Acacia Network Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stressful and unfair
Program Director (Current Employee) –  Bronx, NYJanuary 17, 2018
Management is poor, there is always blame to pass around, no second chances. company doesn't all follow the same rules, worry more about others outside company than those who work in the company.
Pros
good benefits
Cons
there is no room to breathe
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
As a Shift Supervisor
Residential Aide Shift Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Manhattan, NYJanuary 17, 2018
Working as a Shift Supervisor at Acacia Network took my supervisory skills to the next level, having the ability to supervise and oversee employees and clients
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All about the $$$
Case manager (Current Employee) –  New York, NYDecember 3, 2017
Case Managers are over worked,stressed out, combative, hostile & threatening environment.
Managers set unrealistic job functions, 12 to 13 reports due a week, constant emails & text from 6am - 11pm including days off


Supplies are Limited had to purchase my own office supplies
Needs better Supervision from DHS to run Nyc Shelters
They just want to make sure that the $$$ comes.
Pros
None
Cons
Expensive healthcare
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unrealistic Expectations
Case Manager (Current Employee) –  413 East 120 street NY NY 10035November 21, 2017
Acacia Network Housing over work their employees and underpay them. A typical day of work consist of conducting interviews with clients who resides in shelter. Case Workers are expected to meet dead lines on short notice. Program Director expect you to check your email for requested reports and stop what you are currently doing to competed reports. Job training is given months after you are employed. You are expected to perform you duties with out proper training. Acacia is a performance base job and if your program director deem you are not performing to the job standards, your employment is in question. There is no job security even after your 6 month probational period. Haven't only been with Acacia less then a year, I've seen several co-workers quit. The turn over rate is very high. I wouldn't recommend Acacia to my worst enemy.
Pros
None
Cons
Short lunch breaks, Hostile work environment, no leadership or support
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok place
Residential Aide (Current Employee) –  Bronx, NYNovember 21, 2017
in order to not be stressed you need to have ALOT of patience with the job and staff! be very strict with yourself on time management, don't take nothing personal that the clients say, constantly remind yourself their in a place that's not home and its very hard for them sometimes.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced and always had work to do
Case Manager (Current Employee) –  Bronx, NYNovember 20, 2017
Completing assessments, psycho-social, referrals, completing housing package, checking medication compliance, inspecting rooms, case conferencing, i learned working in this field to manage my time more efficient, organizing my work/charts and keeping files updated. The population i serve are in need of a lot of services. Hardest part of the job is when clients refuse to take medication which they decompensate and it holds back there housing process. happiest part is seeing clients move out into permanent housing.
Pros
good experience with MICA population
Cons
non
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Case Manager (Current Employee) –  40-03 29th StreetNovember 12, 2017
I'm forever grateful to ACACIA Network for giving me the opportunity to become a case worker. I love this position and have excelled in this position.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I really enjoyed working at Acacia. The hardest part of the job was getting the clients to understand their need for services.
Care Manager (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYNovember 9, 2017
Working at Acacia really helped me to understand the need of others and to become more empathetic. I was able to work with individuals that would normally fall through the cracks because no one would take the time to assist them. Being able to help someone to understand their need for medical, substance abuse, mental health and social services was very rewarding.
Pros
Assisting clients with obtaining the necessary services.
Cons
non compliant clients, large caseloads, clients that could not be located
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and at times unrealistic
Intake Coordinator/Clinician (Current Employee) –  Bronx, NYNovember 5, 2017
As a clinician this job is for clinicians who are new to the field and have no children or families to worry about. Fast paced and long work hours. Many times the amount of work given to be completed is unrealistic to the amount of work that can be accomplished by any human. The salary is great, but there are many times that you wonder, " is it worth it?"
Pros
free lunches by pharmasuticals
Cons
not enought time in the day
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Health homes scam
Case Manager (Former Employee) –  bronxOctober 20, 2017
Health homes was the program i worked for at acacia, but this program exists in many other hospitals and centers. The case load is so big, that you can't possibly help all the clients, leaving you overworked and frustrated. They are interested in you making contact with them so they can bill medicaid. You are required to do face to face visits, and the resources they had to help you do this was limited.
Pros
learning experience
Cons
bad management, poor training, large workload
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disrespectful, Lazy
Case Manager (Current Employee) –  Bronx, NYSeptember 21, 2017
Working for Acacia has been an experience. Management is terrible, Health Insurance is just plain bad. Most supervisors are in that position because of who they know and not their talent or work ethic, in fact they are experts in demoralizing and antagonizing employees. There is always a lot of work to do but supervisors love to give your their work and make you drown. Run there are better places to work related to social services which will pay better and help employees that want to thrive achieve their professional goals.
Pros
Work Hours, 401K, Paid Vacation, Sick Time, Leave, Personal Days. They match whatc you place in your 401K up to 5%
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Reward
Housing Specialist (Temp Position) (Current Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 26, 2017
Acacia Network is a good company in finding affordable homes for the homeless population. It is not an easy job. There are so many homeless families with children in New York City. You have to work really hard to place these families. It's rewarding when you do.
Pros
Landlords do not want to accept many of the government vouchers.
Cons
Families move out of the shelters into permanent housing.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
none comments
GRANT MANAGER (Current Employee) –  Bronx, NYJuly 25, 2017
It is a big company, with diversity employees, good environment,
but the location is a little difficult to travel, the company is ground more and more every year.
Pros
none
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Forgotten Values, Unprofessional
Case Manager Per Diem (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 8, 2017
It is regrettable the lack of structure and support in regards to available software, the internet, and CARES access and office supplies.

The atmosphere created an every man for themselves; which resulted in a tense work environment. Under these circumstances, I could not ask for a better group of colleagues to work with; who rose above all the work place environment dysfunction.
Was this review helpful?Yes 23NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not so great
Residential Assistant (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYJune 27, 2017
company is great. if you are trying to get a job than this is the place for you. the director was very unprofessional but other than that great company. client are hostile and is you are into telling people what to do than yes apply for the position.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run for your life
Shift Manager (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJune 15, 2017
Trust me not a good place to work. Staff is cut through if your not of a specific nationality you are on foot out the door . There no support from hr so don't go to them be carefully
Was this review helpful?Yes 28NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard Work
Program Associate (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYJune 5, 2017
I've worked for Acacia for 3 months and have no complaints other than management needs more sensitivity training. The pay is good, good benefits and medical plan is good too. To work for Acacia is to work hard and in the end, results shows. I appreciate for Acacia giving me the opportunity to work for them.
Pros
You learn a lot
Cons
hard work if you consider that cons.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 13Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive agency that provides many needed services for mother's and children in the community.
House Manager (Current Employee) –  Bronx, NYMay 27, 2017
I've had the pleasure of working on a population in need of encouragement and services for the last 4 years. It continues to be a great experience serving this population and community.
Pros
Team work.
Cons
Need more variety of food choices for clients and more bonding activities for mothers and children.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Junior Staff Accountant (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYMay 23, 2017
I loved working at acacia. The energy was great and welcoming and I learned a lot of new things. It was definitely a great place to work entering into the field.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Acacia Network
Residential Aide (Current Employee) –  308 east 175 st bronx ny 10475April 23, 2017
yes is a place with full of opportunity but very unorganized, the staff has poor communication with each other that make the work a bit stressful, most enjoyable part of the job is seen the clients being able to progress in there daily due to the service we offer them.
Was this review helpful?Yes 19NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Acacia Network. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 82 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.0
Compensation/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
2.8
Management
2.7
Culture
3.1