Achieve Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
steady workplace with job security
Residential aide (Current Employee) –  Binghamton, NYJune 4, 2017
compensation is low though the organization tries to fight for higher state wages. work is typically full time plus. on call staff can pick up a ton of hours and overtime seems unlimited for full timers. the residents are amazing individuals and make it all worth while.
Pros
people
Cons
wages
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
over worked and underpaid
Day Habilitation Specialist (Former Employee) –  Binghamton, NYMarch 21, 2017
Don't get me wrong, this job is very rewarding working with this population. However, management is going through massive changes and the work you do is just not worth the tiny paycheck.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Over all
ACHIEVE (Current Employee) –  Johnson City, NYMarch 11, 2016
working with individual is a great.
You go to the place and you don't have to use your car.
Get to know the people that you are taken care of.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love working with the clients in this organization as well as the staff.
Production Supervisor II (Former Employee) –  Johnson City, NYNovember 1, 2015
Was satisfied with most of the organizations policies and procedures. Pay could have been better and now they are merging with another agency so I'm sure things will change.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
On-Call Residential Aide (Current Employee) –  Johnson City, NYApril 4, 2015
Achieve offers a lot of different opportunities. Your days are never boring. I have learned a lot of people management skills. It is great helping those who need help.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
rewarding job because of the impact and interactions with the consumers
Assistant Residence Manager (Current Employee) –  Broome County, NYAugust 25, 2014
rewarding job because of the impact and interactions with the consumers
Assistant Residence Manager (Current Employee),
Binghamton, NY – August 25, 2014
Pros: meals provided for employees working in the residential deployment
Cons: difficult to take time off due to constant lack of staff, poorly managed department
This is a rewarding job because of the interactions and impact you may have on the individuals. If you can maintain that as your focus, you will likely be successful at this organization.

As far as management goes, it is kind of a train wreck; mismanagement is commonplace. The residential department is poorly handled from middle management on up (you're only able to be as good as the management, right). The middle management is not monitored sufficiently or given repercussions when things are mishandled. The higher management's focus is on all the wrong things, not the individuals being served. Management's problem-solving skills are pedestrian at best. The new department head has only underwhelmed me at every interaction.

Middle management is not required to have much/any higher education at all, and it shows in many decisions, interactions, responses to issues that arise.

Opportunities for upward movement do exist, but accomplishing that upward movement is nearly impossible, in my experience. Overtime is always available if you're willing and interested; the department is perpetually understaffed.

I am constantly looking to move on, and I won't be looking back except in regards to the nice relationships that have blossomed between myself and some
  more... of the individuals I support.  less
Pros
meals provided for employees working in the residential deployment
Cons
difficult to take time off due to constant lack of staff, poorly managed department
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
easy place to work at
Residential Aide (Former Employee) –  Binghamton, NYApril 23, 2014
Working for ACHIEVE opened up my love for the medical field. Good place to work.
Pros
great benefits
Cons
management needs improvement
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nursing Home
RECREATION SUPPORT (Former Employee) –  Liberty, NYMarch 12, 2014
I did an internship here I loved it and the staff are NICE and the people who live here are so much fun to talk to.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Get to help children learn and grow
Youth Counselor (Current Employee) –  Norwalk, CTMay 21, 2013
I work with grades K-8. I help children with homework, projects, and other learning skills. I continue to learn everyday while working with the children. Management is good and will work with you when you are dealing with an issue or while requesting time off. The people who work for Achieve for the most part are eager and willing to help teach the children they are working with. There is nothing too difficult associated with the job. The most enjoyable part of the job is working with the children and watching them grow over the years.
Cons
Part time during the school year
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ACHIEVE puts greater emphasis on the people being provided services and a staff's' worth is according to a budget. Who can be cut next?
Social Services Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Binghamton, NYFebruary 12, 2013
The days at ACHIEVE are usually hectic. You never know who will be calling off and where you will be working. Anything can happen on a given day such as people having a behavior, personal care needs to attend too, making sure people are safe and well supervised, making sure they are engaged in meaningful activities, going on well meaning volunteer placements, and receiving other services such as OT, PT, and speech. At all mealtimes, staff set-up & prepare individuals' foods according to dietary guidelines set by the dietician. Some peoples' food need to be cut into bite sized pieces, chopped, or pureed. If individuals have any urine and bowel issues, they need to be doned in clean clothes and soiled clothes washed. Core rooms are cleaned. Service plans for each individual is implemented, recorded, and keyed into the computer. Before program begins and when it ends, attendance during transportation needs to be taken and bus aides get ready to ride the buses. Then there are meetings and paperwork to be done.

What I have learned is that all people have the same wants, needs, and desires regardless of disabilities, diagnosis (medical, mental, & behavioral), limited receptive and expressive abilities, and intellectual competency, It is knowing the person and validating the person that builds trust and a longlasting relationship.

There seems to be clicks at the management level as well amongst other workers. Nobody is truly safe. I have seen upper management going through people's work when they are not there and coworkers squealing on other people to them.

There are a lot of good
  more... caring and hardworking coworkers.

The hardest part of the job Is knowing where you will be needed to work for the day or at all.

The most enjoyable part of the job is working with the intellectually impaired and developmentally disabled people and making their lives better.
  less
Pros
enhancing other peoples' lives.
Cons
opportunity for growth with training is unavailable, more emphasis on what was done wrong, like to write people up.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Achieve
Residence Aide (Former Employee) –  Endicott, NYDecember 26, 2012
A typical day working at Achieve would be picking up the individuals from program or school and giving them a snack if wanted.Later on would make dinner, we all usually spend time together going out to the mall or different activities until they were ready for bed. All twelve individuals were very independent. They all had goal they had to work on whether it being set the table on their own or doing their own laundry.Basically practicing on being more independent.I loved working in this house because all the invidividuals were so awesome and the staff as well we were a big family.
Pros
house worked well together
Cons
main management at binghamton office was horrible
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Achieve. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 12 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.1
Compensation/Benefits
2.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
2.4
Culture
3.4