Acuity Brands Lighting Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Warnings
Doesn't Matter (Former Employee) –  Ontario, CAFebruary 1, 2018
Ignore the warnings at your own peril.

There is no HR, no IT, no regard for work life balance, no processes ensuring success, no help from corporate, no respect for you as a person.

All you get...is a warning.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not for me
Engineer (Former Employee) –  Crawfordsville, INJanuary 29, 2018
Forced overtime for salaried employees. Dirty environment. Unwilling to accept change or improvement. The pay is decent, but the workday is long and unproductive. If you choose to work there, all I can say is GOOD LUCK.
Pros
Decent Pay
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cut throat
Assembly Line Worker (Former Employee) –  Crawfordsville, INJanuary 24, 2018
Poor safety they don't care about proper safety rules seen many people who wear there electric grounding shoe straps improper if they had them on at all. Was decent job but cut throat environment
Pros
None
Cons
Short breaks lack of respect
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Ensamble, material handle, pakeging (Former Employee) –  Crawfordsville, INJanuary 17, 2018
Es súper buena me gustaría trabajar otra ves un buen trabajo con muchas horas de trabajo y bastantes beneficios
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and great environment
Senior Sales Support Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Conyers, GAJanuary 16, 2018
I enjoy working for the company. Great management and staff. I would recommend any potential jobseeker to further review opportunities with the company.
Pros
fridays off
Cons
10 hrs long days
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
Buyer/Planner (Current Employee) –  Des Plaines, ILJanuary 14, 2018
Stay on your job and watch you back. You will be here one day and gone tomorrow. Stick to the script and think before making any suggestions. And be on time
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You are either in the click, or your were on the layoff list
Director (Former Employee) –  Conyers, GAJanuary 10, 2018
Was one of the best companies to work for 10 years ago. Good company to work for if you can survive the culture. The deep state executives require you to be a member of the "in" crowd in order to survive. Many of the current employees would leave if the had a better opportunity, but the industry leading compensation keeps ones who don't get laid off intact
Pros
Great compensation packages. Innovation leader
Cons
Very political
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no team work
Paint maintance (Former Employee) –  Crawfordsville, INDecember 17, 2017
not a bad place towork but not able to talk to fellow workers .
some of management was great but one would say onthing another would say something different.Has a very divers culture.was not a real hard job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lead Engineer
Lead Engineer (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GANovember 18, 2017
Flexible time. Work M-Th 10 hour days and have Fridays off!
That is a great perk about this company, for sure.
They lack true career advancement unless you know or are related to somebody in the other end. Hard to move within the company. Although a big company, so key areas are run by family packs that have been in the company for 30+ years. So you must be in the "inner circles" to advance.
Pros
4 Day weeks!
Cons
Too much pressure to deliver on time, instead of looking at quality
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place to Work if You care about your Job and Product
ABS Engineer (Current Employee) –  Crawfordsville, INNovember 15, 2017
Horrible Views on their manual labor.
Bad stance on Quality vs Production.
Unsafe Environment due to bad 5S.
Overall Dirty Factory.
Lack of management on the floor.
No Training for their employees.
Horrible Pay for the work you do.

Worst Thing is they dont practice what they preach.
Pros
Flexible work schedule for salaried
Cons
Everything else.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Global company
Standard Network Engineer (Former Employee) –  Conyers, GANovember 9, 2017
Managed short term and long term IT infrastructure projects with team of engineers. Learned multiple enterprise level information technologies. Diverse workforce that were very friendly and knowledgeable. Opportunities for travel to multiple national and international cities. Work week is Monday through Thursday 7am to 6pm with occasional weekend work and on-call support duties. I really enjoyed working for this company but the salary did not seem competitive in the market.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting place, has it's ups and downs
Lead Developer/Architect C# .NET (Former Employee) –  Conyers, GAOctober 31, 2017
Overall a good place to work. Four day work weeks, with almost no overtime. Flexible hours after you prove yourself. Coffee/Tea and juice drinks and snacks provided. On-site cafeteria. Pool table, ping pong table, a couple arcade machines.

The only problem is that every about 18 months it seems upper management comes through and does a sweeping cut of people/departments. And there is absolutely no warning, just one day you show up and are given your walking papers. If you can live with this threat always above your head, then it's a good place to work.

Great benefits, good medical, 401K match, dental, vision, etc. etc.
Pros
relaxed hours, telecommuting
Cons
unstable upper management
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sometimes its slow and sometimes its busy
Surface Mount Technician (Current Employee) –  Crawfordsville, INOctober 12, 2017
It's hard to make a schedule around the hours when its slow. Sometimes its very busy and the next week its slow. It is never consistent. As a technician I feel we deserve more pay with the type of work and skills it takes to do our job
Pros
We are Union
Cons
Poor bennefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very stressful
Senior Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Conyers, GAOctober 9, 2017
never know if your going to have a job day to day twice year lay offs management only out to protect themselves no back up from upper management staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
job was eliminated
Senior Software .NET Mobil Application Developer (Former Employee) –  Conyers, GAOctober 4, 2017
my job was eliminated / reduction in workforce.
I work hard and was not appreciated because of my new immediate project manager. She was not bright and made all my day very hard by sending many many emails per minute and did not appreciated my problem solving methods even though every program I touched and worked on was functioning as desired with no production issues.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large company
Marketing (Current Employee) –  Conyers, GASeptember 27, 2017
Typical advantages and disadvantages associated with working for a large company. Passionate people, plenty of opportunities to move around, rapidly evolving industry, good benefits
Pros
Passionate people, rapidly changing environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work.
Regional Vice President (Former Employee) –  Conyers, GASeptember 26, 2017
Intense culture. Growing industry and lots of opportunity. Smart associates. Lots of acquisition activity. Good sales structure and support. Great financial team support.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Forklift Operator and Group Leader (Former Employee) –  Cochran, GASeptember 22, 2017
Working at Acuity Brands Lighting was a good time, the first job I had after retiring from the military. My supervisor helped me a lot with my transition from the military to civilian culture. Coworkers were helpful and willing to help. Management was ready for the changes developing with new products and supportive of their employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Constant shifting of priorities
Material Handling Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Crawfordsville, INAugust 30, 2017
In the 10 months that I worked at Acuity, I had 4 different manager and they tripled the size of the work force only to discover that a computer glitch caused them to over produce 3 years worth of product. After the glitch was discover, 80% of the workforce was laid-off.
Pros
Paid very well. treated well when Laid-off
Cons
Complete Chaos
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management was no good
Paint setup (Former Employee) –  Crawfordsville, INAugust 30, 2017
Management was no good they had certain people they would cater too all the time and give them what they wanted or needed instead of moving them around like they did everyone else they would keep them in certain areas if they didn't like the job they were doing
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Acuity Brands Lighting. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 142 reviews
533
443
335
217
114

Ratings by category

3.1Work/Life Balance
3.6Compensation/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.2Culture