ACE Cash Express Employee Reviews

Found 515 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Say they value customers but not really the case. No breaks. Long hours. Work alone.
Store Associate (Former Employee) –  CAJuly 10, 2014
I learned some tricks on balancing register/ safe that I wasn't really familiar with. Also how to audit loan documents and process wire transfers, money orders, and check cashing procedure (how to identify bad checks, fake money, fraud activity, etc).

Management was terrible. DM was hardly ever present. It's their job to check in on the stores in their district. only received emails and maybe a random visit every few months. Co workers were nice...when I got to see them which was only midday when our shifts crossed besides that I was alone.

I did enjoy the little downtime I had. Stores were in lower income communities and being bilingual was beneficial because you work with a lot of Spanish speakers. I enjoyed seeing "regulars" come in and helping them and also speaking Spanish to them, I felt a lot more comfortable with my Spanish as I was speaking it so often.

However, I did not like the values of the company and how they ran things. Pushing employees to sell products without properly being trained on what exactly they are (ex: auto loans, or gift card buybacks). Why offer something if you can't have all the employees on the same page about it? You can't just expect employees to troubleshoot an issue when the issue arrives. We would have to call the DM or another store to help us if we didn't know how to do something and they would walk us through it over the phone (this happened often).

I also did not like that stores were not allowed to have any seating for customers because of "liability" aka the company being cheap in spending their money on serving guests.

The hardest
  more... part of this job was when it got super busy, after 5pm, Fridays, and weekends, and the 1st of the month, there would be so many customers. Its hard especially if you're the only person working (opening/closing). Sometimes one transaction can take forever, or the computer freezes, or whatever and with only one person in the store and one register it can get hectic.

I also hated the backlash we received that we did not accept account number info to process a loan. We only accepted a blank pre-printed check which was a real inconvenience for guests, especially when many other pay day loan centers accept account info now instead of checks. What a great way to encourage customers to get a loan somewhere else.
  less
Pros
lots of down time to do what you wanted inbetween callbacks and assisting customers.
Cons
work alone, long hours, no breaks, no proper training&development
Was this review helpful?Yes9No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible place to work unless you are someone who also takes out payday loans.
Center Manager (Former Employee) –  Tacoma, WANovember 3, 2014
From the start it's bad. They don't train the trainers. Their idea of training is to stick you with whomever is doing best in sales, because really that's all they care about. So even if that person has the worst customer service, doesn't follow guidelines or laws, talks badly about all the other employees or is a terrible person in general, it doesn't matter because that is who will be training you.
The upper management is sleazy and two faced. Always watching their own back and having no qualms with throwing lower employees under the bus. This includes Human Resources. Trust No One!
They say they don't have high turnover but we were ALWAYS short handed and ALWAYS hiring. So they're also liars.
There is no set breaks. You are just suppose to use the bathroom and eat in between customers. Which, for some locations isn't a problem. But if you are good at your job they will put you in a super busy location where you literally don't get 5 minutes to yourself. Some shifts are 12+ hours long so it's very easy to get burned out quickly.
There are NO cameras in any of the locations. There ARE attempted robberies. Does that make any sense???
Some of the customers are quite frankly, the lowest forms of life on earth. Some are great, some are normal people, but those won't be the ones you remember.
Most of the co-workers are ok but you never see them. I worked with a 'training' manager on one of my first days and she stole $100 from my register. Of course there are NO cameras, so I couldn't prove anything and had to take the shortage on my record.
If you are a decent person you will not
  more... last long at this job.
On the plus side if you've only lived in nice areas and have only frequented respectable places this job is a good life lesson.It will open your eyes to the real world around you that you though only existed on tv. It will make you guarded, if not jaded, because someone is always ready to screw you over and sadly, I don't just mean the customers trying to scam a few bucks.
But hey, If you are desperate for a job, they will hire just about anyone.
  less
Pros
if you like to work alone you get a lot of that.
Cons
the management, the customers, the raises (if you get one) the training....
Was this review helpful?Yes17No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
$3k bonus checks were the norm !!!
CM /RA MANAGER & trainer (Former Employee) –  Midwest OhioJanuary 4, 2014
The opportunity to make more than you meager hourly wage was there. Loved my customers. Hated the hours. Stayed w/Ace for almost 7yrs. Saw and trained A forever revolving door of cocky DM's that never got the swing of things. How is it we were qualified to train our bosses but never considered for the position. Don't wanna make it a racial issue. But how many black female DMs were there. I had A $9k RA limit my boss remained @ $2500. Which means we were reviewing his work due to the RVP keeping him in training wheels. I WENT THRU 9 DMs. Loved increasing revenue, because @the end of the quarter was bonus time. No lunch break. No room for advancement. 401k was good. Plus incentives for debit card sales. Learned how to trouble shoot most PC & laser printer issues on my own. How to network and become resourceful as your superiors only interests are getting a "body" into the center to work it. Heat, safety, working equipment, leaking ceiling, flood from the rain, unsafe neighborhood,thugs in parking lot possibly plotting, a ring of con artist doing bogus loans changing their social at every center, if your DM could grasp the situation and understand what was wrong very seldomly did they know how to address it.
Pros
bonuses (no longer implemented). i learned a lot
Cons
safety, no lunch breaks, when i first started they paid less than your hrly rate for overtime.(can you say illegal)
Was this review helpful?Yes22No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working for Ace Cash Express
Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Cottonwood, AZFebruary 4, 2015
A typical day at work was I would show up to work at 7:30am to open the store at 8:00am. In this thirty minutes I would verify cash in register and cash in safe. I would print daily reports, loan call reports and daily goals. As well as make sure store was clean and ready to take care of customers. After opening throughout the day I would make loan reminder calls, in between taking care of customer needs, such as check cashing bill payments and loan qualifying. For every transaction I would try to up sell product such as Ace elite debit cards as well as remind customers of our other services available. The hardest part of the job was working 11 hour days by myself. there was always only one employee working. It was difficult only because I am a single mom living in a town i knew nobody to help pick my child up from daycare, so getting out to pick her up was difficult. Although we worked alone we did communicate with each other from center to center, i loved my co-workers. I really enjoyed my customers and got to know many of them on a first name basis. My training manager was fantastic. the only management problem was the district manager wanted things ran his way, not always following company policies and procedures, which in return made times a little difficult when you have DM telling you to do things one way and corporate calling and telling you to do things another. All in all I will miss this job.
Pros
bonuses on up selling product
Cons
no breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes5No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at ACE
Center Manager (Current Employee) –  Frisco, TXApril 25, 2013
A typical day at work is opening up the store at 8:30 am.
Logging into two POS systems and printing out various emails.
Print out the advance inventory so that I can make sure all loans are accounted for.
I get on a conference call with the DM and other employees almost every morning while unlocking the safe and counting all money in the store (register and safe).
While working I answer phone calls, and complete all transactions by myself without supervision.
I've learned how to cash checks, make money orders, process bill payments, and send wire transfers while working here. I've also learned how to input lots of information into the POS quickly and process loans (payday and title). The management is very good hear at supporting the employees and making sure they are aware of policies and are continually doing their job. I am not surrounded by co-workers but from speaking to them over the phone or doing a shift change here and there, I get along with everyone just fine.
The hardest part of working this job is working for LITTLE pay and working LONG hour days. Working alone is probably the most enjoyable part of the job and building relationships with regular customers.
Pros
lots of down time in case you're in school or like to read.
Cons
not being able to have a set lunch time, sitting for hours sometimes waiting on customers to come through, working ten-twelve hour shifts alone, having to rely on people coming back to pay on their loans in order to get my bonus.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
decent place to work. but not if you want a life outside of work.
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLMay 5, 2014
Ace has its pros and cons. I like working with the customers and being able to help when they need it. But it is easy for customers to take advantage of ace and when they do, your performance suffers. Sometimes you have to bend the truth to the customers make your numbers.

They train you for three weeks and then ease you into working. Used to be solo shifts, but now there are At least two in the store. Cash handling, check cashing, payday loans easy enough.

Security is okay. Nothing happens because of the bullet proof glass and keypad locking doors, people don't mess with you. But there are more security features inside if things got too real.

The hours are long and for some you travel from store to store. Could be a plus or negative on how you look at it. Incentives are okay but they quota they want you to make require you to strong arm customers into things they don't really want.

While senority plays a role, getting days off can be difficult. I was/am called in frequently on my off days or schedule revised to fit company needs. Good thing I don't have kids or husband. Might create issues. Raises are performance based. But its pennies on the dollar sometimes.

Overall It okay, just need to have the lifestyle for it.
Pros
incentives, meeting new and regular good customers daily
Cons
sometimes work alone on busy days, no offical breaks, long hours, pay isnt great.
Was this review helpful?Yes10No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible company that teaches many financial services
Part-time Service Associate/Center Manager (Current Employee) –  Norcross, GAMarch 31, 2012
This is a good company to work for if you are getting your foot in the door of the financial services industry. There is not much training as the first two weeks you are only taught enough to open a store by yourself. Everything else must be learned by experience. The up side to this is you are trusted with great responsibility. The downside is, this frustrates customers having to deal with untrained staff. The management style of this district isn't the most supportive. Every week there is an email threatening to fire someone, but most of the staff dismisses the threats and continues to do their job to the best of their ability. There is a sense of security if you do your job, but if you are not trained it is easy to make a mistake that could get you terminated. At some stores there is plenty of downtime in which employees may read a book, watch tv, talk on the phone, etc and it does not interfere with work. There is no room for promotion unless you go to corporate, but ACE is a good company to get your feet wet in.
Pros
freedom to entertain self during downtime, company is stable and growing, other managers are helpful
Cons
no lunch, 10-12 hour shifts worked mostly alone, lack of security when opening or closing store, some districts have a negative management style, minimal training
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
STAY AWAY
District Manager (Current Employee) –  Midwest RegionNovember 4, 2013
This company is an absolute joke---There is absolutely no work/life balance. once you take a DM role expect 100-400 Phone calls a day because they do not empower their employees. They tell you when your hired that in an emergency you may have to work stores, what they don't tell you is an emergency consists of no Overtime for employees. so if someone calls off and you can't cover the shift without OT its you working the window. They also have little to no advancement opportunities unless you are boozing it up with or sleeping with the right people. Trust me talk to several DM's before accepting this position, ask the tough questions like how many hours they work, are the goals attainable, how many calls they receive, and how hard it is to hire...Background checks include harsh credit check and they are paying 10-12 and hour for store managers, hard to find top talent at that rate and with great credit.

Good Luck to you if you take this position.

You will be out every time there is a storm, 3, 4 in the morning sitting with their money because the power went out.
Pros
there arent many--pay if you bargain right is 65-75k
Cons
phone, unrealistic deadlines, taking every minute of your life. you have to pay for everything yourself then expense, flights, hotels, repairs etc. they do not pay back interest.
Was this review helpful?Yes17No11
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst job I ever had
Customer Service Manager (Former Employee) –  Chattanooga, TNAugust 25, 2014
I didn't have a problem with working alone or the long hours. Longer hours gave me an extra day off. There is no lunch break, you eat when you can, but you know all this when you are hired. The problem is that the employees are held responsible for things beyond their control.The people who have given Ace a good review probably worked at stores in states that don't offer payday loans. Some states only offer check cashing, some stores only process bill pay or buy gold or sell insurance. The problem is with payday and title loans and the way we were treated in general by the district manager and regional vice president. Everything is about the numbers, who is paying back compared to how many loans have been processed. The employees don't make the credit decisions.You are blamed when customers don't pay, even though you are not allowed to turn them down, you are blamed when they change or don't answer their phones when you are making collection calls, you are dogged if you don't sell enough debit cards, you are constantly threatened with being fired or losing your hours. The stress is unbearable unless you are someone who just doesn't care and can just go get another job easily. The pay is ok, bonuses are a joke, upper management horrible.
Pros
a paycheck
Cons
stress
Was this review helpful?Yes25No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Complacent and easy
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  South CarolinaJanuary 17, 2016
The job is actually the easiest I have ever had. After 6 months I became a Store Manager so easy Advancement but that's it from there. There is no advancement at the store level. Pay is low and you are not guaranteed a pay raise every year. Customers can be very difficult to work with but its whatever you make of the situation. You cannot leave until your shift is complete so whatever you need to bring for you let entire work day you better bring it. The teller is very safe I never feared working alone all day. Management is not 100% but it's a work in progress. You do have to take breaks during your down time but during your hiring paperwork you sign a consent form for this so don't complain later about not being able to take a break. Hard to balance regular life and work if you have a family. Every job just isn't for everyone. You do have to sacrifice your time. The corporate doesn't give back to their employee well not in this area. Off Sunday's, Thanksgiving, Christmas and New Years Day with pay is the only thank you from corporate that they give their employees. Pay should increase because of the high risk factors. Many employees become complacent because the job is to easy to quit. It gets boring working 10-11 hour shift alone 3-4 days a week. Vacation and benefits are great no complaints there. Very time consuming for little pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fast paced!
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CASeptember 28, 2013
A typical day at work would be opening alone, verifying the money in both safe and register. Normally if is it a busy center you will have 3 registers open if not for sure count on you and one other person. However, there were days where I worked alone and it was still very busy. It is a check cashing, loan, bill payment facility among other things so always busy during the beginning, end and mid month. Definitely busy on the weekends. Training for me was excellent the manager that trained me was very patient and explained well. Keep in mind however that you learn as you go on this job as well. I learned something new everyday. Can be stressful with meeting store goals however it is rewarding and some customers are pleasant. Hardest part was working overtime without advance notice as people call off always short staffed as people quit due to the stress. I decided to go back to school so i left the job with notice of course. I would recommend people to work here only if they have very strong communication skills and mathematical skills and of course patience because I cannot say it enough the job comes with stress. However, working as a center manager or store associate there is great work/life balance in my opinion.
Pros
customers, hours
Cons
short breaks, pay
Was this review helpful?Yes9No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ace Cash Express
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Aurora, COSeptember 29, 2015
When I first came to work for Ace it literally was my dream job, I loved my responsibilities and the customers. I was able to put my touch on the store given to me and to grow with the company but as the years gone by things got worse, I grew our net revenue amazing over expectations and wanted to grow more, I was able to get a 3rd system installed and the store hours open extended but was never given a staff to help, I manage the 2nd busiest store in Aurora and I do it by myself and have been for years. That isn't meant to be a complaint, I just feel the company doesn't want to set me up for success when I know we can only get better. They also changed how you earned bonuses and don't offer what was in the beginning. I would like to stay with them, I've put my soul into my store but things aren't changing and I'm burned out and tired of repeating myself and needs every time my management changes and nothing gets addressed or dealt with
Pros
health insurance, financial stability, experience in the financial world
Cons
no breaks, no communication, 13hr days, no consistency, fulltime is considered 32hrs or less, incomplete training
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Location is key
Center manager in training (Former Employee) –  Houston, txJanuary 6, 2013
Depending on where you work this can be a very laid back self paced job or the job from hell! I worked in the 4th largest city in a very busy area so work was mostly stress. You work 12hr days alone in a cell basically. When things go wrong they pile up on you and the only help you ever have is a phone call. My district manager was close friends with a center manager that was located a good 40 minutes away so she stayed out in the slower paced area more than she came to our stores and was not pleased if she had to leave her friend to come to our aide. dealing with rude and threatening customers is a hassle but must customers were only about business and very polite. Like I said depending on location safety could be a serious issue. My district was prone to break ins and even had a person killed after a robbery. What did they do? Install fake cameras that DON'T work. It's sad and ridiculous. Wish I would have worked at a better location.
Pros
wages, lots of down time when slow, incentives
Cons
no coworkers present to help, no breaks if busy, no safety/ security
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ace CAsh Express adds intense pressure on the employee Forgetting you cannot force customers to use theire services and satisfy all clients at 100 %
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMay 18, 2012
While at Ace Cash Express the hardest part of the job was the fact that the company has only one worker to work to registers and use both at the same time to multitask with the customers as well as working at different locations each day or week therefor you don't work in a stable set location. Another problem with that was the time consumption it takes to process loans and make sure the clients initial and sign correctly otherwise we would fail the audit. Third of all would be the fact that their is no part time its a full time job and its hard to balance out ; In my case i resigned as it could not balance out with my college courses.
Over all the most enjoyable part of the day was when i was not overfilled with multiple customers either trying to pay off or take out loans as like i said before theirs only one employee for two registers
Yet in this work atmosphere i learned to handle high pressure efficiently and apply it towards completing my task and improve the centers i worked at.
Pros
competetive pay, health & life insurance, spouse benefits
Cons
no stable work location, no part time, one employee for two windows and all customers.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a very reputable company
Customer Service Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  WashingtonNovember 5, 2015
A typical day was 12 hours on your feet. Answering phones, break in between customers. Put up with a lot of rude customers, and standing behind a bullet proof window by yourself for 12 hours a day. I learned to become very strong with rude people in every day life. I learned about payday loans, check cashing, wires and more. Management was fun in the beginning, then the true colors shined thru. Co-workers were ok as we didn't see them in person more so on the phone if need be. Hardest part of job was not having a break that you could take on a scheduled time. You only took breaks when you could. The most enjoyable was when customers were appreciative, and cooperative. Once they seen we were there to help and not be against them the day went by nicer. The company closed doors in the state of Washington, on Aug 8, 2015. I to this day have unsatisfactory business with them for that of a DM It was a slap in my face the low pay, and broken promises.
Pros
Compensated for selling store products.
Cons
No breaks. Over worked, underpaid, working by self 12 hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours, horrible management, no family life
Center Manager (Current Employee) –  Arlington, TXApril 15, 2014
I have been working for ACE Cash Express for 8 months as a Center Manager! I love the customer service aspect of this job but the upper management is horrible. In December 2013 the DFW area had a terrible ice storm...we were basically told no call in's, either show up or be terminated! Working in the retail locations you have no time for lunch because you can't leave until your shift ends at the end of the night and they hardly do split shifts! 10 & 12 hour days, district manager never answers the phone or his excuse is you're interrupting dinner with his family! There is room to advance only after you've spent an eternity with the company. Store level employees must dress "business casual" to stand behind a counter all day when corporate employees get to wear blue jeans every Friday! In the 8 months Ive been with ACE weve had several corporate employees quit...one being a regional vice president!!!!
Pros
meeting new people
Cons
long hours, no flexibility, horrible management, no advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes9No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I would never recommend someone to work here!
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Frisco, TXJune 9, 2014
As a past store manager this job was disappointing in pay, in hours worked, in how the upper management treated you and the other employees...and the list goes on. They overworked you, slapped you on the back when they were pleased with how much money you brought in each day, then slapped you in the face when you didn't meet their standards. My manager threatened our jobs and complained about how he could have us replaced and didn't need us. Then the next day, it was all smiles and you all are doing a wonderful job. Hard time trying to balance the good cop, bad cop role. Anyways this job isn't worth the headache it will bring. You do multi-tasking and sometimes the job of the DM because he/she has no time to. There is too many negatives about this company and I can go on and on. They don't appreciate their employees or anyone who works for them for that matter. The ONLY enjoyable part of the job was the report you build with your customers as a store manager. They grow to know you and vice versa, and they trust and respect you even after you don't work there anymore.
Pros
building report with the customers
Cons
horrible management, horrible hours, horrible pay
Was this review helpful?Yes10No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great start into finance
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Metairie,LAFebruary 25, 2014
A typical work day would consist of constantly monitoring my surroundings and cash on hand. Making sure that all quotas are met for the month. Filing, making loan calls at least three times a day, auditing loans, processing checks, verifying checks, approving loans and marketing. I've learned that this company has been in existence for a long time and not too many people know about the company and what they have to offer. We really have a list of great things to offer besides loans. I've also learned how to adjust with last minute changes such as less hours and new hires. The management is handled differently than how I would manage, but my manager is fair and fun. I love working with my co-workers, not only do we get everything done, but we have fun and enjoy each others work relationship. One of the hardest part of this job is losing hours. The company went from 40 hours a week for all associates to 23 hours a week for non-management associates.
Pros
enjoyable co-workers
Cons
hours, pay, not being able to leave the building for lunch, no advancement, no raise
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educational in learning about processing loans
Center Manager (Current Employee) –  Newark, DEFebruary 13, 2014
Our management team is always available to help us with difficult situations and problems.
They provide us with annual training which allows us time to review what we have learned and also gain new education on up and coming items and information.
The co-workers are also team centric and are there to also help with questions or concerns.
A very friendly and fun place to work.
You gain a lot of experience and you can make this a great career.
You will not be left standing alone in difficult situations.
I love working here because it gives me a since of responsibility and trust from the company knowing that I can work alone and get the job done without anybody standing behind me watching my every move.
I admire and enjoy all the customers that come into the office because they are the people we serve to give great customer service. They leave our company with a sense of I gained a new friend and a smile on there face.
Pros
excellent benefits, great incentives and bonuses
Cons
if you are not use to working a 10 hour shift without leaving the store for a break, will be a issue for you
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wow do they need help...
back end collector (Current Employee) –  Irving, TXApril 5, 2012
absolutely the worse place to work. Seriously.
Management changes things on a daily basis, impossible to perform your job. Day consists of sitting at your desk, head held low, talking on phone all day to random people who took out payday loans and have no intention- or ability- to repay. Co-workers all stuck in same situation, all looking to get out before they get fired- which can be for the most absurd reason- which doesnt violate ANY law, but violates Ace's attempt to keep as customers people who steal money from them. Also, they change your schedule weekly it seems. You never know what is expected of you or required, and its a system set you to make you fail.

The most enjoyable part was the 2nd and 4th friday when the company tries to play nice and gibves you free pizza and cake. woooopie. would rather have job security and decent managers.
Cons
see below
Was this review helpful?Yes6No

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 519 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture