Find companies:
Academy Sports + Outdoors
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
882 reviews

Academy Sports + Outdoors Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Senior Team Lead Orlando
Senior Team Lead applicant (Former Employee), Orlando marketDecember 18, 2014
Pros: friendly, upbeat and enthusiastic group.
Cons: starting wages
Interviewed for Senior Team Lead in the Orlando area.
Great interviews(2), courteous,respectful and seemed they all were very excited about their company. Was hoping to get onboard with them in a new store in the area. Waited over 2 months between first and second interview. My interviews went extremely well and thought I would be given a position. – more... A week after the second round I was called to tell me they had accepted someone else. Only issue was the pay scale. In my opinion, they need to adjust the starting wages to better fit the Orlando market and take experience into consideration, as this company comes from areas that might not have the same level of retail competition.
There was no negotiation after the fourteen dollar hourly conversation. Too bad, it looked like a great opportunity.
I wish them Good Luck! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great learning experience
waitress (Former Employee), Augusta, GADecember 16, 2014
I got this job because I was young and wanted some money to get to school and buy things I wanted. I learned a few things. I was a waitress, I liked serving people and I was good at it. We didn't share tips there until the manager saw how much me and another waiter was bringing home in tips. I learned a good bit about a restaurant. And i met son really – more... nice people. The manager was not as good as he should have been. It was a great learning experience for me. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
family oriented team that keeps each other motivated
Customer Service Representative-Store Services (Former Employee), katy, txDecember 15, 2014
Pros: great wages, family atmosphere
Cons: no benefits, management chagned
the customer service/store services department was a great team. The supervisors never asked anyone to do anything they wouldn't do. My late supervisor was a great team leader and kept us focused. We took calls from customer complaints, answered emails, and shipped off parts that were requested on out in store products. the people made the job the most – more... enjoyable – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the people you work with are great
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Tulsa, OKDecember 14, 2014
Pros: the people you work with are great
Cons: management is tied with what they can and cant do from corporate
the management them selves are great but corporate ties their hand with freedom of what they can and cant do. the other employees are great and usually the customers are great. as a sales associate we assist customers with information on products they are about to by as well as help load up larger items in to their vehicles.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Customer Service cashier (Former Employee), Port Arthur, TXDecember 13, 2014
worked customer service, so of course most days were busy. We also had to answer and direct calls to other departments. My co-workers were great and we became close friends. Management was fair and stern, always treated the employees with respect. Hardest part was just making sure my area stayed cleaned while making sure all the customers were taken – more... care of. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Apparel Sales Associate/Cashier
Apparel Sales Associate/Cashier (Current Employee), Plano, TXDecember 12, 2014
Academy was the first to allow me to work and prove myself. I have been working for Academy for a year and a half. Great place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wasn't exactly a workplace enviornment...
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee), McKinney, TXDecember 11, 2014
Pros: if you were late you had a little flexability.
Cons: no benifits. never paid what they claimed they would.
Academy wasn't my idea of work. All the managers always slacked off and always had that one person they liked more then the other. While I was at work you could never get ones attention. Another thing I didn't appreciate is I got cheated out of a little over 200 dollars because they would never pay me the correct amount.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A company that allows you to bring your complete self to work
Store Director (Former Employee), The Woodlands, TXDecember 11, 2014
Pros: culture
Academy was the most enjoyable job I have had in retail. It allowed me to have work life balance, job security and advancement. The corporate office acted as a support system with any needs I might have at the store. Academy's culture is what I enjoyed most of all as they were very family driven.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i love this job
Recieving Associate (Current Employee), huntsville,txDecember 11, 2014
great place to work, may not make a lot of money but their is room to grow
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer service and interactions the best
Sales Field & Steam (Current Employee), Madison, ALDecember 11, 2014
Pros: good prices
Cons: long hours, short pay
Retail store, appearance seems to be the most important, not do we have the inventory in the sale paper.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved the hours
Team sports lead (Former Employee), Fort Worth, TXDecember 3, 2014
Pros: great hours
Cons: never do \what they say they will do.
they never said do what they say they will do.
Responsible for plan a grams in the store
Responsible for store inventory
Assist customers with questions and selection of product
Responsible for all opening and closing duties of the store
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and room for growth
CUSTOMER SERVICE ASSOCIATE (Current Employee), Katy, TXDecember 2, 2014
Pros: business casuale dress code
Cons: unstable schedules
It is a very productive place to work, with room for growth.
Training procedure was very impressive, very hand-on and allows one to grasp quickly what the company is all about.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working here
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee), Oklahoma City, OKDecember 1, 2014
I believe I have already rated Academy but will do so again! LOL! I give them the highest rating because I loved working here.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Front End Team Lead (Former Employee), White Settlement, TxDecember 1, 2014
Pros: discounts and co-workers
Cons: long hours
Open/close the store. I assisted customers with their needs in Footwear when I was a Team Lead in that department. I would special order for my customers and called other stores to see if they had what my customer needed. I then started to work the Front End because I was pregnant and managers wouldn't allow me to get on the ladders in footwear anymore – more... for my safety of course. I learned a lot about footwear. The special shoes for the special needs, wide or narrow feet. The hardest part of my job would be unloading the pallets and putting up the shoes when we would have customers in the store because a job needed to get done but customers would need help. The most enjoyable part of my job was the holidays because I would go above and beyond to get what my customers needed for their loved ones. The fact that I was able to get a gift for a child made me happy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Productive
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Greenville, SCDecember 1, 2014
Pros: talking to people for sales
Cons: short staffed
Always had something to do always kept me busy mostly because we was short staffed allot of the time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer service work
Associate - Footwear/Apparel (Former Employee), Little Rock, ARNovember 28, 2014
Just your basic customer service type of retail job. Management was ok and the customer base wasn't horrible like some places
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun working environment
Apparel associate (Current Employee), Mesquite, TxNovember 26, 2014
Very clean retail store. Well organized. Employees are super friendly and ready to help when help is needed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace with great benefits
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Katy, TxNovember 25, 2014
Working at a Movie Theater meant access to early premieres. It was a very fast paced environment specially on big releases. The group of people I worked with were always taking care of their things but at the same time watching out for each other. Everyone was super helpful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
pretty laid back work place
Overnight Stocking (Former Employee), Webster, TXNovember 25, 2014
Pros: longer lunches
Cons: manage ment was not at all proffessional
typical day at work was just to comein with a good attitude, get my job done and do it to the best of my ability. i loved most of my coworkers but i hade only one issue with one lady but the issues was resolved and everything was handled. the hardest part of my job was after work, after work i had to head straight back to school, because at the time – more... i was in school for full time. but im currently done with school – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoy working retail, but the company lacked good management.
Logistics Manager (Former Employee), Alexandria, LANovember 24, 2014
I was hired on before the store opened its doors. It started out as a great company. But then had its down fall. I enjoyed working with customers, they are what keeps the company in business. If you try your best to keep them pleased, they will come back to shop.

1 2 3 4 5

About Academy Sports + Outdoors

Academy Sports & Outdoors is one of the nation,s largest sporting goods retailers, operating over 80 stores across the southeastern – Read more