (Current Employee) –  Nueces Count CourthouseNovember 7, 2016
Ok job until it's time to redo the contracts. Loss contract so I lost all my hours so I had to find other employment after 11 years. Unfortunately I can no longer afford to stay.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very great benefits
Cleaner (Current Employee) –  Queens, NYNovember 7, 2016
they have a lot of health coverage and holiday pay. after bworking there for a while u get paid vacations. the co workers are very stubborn they try to get people fired.
Pros
paid vacations
Cons
workers are competitive
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report