Find companies:
Access Community Health Network
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
22 reviews

Access Community Health Network Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CNMs stay away
CNM (Former Employee), Chicago ILSeptember 16, 2014
Pros: sometimes the drug rep will bring a lunch. on paper it's a cnm job.
Cons: staying here too long will hurt your future job chances. see comments above.
On paper, this is a full scope CNM job, but stay away unless you only want to work in a clinic and if you don't care about having a productive OB collaborator or management relationship, or having a relationship with other CNMs in the organization. The CNMs are marginalized and isolated in widely scattered clinics across Chicago. There is no "midwife – more... group" or "midwife practice" and really there is nobody you can ask practice questions/policies/procedures - the other CNMs are unhelpful and unresponsive. Access only cares about one thing: number of billable encounters you generate. They are primary care focussed, not OB-Gyne. You will have absolutely NO control over your schedule. Central scheduling and front desk staff can do a very poor job. Management (ie medical directors, clinic manager) will ignore you and you will not get positive feedback - you will only get feeback if a patient complains about you. They start threatening you when you resign. They aren't happy about midwives attending births, because CNMs have so few to begin with, they aren't profitable. There are no RNs in the clinic - medical assistants and clinic managers, most of which have no college education, behave as if they are your boss. There is no clear chain of command where you can discuss your job or get meaningful feedback. The OB-Gynes are overall hostile to midwives and treat them very poorly. If you take call at their affiliated hospital, you will not be allowed to admit or discharge patients, you will not be allowed to triage, use the ultrasound, first assist, or even manage your "assigned" patients independently. Resident OBs will intervene and tell you what to do. It is a hostile work environment where you will be bullied, esp. by some OBs. My southside patients didn't even want to deliver at the affiliated hospital and usually went to another hospital closer to their homes through the ER to deliver their babies. Be warned. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place of service
Project Manager, Medical Services (Current Employee), Chicago, ILSeptember 13, 2014
The people at ACCESS are passionate about the work they do. They are truly interesting in the well being of the community and not just the pay check. Management is approachable and transparent
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work for if inexperience
Manager, Health Information Management (Current Employee), Chicago, ILSeptember 9, 2014
The most enjoyable part of the job was the staff.
Management is not professional nor qualified
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Careet advancement and raises are not considered.
Prevention Case Manager (Current Employee), Blue Island, ILAugust 13, 2014
Pros: positive interaction with new people daily
Cons: lack of continuous job change or improvements no room for job advancement
A typical work day is full busy work and follow ups with clients. I have learned a great deal about patient centered health care and feel those are tools that can be adapted into other positions in my future.
Management has poor communication skills with staff. Co-workers are very helpful and are easy to work with.
The hardest part of the job is not – more... feeling appreciated for hard work.
The most enjoyable aspect of this job is the ability learn and pay it forward. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome learning experience
Charge Entry Analyst (Former Employee), Chicago, ILAugust 6, 2014
Working for Access was a great experienced. I learned so much and felt like a family working there. The staff and management was extremely nice and supportive.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
DONT WORK HERE
social worker (Former Employee), Chicago, ILAugust 4, 2014
This company is most consirnded with where the next dollar is coming from. Work is not consitant, much down time and not a lot of consideration for the people they are "helping." HR and management are lazy, disorganized and extremely critical. I had health problems and this health company fired me for them. I would strongly adivse anyone considering – more... employment here to think hard about it, and see what other opportunities are out there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fast pace enviroment, good team to work with.
Certified Medical Assistant (Former Employee), Evanston, IL.June 20, 2014
Pros: very reliable job and understading if we had emergency issues.
Cons: pay cuts.
Well, I was the head medical assistant for the residency program for St. Francis, therefore, it was a fast ongoing day for me. Access had a subsidized programs for patients without insurance depending on their income. We were seeing anywhere between 25-50 patients a day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
4 star
Provider Credentialing Coordinator (Current Employee), Chicago, ILJune 2, 2014
I enjoy working for this company seeking a position in the health industry in management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent place to work at
Community Representative (Former Employee), Chicago, ILApril 21, 2014
Pros: make a lot of friends and meet a lot of important personalities.
Cons: job security depended on outreach outcome and numbers.
Communicating with administration and other agencies to create promotional evwents that lead to successful advertisment of health care servcies. great co-workers, most difficult time creating events-rewrding but also time consuming, best time enjoying the outdoors for multuiple events.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Last resort when fresh out of school.
CMA (Former Employee), ChicagoApril 21, 2014
Pros: patients
Cons: poor management
Was at first ecstatic to accept a position here despite the low pay, just above min wage albeit years of work experience. Didnt expect to be in managers office by my third day for mundane complaints and gossip. Management seems to be more interested in social status and "getting along" with coworkers over patient care and skill utilization. NEVER in – more... my 15 years of work experience have I encountered such a negative environment making it nearly impossible to have a semi enjoyable work day let alone putting my skills to good use. The other review I read from a provider hit the nail on the head. Managers are uneducated Medical assistants if that and run their offices in their own way lowering work morale. I enjoyed working with patients, and most of my coworkers although it semed they ran to mgmt over anything and everything you did or didn't do according to their (low) standard. Employees were not shy about expressing how much they despised working there years without a raise and poor management which explains the low level of health care provided. How anyone can work here and raise a family at poverty level is beyond me. They have a fairly high turn around and are quick to express how dispensable you are to the organization.

For someone young with no responsibilities and little to no work experience and can handle a very high stress, unorganized work environment, this is the place for you. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management has understanding for faimly issues and work with you when need be.
Charge Entry Analyst (Current Employee), Chicago, ILJanuary 27, 2014
Pros: bonus for job well done.
Cons: no flex time
Everyday there are changes and challanges to the work-flow. Typical day here I come in and log into the epic system and start working the work-q's. Which holds all medical charges that must be reviewed before being released for payments. Any errors are corrected and insurance verified. my co-workers are team players which makes the job enjoyable. Management – more... has an open door policy which I love and questions are welcome and not greated with rejectioins. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great for beginners
Registered medical assistant (Former Employee), Chicago, ILJanuary 10, 2014
great experience. you will learn a lot and you will be able to take what you learned and utilize it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hectic
Clerical Support (Current Employee), Chicago, ILNovember 24, 2013
Pros: weekends off
Cons: salary, pay to park, short lunch, not many holidays off.
I come in and I start by collecting the incoming faxes that were received after business hours. I then turn on my computer and open my email and answer emails, make phone calls to various branches. Deliver mail and faxes to appropriate departments and personnel. Then I log into our system and begin processing authorizations. I've learned many computer – more... skills as Clerical Support. I report to my manager with any issues and I don't have much supervision, it's up to me to supervise myself and manage my time to perform tasks in a timely manner. I have one co-worker who works along side me performing the same duties. The hardest part of my job is; the people in our company seem to lack the proper training in their fields, making everyone else's job that more difficult. The most enjoyable part of the job are the company meetings. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fair company
Medicare Specialist (Current Employee), Chicago illinoisJune 3, 2013
Pros: chicago location
Cons: not much room for growth
I have implement many ideas and changes to the way billing is done which in turn has increased revenue and decreased denials. I'm looking for a challenging position, A place that i can bring ideas to and learn from.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loving my job but it has it faults
Billing and Collection Analyst (Current Employee), Chicago,ILJanuary 25, 2013
Cons: bad management
I love want I do as far as follow-up on commercial accounts. The hardest part is that the system we have EPIC is not setup correctly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place
Team Leader/ medical assistant (Former Employee), Bloomingdale, ILJanuary 24, 2013
Gain so much experince working with different specialties great team work with everyone.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and good learning
Medical Assistant (Former Employee), Chicago, ILOctober 13, 2012
Pros: great after work meetings
productive and fun staff. i learn a lot the past 10 years i worked there
just wish we had a stronger team but we learned.the hardest part about working there was getting off and hoping you made it to your car without being robbed.but one of the things i really loved about it was we would get togeather and have a dinner and we would have a good time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A company with a future
Receptionist (Current Employee), Chicago, ILJune 16, 2012
Working for this company has been very fortunate. This company is a great example of the kindness this world has to offer. It teaches you to tolerate the intolerable and appreciate the job you have. It has been a great experience working with people that know how to be kind and helpful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What's going on there?
Clinic (Current Employee), Chicago, ILApril 29, 2012
Pros: patients
Cons: bosses
aCCESS changed when our former Ceo died
People in top positions think they know everything
Grew too fast on every corner & pay themselves
Way too much money so they had to lay long
Time good employees off
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful experience
Medical provider (Former Employee), Suburban clinicApril 29, 2012
Pros: wonderful patients
Cons: too many to list
A typical day as a provider at Access starts with being harassed by the clinic manager who typically is an uneducated medical assistant. You can never see enough patients at this organization because administration expects the providers to see an unreasonable amount of patients. The providers are compensated based on the quantity of patients they see – more... not the quality of the work they provide. The mission statement of the organization is not upheld and patients typically wait 1-2 hours or more to be seen. The senior management is busy sitting in their lush loft-style office overlooking the Chicago River while the providers have not received a raise for years. It is rare to get out on time and on your days off you are expected to be available to be contacted by the organization. The organization is run by Human Resources and not by providers. Providers have no say in anything and are not valued. Stay away from this organization. You will be tired, underpaid, and unappreciated. Plenty of other worthwhile organizations to work for. – less