ACE Cash Express Employee Reviews in United States

Found 596 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace to work in.
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Lynwood, CAJuly 5, 2016
Verified vault on a daily basis, cash checks, verify the checks with the district manager and the bank. Greeted and thanked every customer that arrived at the door, answer phone calls professionally, offered payday loans to customers.I learned to multi-task and learned to be cordial with everyone at the workplace. The hardest part of the job was having long lines. The most enjoyable part of the job was making the customers your friends.
Pros
employee discounts on checks
Cons
healthcare
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun working enviroment.
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LAJuly 14, 2016
My typical day at work is very productive and upbeat. I am friendly and very helpful to the customers. Our management is very understanding and willing to help with any problems that may occur in the center. The hardest part of my job would have to be the very long hours that we work a day. I most enjoy the customer that we have coming into the center because even though we may have a few rude ones we really have alot of nice and respectable customers.
Pros
safe environment
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not recommended becuase this company does not let you take your own vacation which in turn causes you to loose it.
Customer sales specialist (Former Employee) –  McAllen, TXJuly 22, 2016
Good overall company to work for, but at the time I was there the management was not that great.* Our district manager was terminated for many wrongdoings at this company and there were many other managers that were part of this corruption but never had any consequences. I think I left at a good time.
Pros
Got paid two days prior to payday due to netspend card.
Cons
No lunch breaks, had to work alone with no one to relieve us, the vacations were lost due to "no people to replace us"
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clientele diversity needs.
Center Manager (Former Employee) –  El Paso, TXJune 10, 2016
I enjoyed working for ACE Cash Express, because I was able to set sale goals everyday by visualizing productive numbers, motivate team by being a role model, and knowing the in and outs of every product that the company has to offer to the clients. Furthermore, I would analyze each client with the purpose to identify their financial needs to customize and offer the suitable products.
Pros
Opportunities to be productive, because numbers reflect production.
Cons
Not have the opportunity for advancement and better myself by going to school.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was new to the job force, this job gave me a push. I learned alot along the way
Associate (Former Employee) –  El Paso, TXJune 30, 2016
I would arrive at 7:00am, open the store and prepare all of our money orders and cashiers checks, get money ready and made sure all the lottery tickets were stocked.
How to deal with customers, I was new to the job force
Management was good.
My co-workers were always helpful
The pay was really low
The most enjoyable part of my job was the customer experience
Pros
Location
Cons
Pay was yery low
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a fast pace working inviroment
Center Manager (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLJune 3, 2016
Working at Ac Cash Express I learned a lot of things related to costumer service. A typical day at work was coming in opening the center, counting safe and providing change for registers, prepare deposits for banks. We provided bill payments, check cashing, pay day loans, wire transfers and other services so it was always very busy. The hardest part of the job was being there from 7:30 in the am until 7:30 pm by your self, except Fridays. The most enjoyable part of the job was seeing my regular costumers and helping them with their financial needs.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ace Caash Express
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXMay 28, 2016
When I am getting to work, the first thing that I did was have a team meeting to assign work for the day and hear any grievances from the night I need to check the deposits. Log in and check my emails for district manager's instructions. i will open the store and greet my customers and start the day to assist. Start schedules for the next two weeks and check hours for payroll.
Pros
awards for top sells
Cons
health care
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Overload
Loan Manager (Former Employee) –  Soddy-Daisy, TNApril 27, 2016
Working for Cash Express was extremely exhausting, there were no benefits and the hourly pay was very low for the effort and hours put in each day. A typical work day was 8 hours but there were most days I would put in 10 hours or more five days a week. On specific days you had to meet a quota and if it was not met you had to stay until the Supervisor was ready for you to leave. There was also assignments called "field calling" which means you had to go out to customers houses to try and collect the money they owe you, it was extremely dangerous and most days you were alone.
Pros
bonuses
Cons
dangerous field calls
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sad
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Dallas-Fort Worth, TXApril 26, 2016
This company preys on people who are in financial trouble in low income areas. The interest rate for these loans are above the national average, sometimes in the 300% range. They continually keep the borrower in debt because they have to resign a loan when they cant pay the first one back.
I found that I didn't feel there was any integrity or ethics from the top management down and the only name of the game was get those loans,
The locations are not a safe place to work, they mostly hire women with children. In face one employee was shot and killed from a person waiting inside the store for it to open.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and productive work place
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Columbia, KYJune 7, 2016
Working for Cash Express was a wonderful opportunity. They are very family oriented. The sky is the limit with the company because what you can make with them is left up to the employee and there is room for advancement. Everyday at Cash Express was different but fun. They make it fun because they challenge you with different types of contest that you can also make extra money. Cash Express has an open door policy so if you ever have a problem then it will be handled even if you have to go to higher management. The management is great because they don't ask you to do anything that they wouldn't do. Working with the customers and building relationships with them was the best part of my job. I never found anything that was hard about Cash Express just challenging.
Pros
Benefits, great management, room to grow
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people over all
Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Corona, CAApril 8, 2016
Other associates are friendly and welcoming.Management is a bit unpredictable. It could be your day off and all of a sudden you have the DM or manager calling you telling you that they need you in a store thats an hour away in 20 minutes not taking traffic into consideration. Sometimes with you are working alone in a store there might not be someone able to cover you for your breaks and lunches so you have to make do and eat while on the job. I enjoyed working here for the most part. Had those few things been fixed I might have returned.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Worst Employer I ever had
Center Manager (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMay 18, 2016
Started off great. But management is constantly changing, you get use to one person and than they are gone. The work hrs are horrible. You are there all day sometimes by yourself, no lunch break, you can barely use the restroom in between customers with no help.
Pros
bonuses
Cons
work hours are bad, no sick time, no help, and upper management has no structure
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unhelpful and unfriendly staff
Manager Float (Former Employee) –  Wilkinsburg, PAJune 14, 2016
Extremely fast paced, sometimes worked entire shift alone and without a break. Staff unwilling to help with check verification codes. Hardest part of the job was working alone and not being able to get check verification codes from other stores. Most enjoyable was end of day.
Pros
none
Cons
No breaks when working alone.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
reasonable, fair minded employer
check collector (Former Employee) –  Irving, TXJune 13, 2016
they pay well...challenging position.good benefits and time off.
Ace tries to do the best for their employees. The industry is changing and they do their best to keep employees up to date with whats going on. I enjoyed my time there.
Pros
long time leader in their industry
Cons
industry is undergoing many changes
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boring unless busy and not a fun place to work
Service Associate/Teller (Current Employee) –  Galena Park, TXMarch 8, 2016
A typical day is coming in by yourself and working all day by yourself unless its a store that has multiple people that day. When you get inside of the store you can not leave under no circumstance unless your scheduled to, most of the times 10 hrs a day. Management doesn't care about workers all they care about is Ace and making sure Ace is first and important. The hardest part of the job is not being able to leave for 10 hrs and if its gets really busy there is no help. The most enjoyable thing of this job is interaction with the customers.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work, long hours, sometimes worth it, but fun people!
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Tulsa, OKMarch 17, 2016
You can get stuck working long hours 7:30am to 8:pm. Management is okay, no real big complaints. Co-workers are like all other co-workers its a hit and miss sometimes. The hardest part of the job is the mystery shops, which if you don't pass with a 90% or better can lose your job. The best part is the lax work environment.
Pros
Good people
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for a college job
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  TXMay 23, 2016
I've worked for Ace for almost a year now. They're willing to work on a flexible schedule, and offer decent compensation. The most difficult part of the job is keeping up with the work policies regarding transactions, as they tend to change often (once or twice a month).
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work if you enjoy dealing with customers face to face
Center Manager (Former Employee) –  McKinney, TXFebruary 28, 2016
Great place to work if you are customer service savvy. A typical day consists of 12 hours; where you can not leave the location, even for lunch. There was no job flexibility. Company provided great incentives and vacation time off.
Pros
Eligible for one week of vacation after 6 months full time employment
Cons
Can't leave the store during business hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Professional
Teller (Former Employee) –  Oakland, CAApril 3, 2016
At ACE their were lots of checks being cashed, Loan applications being processed, and Bills getting paid. We also have Money Gram and Loan Mart services. There were 3 different shifts so morning people always worked alone. I was opening one store closing another one.m
Pros
Flexible Hours
Cons
Short brakes, and not able to grow.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved ace!!!
CSR (Former Employee) –  Montgomery, ALApril 16, 2016
My work day was always filled with challenges and great customers. There was never a dull moment and management set realistic goals and we were granted PTO, as well as vacation hours, sick days and personal days upon being hired. The pay was great and the incentives were awesome!!!
Pros
Incentives, room to advance, pay
Cons
Long work hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 604 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.1
Compensation/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
2.9
Management
3.1
Culture
3.1