Find companies:
Acme Markets
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
131 reviews

Acme Markets Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What I learned
Seafood Associate (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PASeptember 10, 2014
I learned a series of multitasking skills, and machine operating experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Grocery business with opportunities for advancement
Front end manager (Former Employee), Warminster, PASeptember 8, 2014
A union operation that provided excellent benefits, competitive wages and a flexible work schedule.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A day in the Grocery Department (ACME)
Grocery Associate (Former Employee), Hockessin, DESeptember 1, 2014
I generally do the same thing everyday. I learned how to drive a fork lift and use an electric power jack. I also learned the placement of merchandise throughout the store. Management can be a little hectic at time some people abuse there power just a little more than most. most of the time the managers aren't on the same page of things. All of my co-workers – more... are in different departments. I'm the only Grocery Department worker that works from beginning and end of there shift by themselves. There is nothing that's challenging about my job sometimes I may not be able to get the work load done in time but that is because they give me 8 hours worth of work to do in 6 hours time. I will say that I do challenge myself to get all the work done and then some more to see if anyone appreciates the hard work but unfortunately they don't. The most enjoyable part of my job is helping customers find what there looking for. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work enveronment
Produce Clerk (Former Employee), Bordentown, NJAugust 14, 2014
Pros: good discounts
Cons: no room for envancement
work the produce department. great co-workers to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice coworkers
meat clerk (Former Employee), Upper Darby, PAJuly 31, 2014
Pros: nice coworkers
Cons: very stressful working during snow scare
I learned to go the exra mile for customers to please them the co. had great benefits iwas able to work well with public from all my work exspearience
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
job ok but could be be better environment to work for.
Front End Clerk (Former Employee), Glenolden, PAJuly 30, 2014
Pros: extra hours sometimes
Cons: short breaks
I would clean the four bathrooms in the morning and breakroom and sweep floors and bag groceries and do lot.sometimes you got so busy you never got a break and a lot of times you did more work than others cause they pushed there work off on you.I learned that at acme not everyone is nice to you.my coworkers were ok.hardest part of job was everything.enjoyable – more... part of job was break time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice coworkers
Meat Clerk (Former Employee), Upper Darby, PAJuly 30, 2014
Pros: union job
Cons: working during snow scare
I worked there year after year I started to learn all the skills to be manage hardest part was the hectic time of holidays but got used to it year after year best part was being in a union and getting steady yearly raises and vacation time r
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Development
Customer Service Clerk (Former Employee), middletown,deJuly 27, 2014
This position taught me how to properly work and serve a community. In addition, finical obligations within the company left me with the responsibility of the monetary flow on a day to day basis. There is a lot of opportunity for growth within this company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work
Cashier (Former Employee), Smyrna, DEJuly 17, 2014
Acme Markets is horrible. The store plays too many favorites and they're quick to fire you. There's nothing enjoyable about this job, and I'm glad I don't work there anymore.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good start job.
Baker/Cake Decorator (Former Employee), Yardville, NJJuly 8, 2014
Pros: learn to procedures, got to use great equipment.
Cons: demands physical and mental.
Good starter job, for on hand training. Learned many a skill from other co-workers and enjoyed meeting and helping customers, some became like family. Days long and some times too full of stress due to management demands. Customers made the job!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning experience and place to get a sense of what having a job is like
Customer service representative, front end manager (Current Employee), Dresher, PAJune 26, 2014
There is no typical day for me at Acme. I could be doing stock, be running customer service, doing tags, doing dairy, be cashiering, or be person in charge. Here I have learned what it is to have responsibility and how to adapt to my environment while growing within it. Here I have learned what it takes to lead as well as what it takes to follow. I – more... have learned how to work with others and communicate with them in order to benefit the store not myself. To me the hardest part of my job was not being able to do more. As I was challenged more and more I realized how much I liked it, but in a small store like ours there is only so much room to grow without being part of management. The most enjoyable part of my job was the connections that I have made with my coworkers over the last 6 years. Working with mostly the same people for the last 6 years I have been able to make connections with them and they become a big part of your life. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wonderful company to obtain experience working with the public
Customer Service/Cashier (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAJune 18, 2014
Pros: gret place to begin a career
Cons: only offered part time hours at that time
worked as a cashier, always enjoyed meeting the public and taking care of their purchases
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with always something to do
Front End Cashier (Former Employee), Bordentown, NJMay 22, 2014
Pros: employee discount
Cons: not enough hours
When I first worked at Acme I was a bagger. I would bag all the groceries the customers bought to help the cashiers. I would also gather carts from the parking lot and mop the bathrooms. When I was a cashier I would ring up the customers and bag their groceries, occasionally gathering carts and returning the returned items to the shelves
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a life time career
CASHIER (Former Employee), Mayslanding,New JerseyMay 5, 2014
Being a cashier at Acme was great. Until managers were not communicating with me. and less hours were given to me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productivity, Typical Day
Deli Clerk (Former Employee), Tuckerton, NJApril 20, 2014
This job is a fast paced job, everyday here is usually busy until about six'o'clock. The pay and benefits are not bad, the co-workers are nice and also hard working. I am looking for a new job, I do not prefer working for a food industry. I myself prefer a construction job or anything in that kind of field. Management at this job can be a little but – more... better they have friends that work with each other here, so there is a lot of tension that grows between departments fast. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable place to work
Deli Clerk (Former Employee), Sicklerville, NJApril 15, 2014
I enjoyed working in the Deli department of Acme Markets. I never knew how many different types of meats and cheeses there were until I worked there. I learned tons of new recipes from my many customers and co-workers. There was always something to do there, whether it be in cleaning or going and learning a new department in the store. There were really – more... now hard parts about this job. The Management made sure that you were comfortable in what you did. Very clean store and very well ran. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great way to gain experience
PIC on-duty store director (Former Employee), Lima, PAApril 9, 2014
Pros: schedule flexibility
Cons: pay
I myself was only a grocery clerk, receiver and part-time on-duty store director. Below is the description according to my positions:

-PIC on-duty store director: managing and supervising co-workers while in charge of customer relations
-Grocery Clerk: stocking shelves, managing and organizing inventory, leading coworkers and merchandising
-Receiver: – more... monitoring and scanning all inbound/outbound activities, balancing and finalizing all invoices, managing vendor-store relations and managing all in-store reverse logistics

This was my first place of employment. This job taught me the basics of leading a team, customer relations and how a business runs.

The pay was not much to be desired, but they were extremely flexible with my schedule when it came to school. There was little room for advancement due to it being a union job where seniority reigns.

The management was always kind and helpful and some of my co-workers ended up being good friends of mine. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun job
Inventory Clerk (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAApril 3, 2014
great place to with an awesome team of coworkers and management also
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
General Merchandise Associate- Order (Current Employee), Wilmington, DEMarch 28, 2014
Pros: full time
General Merchandise Associate- Order merchandise using Enhanced Order Entry system. Organize daily loads and stock shelves. Reset sections in the department according to plan-o-grams. Set up promotional displays. Switch over the seasonal aisle after every major holiday. Clean displays and pull forward product.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy atmosphere and gained so much expierence
Front End Manager and Cashier (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAMarch 25, 2014
Pros: fun and great co workers
Cons: never received a raise after 4 years of service
Always busy, became a great multi-tasker, from answering phones developing film, lottery, trained in money-gram and handled alot of money from day to day. Always went over and beyond to help my customers to make sure they left our store satisfied. Always got along with my co workers and management, always helping each other out to make sure our customers – more... were satisfied. i enjoyed my job because i love meeting new people and helping them as much as possible, even if it is just a grocery order or something serious as sending money to another country. i also was put in charge on our front end, being in charge of the cashiers breaks and reliefs from their shift, taking pick-ups from their tills and banking money. a great, trust worthy, independent worker. – less

1 2 3 4 5