Accretive Health Employee Reviews

Found 142 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Think twice
A little guy (Former Employee) –  United StatesDecember 20, 2016
The only enjoyable part is the coworkers. Management has the very minimum of communication skills and does not give employees the necessary tools to perform their job efficiently. I felt like i was lied to to join the company. Training is rushed through and you're expected to become a guru with only a few days on the floor. NO work/life balance as you are disciplined for anything (children, health, YOUR LIFE OUTSIDE OF THE JOB) that will take you away from the office. Things could get better if upper management was changed. Benefits are not good. Little pto accrued bi weekly & High premiums with little coverage of anything major. You will be made to feel like you are in prison as everything, EVERYTHING is monitored. We are all adults but you will not be treated or talked to as such. Upper management openly disrespects their counterparts and discuss employee performance with other employees. The pay will probably be more than surrounding third party companies but its not worth peace of mind. DO NOT work here unless you're up for a stressful, micro managed environment
Pros
Its a job
Cons
Micro manages, unprofessional upper management, lack of effective communication, Non existent work/life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never work for this company.
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Kalamazoo, MIDecember 27, 2016
Bad management and the benefits are horrible. Even when you are at the top, it;s never enough, they add more responsibility but no increase in pay, Some of the employees are nice but they don;t work as a team. If you are liked you don't have to do nothing and if you aren't they work you to death. Death would have been better than working at this place most people quit as soon as they find a new job.This is just a short term job at best.
Pros
pay not the worst
Cons
Few breaks and the benefits aren't good..
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just an ok place to work
Patient Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Warren, MINovember 2, 2016
They should have more training for new hires because they expect you to meet requirements within a week of two. While I was there, I witnessed they fired so many people over 40 although they were the most efficient and knowledgeable. I wouldn't recommend this place to anybody unless they are unable to find work elsewhere. The compensation was not good and the raises were just as bad.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very beneficial to acquire experience to build knowledge of revenue cycle etiology.
Customer Representative Patient Financial Services (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCAugust 26, 2016
Positively effective employment experience with Accretive Health. Developed knowledge of CMS standards instrumental to maintaining patient care and hospital compensation. Built strong bond with other coworkers who daily maintained care and integrity while assisting insurance provider and patient billing inquiries.
Pros
Positive productive work culture if you have high energy.
Cons
Job retention/stability.
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical work day
Follow up Representative/Disability Analyst (Former Employee) –  Detroit, MIJune 27, 2016
Corroboration of benefits and care compensation for health care organizations and Patient's with existing insurance coverage and new enrollments. I worked in a Team based setting and processed paper work for The department of human services and Obtained records for my organization. I was able to utilize my expertise to train other's n the job and accumulate incentives for my team. It was a growing experience from follow up rep. to Disability analyst,I enjoyed the process and the people I had the opportunity to work with.
Pros
Great incentitives
Cons
Lack of women having promotion granted
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work
Team Lead CSR (Former Employee) –  Southfield, MIOctober 20, 2016
There is no management that knows what they are talking about. Horrible benefits, very stressful place to work at, it's a "who you know, not what you know" place to work at, and they do not treat their employees with respect.
Pros
Benefits, sick days (5) and PTO started the 1st of the following month that you started working there
Cons
Too many to list!
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stiffling Growth and Reclusive Culture
Analyst (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILAugust 31, 2016
There is a desperate need for a culture.
The company lacks a strategic plan for growth in a volatile industry.
Different perspectives are needed to challenge predominant views.
Pros
Comparable compensation
Cons
Lack of a culture; people and departments work in silos
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Warren, MIJuly 27, 2016
This is a company on the move ever changing and constant update. There is always something new going on at any given time. This is the company to be with if your up to working hard and fast and enjoy constant change.
Pros
Fixed schedules, Health Benefits, Dental Benefits, Casual dress code.
Cons
limits the time you have to address your house hold/family and everyday life
Was this review helpful?Yes7No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
Appeal Nurse (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILJanuary 7, 2017
excellent place to work for- nice atmosphere, training, work ethic and flexibility- would recommend highly- good benefits, remote work available-very accomodating
Pros
remote
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company to work for
Patient Financial Advocate (Former Employee) –  Southfield, MIJuly 9, 2016
I truly enjoyed my time with this company. great benefits and great employees to work with. the hardest part of the job was not knowing when they were going to eliminate your job. the best part was you could get all the overtime you wanted and an hour lunch
Pros
If you are having a family emergency they will work with you
Cons
you never know when they are downsizing your position
Was this review helpful?Yes9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Constant Fire Drill
Administrator (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILSeptember 14, 2016
Good place to learn. Would suggest it for your adults looking to grow quickly and lean about revenue management. Would not suggest for someone looking so a slow paced environment.
Pros
Flexable hours
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok for entry level
PFS Representative (Current Employee) –  Southfield, MIJune 5, 2016
This company is good to get your foot in the door and understanding of the revenue cycle in health care. It is very clear that upper management does not trust hourly associates. They have a good vacation package. Considering its a health care firm the health insurance is not very good. It honestly is not affordable for the common hourly associate.

Management should consider trusting hourly associates who have been with the firm for longer than five years. They should also consider looking at the pay scale. As they have been hiring new associates in at the rates the older employees are being paid. Alot of animosity is occurring among older associates because of this.
Pros
Good vacation package
Cons
Not being trusted
Was this review helpful?Yes15NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Needs Work
Insurance Verifier (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, ALAugust 26, 2016
Company is not a place to come if you want to grow, minimal advancement opportunities. Management has a superior complex there is a definite line drawn between roles.
Pros
will work with your schedule
Cons
no incentives
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job security
Biller (Current Employee) –  Southfield, MISeptember 25, 2016
I work here, and before coming here worked for a healthcare company where ppl stay. Some have 40 years. This place? Your blessed to see 2. They outsource to India, and temp services the most concerning. Then you find out temp workers make more than you even after they become direct hires. Then you never know when they are going to move you. It's like sitting on pens and needles all day. There is alot of favoritism going on. I love my coworkers. I just wished i could feel more confident when i come to work
Pros
Great ppl to work with
Cons
Turn around in employment. Like a revolving door
Was this review helpful?Yes8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Fair
Medical Biller Follow up for Credits (Former Employee) –  Southfield, MIOctober 28, 2016
Not a good place to Work for. Management team always changing and not knowledge. They will let you go with and for no reason at all. This place is a sit up for failure. They don't play fair, act like they training you and really not and want get you the help you need!
Pros
None
Cons
The company
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place to work
Appeals & Denials Management Specialist (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJanuary 12, 2017
Beware of this place mangement suck training is terrible and rush. You get ping for asking questions they want You To perform but don't give you resources to succeed at your job Physican Advisory Service is the worst department to work for. Don't bother with this company I'm looking everyday for other employment
Pros
free lunch often
Cons
no maternity leave, Benfits suck they cut annual bonus
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Pace environment
Medical Cash Posting Specialist (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILApril 6, 2016
A typical day would be fast pace and busy. I learned about Medical Revenue Cycle and front and back end operations. The management was not hands on and lack direction and example. The hardest part of the job was finding your gap in training and keeping up with unrealistic expectations in productivity due to uncontrollable barriers. The most enjoyable parts of this job were co-workers, peers, flexibility for an attainable job work/life balance.
Pros
Flexibility and job work/life balance
Cons
Managerial Style
Was this review helpful?Yes10No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of changes.
Clerical Support (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILNovember 19, 2016
Good starter job. Many changes over the years with corporate, constantly changing management, layoffs, jobs going offshore, merging with other healthcare companies.
Pros
Good online courses.
Cons
Constant changes in leadership.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would Not Recommend
Patient Financial Services Representative (Current Employee) –  Southfield, MIJuly 2, 2016
Have worked for Accretive for 3 years doing billing, so far have been through 3 different CEO's and many other upper management changes. People come and go left and right. Most of our work is in India. The health insurance is expensive. The best part of the job is we get 6 sick days up front in the beginning of the year. The worst part is dealing with the India team and trying to clean up the messes.
Pros
Sick days
Cons
Outsourced business, inconsistent management
Was this review helpful?Yes18NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoy what i do and co workers
Healthcare Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Kalamazoo, MIAugust 23, 2016
I would not recommend there is no organization and they show favoritism and age discrimination after joining with Borgess Hospital. Too many constant changes across the board they continue changing department managers who are only there for 1 year. Every new department manager comes in changing procedures.
Pros
Getting experience
Cons
We have to pay for parking out of pocket downtown and there is no organization at all.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Accretive Health. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 188 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Compensation/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
2.7
Management
2.7
Culture
2.9