Academy Bus Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 12 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Military style treatment/ Corporate Offices
Accounting (Former Employee) –  Hoboken, NJJune 13, 2016
Overbearing management. Direct supervisor a total workaholic who won't even let you answer the phones doesn't believe in lunchbreaks . they want you to have no life . Military style environment . the pay and benefits are average . If you just want a paycheck its the perfect place to work. If you want to be able to succeed ,advance and make a better life for your family it will never happen at Academy Bus.
Pros
you get a paycheck
Cons
Collections Manager a total workaholic who will keep you in your place.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a Job that helped me support my family
Bus Operator (Former Employee) –  Perth Amboy, NJFebruary 2, 2016
over the road trips in which i learned different states and how to navigate thru them. Not too good management the co-workers were good. hardest thing was going over the road a lot.Most enjoyable part was not having to be supervised while on the road.
Pros
Home everynight
Cons
low pay for long trips
Was this review helpful?Yes20No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
find another transportation company
maintenance manager (Former Employee) –  leo & perth amboyDecember 29, 2015
I started out as a shop foreman & moved to a maintenance manager position. The company does not pay the techs time & half so it's tough to find quality mechanics. The northeastern maintenance manager is a bully & doesn't know what's going on. The same can be said for the manager that oversees the operation. He plays favorites & only listens to the terminal managers. I resigned due to sub par maintenance practices. I found half the fleets abs systems disabled & found out who was responsible. Management let it go!
Pros
401k & benefits
Cons
pay could be better
Was this review helpful?Yes27No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place.great management and great co-workers.
Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Toms River, NJJune 6, 2015
Start early in the morning,get done late at night.long hours of downtime.Paid by the trip.Great pay and benefits.The hardest part of the job is sitting on the heavy traffic most of the time.
Pros
Great pay and benefits.
Cons
Long hours.Long sitting time between the day.
Was this review helpful?Yes88No25
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was no a place for me
Second shift bus technician (Former Employee) –  Hoboken, NJDecember 8, 2014
was not a place for me . idid inspection and performed repaires as needed
Was this review helpful?Yes66No44
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
academy bus
Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAFebruary 25, 2014
great company and good pay with benefits. the hours just did not work for me.
Was this review helpful?Yes106No31
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All work and no play with little pay
Facilities and Maintenance (Current Employee) –  Hoboken, NJFebruary 6, 2014
If you like hard-work and little pay. The owner likes to yell and ask for irrational requests even after quitting time and halfway home.
Was this review helpful?Yes86No27
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is where I fell in love with the transportating industory
Operated Coach (Former Employee) –  Hoboken, NJDecember 10, 2013
The responsiblities are a hand full. Distant cities, late nights, very early mornings. There wasn't any part of this job that I didn't enjoy or thought was hard.
Pros
travel, and hotels
Was this review helpful?Yes75No23
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No time for fun. Driving al least 60 hour per week
Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Hoboken, NJMarch 7, 2013
Picking up and discharging passengers through cities in NJ
Was this review helpful?Yes105No28
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Largest privately owned Bus Company
Parts and Purchasing Manager Southern Region (Former Employee) –  Pomona, NJFebruary 26, 2013
I was responsible for all the inventory necessary to run the maintenance garage and cleaning bays for the 3 southern terminals of the bus company
Was this review helpful?Yes45No34
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
free food,basketball,baseball new places
motor coach driver (Former Employee) –  Pomona, NJMay 11, 2012
working for academy u get to travel and meet alot of people.being able to go to sporting events,amusement park and some political events.most days are long and you need patients.working with co-workers on 2 or more buses together made some days go good. one thing i didn't like was loading and unloading luggage on overnight jobs.
Pros
most places serve driver for free to eat.
Cons
long hours & shuttle work
Was this review helpful?Yes122No27

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 12 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.6
Compensation/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
2.9
Culture
2.9