Advance America

594 reviews

Advance America Employee Reviews

Found 591 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great starter job for customer service!
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Spartanburg, SCFebruary 8, 2016
I honestly love my job at Advance America. The pay is good, schedule is nice, and my coworkers are amazing. However, they only hire for part time unless you are in management and during off season cut hours horrendously.
The job itself is easy to learn. The computer systems are user friendly. You just have to know how to deal with customers who can sometimes be very mean or irritable. This is their money you are dealing with.
Pros
Not physically demanding. Good pay. Nice breaks
Cons
If you are part time you most likely wont be moving up.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and busy place to work
Center Manager (Former Employee) –  Omaha, NEFebruary 8, 2016
Handle large amounts of money
Review Customer information
Call customers and prospective customers
File and maintain customer information
Pros
Sundays off
Cons
No breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Waste of time.
Center Manager (Former Employee) –  Ocala, FLJanuary 28, 2016
What got me out of bed everyday to deal with the unprofessional BS was my customers. I loved them and they loved me but otherwise you deal with favoritism, lies, talking behind your back to other Managers, the LONG days with NO help. The pay is a joke. Good luck with this one. Smdh.....it was a waste of my time and I could have lived without knowing how evil people are in this type of industry. Your raises aren't based off of merit either. If your liked and you are a tattle tail...you'll get a raise for non performance. It's a horrible negative environment. And your safety is always at risk. Severely understaffed.

It's sad that corporate allows this type of behavior as well. If you NEED a job....by all means BUT if you can hold off for a professional position....HOLD OFF.
Pros
Customers.
Cons
All.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy job, but stay aware
Customers Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Montgomery, ALJanuary 28, 2016
This job is easy but some expectations are unrealistic. When you don't get all of the money you loaned out back, they assume you didn't do your job. They will believe the customer word over yours, even if they are lying. If you like marketing, this job will be a breeze for you. A lot of unnecessary paperwork.
Pros
Easy center work
Cons
expects you to approve everyone and get the money back...from everyone
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly environment with great clientele
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAJanuary 26, 2016
Job load was well balanced between co-workers. I learned about bank depositing, how to do end of day paperwork, and how to balance safe. Out supervisor was very down to earth and realistic. He was always more of a coach teaching us new ways to collect without feeling like we are stalking out clients. Hardest part of my job was having to go in on Saturdays. I loved the clients we had, they would sometimes bring us gifts.
Pros
Gifts and lunch from clients.
Cons
Having to work late hours on weekends.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't waste your time
assistant manager (Former Employee) –  Gadsden, ALJanuary 22, 2016
If you have a family this is not for you. The pay was ok, but the stress of worrying about your job every day isn't worth it. You have to wait six months to get paid time off, holidays, and insurance. Your job consists of selling prepaid cards, file taxes, loans, and MoneyGram services, and you are required to meet ALL goals every month.The DDO expects you to suck up to her and if you don't you're job isn't safe. She will talk about you in front of customers and other employees. The management is TERRIBLE, all the way down to the managers in the offices.The policies change daily, and it's so hard to keep up with what's right and wrong, you can NEVER do the right thing even if you think you are. Your opinion doesn't matter and to them you will be just another employee that can be easily replaced. If you like being lied to and working in an office with people that will talk about you behind your back, then this job is for you!
Pros
Enjoyed helping people
Cons
Daily changes, hours, management
Was this review helpful?Yes5No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
management sucks
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJanuary 21, 2016
NEEDS NEW MANAGEMENT
Favoritism rules, the csm do as they please and leaves ALL of their work for the assistants and CSRs
Pros
paid holiday
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work!
Center Manager (Former Employee) –  Salinas, CAJanuary 13, 2016
Fantastic experience working in different facilities. Great people to work with. Job is very interactive with the public and you build great relationships with clients.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a good place for co-workers to interact with others as well as with each other.
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  La Crosse, WIJanuary 13, 2016
Pretty even paced most of the time but can get a bit on the fast end of chaotic too. Overall a nice place to work with a nice environment.
Pros
The manager doesn't care if we have a coffee or a snack while working.
Cons
Nothing really comes to mind as far as cons.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
an average day
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Junction City, KSJanuary 10, 2016
Assisting customers with payday loans and checks being loaded on to cards and money gram. helping with calls and coverage of other stores
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a place to work.
Center Manager (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJanuary 10, 2016
I have learned to be more open mined to people and there need, being in customer service this is how you get customer and keep them.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Teller (Former Employee) –  Oakland, CAJanuary 8, 2016
I learned a lot about problem solving to make every client leave with the best service possible. Really good for gaining independent work experience.
Pros
No Sundays at some Centers
Cons
Short Breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved each and every customer that came in.
Assistant Center Manager (Former Employee) –  Des Moines, IAJanuary 7, 2016
There were a lot of customers that I was happy to serve here. I enjoyed helping them when they needed help. Training in Fort Dodge was a new experience for me.
Pros
Great pay for what I did there
Cons
Unfortunately it wasnt a great fit with my management.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't Do IT!!
assistant manager (Former Employee) –  FloridaJanuary 6, 2016
If your thinking about this company as a job don't do it! They prey on the elderly and the mentally challenged! This is a cycle that people get hooked into and fight to get away from! Besides the integrity issues there are other downfalls to working for this company! For instance on a busy payday like the 1st or 3rd of the month you will be required to stand and take customers for up to 9 hrs! They are constantly understaffed! They claim they respect their employees, that is false! THEY RESPECT MONEY!! That's it! They will expect you to be all work and no play!! There is NO trust! They will expect you to be a team player, there is no team respect or trust! A typical day @ Wk starts with collections activity you open take customers and when and if you have down time you do more collections calls to people who owe money to that center, take more customers, push other services the center offers, collections, more customers, lunch and repeat. I learned that people are rude, don't pay you back in good faith. Society at it's worst! Don't get me wrong there are good customers but the bad ones are numerous and out weigh the good. Training is sub-par at best! It depends on WHO is doing it! You will spend allot of time on your own. Co-workers don't trust you because the culture is around money! Even though you go through a thorough background check! You could be shifted around to different centers and they only pay .25 cents/mile and there are more stipulations as determined by the divisional manger. The hardest part of the job was the constant standing, lack of staffing and collections!  more... There was nothing enjoyable about this job. I left on my terms and am not disgruntled! This is what I observed in my time with this company and I'm sharing here in hopes that you don't get fooled like I did!  less
Pros
it's a paycheck!
Cons
No Respect! Management is one sided!
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Customer Service Representation (Current Employee) –  Luling, LAJanuary 4, 2016
helping customers with their personal needs.i am a team player. i managed to get past due customer to come in and that alone is the hardest part of my job.i enjoy helping people with their financial need.
Pros
a steady job
Cons
short lunch
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
had a great opportunity to work on different like banking projects and learnt so many thing like different type payments and etc
QA Manual Tester (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 2, 2016
we used to sit with BA and DEVELOPER to analyze the requirements and start working on them by testing small parts of the application according to the test plan and releases and reporting to bugs and working on them with development team for bug free application
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
DDO is racist
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  TXDecember 30, 2015
AA is ok to work for if you don't have anything else..the upper management do not care about you or your personal life. They only care about themselves and making more profit than another division! The pay is nothing compared to all the work that you do, there are never enough employees! They sometimes change their hours to force you stay later without any given notice prior, if you are not making your goal, they don't care that you have children or a family at home. They even go as far as to not give you any Saturdays off. The DDO Brandy Meece is also racist and and shows favoritism to the employees she likes.
Pros
None
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes7No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work
CSR/ Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Southaven, MSDecember 30, 2015
Great place to work for. Hands on experience with customer service.
My manager was great and the o-workers were like family as well. The hardest part of the job was the late nights. The best part was helping the customers.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GREAT COMPANY
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Clearwater, SCDecember 23, 2015
Productive and Fun Workplace. Great Co Workers. Definitely Good place to start career. Job Security also is a good choice in company depending on who in upper management and depending on where the company is located.
Pros
great company
Cons
more compensation needed upper management would do much better if there was no favoritism.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unorganized Upper Management
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Anderson, SCDecember 16, 2015
Worked extremely long hours with no breaks including lunch breaks. Worked alone many times when customer count was overwhelming for one person to handle. Was informed of promotion that never came through in any way. Unrealistic goals to be met in a day for one person. The most enjoyable part of the job was working with the customers..great people.
Pros
customers
Cons
no breaks, overwhelming workload, promises not kept, upper management unorganized
Was this review helpful?Yes6No

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 594 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture