Adorama Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  New York, NYDecember 1, 2017
Good people to work with.
Learned about the different equipment sold.
Learned from the different speakers at the weekly classes.
Good people in management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Old fashioned structure
Collections Representative (Former Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 27, 2017
The pay is very low. The systems used are from 1987 literally . There is room for advancement but , again the pay is so low . I think they literally pay minimum wage for specialist positions .
Pros
paid half hour lunch, flexible
Cons
very very very low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Medium size company with some employee to employee issues, not a lot of room to grow.
Photo Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMay 26, 2017
Working in Adorama had its ups and downs. I think certain management need replacing as they do not listen to their employees needs but there were some that did a good job. Unfortunately for me, I had a good manager but no room to grow whatsoever.
Pros
free snacks on certain days
Cons
short breaks, healthcare is expensive
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Chill
Picker/Packer/Shipper (Former Employee) –  Elizabeth, NJFebruary 3, 2017
Very big warehouse but so many hours but could never complain because the pay wasn't bad at all since day one. Just keep your head and do your job
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Picker/Packer (Former Employee) –  Elizabeth, NJDecember 29, 2016
Good company for a beginner worker.
Good warehouse environment
Free lunch.
Is a good company
No opportunity to grow up
.....................................
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Fabric and hardcover book maker (Current Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYMay 27, 2016
Team work is important and thats what you find in a work place like that. The learning experience is great the environment is also great. Helped me improve on my organization skills and time management which is also very important on the job and everyday life so, im thankful for that. Very good company to work with.
Pros
Everyone is helpful and friendly
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very hostile environment. Not recommended for anyone
Warehouse Picker (Former Employee) –  Elizabeth, NJApril 22, 2016
Unfairness of company based on religion. Unprofessionalism of managers makes it hard to work. Dirty work area. Very unsafe. Very bias to a certain type of people. While i worked there employees were threaten/hurt by company management. Very unsafe place to work.
Cons
Healthcare
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a professional environment to work for
Assistant buyer / Pro Photo Sales (Former Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 7, 2015
Taking mail orders over the phone and answering questions on all types of products pertaining to photography, computers and so on. I learned how to deal with different products other than photography and computers. Management was not available to assist on any matters that was work related. Very disorganized and an unprofessional environment to work for. Co-workers were not helpful and very self absorbed with there own work. Constant complaints about the companies work methods. There was no training on using there computer program to access orders, shipping methods, or check on product availability. The best part of the job was the easy access to call back or email a client at any given time.
Pros
Free lunches under 35 minutes, Paid Holidays. Early Fridays.
Cons
They do not have a good Healthcare plan and very expensive. Very hostile environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Workplace
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  New York, NYDecember 30, 2014
• Implemented business proposals with colleges universities, cities, counties etc. about the company and its products
• Communicated business status and activities to upper management
• Liaison between staff and management
• Created spreadsheets and presentations for corporate executives
Pros
Lunch
Cons
Minority of women
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Thanks
Sales Associate (Long Term Temp) (Former Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 24, 2014
No Thanks I would rather not say anything. I would prefer to keep it to myself.
Pros
Bonus for being ontime daily
Cons
Way too many to list
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 11Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managing sales
Manager of Government & Educational Sales (Former Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 27, 2014
A typical day involved searching for new opportunities while managing the sales and support staff.

Management tried to be helpful but were constrained by the owners in what they were allowed to offer as assistance and guidance.

The co-workers were a descent group of people who would have like to have more support.

The hardest part of the day was dealing with some of the frustrations of the sales and support team.

The most enjoyable part of the job was the cohesiveness of our staff and there willing to share and support.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Normal day at work
Promoter (Former Employee) –  Manhattan NyAugust 24, 2014
It was a normal day at work, good/friendly co-workers. Hardest part of the job was standing on the sun/heat.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
descent but not great
printer maintenance (Current Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYJuly 11, 2014
overall its an ok environment to work in but they will take advantage of employees and not pay at a right wage but its a perfect job to start off with if you looking for temporarily.
Pros
free pics if needed
Cons
pictures can be given free if needed or asked
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
security guard (Current Employee) –  New York, NYMay 31, 2014
Very simple easy job. Task involve patrolling the building every 2 hours making sure everything is okay. See something wrong you call it in to your supervisor.
Pros
lunch breaks every 2 hours
Cons
dirty workplace
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 9, 2013
a typical day at work consisted of me standing behind the register for 9 to 10 hours a day. Also helping customers with film and online order pickups.
Some managers are cool others were very petty.
All my co-workers were nice with very different personalities.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i learned
Stocker/Receiver,picker (Former Employee) –  Elizabeth, NJSeptember 9, 2013
what ive learned about this job is that its more of a team effort type of job. i guess if your not the team player type this job isnt for you.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive fun workplace
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 30, 2012
On a typical day at work i rarely had any down time which to me was a good thing. I was always busy with customer transactions, online order, pro-service orders and managing the film department.
Management was good no complaints they would assist me as needed.
My co-workers were a group of different personalities, ideas, and cultures but at the end of the day everyone got along and performed there duties.
This was an easy job to me. The routine pretty much stayed the same and i would say i mastered it.
The most enjoyable part of the job was when i made the customer happy and helped them make the best decision on a product.
Pros
set schedule, employee discount.
Cons
short breaks, no healthcare or benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive job to make a living to get by
Camera Tech (Current Employee) –  New York, NYSeptember 8, 2012
Management are always around and helpful whenever a problem arises within reason however, working with other co-workers has made a lot of working days very unbearable. Although job security seem to be there, company does not offer any sort of advancement towards employees who are interested. Pay raises seem to be only offered to employees by standpoint rather then by employee work performance and attendance
Pros
two week paid vacation, work load is easy, job security, paid lunch break
Cons
only one day off a week, no job advancement, pay raise based on standpoint
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Adorama. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 19 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.1
Compensation/Benefits
2.6
Job Security/Advancement
2.8
Management
2.8
Culture
2.8