ABM Industries, Inc. Employee Reviews

Found 1,929 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Like driving different cars
Safety Officer (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CASeptember 28, 2016
Never been a valet before but it was a lot of fun driving different cars then I was promoted to a Safety Manager. I was able to do what I love doing interacting with all my coworkers a lot more.
Pros
Bonus check every year
Cons
the flu shot was mandatory
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok but wouldnt work for them again
Janitor (Current Employee) –  Baltimore, MDSeptember 27, 2016
Ive learned based off of working in the deli that you can only try your best and try not to over work yourself.
I also learned if you want a job done and if somebody doing you a favor give them the respect that you would want.
Pros
nice customers
Cons
disrespectful workers not a good pay rate
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PASeptember 27, 2016
A typical work day consisted in being on time and performing your duties to the best of your abilities.

I learned how a work place should function for someone in the field of safety.

Management was very understanding of how to operate between client satisfaction and employee relations.

Co-Workers were great to work with.

Providing assistance to situations that fall outside the normal boundaries of the security field to ensure safety is a number one priority.

The best part of the job was the satisfaction of job completion by the end of the day.
Pros
Location, environment, people, etc.
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fair company with moderately good management.
Custodian (Former Employee) –  Tyler, TXSeptember 27, 2016
A typical day at work was to punch in the clock and get started on the job. I cleaned facilities and break areas for Trane in Tyler, TX.

I Learned proper and efficient ways to clean bathrooms and wax, buff, and maintain floors.

My Manager was very patient and willing to teach.

My coworkers were a range of lazy to hardworking depending on who they were.
Pros
Good management, mostly nice coworkers, ability to set my own pace.
Cons
Upper Management are not the nicest people.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for.
Custodian/Janitor (Current Employee) –  Green Bay, WISeptember 25, 2016
I highly recommend working for ABM. They are willing to work around your life's schedule and they work very well as a team.
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
Benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work environment
Sanitor (Former Employee) –  Modesto, CASeptember 24, 2016
Great management , great work environment, room for advancement/ growth, equal opportunity employer, good training opportunities, employer offers education for employees.
Pros
Consistent work available
Cons
There aren't more companies like this.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice
Command Center Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXSeptember 22, 2016
Real nice company to work for I was able to be employed by them twice and both times were experiences great management staff and officers I really wouldnt have any other way.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Needs improvement
Human Resources Business Partner (Current Employee) –  Denver, COSeptember 20, 2016
If you are happy with just following bad processes and not looking to make improvements this is not a place to work at. Anything that you want to improve is never taken into consideration and they will fight you to keep their inadequate ideas in place and now willing to work to better the of
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mps
Cleaning Crew (Former Employee) –  Milwaukee, WISeptember 20, 2016
cleaning milwaukee public schools, sweeping, mopping, waxing and buffing floors. It was pretty ok work just wish the pay was higher. You work along side the schools engineer but end up doing more work
Pros
earning money
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Guiding and patrolling
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Irving, TXSeptember 16, 2016
As a security officer I had a duty of patrolling the location and assuring that the property has not been damaged in anyway, if so I would have to report it to my superior. I also had a duty of making sure that the tenants of the building were satisfied in everyway.
Pros
Great work staff, and paid for dry cleaning
Cons
not many ways to move up in the chain
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive with a positive enviroment
Maintenance (Current Employee) –  New Haven, CTSeptember 15, 2016
great co-workers, a place that has shown me a lot of skills in the cleaning/maintenance industry. a place i would deffinetly recommend others to apply.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place and productive staff
Service Technician (Current Employee) –  Pleasanton, CASeptember 14, 2016
love the day to day operations. the management is enjoyable. flexible hours and scheduling. fun coworkers. room for growth.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terable company to work for
Security Officer (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXSeptember 14, 2016
god place to work great benefits, great people to work with. Other than that communication between management, supervision and employees is non existent
Pros
contract security terrable
Cons
contract terrable
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stability
SUPERVISOR OF DRIVERS (Current Employee) –  Tampa, FLSeptember 12, 2016
I came into this company as a driver and have advanced to a supervisor. The overall management team promotes growth. As the company expands, so does the staff.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great break room
Janitorial Worker (Former Employee) –  New York, NYSeptember 11, 2016
not a bad start for me coming into the field of janitorial work. however it was a great way ,to get better understanding of how the job is suppose to get done.
Pros
free lunch
Cons
no union
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Super easy, fun to work with
Valet Driver (Former Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXSeptember 10, 2016
Management was pretty easy going, clock in, valet cars, not much tips at the hospitals but overall it was pretty easy. You do have to stand on your feet all day.
Pros
always have cash
Cons
feet hurt, constant running
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cleaning and Janitorial
Maintenance Tech (Former Employee) –  Duluth, GASeptember 9, 2016
Typical day at work is to clock in and then make sure building is secure after cutting off the alarm. once everything is secure, we do a pre-screen of the building so that we would know what needs to be clean. We then begin cleaning the things that needs to be clean and making sure all areas of the building is to the satisfactory of every client.
Pros
work with no one hounding your every
Cons
no breaks, no enough pay, more work...
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun place to work
MECHANICAL MAITNANCE ENGINEER (Current Employee) –  Scottsdale, AZSeptember 8, 2016
Great Place to work I just feel its time to challenge myself and take my expertise in a new direction. A typical day would consist of keeping up with 5 buildings in a 5 mile radius. Love my coworkers but the location and the shift are very tough I am looking for a morning shift.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unimpressed
Housekeeping Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Madison Heights, MISeptember 3, 2016
Not a very well organized company and supervisors need to learn professional ethics along with better commucation with employees.
Pros
none
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work environment is okay can be stressful at times!
General Cleaner/Laborer (Current Employee) –  St. Louis, MOSeptember 3, 2016
Worked in a school environment with increasingly workflow from the school as well as your own! Communication is horrible and the pay should be better!
Pros
Good employess fair management
Cons
pay raises are not good and benefits could be better
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 1,993 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Compensation/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.0
Culture
3.2