Find companies:
ACLD
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
18 reviews

ACLD Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great oppertunity to grow
Community Participation Facilitator (Current Employee), Hauppauge, NYNovember 8, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: advancement is slow
I truly enjoy working here. The benefits are great. The staff are fun loving and likable. The Individuals are interesting. The hardest part of the job (for me) is the physical assistance you need to provide for the Individuals. (I am a bit older and am starting to have limitations)
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Agency to Work For
Day Habilitation Supervisor (Current Employee), Hauppauge, NYOctober 22, 2014
Pros: employee growth, open door policy, work hours
Cons: benefits, compensation
They encourage employees to further their education and support employee growth within the agency. Unfortunately due to the non profit culture-- the compensation is mediocre unless you are higher management. Working in the field of human services can be very rewarding and ACLD definitely puts individuals with disabilities first and foremost. This is – more... a good thing and if you've never worked in the field I wold definitely suggest ACLD as one of the top agencies to work for. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful co workers and supervisors. Great non profit agency.
Administrative Assistant/Receptionist (Current Employee), Bethpage, NYSeptember 17, 2014
Pros: close to home, salary, coworkers
Cons: non just would like to work part time and i am not able to here
Very busy taking photos for id security badges, data entry in several databases in Access and excel, ordering supplies for building (ex.paper toners for copiers),
I have learned to set up databases and many other responsibilities in the 18 years
Love my co workers. Everyone is very friendly.
No part of my job too hard.
Meeting new staff all the time – more... is wonderful. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to worke
general mantenance (Former Employee), The port authority of NY NJAugust 25, 2014
Pros: good healthcare
do your job right u will not have any trouble good benefits,co-workers are nice. management ok if u do your job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with adults with disabilities
Direct Support Professional (Former Employee), Bethpage, NYJuly 20, 2014
Pros: free movies, and lunch
I administered medication and provided a fun environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good stepping stone
Day Habilitation Supervisor (Current Employee), Bethpage, NYJuly 9, 2014
work to help developmentally disabled adults in a day habilitation setting
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, nice people
Vocational Evaluator (Current Employee), Melville, NYJune 7, 2014
I work with individuals with developmental disabilities performing Diagnostic Vocational Evaluations. I've learned how to supervise individuals on the job, facilitate meetings and administer psychometric testing more in depth. I work with great people. The hardest part of my job is explaining to individuals why they may not be ready to work competitively – more... at this time, but the best part is helping families navigate the complex social services system. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Residental maintenance.
Supervisor of Residential Maintenance (Current Employee), Bethpage, NYMarch 28, 2014
Pros: company vehicle
Cons: dead end.
Dispatch work crew daily. Order material, call vendors. Site visits, inspect work. Conduct inspections. Trouble shoot problems. Coordinate residential moves. Ensure safety codes and regulations are in place and properly maintained.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun filled environment
residential setting assisting individuals served (Current Employee), Long Island, New YorkFebruary 14, 2014
I love the atmosphere, and the challenges of helping someone
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent working environment, Reliable coworkers, High productivity.
Senior Accounts Payable Associate / ACLD (Former Employee), Bethpage, NYFebruary 9, 2014
Excellent working environment, Reliable coworkers, High productivity.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
acld is a very organized yet fun placetowork
Assistant Residence Manager (Current Employee), Bethpage, NYJanuary 31, 2014
Pros: great enviroment
i love working with acld.the individuals and staff are great. i enjoyed being the assistant manager at acld
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad place to work
clerical (Former Employee), bethpage nyJanuary 28, 2014
Pros: good paid time off.
Cons: not given encouragement and try and take a day off.
upper management are dictators not leaders. resort to bulling, harassment and emotional abuse to employee's.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty terrible
Day Hab Specialist (Former Employee), Nassau CountyMay 31, 2013
Pros: the individuals, free food, experience with people with dd
Cons: management, uneducated coworkers, the amount of responsibility
This was my first job working with individuals with disabilities and I must say they are the only good part about this job. They are amazing and so much fun to work with. Management on the other hand and is terrible. Many of the people I worked with were very uneducated (couldn't even spell or do math for the life of them) and rude to the individuals. – more... When I first started I even said something to management about the rudeness and was told that it was normal. The company wants the individuals here to "live an enviable life" when most of the time my coworkers treated them like children who couldn't be trusted. Overall a bad experience. I left because I simply could not be involved with a company like this. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful place to work
Assistant Residential Manager (Former Employee), Bethpage, NYFebruary 7, 2013
Pros: staff, encourage advancement
Cons: staff
I so enjoy working here. The majority of the staff were wonderful and enjoyed the adults that lived in the programs. Well run agency! I think they could improve the benefits package a little, but its not really that bad when you compare theirs to others.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Shift Supervisor (Former Employee), Bethpage, NYJanuary 16, 2013
workplace was great can be overwhelming at times because you are doing rountine things over and over. Staff members become too personal and it can be hard at times, because you work with the same people over and over..
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good place to work
Residential House Manager (Current Employee), New YorkSeptember 3, 2012
Very good agency with a lot of support. The Management is a good team which i am part of and the benefits package is pretty good.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Medicaid Service Coordinator (Former Employee), Suffolk County NYMay 9, 2012
everyone is always willing to help and works closely with each other.