Find companies:
Academy Sports + Outdoors
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
742 reviews

Academy Sports + Outdoors Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work with a fast paced environment
Hardlines Senior Team Lead (Current Employee), springfield, MOJune 30, 2014
Management
Customer Service, Coordinate daily plans, Watch daily sales and coordinate product ideas/needs with our buyers, Provide feedback to managers, Make suggestions and improvements to departments, Encourage team effort, Make department schedules, Actively global across the store, Run the front end at times of need, Take MOD (Manager on duty) calls, – more... String racquets, Sell guns, Drive forklift – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced work environment
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Tallahassee, FLJune 30, 2014
Pros: 20 percent discount
Cons: the pay
Customer service with everyone. Stocked shelves, and explained the different products to customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Zone, zone, zone
Manager (Current Employee), Mobile, ALJune 30, 2014
Pros: great co-workers, fun product.
Cons: long hours, rough schedules.
Academy offers a great training program and a fun environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place
Asset Protection Associate (Former Employee), Killeen, TXJune 27, 2014
Good place to work. Management treated fairly. Co-workers work well together. Learned many aspects to protect the store.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Responsible for many areas of the floor while behind the register
Customer service cashier (Former Employee), Fort Worth, TXJune 26, 2014
While management "appears" to be supportive, they aren't really. They allow the customers to literally walk over the store policies. I really enjoyed my co workers. Typical days were hard on one's feet all day in the same spot. Learned to cover my back and triple check and document anything I did.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent first job experience, easy to move up in mamagement
Customer Service Cashier (Current Employee), Valdosta, GAJune 26, 2014
Pros: paid meals on occasion, hour break
Cons: company policy on returns and in regards to point system
Management could be a lot better and company polices are not the greatest
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
back and forth on the yard pulling trailers , dropping off and picking up trailers at stores.
Yard Driver (Former Employee), Katy, TXJune 26, 2014
Pros: down time.
Cons: when it gets busy its hectic.
get in a yard mule preform pretrip /post trip pull trailers out of dock and place in different areas. pick up trailers and deliver to stores and pick up empty's.
how to back into tight spaces.
management was ok as long as you did your job they didnt bother you.
they were very friendly and funny over the walkie talkie.
when their was no good communication – more... between management and yard jockey / supervisors.
the down time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job was fun because i love sports.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Houma, LAJune 26, 2014
Fun environment. easy to work there. Very friendly customers. Hard working environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Lubbock, TXJune 24, 2014
I loved working here. The employees and management were fun to work with. The was always something new going on everyday.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work with rapid growth
Merchandising (Former Employee), Katy, TXJune 23, 2014
Its a fast paced place to work with huge growth in the last several years.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retail job that met my needs at the time employed
Night Receiving Clerk/Freight Clerk (Former Employee), Webster, TXJune 23, 2014
Inconsistent management, unpredictable hours week-to-week
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Foot Wear Associate
Foot Wear Associate (Former Employee), Edmond, OKJune 23, 2014
It was a basic job that did not require any kind of thought or mental acuity.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable place to work, great interaction with customers, excellent problem solving situtations
Receiving Associate (Former Employee), Spartanburg, SCJune 21, 2014
Pros: work experience
Everyday we would unload trucks and restock the sales floor, on days we did not have trucks we would zone and downstock. Manage ment was good all though i sometimes had to step up and help out our department lead. There really wasn't too much hard about it, I use to always say when unloading trucks, " it's like getting paid to work out." . I enjoyed – more... the people I worked with and always seem to get along with people where ever I go. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Footwear Sales Associate (Former Employee), San Antonio TxJune 21, 2014
Pros: discounts
Cons: short breaks
fast paced , customer friendly had to show customers were certain shoes were and assist them in a timely manner showing them exactly where certain things were through out the academy store
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
decent summary dead end job
Firearm Receiver (Current Employee), Jeffersonville GAJune 19, 2014
decent wage, dead end job, no real career advancement if you are looking to be fulfilled this is not the job for you
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wasn't a great place to work.
Apparel Associate (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXJune 19, 2014
My father had passed away and while I was out for family business they tired to fire me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive sales days on weeekends and holidays
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Dalton, GAJune 19, 2014
Pros: good people with good attitudes
Cons: not enough hours
I clock in check my duties for the day and start to work I greet patrons and ask if they need any help without being pushy and maintain a clean working area Also help co-workers as needed and maintain professional attitude
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Footwear Associate (Current Employee), Cape Giardeau, moJune 18, 2014
help customers on a daily basis with their selection of shoes and other products.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work is work
Apparel/Cashier Associate - Part time (Former Employee), Weslaco, TexasJune 18, 2014
Pros: discount, laid back, easy
Cons: get out late, stupid managers
Academy is good at making sure you have all the right answers to ensure that you give the the best customer service.
Working there for 3 years I learned alot, from working from the fiiting room, doing carry out and doing fishing licenses, The longer you work there the more you learn. Being a college student is good fit for working at Academy, they will – more... work with your school schedule, they make you submit a copy of your school scehdule. A con of working for Academy is at weekends we can be there as late as 3am getting ready for a corporate visit, all depends on what time the store director decides to leave.

They pay all depends where you live, after 3 months they give u a raise, after that you will get an annually raise based on an evaluation, a manager will only evaluate everything in writing, then a system will decide your pay raise based on how well the evalutaion went, it could be from 10cents up to 50cents for just part timers, kinda sucks.

Hours are pretty good depending where the store is located, if at busy city, and depends on season. It will be slow at times but thats retail.
Overall Academy is ok to work at just for a college student, and if you are a girl do not be discouraged to work there if all you see is guys, sometimes they need a girls mind to solve solutions. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Great
Sale's Associate (Former Employee), Gadsden, ALJune 17, 2014
I was lied to about hours I would receive, never formally trained by manager, and ended up leaving after 2 months of working

About Academy Sports + Outdoors

Academy Sports & Outdoors is one of the nation,s largest sporting goods retailers, operating over 80 stores across the southeastern – Read more