Find companies:
ACT
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
47 reviews

ACT Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its a job
Lead Technician (Current Employee), Puerto Nuevo, PRJuly 9, 2014
Pros: company vehicle
Cons: everything you can posible think of.
in my life time i have worked in different industries and had never seen such a lack of consideration and respect for there employees. i must say this is a small business that only cares about making money for them selves at the expense of there employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
information
call center representative (Current Employee), Sacramento, CAJuly 7, 2014
the hardest part of the job was the large amounts of information to take in about the company's technologies, yet their was always somebody to help out
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible training, feels dirty to be in the call center
Fraud Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Harlingen, TXJuly 7, 2014
Pros: food places are near
Cons: bad shedules, hypiene sucked, no help and just pushed to take calls.
I couldn't stand the hygiene issues in the fraud call center area, it didn't feel safe. Many people smoke outside during breaks, then afterwards walk inside and bring the smell with them. The training was 1 week and is was horrible, you don't learn anything and then they push you out to take calls. They don't let you take anything inside the call center, – more... I understand why but now they make you memorize everything and expect you to just remember. The least they can do is print out little common statements and tape them to the computer as a reminder or just to help you to find out what to say next. Like print out the opening call statement and tape it to the computer, is that so hard to do??? People around are alright, but the best thing is the location is right near a lot of different little eating places, so you wont go hungry. Minimum wage is what you get, and for what you have to do, it is not worth the pay. Its the saying you give what you get and I didn't push myself much because I didn't feel it was worth it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a job
Agent (Current Employee), Johnson City, TNJune 30, 2014
Only if you are desperate. Benefits are offered, but you pay for them. Minimum wage. You better have good computer skills!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy laid back job to work at
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Harlingen, TXMay 20, 2014
Walk in and start answering calls, what i learned was how to be patient with people. The hardest part of the job was providing accurate information to callers calling in on short sales. The most enjoyable part of the job was the satisfaction I got back from the customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun!
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Harlingen, TXMay 14, 2014
fun! good place to work! had a good experience.i love working with kids.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Primavera P6 Application Owner at ACT
Project Controller, P6 Application Owner (Former Employee), Iowa City, IAApril 17, 2014
Pros: bi publishing team, outside primavera consulting group
Cons: office of stratgey mgmt, planning and execution; directors, managers and pm directors, organizational structure, 3rd party data host
I was very disappointed with the level of motivation and professional skills within the Office of Strategy Management, Planning and Execution group. The mandate was to use Primavera and I joined the company within their third year of implementation -- upon arrival there were PMs that did not know their own passwords. We were tasked with creating integrated, – more... logic driven schedules yet the PMs, despite PMI/PMP certification, were unable to understand how to create basic schedules of 50 activities (no exaggerating). Furthermore, Directors and Sr. Management were no more informed or capable. It was the most underwhelming group I've worked with. If you want to bear all responsibility, receive zero in-house support, and compliment others on achieving sub par accomplishments then this may be an opportunity to pursue. I actually had to watch a video at the direction of my boss on how 'nice' Iowans are. The working environment is a joke. The nightmares created by the group within Strategy Management and their refusal to learn how to use Primavera properly was too great to overcome. Additional conflicts were created by the 3rd party data host - no one within ACT is capable of assisting with resolving issues created by this data host. Ultimately, you are being told you are the Primavera application owner but in reality have zero ownership powers. You will have to cater to senior managers that are not technical and do not have the knowledge to have informed conversations regarding Primavera and related applications. Any sort of attempts to deal with this groups' deficiencies are met with hostility, even when done in private and in a professional manner. Senior managers are immature despite their ages is the sad truth. 4 out of 15 PMs were worthwhile, the rest will create many unnecessary conflicts. I thought I could overcome these challenges - they become apparent within your first few weeks but the resistance from every level of the organization to improve and adhere to industry/Project Mgmt standards is tremendous.
The BI Publishing team is great to work with, but they exist outside of this Department. And I did work with some great outside consultants as well, but as they are outside consultants, the ACT is their cash cow preventing them from providing anything other than vanilla/bland analyses. They cannot bite the hand that feeds them and in this regard contribute to the lack of Primavera adaptation. The individual consultants themselves are very knowledgeable and intelligent.
Normally, I would never dream about writing a negative review but the experience within the Office of Strategy Mgmt, Planning and Execution was so bad, I am compelled to express what I dealt with. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ACT
Production Support Technician (Former Employee), Johnson City, TNMarch 23, 2014
Pros: quick promotions, solid experience
Cons: low pay, occasionally difficult working conditions beyond normal expectations
Was promoted twice in less than 6 months based on skills and performance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive.
ACT Math Grader (Former Employee), Iowa City, IAMarch 20, 2014
Good company to work for. Management are great. not all the coworkers are very friendly though and that is, in my opinion, related to the competitive environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
IT Consulting
Networking Engineer/Workstation Support (Current Employee), Sylvania, OHMarch 19, 2014
ACT does everything from web design and domain control, to server deployment and maintenance.
The company is very small, but handles many different aspects of computing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Collector and Sales Representative (Former Employee), San Luis, AZMarch 10, 2014
Pros: fast paced
Cons: streesful
this business ran like a clock and I enjoyed that atmosphere, I liked knowing that we all had things to do each as a teammate to get the best outcome.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Simple workplace environment.
Agent (Former Employee), San luis, AZFebruary 27, 2014
Starting of work here is a good start, the job is easy, but demanding.
At the beginning of the week, is the most demanding, sales have to be exceeded by twice as much. The supervisors are caring and professional.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ACT
Telephone and cable technician/Comcast contracted (Former Employee), Aurora, ILFebruary 11, 2014
A typical day at work would include me obtaining a route of installations and or trouble shoots for the day. Would supply truck with equipment needed for the type of job for the day. Co-workers were great communicators as well accounted for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place on the planet to work
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), San Luis, AZJanuary 27, 2014
Pros: no pros with this organization at all
Cons: maybe you get breaks, maybe you get off at your scheduled time, count on them making you clock out and stay there until they need you to work, low pay, horrible management
Supervisors are not properly trained on how to treat personnel. They tried creating a competitive work environment but instead have created an extremely hostile work environment. They do not care about their employees or anything other than selling products. Customer service is put on the back burner for this organization. The one thing this company – more... taught me is that once my contract is up with AT&T I will be finding a better company to get my service through. If ACT is the type of subcontracting they are okay doing their customer service/sales then I do not want them as my cellular provider. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible Schedule, Great people to work with
Direct Support Professional (Current Employee), Columbia, MOJanuary 22, 2014
Pros: sense of accomplishment and pride in what i do
Cons: no benefits, pay is not that great
I work with adults and children who have developmental disabilities. We work in their homes and in the community on goals that they have developed with the agency and with their families. I also assist them with everyday things such as getting dressed, doing chores, school work, and sometimes health issues. I enjoy working here because I am able to – more... create my own schedule working with the families that I support. I am also able to choose the kids I work with. The most enjoyable part of this job is getting to do fun things with the kids that I support. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work alone job to job
Field Technician for Cox Cable (Former Employee), wichita ksJanuary 17, 2014
Pros: good money
Cons: hours way to many
go to the shop pick up equipment get rout go to first job. very long day, I would work from 730 to 11:00 some days. but good money
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive workplace.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), San Luis, AZJanuary 6, 2014
Pros: everything
Cons: not much
ACT is a fun progressive place to work for. while i was employed the managers and supervisors really took an interest in your work, the enviroment was fun and not dull at all.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
during working hours
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), San Luis, AZJanuary 6, 2014
you meet new people everyday and the skills are very simple to learn theyre training is very helpful.when you need help the surpervisor is always there to help and even the co workers help out if they are not busy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Call Center Agent (Former Employee), Yuma, AZJanuary 6, 2014
it was a great work environment it was a great place to work until it got closed down .
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very unorganized. The managers told me I was basically set up to fail right before I was let go.
DISPATCHER (Former Employee), Taft, CADecember 9, 2013
It was a fun job and I learned a ,ot when I was actually being trained. In a typical day I used excel to create dispatches for crews and equipment.

1 2 3