Find companies:
Academy Sports + Outdoors
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,126 reviews

Academy Sports + Outdoors Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Apparel associate (Former Employee), Longview, TXApril 24, 2015
my favorite job. I really enjoyed my coworkers and the management. everyone is treated with respect and help each other out. its a great place to work and to be apart of a team. the employers really appreciate the team. If I had the chance I would go back in a heartbeat. they were very understanding to my situation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work at.
Custodian (Former Employee), Huntsville, ALApril 24, 2015
Easy to work at.
Great Co-workers
Fun environment.
Some manager seem to favor certain people.
all in all good place to seek employment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun working environment
Customer service (Former Employee), Houston, TXApril 23, 2015
Pros: Birthday Celebrations
Cons: Good health care insurance
It is a nice company with good co-workers and available resources to assist a person succeed in his career. I loved working at this company for it has what it takes to change my life as a customer service agent.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work after highschool
Overnight Stocking,Footwear Sales,Customer Service (Former Employee), Mobile, ALApril 21, 2015
Pros: free lunches, flexible schedule
Cons: no cons
great start up job if you need some extra money after high school or while in college family orientated great communication cookouts, prizes, rewards, constant raises
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice working place
Customer Service Cashier (Current Employee), The Woodlands, TXApril 21, 2015
little hours but nice place to work at
it is mostly a seasonal job because is very slow when there are no holidays
the people there are very nice and is a little store so you do not get so tired when there
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Room for growth
Loss Prevention Associate (Former Employee), Bossier City, LAApril 21, 2015
Pros: Horrible account manager
Cons: Growth capability, structured.
I worked for Allied Barton as a security officer. This is one of the biggest security firms in the country and it shows. There are a multitude of job functions that one can achieve. If you are willing to put in the work, there is room to grow. Each Account manager has their own personality.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace industry to work in.
Cashier Team Leader (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXApril 20, 2015
Pros: Co-workers
Cons: Slow communication b/s mgmt and co-workers.
I was a front-end supervisor, so I made sure that the cashiers were doing their jobs, and that paperwork was done in an efficient manner. The hardest part was working until 12 am, or 1 am. The most enjoyable thing about the job were the co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Receiving
Receiving Associate (Current Employee), Orlando, FLApril 19, 2015
Pros: Free lunches
Academy is a company that trains every employee to insure excellent customer service. It is a company where there is no limit to learn and grow as human being and as a professional.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its okay
Cashier Sales Associate (Former Employee), Oklahoma City, OKApril 17, 2015
Pros: free lunch if having parties
Cons: points for being sick, points even when calling saying you will late due to emergency
This Job was Okay to work.
it just some of the mangers SUCK.
They will give you points even if your sick / come with note or anything.
even if you call
clifton is a nice , reasonable person . he really is the best person he is so nice.
But the other managers all are one sided!
Belinda will pick with you until you blow up on her .
she will follow you and nag nag nag , make up stories about you and say little picking things
she may seem nice at the beginning but that will change.
even going to the bathroom was a problem.
But overall it was okay
if you talk with your coworkers they will break it up even if your asking a question about work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people, Strict Management, Awesome Work Experience
o Part Time Apparel Associate (Current Employee), Newnan, GAApril 17, 2015
Focus on your department
Meet some great customers
Work with great employees
Relaxed environment but serious commitment
Lots of computer based learning modules for your department
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful Place to Work
Asset Protection Associate (Former Employee), Chattanooga, TNApril 17, 2015
Pros: paycheck
Cons: standing at a podium 8 hours a day 5 days a week, low dollars per hour
Supposedly you're supposed to be assigned all these various tasks but for the most part you're stuck on a podium unable to leave without being replaced for 8 hours a day, 5 days a week.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love the people!
Senior Infrastructure Manager (Current Employee), Katy, TXApril 17, 2015
Pros: Great discounts, Good Benefits, Enjoy the work environment
Cons: Growth oppurtunites are limited. Few Hollidays and no comp time.
My team, customers and management are wonderful. The technology is state of the art. The budget for storage is low so we are often struggling to add enough storage.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Easy-going place to work
Contract Administrator (Current Employee), Katy, TXApril 16, 2015
I learned the ins and outs of constructions contracts, invoice processing and coding, project reconciliations between softwares, project close-outs, and budgeting.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too Much Drama
Overnight Stocker (Former Employee), Odessa, TXApril 15, 2015
Pros: Free Lunches each month, Fun job.
Cons: Drama, Careless Managers, Co-Workers
The work itself was extremely fun. However, the employees made it hard to want to come to work. Nothing but he-said, she-said, I heard and the Overnight Manager and Assistant manager are worthless. They do nothing but sleep in the backroom and when they decide to wake up, they complain about everything. The manager flirts with the women and lets some of them get off early, even when their work is unfinished. Day-shift blames their work on Night shift, and as far as getting recognition for overnights crews work...you can forget about it. Day shift gets all the recognition and awards and it's the same people who get selected each month.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, except for just a few things
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Decatur, ALApril 14, 2015
Pros: great work environment, nice people
Cons: overly focused on internal shrink, gets in the way of the job
The location I worked at is great, except for a few managers, but you can say that about any workplace. I can't say I agree with many of their decisions regarding security and shrink though. They focus too much on internal shrink while they should be worrying more about external shrink. Also, their scheduling system is terrible and I have never had a request off show up to management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy job with relax work environment depending on location.
Loss Prevention Team Lead (Former Employee), Lubbock, TXApril 14, 2015
Pros: Relaxed environment, mon-fri schedule (position dependent).
Cons: customer service, occasional weekend and late night shifts.
I was fortunate to work at a location where management was consistent, our store director was there for about 30 or so years. Once our store director resigned, the work environment declined dramatically. It was a relaxed work environment. It was an easy job that paid decent.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun environment
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Hiram, GAApril 13, 2015
Pros: the latest styles and brands on hand
Cons: wages are low
The company is very motivated to making its associates the best at what they do. Management is very helpful and also co-workers work well together.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Gretna, LAApril 12, 2015
Listen to customers questions, ask customers questions before you start rattling off wrong answers.
Do not wine and moan when your manager tells you to do 23 things in one day and 22 of them are what you did the day before.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Supervisor (Former Employee), Lake Charles, LAApril 11, 2015
I loved my time a academy. they are a great corporation and I made a lot of long term friends. Leaving academy was a hard decision but I decided to leave to further my career and have more responsibility.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very stressful
Cashier and Apparel Associate (Former Employee), Katy, TXApril 10, 2015
Felt very stressful and under appreciated while i was there. Worked like crazy throughout the holiday season and was not appreciated or thanked. All i asked for was full time. I did like some of my co workers and some of the management.

About Academy Sports + Outdoors

Academy Sports & Outdoors is one of the nation,s largest sporting goods retailers, operating over 80 stores across the southeastern – Read more

Academy Sports + Outdoors Salaries

Sales Associate
$8.39 per hour
Senior Team Lead
$10.71 per hour
Customer Service Representative
$9.05 per hour
Cashier
$8.25 per hour
Cashier/Customer Service
$8.50 per hour