Find companies:
Academy Sports + Outdoors
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,057 reviews

Academy Sports + Outdoors United States Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The hours and duties of this job are ideal and simple respectively.
Associate (Current Employee), Warner Robins, GAMay 1, 2015
This is a fun, fast paced company to work for. I enjoy the work hours, and the work duties. The people are a joy to be around, and the overall atmosphere is one of enjoyment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Equal employment opportunitys
Camping Sales Associate, Receiving Associate (Former Employee), Macon, GAApril 30, 2015
Pros: EMPLOYEE DISCOUNT
Great working environment and fun way to make a living. I was born in the south so the general concept of merchandise information is familiar to me. When i was there, the management was excellent.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
Asset Protection Associate/ Cashier (Former Employee), Houston, TXApril 30, 2015
very good environment. and very busy throughout the entire day managers are good manager very polite and very successful
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good to work with better facilities
BI/SQL Developer (Current Employee), Katy, TXApril 29, 2015
has good environment with moderate work pressure. gives ample time to complete work. good team work helps a lot in tricky situations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunity to work with a diverse group of people
Customer Service Specialist (Former Employee), Florence, SCApril 29, 2015
Diverse, and cultured place to work. Time management is vital, most enjoyable part of job is driving sales and making sure customers get what they have came for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
WAREHOUSEMAN (Former Employee), Jeffersonville, GAApril 29, 2015
The company is very motivated to making its associates the best at what they do. Management is very helpful and also co-workers work well together.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Oracle Support Analyst (Current Employee), Katy, TXApril 28, 2015
Compensation is not the best, but its retail. Great company culture and work life balance is good and it is job security.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and friendly workplace
Footwear Sales Associate (Former Employee), Houston, TXApril 26, 2015
Pros: Freindly Work Environment
Cons: N/A
Very enjoyable job. Everyone is very friendly ans insist on helping anyone in need. Everyone makes you feel very comfortable. All of the staff are very dedicated to their jobs and always strive to exeed the customers expectations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High School Job
Footwear Associate (Former Employee), Edmond, OKApril 26, 2015
Pros: Great Managment
Cons: NA
I was in High School while working at Academy but the time I was there I was treated fairly and given multiple opportunities to advance and better myself.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Customer Service Cashier (Current Employee), Austin, TXApril 25, 2015
The people are mostly personable, which is great for retail. We usually work as a cohesive team, with the right management, like my store.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Apparel associate (Former Employee), Longview, TXApril 24, 2015
my favorite job. I really enjoyed my coworkers and the management. everyone is treated with respect and help each other out. its a great place to work and to be apart of a team. the employers really appreciate the team. If I had the chance I would go back in a heartbeat. they were very understanding to my situation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work at.
Custodian (Former Employee), Huntsville, ALApril 24, 2015
Easy to work at.
Great Co-workers
Fun environment.
Some manager seem to favor certain people.
all in all good place to seek employment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun working environment
Customer service (Former Employee), Houston, TXApril 23, 2015
Pros: Birthday Celebrations
Cons: Good health care insurance
It is a nice company with good co-workers and available resources to assist a person succeed in his career. I loved working at this company for it has what it takes to change my life as a customer service agent.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work after highschool
Overnight Stocking,Footwear Sales,Customer Service (Former Employee), Mobile, ALApril 21, 2015
Pros: free lunches, flexible schedule
Cons: no cons
great start up job if you need some extra money after high school or while in college family orientated great communication cookouts, prizes, rewards, constant raises
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice working place
Customer Service Cashier (Current Employee), The Woodlands, TXApril 21, 2015
little hours but nice place to work at
it is mostly a seasonal job because is very slow when there are no holidays
the people there are very nice and is a little store so you do not get so tired when there
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Room for growth
Loss Prevention Associate (Former Employee), Bossier City, LAApril 21, 2015
Pros: Horrible account manager
Cons: Growth capability, structured.
I worked for Allied Barton as a security officer. This is one of the biggest security firms in the country and it shows. There are a multitude of job functions that one can achieve. If you are willing to put in the work, there is room to grow. Each Account manager has their own personality.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace industry to work in.
Cashier Team Leader (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXApril 20, 2015
Pros: Co-workers
Cons: Slow communication b/s mgmt and co-workers.
I was a front-end supervisor, so I made sure that the cashiers were doing their jobs, and that paperwork was done in an efficient manner. The hardest part was working until 12 am, or 1 am. The most enjoyable thing about the job were the co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Receiving
Receiving Associate (Current Employee), Orlando, FLApril 19, 2015
Pros: Free lunches
Academy is a company that trains every employee to insure excellent customer service. It is a company where there is no limit to learn and grow as human being and as a professional.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its okay
Cashier Sales Associate (Former Employee), Oklahoma City, OKApril 17, 2015
Pros: free lunch if having parties
Cons: points for being sick, points even when calling saying you will late due to emergency
This Job was Okay to work.
it just some of the mangers SUCK.
They will give you points even if your sick / come with note or anything.
even if you call
clifton is a nice , reasonable person . he really is the best person he is so nice.
But the other managers all are one sided!
Belinda will pick with you until you blow up on her .
she will follow you and nag nag nag , make up stories about you and say little picking things
she may seem nice at the beginning but that will change.
even going to the bathroom was a problem.
But overall it was okay
if you talk with your coworkers they will break it up even if your asking a question about work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people, Strict Management, Awesome Work Experience
o Part Time Apparel Associate (Current Employee), Newnan, GAApril 17, 2015
Focus on your department
Meet some great customers
Work with great employees
Relaxed environment but serious commitment
Lots of computer based learning modules for your department

1 2 3 4 5

About Academy Sports + Outdoors

Academy Sports & Outdoors is one of the nation,s largest sporting goods retailers, operating over 80 stores across the southeastern – Read more

Academy Sports + Outdoors Salaries

Sales Associate
$8.38 per hour
Team Leader
$10.50 per hour
Cashier
$8.25 per hour
Customer Service Representative
$9.05 per hour
Cashier/Customer Service
$8.40 per hour