Find companies:
Adams 12 Five Star Schools
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
10 reviews

Adams 12 Five Star Schools Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An excellent place to work
Project Lead (Former Employee), Thornton, COSeptember 10, 2014
An excellent place to work. An excellent place to work.
An excellent place to work. An excellent place to work.
An excellent place to work. An excellent place to work.
An excellent place to work. An excellent place to work.
An excellent place to work. An excellent place to work.
An excellent place to work. An excellent place to work.
An excellent place – more... to work. An excellent place to work.
An excellent place to work. An excellent place to work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lots of hard work but good people to share it with
Senior Cook/Cashier (Former Employee), Thornton, COApril 15, 2014
I worked for the district for 7 years and very much enjoyed the 1st 4. we took a pay cut and hours were cut also. I learned very much about kitchen cleanliness, food safety and regulations.

I loved working around the kids and honed my troubleshooting skills.

my co workers in the final year were having social issues with each other which I managed – more... to avoid as much as possible.

All in all it was a good learning experience and I was fortunate enough to attend assistant manager training throughout the district and experience the way other schools di things. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with kids
Para (Current Employee), Thornton COJanuary 7, 2014
Cons: not much pay for the work you do
Fun working with students. Love having different activities to do every day with the different grade levels and being with the students more than the grading! :)
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great District for students and Teachers
Substitute Teacher (Current Employee), Thornton, COJuly 30, 2013
Many wonderful schools filled with wonderful teachers, students and staff.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Studen Support Services
Business Application Support Clerk - HR (Current Employee), Thornton, COMay 31, 2013
Pros: education, pay, benefits
Cons: hours
I was a newbie to the academic world and I discovered that Student Support Services was also a world of it own. It feels like I have had to learn a whole new language working in special education. I love it. I never knew how many children in the school district; that my own boys attended, had special needs. The Directors, Assistant Directors, Certified – more... and Classified staff are amazing. It has been a wonderful experience learning about the program and seeing the students and families benefit from the hard work but into the programs. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Apply only if desperate
Social Studies teacher (Former Employee), Northglenn High SchoolApril 14, 2013
Pros: excellent teachers, northern schools easier to work in.
Cons: teacher salaries frozen, furlough days, union and district in a power struggle.
I used to work in Adams 12 until I had the opportunity to move into Boulder Valley Schools. I left a full time position in my tenure year to take a .8 position and make more money with better full time benefits now in my new job. I bring this up because in Adams, teachers are currently forced to take furlough days, their pay has been frozen, many valuable – more... programs are being cut and most importantly teachers are getting bumped by veteran teachers, resulting in new hires getting pink slips. There was a feeling amongst the teachers and students that the community didn't value what they were doing (no tax increase for funding) and the Adams 12 leadership is expecting teachers to pick up this slack while they continue to pull 6 figure salaries and seemingly add little value to the daily work being done in the schools. Furthermore, the school board is making a concerted effort to break up the union, and Fox 31 news is investigating the district leadership from hiding money from the public. While some may laud the reduction of union power, many of the schools in southern part of the district especially are extremely challenging and stressful positions, with less parental support, higher drug, discipline, and truancy problems and more transient school populations.

So why does all of this matter? I have many good friends in Adams 12 who do some of the best teaching work in the state. And most of them would tell you they feel trapped there because they would lose tenure and pay if they looked elsewhere. Aside from the validation they get from fellow colleagues and students, they work for a school district in decline and suffering from a crisis of leadership who doesn't value their work and their profession. As a new applicant, there are better districts to work for, and the only reason you are able to view the current Adams 12 job on indeed is because another teacher left for greener pastures. Until the district leadership changes and the community starts to value their schools, I would stay far away from Adams 12. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dedicated professionals collaborating to improve student achievement.
Public school teacher gr (Former Employee), Rocky Mountain, Meridian, Hillcrest & Leroy DriveNovember 1, 2012
Pros: 1.5 hours per week set aside for professional development.
Cons: too many needs and expectations without the time to do it all with dignity and quality.
Practicing teaching is dynamic. Each day has routines, yet each day is unique and a new opportunity for success. I learned that humans are designed to be thinkers and problem solvers. I learned that collaboration is more about thinking together than it is about making decisions. In this school district, the teachers and administration are focused on – more... being learners who teach learners. As with any type of relationship, co-workers are unique individuals. Learning to value each other for our strengths and having mercy for our weaknesses brings humanity to the work place. The hardest part of the job was the conflict between my beliefs and the culture and social expectations. The most enjoyable part of the job was developing relationships with each student and class while being the instrumental influence for their growth across each school year. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for balancing work and raising a family.
Para Prof Educator - Significant Support Needs (Current Employee), Thornton, COJuly 14, 2012
Pros: same schedule as family, and summers off
Worked with children in various grades and with various levels of learning skills.
Would assist children with everyday with basic skills as well as academic activities. This includes simple tasks such as putting on coats to teaching reading or math.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Simple job
Nutrition Services, Cook/Cashier (Current Employee), Cherry Drive, Thornton, COMarch 14, 2012
Pros: free lunches
Cons: short breaks, short hours, drama, low pay
This job is not very rewarding in any sense. The main pull is that you get many days off, including summer, christmas and spring break. The hours are very short and the compensation is not great. The work is easy to understand and accomplish.