Achieva Credit Union Employee Reviews

Showing all 15 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun worker place
bank teller/ I.T. (Former Employee) –  Clearwater, FLJanuary 16, 2017
they offer many oppurtunities, and the work envirorment was awsome as well as the customers, and my co-workers i would go back and do it all over again
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Going down hill
Sales (Current Employee) –  St. Pete areaJune 17, 2016
It once upon a time was a good place to work, years ago, but no more. Every branch is understaffed. Managers do nothing but go to mystery meetings that produce nothing. People are expected to do the job of 2 or 3 and not appreciated for it. You always feel as though your job is in jeopardy for no reason.
It feels like a bunch of people having no idea what they are doing, they just bought another bank and the conversion is going horrible, I feel badly for those people.
I have no idea how this place was voted the best place to work in the Tampa area - it must be the HR department voting over and over again 24 hours a day. It is awful.
Pros
Not many - they throw money around a lot, but at the wrong things
Cons
Treating employees badly, too many hours, not enough down time; salary
Was this review helpful?Yes9No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work their employees to death
Branch employee (Current Employee) –  South of the bridgeMay 31, 2016
Working for a credit union seems great, however this one works the branches at a skeleton crew when "fully staffed". Every office is open on Saturdays, so working 2 or 3 Saturdays a month is common. Most offices don't have the luxury of Monday off to at least allow 2 days off in a row, though with children, weekends are priceless. Some offices don't even allow a day off during the week at all, so working 6 days a week is common too.
Upper management motto is that they want to hire employees who will do the work of 2. We are all only 1 person, they don't care if we don't have a life away from work and are overworked at work. To put it in perspective for them, how would they respond to us demanding to do the work of one and be paid for 2? Don't ask for what you wouldn't do if the tables were turned. The CEO claims to be religious, but treats his employees like slaves. We are also told to tell members things that put a real spin on the truth.
A typical day at work is very stressful, and the job changes at least weekly, so forget actually learning your job. The computer system is complicated and antiquated - time to get on board with some new technology! The only enjoyable part of the job is going home at the end of the day.
Annual bonus is nice, free computer after a year is too, but it's hard to hang in there long enough to get one. Health insurance choices are awful - terrible coverage and high premiums.
Annual 1% pay increase was eliminated this year, with a typical spin as to why. This was a cost of living allowance that was really nice, but typical of
  more... Achieva, something really good is now gone.
I wouldn't have expected a high turnover rate for a credit union, but this one has it, and it's obvious as to why.
  less
Pros
Annual bonus (for now), free computer after 1 year
Cons
Uncaring upper management, sales quotas, must put job before family, sub par health insurance.
Was this review helpful?Yes11No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not what one may expect.. Training and Core Processing System is 100% lacking...
Banking (Former Employee) –  FloridaMay 16, 2016
Leadership Team is amazing, however, the experience that I encountered was not what I expected for a company that has been voted one of the top employers to be a part of for four years in a row in the Tampa Bay Area. The position I was hired for was not what was described to me was not necessarily what I had expected. The CU's core operating system is completely antiquated and is about 20 years out of date. Again, one of the reasons that this was an unexpected experience with only about 2 months of being employed. I was brought on board with the expectation that the individual I reported to was knowledgeable about all of the functions and daily operations of the department, however, this individual knew very little if anything at all about the daily operations or the functions of the department at all. The individual was only focused on the other products that the department did not know about, nor how to address any questions that would arise from these products but they were expected to support any and every question regarding the product CU wide (over 400 associates and only 3 of the 8 associates in the department I worked in were able to provide the typical answers to the associates but not at all about the products the individual whom they reported to was interested in focusing on).
Was this review helpful?Yes8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Life
Teller (Former Employee) –  Saint Petersburg, FLOctober 21, 2015
In all of the companies that I have worked for management has been amazing. They want to see you succeed and they will give you all the tools necessary to do so. I learned so many things from each company and they have played a great part in me becoming as personable as I am today. I love to learn new things and I am a fast learner. I believe this is one of my strongest skills as an employee and as a person.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Member Service Advisor II (Current Employee) –  Largo, FLAugust 28, 2015
Excellent place to grow. Management is consistent, the people are like family and it is a very supportive organization - name one of Tampa Bays top places to work 4 years in a row.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work.
Member Service Advisor (Former Employee) –  Cape Coral, FLJune 19, 2015
I enjoyed working at Achieva. I learned a lot and obtained some valuable experience from working there. Management is helpful and friendly as well as the coworkers. The hardest part of the jib was trying to memorize all of the state and federal laws to abide by. I loved the whole aspect of being a banker at a credit union.
Pros
Nice environment, Friendly staff, Easy to learn
Was this review helpful?Yes12No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Productive Workplace
MSA III - Loan Officer (Former Employee) –  Saint Petersburg, FLAugust 17, 2014
The environment is a Great place to work. The members are wonderful. Your co-workers are a lot of fun and helpful. They provide in house training for advancement.
Pros
Atmosphere, Benefits, Co-workers
Was this review helpful?Yes10No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Achieva Credit Union
Member Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Dunedin, FLJuly 4, 2014
My excitement was hard to contain when I was offered the opportunity to work for a credit union once more, I was looking forward to what Achieva could offer me. I had never worked in a call center environment prior, they were willing to take a chance and I was eager to learn. A typical day at Achieva was mostly about assuring the membership that they were in good hands and we were there for them. It did impress me that we answered every call, our goal was to be human. My hiring manager was over the top enthusiastic about her work, I enjoyed her style of managing, she allowed us to be humans not just phone operator's and with that respect we always gave her reason to believe in us as a team.
The toughest part of this was the angry callers, people when they are not in front of your face are able to allow themselves the idea that they are not speaking to a caring knowledgeable human being, and it was often difficult not to feel completely punched in the stomach. Since I had always been in front of members prior to this job, this was definitely one of my deficits. It has made me more aware of how we treat each other and kind words will in fact get you further than anger and bullying.
The best part of this job, I walked away knowing I worked for a company who is growing and still finding it's self as a couture, their community involvement was always one of enjoyment and bring smiles to every event. I will miss every person who sat beside me everyday taking call after call and we smiled and hugged. The call center is very human and I really loved that.
Pros
I brought the best of me everyday.
Cons
I wasn't able to relay that enough.
Was this review helpful?Yes12No13Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Your members and fellow workers help
teller operation (Current Employee) –  FloridaJune 20, 2014
Over the course of my time with Achieva, things have begun to get more cumbersome. Achieva is a great company when it comes to giving back to the community especially in terms of helping local education. Different events are put on throughout the year and the members love it. Recently however, there has been "upgrades" to how our operations function which I don't find to be very helpful and are actually more time consuming, along with new rules to follow which may seem helpful from an upper management position but not from a front-line position. Along with this, our member base has continued to increase without additional staffing for our front lines which is the most important area of the credit union. Not only does this cause increased wait times for members but being short staffed means far more work if a co-worker needs to call out sick.
Pros
Friendly well lit environment, jeans days, bank holidays
Cons
can get extremely busy, no down time
Was this review helpful?Yes10No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Goal driven and production based with excellent benefits
Head Teller (Former Employee) –  Largo, FLFebruary 19, 2014
An exciting and energetic work environment with strong team fundamentals that leads to positive results.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Agressive and Inovative
Vice President Residential Lending (Current Employee) –  Largo, FLAugust 28, 2013
The team I have been able to put together is one of the best in the mortgage industry. Together we have been able to create a sales and service culture within the credit union promoting and closing mortgage loans. We are making a name in the real estate community by being leaders in product and service.
Pros
Ability to make decisions to improve process and product
Cons
Life balance non existent
Was this review helpful?Yes3No11Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
xxxxxx (Current Employee) –  Dunedin, FLJune 20, 2013
Achieva Credit Union is a great place to work. This company offers a lot of opportunities for growth within the organization. The employees at this company ROCK!
Pros
Great benefits and culture
Cons
Compensation
Was this review helpful?Yes5No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helping Members
Teller (Former Employee) –  Largo, FLJanuary 1, 2013
Helping members with accounts. Knowing products and being able to help members advance with there money. Co-workers were always awesome. All of us would always work together. Hardest part of the job was life in general. Members moving on. Most enjoyable part of the job is when and I still get it to this day. Meeting people everyday who I helped over the years. And they have never forgotten how I always was friendly and willing to help out.
Pros
bonuses and pay
Cons
no job security
Was this review helpful?Yes15No6Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Achieva Credit Union. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 15 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Compensation/Benefits
4.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.5
Culture
3.7