Find companies:
ABM Industries, Inc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
24 reviews

ABM Industries, Inc. Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good company to work for.
Lead Supervisor (Current Employee), LaPorte, INMarch 27, 2014
They treat their employees like they are party of their family. Takes great pride in pleasing their customers & going the extra mile to get matters resolved as quickly as possible, if & when they arrive.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ABM Industries,Florida
security (Current Employee), Nowhereville,never never LandSeptember 12, 2013
Pros: have not found any.
Cons: being coned into taking the position in the first place
A typical day at work: rules change by the hour.
What was learned : No one has your back, and management will throw you under the bus in a hart beat.
Management: what management ? I see people with management titles. But as for leaders, no where to be found
Co-Workers: We all feel the same way after working for ABM
The hardest part of the job: Trying – more... to find a manager that knows what a management means, and a manager that can manage.
The most enjoyable part of the job: Leaving. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
**WARNING, WARNING** Worst company in Tempe, AZ
Na (Former Employee), TempeJuly 25, 2013
Pros: absolutely none
Cons: everything about the company
The Tempe branch is awful! If you want to be treated like dirt, then this is the company to work for. Management has NO sense of teamwork, loyalty, and if your a woman they hate you even more. They treat their employees like dirt! The workers who currently do the work only get minimum wage all awhile the head manager gets pay increases and huge bonuses. – more... I would not recommend working for this company!!!!!!!!!!!! Worst time of my life ever!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
Valet attendant (Former Employee), Cleveland OhioJuly 24, 2013
Pros: no pros
Cons: everything from management to pay to whatever you can think of just bad all around
Don't do it you'll wish you never did it. Management acts if they're better than you. In my department management stays in a cool/warm office and push papers while you go outside in any condition and their saying is dont like your job quit. Glad I'm not employed there any more
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst company to work for in Las Vegas
Valet (Former Employee), Las VegasJuly 11, 2013
Pros: did not have to see mgr every day
Cons: lack of communication, poor management.
New young manager brought in to run airport valet. She was clueless on everything. Schedule changes without notice, manager sleeping with employees and her manager tried to cover it up. Poor business choices making loyal long time customers refuse to come back. HR mgr clueless, District mgr clueless, Airport mgr was breatarted. Don't work here.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst job I have EVER had!!
General cleaner (Former Employee), Columbus, ohioJune 30, 2013
Pros: none at all
Cons: everything you can think of
I worked for Abm for 3 months recently. This is by far the worse job I have ever worked for. You would be better off working at McDonald's. if you see any good reviews on here, it's probably from the manager who was ordered by their boss to do so. I saw reviews on this company prior to applying and thought that there was no way a company could be this – more... bad. I was a part time employee at this place. They offer no benefits whatsoever. They take out a $30 union fee once a month(every other paycheck) and payday is bi weekly. I can see if I was a full time employee does a part time employee really need it??!! Not only that, because I was part time I was told I couldn't get holiday pay until after I worked 800 hours. That's over a year!!! Most companies give u holiday pay after 90 days. That's stupid. I was lucky if I brought home $500 a month working in this place. You are over worked and paid next to nothing after union fees and taxes. They wanted me to clean 5 floors with nearly 20 offices on each floor in four hours. I was drained. Just beware of Abm – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
low wages
cleaner (Former Employee), michiganJune 3, 2013
They dont pay enough for work they want done 8.30hr really smh...
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor training standards and unrealistic expectations
Security Officer (Current Employee), SeattleMay 28, 2013
Pros: can't think of any
Cons: poor leadership and training. union dues
I had no idea this company was poorly reviewed and low rated, otherwise I wouldn't of wasted three weeks of my life participating in interviews, pre-employment training, and on site training with this company. I have years of security experience in the industry and brought essential skill sets to my new position. The training supervisor who trained – more... me had poor time management skills with training material, made off color jokes about certain minorities, shared his personal life stories unwarranted, and skimming back on training hours and material because he was distracted by completing his own work.

Additionally, the training supervisor displayed unprofessional behavior by disclosing a former employee's workplace issues with another supervisor unnecessarily more than once. In closing, lackluster training with high expectations by this company and training supervisor was laughable. Contact security job is easy to do without the extra false sense of high standards of professionalism absent from staffing personnel. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad interview for mgmnt position
Project Manager (Former Employee), Kansas CityMay 8, 2013
Oh...I forgot to mention that what they wanted was a babysitter for 10 workers...and should you have call ins, roll up your sleeves. This is why contract cleaning doesn't work. Company is in bed with SEIU.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i hate dis company,looking for something better
security jobs (Current Employee), Dallas txMay 7, 2013
Pros: no pros
Cons: poor pay, poor management
I still work 4 this company and it sucks.i have never been in a security business where i have to climb a ladder and cut seals for 8.80.its been people in the company for 5+ years and still haven't received a taise.please dont waste your time with this company
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worse company ever!!!!
General cleaner (Former Employee), Cincinnati , OhioApril 24, 2013
Pros: nothing
Cons: nothing
Bad company ... Rude management no communication . Little hours lots of work.. Union just wants money out check, there no help either. It's all a big web of mess. I would not recommend anyone to work with this company.. BIG MISTAKE!!! No GOOD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
housekeeper (Current Employee), minnesotaApril 23, 2013
Work in housekeeping and first company to provide training and new euipment. Promised a raise and gave me more then I asked.

Good people
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mgmt
District Managet (Current Employee), MinneapolisApril 23, 2013
I have worked with ABM over 15 years. They are the most professional cleaning company I have worked. Pay is better then average with good benefits. ABM values respect, dignity, and fairness and they practice what they preach.

Great potential for advancement
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worst place you will ever work
sales and marketing (Current Employee), azApril 4, 2013
Cons: just about everything
I am a manager for this company and all I can say is STAY AWAY FROM THIS COMPANY. Worst payroll system ever. Workers checks are constantly wrong. Older workers are passed over for advancement in order to hire less qualified younger people.
Contracts are bid very low and then ABM struggles to keep the contract by not giving raises or promotions. Customers – more... are constantly upset with level of service due to high turnover.
Regional level administrative personnel are totally out of touch with front line management and supervisors. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This company sucks
Janitor (Current Employee), ShepherdsvilleMarch 24, 2013
Cons: dicks running company
I work for them now and the management are rude and treat you unfairly. Worst place I've ever worked for and am trying to leave!! Pass on this job!!!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad company to work for. Dejavu kinda job. No one cares. ......
Security Officer (Current Employee), Jones Lang LaSalle, Chicago, Illinois 60601March 16, 2013
Pros: union benefits. set schedule, great co workers
Cons: no communication amongst management personal. pay is low. no training for emergency situations, a lot of payroll errors
Management doesn't communicate with each other. There's a lot
Of scheduling errors. Payrolls always screwed up. But wait its
A new system and their still learning it. Lol, yes I've heard that for the passed 3 years. Or I emailed the office I'm just waiting on a reply, which never comes. Or uniforms were on back order, for 9 months. Dispatchers have – more... no clue. Do your self a favor and get out of security. All companies are the same. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad company to work for. Dejavu kinda job. No one cares. ......
Security Officer (Current Employee), Jones Lang LaSalle, Chicago, Illinois 60601March 16, 2013
Pros: union benefits. set schedule, great co workers
Cons: no communication amongst management personal. pay is low. no training for emergency situations, a lot of payroll errors
Management doesn't communicate with each other. There's a lot
Of scheduling errors. Payrolls always screwed up. But wait its
A new system and their still learning it. Lol, yes I've heard that for the passed 3 years. Or I emailed the office I'm just waiting on a reply, which never comes. Or uniforms were on back order, for 9 months. Dispatchers have – more... no clue. Do your self a favor and get out of security. All companies are the same. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Cashier / flagged (Former Employee), Det miMarch 5, 2013
Pros: paid during lunch breaks
Cons: high medical insurance low pay poor management
This place is full of inconsiderate people. They make a easy job very hard. The pay is horrible, you can't make a living from this. The only time you get hours are during baseball season. Baseball season is laid back but very boring. Most of the time this job is boring you cant read do homework or even pick up your phone or you will be terminated. You – more... have to sit in the booth like a zombie. They change your schedule without notice. Its mandatory you work every thanksgiving . You have to flag in the cold and in the heat. You get a quarter raise every year.they watch your every move. Outside clients make false reports about employees because they are races. They start off at 7.65. They make you wash their dishes in lunch room. management will walk pass trash it can be a small piece of paper far up in the garage instead of picking it up they walk past n call u to pick it up. It's not worth the hassle working here. This is the worst place to work. I would recommend McDonald's than working here. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of administrative management,poor pay and errors in hours worked in just about every pay period.
security officer with BS degree (Former Employee), ABM San Jose, CaFebruary 15, 2013
Pros: once assigned they locked you into that schedule
Cons: lack of administrative vision, communication, and payroll procedures
As a former employee. I saw how incompetence was rewarded and those with previous security experience were ignored or not given sufficient hours to generate a live able income. When the company was getting close to losing a contract it asked all the security staff assigned to that account to agree to a dollar reduction per hour in pay if they wanted – more... to be kept on the pay roll. All 12 security officers agreed and the lead was,who made the most was deducted 3 dollars per hour. What a sham. The company ended up loosing the account anyway. All 12 officers were laid off because of this. However they were willing to keep those who would work out of the San Jose,Ca. city area. It also appeared that they would only work you a year before they laid you,thus saving the company money on paying out benefits and vacation and sick pay. No dental, very limited health care and vacation or sick leave benefits. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible company
general cleaner (Current Employee), wiFebruary 13, 2013
Cons: everything
Ive worked here for almost two years as a general cleaner and am makiking 8.50$ an hr our client keeps asking us to add work and our field suporvisor does not go in for a bid you get rated every mounth on your cleaning and if its poor you dont get any points to use on ur vacation youyou dont get funeral leave no paid holidays the insurence is bad the – more... only reason im here is for child support so i dont go to jail id honestly be shoveling horse feices in 90° weather with one arm – less

ABM Industries, Inc. Photos