Acuity Brands Lighting Employee Reviews

Found 65 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a great place to work if you value a good work/life balance
Buyer/Planner (Former Employee) –  Crawfordsville, INApril 24, 2016
This company has taught me so much. The demand is incredible though.The hours are long and there isn't a good work/family balance I'm thankful for the opportunity that I had but this was not the company for me with small children. My career is very important but my family will always come first.
Pros
Compensation and benefits
Cons
very long hours and very low job security
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company overall, groups in the company could use improvement
Field Service Engineer (Current Employee) –  Conyers, GAMarch 2, 2016
Acuity Brands is a awesome company that is growing at a rapid pace. The pay is competitive and the facilities are nice. The culture and consistency within management and certain leadership positions often leaves a bad taste in the mouths of the employees along with a lost sense of direction for growth within the company.
Pros
Great pay and benefits
Cons
Lack of direction from management. No sense of job security.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun
Material Operator/Customer Care/M.A.T (Former Employee) –  Crawfordsville, INAugust 2, 2016
A typical day at Acuity would always make sure the line was set and ready to run. I've learned that you have to be organized in order to run properly. Management needs a little work. The hardest part of the job was to make sure all the parts where in to clear orders to stay running and the co-workers stay busy on the line. I enjoyed my job and the co-workers.
Pros
working with great people
Cons
the management needs work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Organization
Warehouse Supervisor (Union) (Former Employee) –  Ontario, CAAugust 26, 2016
Upper management got rid of managers to have incompetent group leads to run the floor. Trying to save money. Company discriminates against African American people.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Basic manufacturing job
Manufactoring Operator (Former Employee) –  Crawfordsville, INNovember 1, 2016
Other than the excessive hours it was pretty much what is expected for this type of job. Hours were irregular and pay is not up to par.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i loved working there
Group lead/supervisor (Former Employee) –  Carlisle, PA 17013November 30, 2016
over worked and under paid, they over work you, and do not want to pay more, there group leads don't make the same amount of money and isn't fair
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work with an abundance of different people.
Residential Tech Support/Warrant Advocate (Former Employee) –  Conyers, GANovember 23, 2015
A good place to work with supportive management. I worked the for the company for many years, excellent pay, benefits and room for advancement.
Pros
Excellent pay and benefits.
Cons
Fast pace, must be willing to except change.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
SMT Machine operator
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Wallingford, CTNovember 11, 2016
Run my three types of machines data 9, 12, and DX 100
surface mounting technology the highest debarment in the company the need worker who has ability to work long time a day at least 12 hours per day
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Entergentic work enviorment
Material Handler/Quality Control (Former Employee) –  Crawfordsville, INNovember 25, 2016
Intensive amount of walking. Job required physical walking and lifting. Reported and quality inspected lighting fixtures.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quality assurance in manufactry
Quality Control and Crew Lead (Former Employee) –  Irving, TXSeptember 5, 2016
Team leader in assembly line over 6 months
follow the deadline in each product
control the line and follow the dispatch
quality assurance to check all the products after 6 months
work on Create new order and create the fit wire diagrams
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Group Leader, SET UP MASTER (Former Employee) –  Edison, NJSeptember 14, 2016
They were many years working for this company, MANY SKILLS LEARNED which I will be very useful in my future , I met very nice people very understandable and AMABLES HEADS
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of overtime
Assembler/Quality Control (Former Employee) –  Conyers, GAApril 23, 2016
Steady place to work great dayshift hours, however management changes very frequently... meaning new and different rules all the time... employee opinions really never matter. GREAT PAY THOUGH!
Pros
GREAT START OUT PAY
Cons
STRICTIGANT BREAKS
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large company still working like small company
Customer Care (Current Employee) –  Conyers, GAJanuary 27, 2016
The company is too focused on LEAN and where they want to be that they are not staffing for where they are. Focus needs to be shifted back to quality and meeting the needs of their customers. There are too many meetings to be effective.

The people are nice to work with.
Cons
little work life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great company in the process of expansion
Group Leader (Supervisor) (Current Employee) –  3 Kilmer Rd Edison NJMay 26, 2016
A great company where I grew up as a professional and help in its growth, I feel honored to work and lead my teammates, with some problems
Was this review helpful?Yes1No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A well appreciated employment opportunity
Material Handler (Former Employee) –  Cochran, GAOctober 30, 2015
The Acuity Brands Lighting Production Facility, located in Cochran GA, is the site of the former,"Lithonia Lighting", facility. Lithonia Lighting is now a division of Acuity Lighting Group, Inc.. For almost forty years, this production facility offered fair employment opportunities to hundreds of middle Georgia residents, over a thousand employees at peak expansion. Management and labor sustained a strong and well structured relationship.
Pros
overtime opportunities, breakfast and lunch cafeteria
Cons
Plant closing
Was this review helpful?YesNo3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Solutions Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Conyers, GAJune 1, 2016
Lots of organizational changes and consolidations
They try their best to make it a good working environment.
Not much else to say.
Was this review helpful?YesNo4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Harsh environment ( what have you done for me today)
Director, Sales (Current Employee) –  USDecember 5, 2014
If you are a sales professional, the daily reporting processes will overwhelm you. The information you are required to download into Salesforce is merely your succession plan for the next person. Management more interested in collecting data for their daily beatings than looking long term.You will be required to participate in endless , meaningless conference calls that someone has scheduled because it is part of their goals and KPI ( key performance indicators) and their discretionary bonus depends on checking that box. With all the extra-curricular nonsense it is impossible to achieve your goals YOY. When you combine this with the lack of industry knowledge for the majority of new hires, especially at management levels, it is a recipe for frustration and finger pointing. If you are seriously considering working for this company, do yourself a favor and seek out a current or former employee and have an off the record conversation. You will likely hear the real "Acuity Way", as they like to call it. At some point the terrible culture outweighs the initial compensation package and you simply give up.
Pros
co-workers
Cons
management, high expectations with little to no support, listening to the sales agents constantly bicker and complain about Acuity, lack of integrity by sr. managers, job security, training for new hires that are responsible for sales and product knowledge
Was this review helpful?Yes22No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mis-Managed Greedy Corporation
Shipping/Rec Clerk (Former Employee) –  Conyers, GAFebruary 22, 2013
First 16 yrs=GREAT. Last 16 mgmt pitted employees against each other. Other facilities against each other. Manipulation of numbers to judge employees unfairly. Numbers replacing qualified management. Fair pay with OT. Ins. is expensive with less coverage. Great co-workers in a very stressfull & unfair environment. No advancement from blue collar level at all.
Pros
pays the bills (barely)
Cons
expect something new everyday
Was this review helpful?Yes18No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a productive place that you could learn alot from
Fork Lift Operator / Material Handler (Former Employee) –  Cochran, GAJune 12, 2012
a typical day would be to make sure that the line had set up before they needed to start the next order. I have learned to be punctual and a leader as well. The management i really didn't know anything about but the co-workers were always a joy to be around. The hardest part of the day is when we don't have the part when its keyed in the computer saying that it's there. Everyone involved with that line has to go and search for that part. The most enjoyable part of the job was the people. I got to know the people i worked with. Even though i was a forklift operator i did give them a helping hand on the line as well
Cons
healthcare
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HORRIBLE Place to work
F/A (Former Employee) –  Edison NJNovember 1, 2013
There wasn't an option for no stars so i had to give it a 1 star.i worked in the Edison office as a financial analyst consultant and it was a horrible experience. the accounting department is a small smelly disgusting hole in the wall much like a prison cell. took the incompetent IT department 2 weeks to figure out how to give me access to one accounting software and another 2 weeks for the other accounting software. i literally did nothing for the month i was there. there seems to be a lot of o/t involved which i am not interested in either and the pay sucked as well! and by this new post i see the turn over rate is quite high as there had been 2 other financial analyst before me that quit within weeks. this place sucks..stay away!!
PS management is horrible as well...
Pros
NONE
Cons
Read above
Was this review helpful?Yes34No3Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Acuity Brands Lighting. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 76 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.9
Compensation/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
2.8
Management
2.9
Culture
3.1

Acuity Brands Lighting Reviews by Location