Find companies:
Acelero Learning
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
31 reviews

Acelero Learning Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Everything isn't what it seems....
Former Teacher (Former Employee), Camden, NJAugust 10, 2014
Pros: hmmm...
Cons: not enough support, unreasonable expectations, salary
When working for Acelero you must remember it is a for profit company which for me was always a conflict. I could never understand how a company profits from low income disadvantage families/children. They say they want to "close the achievement gap" but I never felt that was their purpose while I worked there. I felt like they did many things to look – more... good on paper or when it was time for a federal review. There was often a disconnect between the community they serve and the company particularly at the management level because they believe it a one size fits all without respect to the culture of the community. The amount of work they expect from you would be fine if the pay matched as well but it doesn't. It is true they pay more than your other early childhood program down the street but what Head Start program doesn't. The other issue is they have these high expectations but they didn't provide the necessary support. I think the company can provide you with experience for your resume, but it is not a company you can grow with. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
JOB WARNING- Beware Toxic Enviroment
Family Advocate (Current Employee), Camden,NJJuly 31, 2014
Pros: seeing cute kids
Cons: unreasonable request, poor pay, no raises, negative work environment, stressful, unorganized, poor orientation
At Acelero if you are not a part of the Administrative staff you are a disposable tissue. Lack of communication is scene throughout the work place. Everyone's plate is loaded with more work then what they can bare. People are stressed. Furthermore, the main attribute here is Acelero Learning getting paid, they need district funding to get paid therefore – more... as a family advocate you push more paper then actually helping families.This company does not care about children, they only care about the district funding so the big shots can make their pockets richer. The district has no idea what goes on with the money or they would pull their funding. Acelero is a revolving door you are easily replaced. Worker moral is low, this could be a great work environment. Stress level is high. There's a deceptive aspect of the job, no informs you that you'll be working for 2 separate entities, Acelero and the Board of Education of Camden, hence you'll have twice the workload but your only compensated for one. The building needs work, carpets are dingy. You share work areas. They place 4+ people to one office. Privacy with parents is hard because you share an office with other co-workers. Higher ups constantly delegating their responsibility to others. This could be a great place, but it needs much work. Closing the achievement gap is necessary, but treating your worker well is also necessary. The average pay if your not a teach or some sort of administrator is about $14/hr even with a bachelors degree. There is also no space for growth and no raises. Only annual appraisals that range from a one time bonus of $200-$400. This place has the potential of being a good work environment, but its not. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay Away
Teacher (Former Employee), UnlistedJuly 30, 2014
Pros: when you have days off and don't have to be there
Cons: everything else
I wish I knew to stay away before I applied. I should have taken the hint from the employees who complained non-stop my first day (and I can see why!)... This company only cares about 2 things - The money they want in their own pockets and how to look good on paper. I've been teaching for 10 years and when I worked here, I never felt more degraded or – more... miserable in my life. They absolutely could care less about their employees and they know how to put on a show for when people visit. They make everything look good from trainings to advancements but the only way you can advance is sucking up or well, you get it... Never would I ever recommend working for this company even for my worst enemy... It's h-ll working there - stay far away! (Oh, and if you do decide to work in Hades, don't become friends with your coworkers, they don't like that.) Check out some other reviews of them because the good ones are positions higher in the business... Yes business because they are for profit and care about nothing but the money in their own checks... – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Head Start Program
Director of Education (Current Employee), South Amboy, NJMay 13, 2014
Pros: pay (far better than most child care providers), benefits, dedication of staff
Acelero Learning's mission is to close the achievement gap. This is a serious goal and requires serious work and commitment. The expectations for staff members are extremely high because the expectations for children are extremely high. Supporting and nurturing children while also supporting families takes a large effort and a lot of time. Staff members – more... are expected to work extremely hard, but that hard work is awarded through career advancement and compensation opportunities. Support is abundant. Feedback is taken very seriously, and changes are made toward continual improvement. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
****WARNING---STAY AWAY!!!*******
Teacher (Former Employee), New Brunswick, NJMay 7, 2014
Pros: nothing!
Cons: work summers, no communication with management
This company does not care about children, they only care about the district funding so the big shots can make their pockets richer. The district has no idea what goes on with the money or they would pull their funding. The children have to do without supplies unless the teachers purchase it. Management stinks, treats everyone like a disposable tissues – more... and their communication skills lack. The lack of professionalism is beyond words, FYI the director will tell everyone your business. Acelero is known for their revolving door, always new employees are being hired, due to the fact that no one wants to stay. Everyone at the center is miserable. There is no respect for the employees, they are treated like garbage. The stress level is HIGH, because the work place environment is TOXIC! There is no motivation for their employees to want to stay. RESEARCH...I wish someone had warned me. The desire to be a teacher was stolen from me within the first 6 months. This place made me regret my career choice, that is how bad this place is. The only enjoyable part of this job is the children. I wish I could rate this work place a -100! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible commucation
Part Time Cook (Former Employee), Camden, NJMarch 31, 2014
job was ok but the commucation was horrible. they just throw u in and think your supposed to know everything.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GOOD
HEALTH COORDINATOR (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVMarch 17, 2014
Pros: good
FAST PACE, COWORKERS GREAT, THE MOST ENJOYABLE IS WORKING WITH CHILDREN
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable, and very educational
Center Director (Former Employee), Perth Amboy NJMarch 8, 2014
Manage staff, and children. Over See licensing credentials. Held 3 staff meetings a month for educational purposes, and an all staff meeting to update staff on center updates, or upcoming events. Checking emails, (company worked on email basis, that how communication was) Checked lesson plans, coached teaching teams monthly.
Loved being with the staff – more... and children. Staff was extremely friendly and welcoming to myself as their new center director. Had a teaching team that was unable to work with eachother. I coached them as a team to provide support as needed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people, with good hearts.
Substitute Teacher (Current Employee), NJFebruary 27, 2014
Pros: good health benefits, good work atmosphere, all about helping the kids achieve and kindergarden ready.
Cons: short breaks
The expectations are high, in a good way. Co-workers are friendly, and make you laugh. The kids are great, they will keep you on your toes, and give you lots of hugs and laughs. The hardest part is paperwork, it can be a lot, but for good reason.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company, great coworkers, great mission!
Family Advocate (Current Employee), New JerseyFebruary 10, 2014
Pros: hard working coworkers, great people, serving children and families
Cons: high standards of excellence (if that is a con)
Acelero Learning is a company that provides and cares for their employees and I am grateful to be working with all my very hard working co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
"WARNING STAY AWAY"
Teacher Assistant (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVJanuary 7, 2014
Cons: everything!
I wouldn't rate this company NOT even at a 1, It would be rated at NEGATIVE 100! This company will take you for granted, abuse you mentally and physically. Paperwork is endless and pointless all to make ALCC look good on paper! They set their own goals, not on the children's needs. They also put too many children with disabilities with teachers who – more... have NO experience. I can go on and on about all the BS this company does to their employees and the families they serve. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environment is ok
Education Administrative Assistant (Current Employee), Milwaukee, WIDecember 3, 2013
The company provides early childhood education to kids ages 3,4, and 5.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Head Start program like no other
Teacher (Current Employee), Monmouth County, NJOctober 24, 2013
Pros: 401k match, time off, feeling fulfilled
Cons: very demanding
After receiving a perfect federal monitoring review (zero deficiencies), it is apparent that this company has a very high standard of excellence. Everyone is very aware and committed to the mission of closing the Achievement Gap. There are more advanced tools to assess child and family outcomes then I have ever seen in a preschool program. The company – more... truly cares. The benefits are pretty standard, the time off is great, especially after years of service, and it is a fun atmosphere, full of people who care. It is a pleasure to be making a difference here. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Generous time off/mission and values driven
Teacher (Current Employee), Philadelphia, PAOctober 22, 2013
Pros: holiday breaks
Cons: stressful at times
- Dedicated to their mission
- Love the spring and summer breaks
- Co-workers are great (most staff)
- Very high expectations, sometimes unrealistic
- No two days are alike so definitely not a boring place to work!
- Learned a lot
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Acelero false hope
teacher (Former Employee), New JerseyOctober 11, 2013
Pros: the children
Cons: everything else
Acelero learning is not concerned for the their employees or the children in their care. They are only concerned about the image they put forth so they can get more funding. They do not pay their employees what they are worth. They pretend they care about you then hang you out to dry once they have used you all up. Acelero learning hires incompetent – more... people and wonder why they have such a high employee turn over rate. This is a horrible company to work for if you are looking for a family type environment or if you are looking for support with your career goals. Acelero will use you to complete a job at the lowest possible pay rate then replace you with the next one. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A day in the life of a teacher
Assistant Teacher (Current Employee), Philadelphia, PASeptember 20, 2013
Pros: rewarding work
Cons: short breaks
This is one of the best jobs I have had. I say this because I have learned so much, I feel like I finally have a name to go with all the skills that I know. I will be forever grateful for this new and wonderful knowledge. I would have to say the worst part about this job is also the best part of the job, which is seeing the children off as they go to – more... kindergarten. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very active work place
Early Head Start Teacher (Current Employee), Camden, NJSeptember 14, 2013
Cons: no breaks, lots of paper work, lots of observation on work proformance
Great and supportive co-worker
Lots of paper work required
Children are enjoyable
Learn to do baby sign language
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Head Start Program that is striving to Close the Achievement Gap!
Director, Quality Assurance (Current Employee), New York, NYMay 19, 2013
Pros: quality, teamwork, and well established
Cons: the federal sequestration resulted in a significant budget revision.
The leadership team members are very committed to the mission of the agency. There is a high level of dedication to the children and families that the program serves on a daily basis, which recently resulted in an excellent federal monitoring review.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place with loving caring teachers.
Center Based Teacher (Current Employee), Camden, NJMay 17, 2013
I have only been with the company for a little over a year. I have a wonderful experience. A typical day consist of working with small groups of young infants and toddlers.Making sure that all of the needs are meets, that includes their scoial and emotional needs as well.
Managenmet was okay but did not display good interpersonal skills.
For the most – more... part my co-wokers are great. The hardest part of the jpb for me is the commute. Of coures the most enjoyable part of the job is the children and families I servers everyday. They are the reason I come to work everyday. They are the joy of my life. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoy helping families in need.
Health Advocate (Current Employee), Perth Amboy, NJApril 22, 2013
Pros: is being off on the holidays and works around my son's school hours.
Cons: health insurance is expensive.
My job consists of screening children for hearing and vision, also we just started using the Pronto machine that test for hemoglobin levels without pricking the children's fingers.
We also refer families to places for healthcare, assisting families to find a medical and dental home for their family.

About Acelero Learning

The mission of Acelero Learning is to bring a relentless focus on positive child and family outcomes to close the achievement – Read more

Acelero Learning Photos