Find companies:
ACE CASH EXPRESS
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
313 reviews

ACE CASH EXPRESS Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Productive
Assistant Manager/Clerk (Current Employee), Harrodsburg, KYAugust 23, 2014
Pros: free snacks and drinks, monthly bonus
Cons: no retirement, poor health care, dont pay for the mileage we do
My daily routine is I come into work clock in, print off my reports, count the money, get out the checks and files that are due that day. I offer drinks and snacks to customers throughout the day. I count the money at least 5 times during the day to make sure all the money is there. At the end of the day I count the money one last time, check all files – more... and put them away, put all checks in order and put them away, print off my end of the day reports, stock up the drinks and snacks, sweep and take out the trash, close and clock out.

My manager and I get along great we work as a team, if something needs to be done we don hesitate to get the job done. We push each other to do better each day.

The hardest part of my job is seeing a customer who we've known for a while and has done business with for years pass away. The most enjoyable part of the job is seeing my elderly customers come in each month and getting to see and talk to them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great office, with a wondeful view!!
Executive Assistant (Current Employee), Woodland Hills, CAAugust 22, 2014
Pros: monday thru friday only!
Cons: health care is really expensive!!!
The office has wonderful business casual environment! My co-workers are some of the best people I know.=)
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun
Customer service, Process (Former Employee), Arlington, TXAugust 20, 2014
Pros: free lunch
Cons: short breaks
I really liked working here and meeting new people everyday. It was a nice to sit down and work at my own desk. The upper management was very nice. The hardest part of the day was the morning because of the crowd people that would come in but willing to wait beacause of the line being so long. The best part of the day is clocking out to go home,,,
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work place
Manager (Former Employee), New Carrollton, MDAugust 18, 2014
Pros: co worker team
Cons: long hours
You come in work log-in to your computer system, check emails,count cash, money orders. File new applications into the system and paperwork . You learn how to multi-task . I work alone but if you need any assistance my coworkers was always there. the best part was seeing the store inventory grow.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned something new every day.
Customer Service (Former Employee), Memphis, TNAugust 18, 2014
Pros: customer smile make the day
Cons: no sit down luncher.
Learn something new either from the Customer or employer. Team work make the job enjoyable. Regular Customer remember
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Center Manager (Current Employee), Montclair, CAAugust 13, 2014
Pros: benefits, incentives, awards
Cons: hours, pay
My day at ACE Cash Express consists of providing great customer service to each individual that comes into the store. It is always a must to have customers happy in order to keep them coming back and increase our business. I've been working for almost 7 years and during that time I have learned verbal and management skills for example communicating – more... with customers and managing the service associates in my team. The hardest part of my job that I have encountered has been handling a situation with an unhappy customer. The only way to solve the problem is to find the cause and the solution to it. Furthermore, I love my job and the customers that make my day at work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service
Manager (Former Employee), PhoenixAugust 13, 2014
Pros: made my own schedule
Cons: no lunches or breaks
I was a manager at Ace Cash Express so my day varied from one thing to another, if it was making the weekly schedule to customer service. I learned to deal with many types of customers and how to work with their needs. I managed an employee so I know the responsibility of managing an office. The hardest part about this job was not being able to help – more... customers that did not bring in all current information, but I always tried to find a way around it. The best part was working with great hard working employees. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for.
Center Manager (Former Employee), Topeka KS 66611August 12, 2014
Ace was a great company, the people had very good attitudes. The district managers were amazing and wanted to help give you all the tools you needed to succeed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Check cashing company with extra incentives for customer to come in.
Center Manager (Current Employee), Wylie, TXAugust 5, 2014
Pros: possible sales incentive money per month.
Cons: no breaks, and no real room for growth with company.
As a center manager, i am responsible for all the happenings at my store, which include loan handling, check cashing, auto insurance processing, dealing with bill pay companies and sales.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its ok
Associate (Current Employee), 32707August 3, 2014
its ok. it teachs you a lot. you learn to handle personal accounts, collect money owed, you learn how to do proper verifications and etc...
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work at.
Floating Manager (Former Employee), Harlingen, TXJuly 28, 2014
Pros: working weekends
Cons: worked alone and none to bother me
Always busy and the custmers were very nice,
I always had something to do at work and even if I didnt I kept myself busy.
My boss was very nice and I never had a problem.
I enjoyed cashing checks and verifying them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst IT Management to work for
Sr. Software Engineer (Former Employee), Irving, TXJuly 27, 2014
Too much politics, favoritism, micromanagement and dishonesty in IT Top management. You can’t voice your opinion at all. It’s a dictatorship of three people CIO, VP and Director who are not good leaders at all since neither one of them know how to manage and build a team. If for some reason one of them doesn’t like you then they make working environment – more... very hostile for you. They start giving that employee a hard time on purpose by looking for faults in their work, start micro managing you, nit-picking at your work and create a work environment that is unbearable. I’m in IT for years and worked at many places but working at ACE was the worse experience of my career. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
an okay job
Center Manager (Former Employee), Arlington, TXJuly 24, 2014
long hours, not so good management. better pay than minimum wage, 12 hour shifts were not fun. job security isn't really there. stressful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ace Cash Express
Sales Assoicate III (Former Employee), Frisco, TXJuly 23, 2014
Running and screening loans. Example of some of our loans would be title loan applications, payday loan application and Installment loan application. Handling Bill pay, Insurance large amounts of cash and handling bank deposit, also running and activating ace cash express credit cards also known as an ATM.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work expirence
Center manager (Current Employee), Cleveland Heights, OHJuly 22, 2014
Pros: montlhy eccentives
Cons: no lunch breaks
A typical day at ace was extreme customer service, hands on and very fast paced. I learned a lot of laws with payday loans, in addition the management had a high turnover rate so I never had the chance to get settled with one. You never really work with coworkers unless the store was busy or depending on the day of the week you normally worked alone. – more... The hardest part of my job was working alone with very long lines and irate customers and the long 11 hour shifts without any lunch breaks. Finally, the most enjoyable part of my job is helping my customer with their financial needs when they are in need. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
So-so
Office Manager (Former Employee), Clarksville, TXJuly 16, 2014
Started out loving this job, but after several changes in management, it became less enjoyable. They are no longer open now.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
DO not trust this company
Center Manager (Former Employee), Washington, DCJuly 13, 2014
While an employee there, One morning I was opening up and was robbed at gunpoint. The robbers got away with the money, yet I was fired because they said I allowed the store to be robbed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Current Employee
Center Manager (Current Employee), Philadelphia, PAJuly 10, 2014
It is the worst place to work. I would say it would be better for people that don't have children. It is not family or at all. The safety it seems to not be on their list when it comes to employees. Bonus is not like it use to and hours are being cut so you can't maintain your home life. The pay is really is not what it is cracked up to be. Don't believe – more... the hype. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Say they value customers but not really the case. No breaks. Long hours. Work alone.
Store Associate (Former Employee), CAJuly 10, 2014
Pros: lots of down time to do what you wanted inbetween callbacks and assisting customers.
Cons: work alone, long hours, no breaks, no proper training&development
I learned some tricks on balancing register/ safe that I wasn't really familiar with. Also how to audit loan documents and process wire transfers, money orders, and check cashing procedure (how to identify bad checks, fake money, fraud activity, etc).

Management was terrible. DM was hardly ever present. It's their job to check in on the stores in their – more... district. only received emails and maybe a random visit every few months. Co workers were nice...when I got to see them which was only midday when our shifts crossed besides that I was alone.

I did enjoy the little downtime I had. Stores were in lower income communities and being bilingual was beneficial because you work with a lot of Spanish speakers. I enjoyed seeing "regulars" come in and helping them and also speaking Spanish to them, I felt a lot more comfortable with my Spanish as I was speaking it so often.

However, I did not like the values of the company and how they ran things. Pushing employees to sell products without properly being trained on what exactly they are (ex: auto loans, or gift card buybacks). Why offer something if you can't have all the employees on the same page about it? You can't just expect employees to troubleshoot an issue when the issue arrives. We would have to call the DM or another store to help us if we didn't know how to do something and they would walk us through it over the phone (this happened often).

I also did not like that stores were not allowed to have any seating for customers because of "liability" aka the company being cheap in spending their money on serving guests.

The hardest part of this job was when it got super busy, after 5pm, Fridays, and weekends, and the 1st of the month, there would be so many customers. Its hard especially if you're the only person working (opening/closing). Sometimes one transaction can take forever, or the computer freezes, or whatever and with only one person in the store and one register it can get hectic.

I also hated the backlash we received that we did not accept account number info to process a loan. We only accepted a blank pre-printed check which was a real inconvenience for guests, especially when many other pay day loan centers accept account info now instead of checks. What a great way to encourage customers to get a loan somewhere else. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace, competitive
Collections Representative (Former Employee), Irving, TXJuly 8, 2014
Pros: bonuses
Cons: job cuts
Working on dialer system, skip tracing using Accurint, contacting customer that are 60-90 past due.

I've learned to adapt to change.

The layoff and leaving a company after 7 years of hardworking and dedication.

The enjoyable part of the job was the bonus and being able to hit my monthly goals every month.

1 2 3 4 5

About ACE CASH EXPRESS

ACE Cash Express really has a bankless job. The company owns a chain of financial services outlets that target the underbanked – Read more

ACE CASH EXPRESS Photos