Find companies:
ABM Industries, Inc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
29 reviews

ABM Industries, Inc. Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big company, little integrity...
cleaner (Former Employee), portland oregonSeptember 25, 2014
Pros: work independently.
Cons: low pay
My job was to clean office buildings, but there was no training so I did the best I could. Management only came down if there was a complaint. Where I worked had no direct deposit so I had drive across town to get my paycheck. A big company like this should be able to address training and payroll a little better. Not worth the time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I HATE THIS COMPANY! !!!!
GENERAL CLEANER (Current Employee), Duluth, GASeptember 24, 2014
Pros: none!!!!!!!!!!!!!, !!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Cons: every inch of this job is a con!!! statring with the interview!
IF YOU ARE THINKING OF WORKING FOR THIS COMPANY , LET ME TELL YOU WITH ALL MY SOUL YOU WILL MAKE THE WORST DECISION OF YOUR LIFE!!!!! MANAGEMENT IS THE WORST! NO BENIFITS, NO ONE CARES, PEOPLE ARE RUDE AND NO STRUCTURE. RUN AS FAST AS YOU CAN.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Warning!
Lead Housekeeper (Former Employee), Bowling Green, KYSeptember 23, 2014
Cons: no breaks-lousey pay-management team no help-much more
If you like your sanity then stay clear of this company. You will be working 7 days a week, no time off, 5 hours a day and still have no money. Pay is not worth cleaning up the messes you will be subject to on a daily basis. Management does nothing to help make your life easier and half the time they will ignore your pleas's for help. You work 4 1/2 – more... hours before you can take a break. You're literally locked in your environment for 5 hours before you can step away or leave (unless you can hunt down the clients employees-your coworkers won't do-good luck on the clients employees being help). You will be pulled in all directions from your manager and the clients manager. You will be stuck trying to perform your job around everyone else. . I worked for them and it was the worse job I have ever had. Look elsewhere. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run Away
Valet (Current Employee), Cleveland OHSeptember 7, 2014
Pros: helping needy people
Cons: pay. no breaks. little tips and pay. no benefits. everything really.
A typical day is overworking yourself for as little as money as possible. Tips are close to nothing and so is the hourly pay. I've learned that going out of your way to help the customer has no impact in how they tip you. Management is terrible. Nobody ever recognizes your hard work. Co-workers are lazy. Hardest part of the job is an empty wallet. The – more... most enjoyable part is actually helping those in need.

Also, no benefits. No PTO, and no vacations. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management is horrible
Security/Firefighter (Current Employee), Mt. Vernon, INJuly 18, 2014
Pros: pay, fellow firefighters
Cons: management, unannounced rule changes, favoritism, unwillingness to help with classes and time off even when it helps the company, payroll errors, vacation errors
Management at the Mt. Vernon, IN location is horrible. Rules are constantly changed to fit their need for the day and some people can do whatever they want regardless while others suffer and get fired for the same things. Pay is the one of two positive things about this location but even then people get forced to take days off than certain ones are – more... forced to make up their hours on other days. Job is easy and would be fun but as long as the current manager is in charge there will always be a ridiculously high turnover rate and people will only stay until they get another job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good company to work for.
Lead Supervisor (Current Employee), LaPorte, INMarch 27, 2014
They treat their employees like they are party of their family. Takes great pride in pleasing their customers & going the extra mile to get matters resolved as quickly as possible, if & when they arrive.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ABM Industries,Florida
security (Current Employee), Nowhereville,never never LandSeptember 12, 2013
Pros: have not found any.
Cons: being coned into taking the position in the first place
A typical day at work: rules change by the hour.
What was learned : No one has your back, and management will throw you under the bus in a hart beat.
Management: what management ? I see people with management titles. But as for leaders, no where to be found
Co-Workers: We all feel the same way after working for ABM
The hardest part of the job: Trying – more... to find a manager that knows what a management means, and a manager that can manage.
The most enjoyable part of the job: Leaving. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
**WARNING, WARNING** Worst company in Tempe, AZ
Na (Former Employee), TempeJuly 25, 2013
Pros: absolutely none
Cons: everything about the company
The Tempe branch is awful! If you want to be treated like dirt, then this is the company to work for. Management has NO sense of teamwork, loyalty, and if your a woman they hate you even more. They treat their employees like dirt! The workers who currently do the work only get minimum wage all awhile the head manager gets pay increases and huge bonuses. – more... I would not recommend working for this company!!!!!!!!!!!! Worst time of my life ever!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
Valet attendant (Former Employee), Cleveland OhioJuly 24, 2013
Pros: no pros
Cons: everything from management to pay to whatever you can think of just bad all around
Don't do it you'll wish you never did it. Management acts if they're better than you. In my department management stays in a cool/warm office and push papers while you go outside in any condition and their saying is dont like your job quit. Glad I'm not employed there any more
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst company to work for in Las Vegas
Valet (Former Employee), Las VegasJuly 11, 2013
Pros: did not have to see mgr every day
Cons: lack of communication, poor management.
New young manager brought in to run airport valet. She was clueless on everything. Schedule changes without notice, manager sleeping with employees and her manager tried to cover it up. Poor business choices making loyal long time customers refuse to come back. HR mgr clueless, District mgr clueless, Airport mgr was breatarted. Don't work here.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst job I have EVER had!!
General cleaner (Former Employee), Columbus, ohioJune 30, 2013
Pros: none at all
Cons: everything you can think of
I worked for Abm for 3 months recently. This is by far the worse job I have ever worked for. You would be better off working at McDonald's. if you see any good reviews on here, it's probably from the manager who was ordered by their boss to do so. I saw reviews on this company prior to applying and thought that there was no way a company could be this – more... bad. I was a part time employee at this place. They offer no benefits whatsoever. They take out a $30 union fee once a month(every other paycheck) and payday is bi weekly. I can see if I was a full time employee does a part time employee really need it??!! Not only that, because I was part time I was told I couldn't get holiday pay until after I worked 800 hours. That's over a year!!! Most companies give u holiday pay after 90 days. That's stupid. I was lucky if I brought home $500 a month working in this place. You are over worked and paid next to nothing after union fees and taxes. They wanted me to clean 5 floors with nearly 20 offices on each floor in four hours. I was drained. Just beware of Abm – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
low wages
cleaner (Former Employee), michiganJune 3, 2013
They dont pay enough for work they want done 8.30hr really smh...
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor training standards and unrealistic expectations
Security Officer (Current Employee), SeattleMay 28, 2013
Pros: can't think of any
Cons: poor leadership and training. union dues
I had no idea this company was poorly reviewed and low rated, otherwise I wouldn't of wasted three weeks of my life participating in interviews, pre-employment training, and on site training with this company. I have years of security experience in the industry and brought essential skill sets to my new position. The training supervisor who trained – more... me had poor time management skills with training material, made off color jokes about certain minorities, shared his personal life stories unwarranted, and skimming back on training hours and material because he was distracted by completing his own work.

Additionally, the training supervisor displayed unprofessional behavior by disclosing a former employee's workplace issues with another supervisor unnecessarily more than once. In closing, lackluster training with high expectations by this company and training supervisor was laughable. Contact security job is easy to do without the extra false sense of high standards of professionalism absent from staffing personnel. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad interview for mgmnt position
Project Manager (Former Employee), Kansas CityMay 8, 2013
Oh...I forgot to mention that what they wanted was a babysitter for 10 workers...and should you have call ins, roll up your sleeves. This is why contract cleaning doesn't work. Company is in bed with SEIU.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i hate dis company,looking for something better
security jobs (Current Employee), Dallas txMay 7, 2013
Pros: no pros
Cons: poor pay, poor management
I still work 4 this company and it sucks.i have never been in a security business where i have to climb a ladder and cut seals for 8.80.its been people in the company for 5+ years and still haven't received a taise.please dont waste your time with this company
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worse company ever!!!!
General cleaner (Former Employee), Cincinnati , OhioApril 24, 2013
Pros: nothing
Cons: nothing
Bad company ... Rude management no communication . Little hours lots of work.. Union just wants money out check, there no help either. It's all a big web of mess. I would not recommend anyone to work with this company.. BIG MISTAKE!!! No GOOD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
housekeeper (Current Employee), minnesotaApril 23, 2013
Work in housekeeping and first company to provide training and new euipment. Promised a raise and gave me more then I asked.

Good people
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mgmt
District Managet (Current Employee), MinneapolisApril 23, 2013
I have worked with ABM over 15 years. They are the most professional cleaning company I have worked. Pay is better then average with good benefits. ABM values respect, dignity, and fairness and they practice what they preach.

Great potential for advancement
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worst place you will ever work
sales and marketing (Current Employee), azApril 4, 2013
Cons: just about everything
I am a manager for this company and all I can say is STAY AWAY FROM THIS COMPANY. Worst payroll system ever. Workers checks are constantly wrong. Older workers are passed over for advancement in order to hire less qualified younger people.
Contracts are bid very low and then ABM struggles to keep the contract by not giving raises or promotions. Customers – more... are constantly upset with level of service due to high turnover.
Regional level administrative personnel are totally out of touch with front line management and supervisors. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This company sucks
Janitor (Current Employee), ShepherdsvilleMarch 24, 2013
Cons: dicks running company
I work for them now and the management are rude and treat you unfairly. Worst place I've ever worked for and am trying to leave!! Pass on this job!!!!