Find companies:
Academy Sports + Outdoors
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
778 reviews

Academy Sports + Outdoors Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning Experience
Apparel Associate (Current Employee), Douglasville, GAJuly 16, 2014
Pros: discount!
Cons: low hours
I learned a ton of customer service here, from the time you walk in the door until closing you are helping customers. Either on the phone or in person, you are constantly interacting with people. Also keeping the merchandise zoned and tidy was a factor. The most enjoyable part of the job is meeting and speaking with new people. Good management, everyone – more... works with you and does their best to keep things running smoothly. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
okay place to work, strict managers
Cashier (Current Employee), Shreveport, LAJuly 15, 2014
Academy can be a very fun place to work at times, however, the managers are very strict about certain things, and they take it a bit to the extreme.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful place to work.
Team Lead (Current Employee), Snellville, GAJuly 14, 2014
Job was tedious. Management was terrible/ And the morale of the store was awful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work environment friendly staff and management.
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Montgomery, ALJuly 14, 2014
Work hard and do what your supposed to and this job is easy. Learning the products takes some time but other than that it is a great job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Experience
Hunting and Fishing Sales Associate (Former Employee), Fort Worth, TexasJuly 14, 2014
Working at Academy gave me some good experiences and allowed me to take what I had learned to other jobs after I left.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
balls to play with while slow
Footwear Sale Associate (Former Employee), West Monroe, LAJuly 9, 2014
Pros: free food
Cons: no breaks
customer service, talk to co-workers. Cleaning the footwork deptment. No fun
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Surrounded with people that were there for the same reason I was, we were in college and in need of a job.
Footwear Sales Associate (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXJuly 8, 2014
This company screwed me over by firing me for something that wasn't proven on my part and still to this day has employees there that broke several ethical codes. It is a place just like High School, the popular get everything and those that actually work hard get no recognition.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Favorite Job So Far
APPAREL ASSOCIATE (Current Employee), Jonesboro, ARJuly 8, 2014
Academy Sports is by far my favorite job that I have had. The environment is very inviting and I get along with all my team members. This is a job that I have actually felt appreciated at. When you do outstanding work you are recognized for your hard work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i like teaching profession but it give less salary
Teacher (Former Employee), Lahore, VAJuly 8, 2014
i like teaching and computer jobs at this company i was satisfied but they give less salary
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work and the best first job i have ever had.
Asset Protection Associate (Current Employee), Austin, TexasJuly 7, 2014
Pros: good people, great discount, great work environment, 401k on a part time job.
Cons: need for holiday work, entry level pay, unstable work during off season
i'm currently and Asset Protection Associate with Academy Sports and Outdoors. i, very much, enjoy my job. my main duties consist of greeting customers and manning the podium at the front of the store having a disability and working is difficult. however, the management and my co-workers are wonderful people who work with me to help ensure my success. – more... working for this company has been great. seeing as Academy Sports and Outdoors was and is my first job i have learned a great deal on how to be an employee. since i have started my job i have gotten several pay raises and a 401k . – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it's mostly a starting job for those who need experience.
Sales Associate (Current Employee), McAllen, TXJuly 5, 2014
Pros: full hour lunches
Cons: extremely rude customers
-Mostly slow during certain seasons of the year.
-Each day is different and you learn to deal with many extremely rude customers no matter how well you do your job.
-Management is lenient.
-Co-workers are mellow but understand the job burns your patience.
-The hardest part of the job is dealing with customers who take out their anger on you.
-The best – more... part of the job depends on the department you are in. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad management
Assist customers (Former Employee), snellvilleJuly 2, 2014
unfair hour distribution . Unrealistic job expectations .
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lovely
Footwear Sales and Cashier Associate (Former Employee), little rock , arJuly 1, 2014
Pros: n/a
Cons: n/a
greet and assist customers; answer questions and provide information to the public.
provide customer service by responding to phone inquiries
collect and process customer transactions assist in sorting and balancing receipts etc
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Mobile, ALJuly 1, 2014
excellent environment and hands on with customers and will get to meet alot of new people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work and the customers are great
Logistics Manager (Current Employee), North Fort Worth, TexasJuly 1, 2014
Pros: learn alot about the outdoor exprence from your customers
Cons: you never get days off in a row
The company is very dated when it comes to technology and there systems and policy's are very dated. They don't have enough computers for there employees to do there work and computer base learning. Everyday is different and you never know what to expect. The associates are very knowledgeable about there departments and they are very friendly. The hardest – more... thing about the job is there process and how they do business daily. The most enjoyable part about the job is the customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for.
Distribution Receiving Supervisor (Current Employee), Katy, TexasJuly 1, 2014
Pros: working with a staff that gives 100% daily.
Cons: driving distance is about 1.5 to 2.5 hrs per day.
The best part of the company is the associates. Their relentless efforts to get the job done is why it's a good company. Training and mentoring staff for career advancement is one of the most enjoyable parts of my responsiblity.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work with a fast paced environment
Hardlines Senior Team Lead (Current Employee), springfield, MOJune 30, 2014
Management
Customer Service, Coordinate daily plans, Watch daily sales and coordinate product ideas/needs with our buyers, Provide feedback to managers, Make suggestions and improvements to departments, Encourage team effort, Make department schedules, Actively global across the store, Run the front end at times of need, Take MOD (Manager on duty) calls, – more... String racquets, Sell guns, Drive forklift – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced work environment
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Tallahassee, FLJune 30, 2014
Pros: 20 percent discount
Cons: the pay
Customer service with everyone. Stocked shelves, and explained the different products to customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Zone, zone, zone
Manager (Current Employee), Mobile, ALJune 30, 2014
Pros: great co-workers, fun product.
Cons: long hours, rough schedules.
Academy offers a great training program and a fun environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place
Asset Protection Associate (Former Employee), Killeen, TXJune 27, 2014
Good place to work. Management treated fairly. Co-workers work well together. Learned many aspects to protect the store.

About Academy Sports + Outdoors

Academy Sports & Outdoors is one of the nation,s largest sporting goods retailers, operating over 80 stores across the southeastern – Read more