Find companies:
Academy Sports + Outdoors
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
793 reviews

Academy Sports + Outdoors Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the job for me!
Retail Associate (Former Employee), Auburn, ALAugust 18, 2014
Rude bosses, not lenient, or understanding. Folding clothes all day, having to stand on your feet all day with one break. things may be different now but for some people they may love this job.! just wasn't for me!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
average at best
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Jacksonville, FLAugust 18, 2014
The management staff at my store are pretty cool people however that does not mean it is a cool place to work at. They never staff enough people on any given day so your always by yourself doing a ton of work or sometimes they don't even schedule people in a department so you'll now be expected to run two departments which is absolutely insane! The – more... pay is not good for the amount of work that is expected and the stresses of working alone or with one other person when the departments are so big and there should never be less that 3 people working at all times... – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lively Atmosphere
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Houston, TXAugust 18, 2014
Well we assist customers while maintaining the cleanliness of the department. I have learned customer service skills and how to maintaining a clean environment. the management are strict but kind of lay back. My co workers are friendly and highly responsible. The hardest part about the job is dealing with the different personalities of the customers. – more... The most enjoyable part of the job is helping customers find exactly what they are looking for. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do your job and have a place to be.
Team Lead (Former Employee), Garland, TXAugust 16, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: management
Basically if a team lead you have it hard because you have to watch 5 or more employees. do your tasks such as planograms, merchandising, price changes and backup cashier. Plus Sale items to customers and obtain credit apps. Lots of work and little pay. Benefits are very good for vacation pay, health and 401K. Managers are too many, because you have – more... to be addressed by any manager on any issue and each manager ha there own idea of what is to be done. Not easy to get developed and high turnover. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average Retail Job
Manager (Former Employee), Alexandria, LAAugust 16, 2014
Pros: associate discount
Cons: hours
Average Retail Job. Money is okay. Hours are bad. Management is okay.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great working place with a fun staff
customer service/ floater (Former Employee), Pearland, TXAugust 14, 2014
Pros: enjoyable work
Cons: management wasn"t the best
typical day involves assisting customers with returns/exchanges, and helping all departments where i'm needed at time. Mainly because i was good all around in each department. Learned patience and basic customer service objectives
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work because of people
Hunting and Fishing Sales Associate (Current Employee), Auburn, AlabamaAugust 13, 2014
Pros: great discount, and willingness to work with scheduling
Cons: not knowing if your will ever get a promtion or a raise.
Working at Academy starts off the same every morning. Check for notes left by team leads each day, or work on freight received that morning. I've learned some; for example, customers may not exactly know what a particular item is and they expect the employees to know. Therefore, it is important to know your merchandise and how it is used. The Academy – more... family is great, they are helpful and understanding, but at the same time they motivate and teach. The hardest part of the job is dealing with angry or rude customers, they expect sales associates to be able to change prices or special order just because they work there. The most enjoyable thing about the job is the satisfaction of helping and that customer coming back time and time again for advice and thanking you for the hard work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Great group of People
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Baytown, TXAugust 11, 2014
Pros: free lunches on special days (exp: black friday, tax free weekend)
Cons: favoritism
Best part of working at academy is not only the customers, but the employees! Everyone is always so friendly and happy and we all get along just great. We each work together, it really is a team environment, but we all have become one big happy family over time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
managment wants no responsibility
Associate (Current Employee), ShreveportAugust 9, 2014
Management wants no responsibility. Give associates their tasks and the sit in the office. Bullying and harassment are all over the place.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for Students but that's where it ends
Sales Associate (Current Employee), AlabamaAugust 8, 2014
Pros: schedule flexibility
Cons: expensive insurance, hours, open every holiday except thanksgiving and christmas
Academy is a great place to work while in school because they are willing to work around your schedule every semester. Company has gone downhill the past few years and everything is micromanaged from the corporate office in Houston, Texas. If you want a job until you can get a degree and move on to big and better things... this is it but get out as – more... soon as possible as there is nothing beneficial that comes from this job other than schedule flexibility. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Academy
Footwear Associate (Former Employee), Austin, TXAugust 6, 2014
the pay could be a lot better for the amount of work u do with this company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Academy
Cashier (Former Employee), Lake Jackson, TXAugust 5, 2014
checked out customers daily, had to stay at my register, helped out in other departments if needed and took care of anything at the front end that needed to be completed i.e.(refilled candy and drink machines, cleaned register area, refilled stock at registers etc.)
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Academy
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Bossier City, LAAugust 5, 2014
Typical retail hours and pay. I really don't have much to say.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My co-workers were the best part of the job
Apparel Associate (Former Employee), San Antonio, TexasAugust 4, 2014
I worked here during college and a lot of the employees I worked with were college students as well. They made going to job more exciting and joy able to get through the day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fast paced busy retail sotre.
Customer Service Cashier (Former Employee), Edmond, OKAugust 3, 2014
Pros: young and fun work crew, store discounts
Cons: did not work well with school schedule, high turnover
A typical day included multiple transactions, including sale and returns, as well as merchandising, cleaning, and using great customer service.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Asset Protection Associate (Current Employee), Valdosta, GAAugust 2, 2014
Pros: hour long lunch breaks
Cons: amount of unprofessionalism
A typical day at work is average
I learned about different ways to serve phenomenal customer service
Management here is absolutely terrible
My co workers are all enjoyable
There isn't anything hard about this job
The most enjoyable part of the job is making all the athletes happy
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Machine Operator 2 (Former Employee), Jeffersonville, GAAugust 2, 2014
Pros: great work and hours
Cons: location & no benefits
Main duties would be to pick orders on different isles according to the labels that were given to me by supervisor @ the beginning of the shift, every now an then get on the conveyor belt and push out packages. I would mostly pick orders tho about 1200-1500 a day within a 10 hour period so that was above average.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not bad
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Spring, TXAugust 1, 2014
Pros: 20% off
it wasn't a bad job if you need a job go for it it wasn't a bad job if you need a job go for it it wasn't a bad job if you need a job go for it it wasn't a bad job if you need a job go for it it wasn't a bad job if you need a job go for it
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun and laughs at work
Sales (Former Employee), Odessa, TXAugust 1, 2014
Pros: 20% employee discount even on clearance, cake and cookout each month
Cons: no breaks just lunch, not much flexibility
Stocked more merchandise at work. Co-workers were next to me setting up plano. I learned that in the appropriate situation it is easy to be productive and have fun at the same time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with sports equipment
Team sports sales associate (Current Employee), Hiram, GAJuly 31, 2014
Geat place to work, they have been flexible with school schedule

About Academy Sports + Outdoors

Academy Sports & Outdoors is one of the nation,s largest sporting goods retailers, operating over 80 stores across the southeastern – Read more