Acme Markets Employee Reviews

Showing all 315 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent workplace
Checker (Former Employee) –  Newark, DEFebruary 22, 2017
I've learned quite a bit from working at ACME. Proper cleaning and food safety regulations, stocking, proper customer service, and how to deal with rushes during holidays and weekends.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Frontline Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Middlesex, NJFebruary 20, 2017
Acme markets is excellent to work. This give out a young and upbeat vibe. They provide great hours and flexible schedule. They also provide a great for promotion.
Pros
Productive
Cons
Breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok
Produce Clerk (Former Employee) –  Rehoboth Beach, DEFebruary 16, 2017
The acme I worked at in rehoboth beach is a bad place to work.the reason why is the general manager does not know how to talk to his employee's he is rude and mean to them when they make a mistake.
Pros
15 min break
Cons
The general manager
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worse place to work
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAFebruary 13, 2017
I was treated unfairly there. They treated the younger people and older people differently. There was no order or rules in that place. They would in force rules but not follow them.
Pros
Free water
Cons
Short breaks, shared bathrooms, manager hostility
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Starter Job
Frozen Food Manager (Current Employee) –  Folsom, PAFebruary 11, 2017
This job is a terrific first job to have. But I would not reccommend advancing. Management treats you like you dont know anything and that its your job to live for work.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Bakery Associate (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAFebruary 10, 2017
Great people great place the management is over worked but they do what they can for you ! Great team leaders only thing that suck is the union they really do nothing for you
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Meat/Deli Clerk (Former Employee) –  Bensalem, PAFebruary 9, 2017
The workplace was productive and fun. . . . .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace with great people. The worker customer relationship makes the job alot easier and fun.
Grocery Clerk (Current Employee) –  Newtown, PAFebruary 6, 2017
Working here the past 11 years has given me a set of skills that I am happy and privileged in knowing that they can help me in any job, not just this current one, but any future jobs.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of Room for Advancement
General Clerk III (Current Employee) –  Willingboro, NJJanuary 30, 2017
A typical day can range in a variety of multi-tasking, it can be challeging but you learn to delegate and prioritize tasks that need to be done first (basically like a tiered scale) --- customers always come first and fast paced environment and never a dull moment.
Pros
great benefit package, vacation time, fair salary, premium pays on Sundays
Cons
can be understaffed at times, but you have to put more forward during these times
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Yonkers, NYJanuary 27, 2017
i learned a lot from working in acme, it's like one big family, i really loving this place so much, love all my co-workers and my mangers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Deli Clerk (Current Employee) –  Concordville, PAJanuary 26, 2017
It's good company the employees are great. There are bad days but that's with any job. The benefits are ok. Managers are considerate about your home life as well as your work life
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Acme Experience
Cashier/Grocery Stocker/Scanner (Current Employee) –  Newark, DEJanuary 24, 2017
Working at Acme has not been very positive. Management does not listen to the workers nor do they try to encourage us. The atmosphere in the workplace is very negative and no one is encouraged or appreciated for all the hard work they accomplish.
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good customer service on a busy days
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Edgewater, NJ 07020January 24, 2017
A typical day at work was productive and busy. I've learned how to present good customer service and multi-task. The hardest part of the job was working for an unorganized company. The rules were not in forced to all the employees. Management was not professional when some situations would occur. The most enjoyable part of the job was the teamwork.
Pros
paid weekly
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Overall Job
Cashier/Stocker (Former Employee) –  Beach Haven, NJJanuary 24, 2017
When I worked at Acme I got plenty of hours during the summer. It's not a hard job to do. Management was nice and worked hard. Co-workers were probably the best part of the job.
Pros
Breaks, Coworkers, Management
Cons
Lots of summer hours, few winter hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Secure, entry-level job
Deli Clerk (Former Employee) –  Mt. Holly, NJJanuary 17, 2017
It's a great start for a young worker to be introduced to the work force. However, growing in status or gaining a promotion here is difficult and eventually falls short to other occupations.
Pros
Excellent customers and free lunch
Cons
Stagnant positions
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Non workable workplace
Deli Clerk (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAJanuary 17, 2017
Did not enjoy working there. To many arguments between co workers. To much tension and favoritism.
The job it self was good, fast paced your always busy.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bag groceries, collect carts and maintain customer relationships
Front End Bagger (Former Employee) –  Bryn Mawr, PAJanuary 16, 2017
As a front end bagger, I assisted the cashier with bagging the customer's groceries. In addition, I collected carts and maintained relationships with customers.
Pros
Employee discount (5%)
Cons
Maintenance duties as assigned
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a great first job. Great people, and a great experience.
Cashier and Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Doylestown, PAJanuary 12, 2017
Acme markets was the best first job I could have asked for. The manager was very accodmating and understanding, and the people I worked with soon became my close friends. When I had to leave for college I was heartbroken. But I knew I could always return, if they needed me.
Pros
Discount, 15 minute breaks, extra pay on holidays
Cons
Would ask you to come in on days you weren't working
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to start off and thats it
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Mays Landing, NJ long beach island njJanuary 10, 2017
its a good company but it needs to have a better structure of advancment stop favoring people.. make sure to give fairness to the senority of people and have them a shot at wrokign at other departments
Pros
great benefits, great people to work with
Cons
bad advancement structure. listen to your employees
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Janitor (Current Employee) –  Upper Darby, PAJanuary 7, 2017
This was a great job I loved it there. The management was great. The people that you meet there can help you go far in life. Co-workers are great
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Acme Markets. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 315 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.2
Culture
3.5