Find companies:
Advance America
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
344 reviews

Advance America Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customers are the best part of this job.
Assistant Manager / Short Term Loan Manager (Former Employee), Hallandale Beach, FLAugust 27, 2014
Pros: customers
Cons: compensation
A typical day begins with gathering reports, auditing and organizing the customers checks and document. Updating charts and system data. Provide customer with the Financial Plan that best fits them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job for singles
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Memphis, TNAugust 25, 2014
Pros: benefits, income is enough to survive
Cons: understaffed, strict vacation policies, late nights
Overall Advance America is a great company to work for. A typical day at work consists of marketing, collection calls, courtesy calls, customer service, paperwork, and cash handling. We have a lot of management positions open. I currently do not have any coworkers because our center is under staffed. The hardest part of the job is working understaffed. – more... The thing I like most about my job is the customers. I feel like I have a great relationship with my customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pleasant laidback work environment
CSR/Cashier (Former Employee), Shreveport, LAAugust 21, 2014
Pros: competitive pay
Cons: no good health coverage
A typical day at work includes answering multi-lines and tending to the needs of customers. Very high turnover rate due to benefits not being all that great and not alot of room for growth. The most enjoyable part of my job was the customers telling their life stories and the hardest part was when the debtors were not answering the collection calls – more... which brought our center revenue down. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Leeds, ALAugust 18, 2014
I enjoyed working for Advance America, they are there for the customers and I enjoyed helping people, I enjoyed my co workers, I enjoyed going to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall experience with Advance America
Branch Manager (Former Employee), Tacoma, WAAugust 16, 2014
Pros: bringing in money for the company and visiting with customers.
Cons: collections and marketing
A typical day at Advance America was giving payday loans to the public. I learned the process of payday loans and how to manage an office. I was the manager of the office, my manager was a regional and division manager who were in the office on a weekly or biweekly visit. My Co-worker was my assistant manager. She would help my manage the office and – more... give payday loans to customers. The hardest part of the job was collecting and doing personal marketing for the business. Most enjoyable was getting to visit with customers and building the business. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to use your management skills!!!
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Grove, OKAugust 15, 2014
Pros: very nice pay for this area
Cons: long hours/days, weekends, not flexible
Days were long and sometimes included 12 hour shifts. Only two people in the office and sometimes just yourself. These two components made it difficult for a single mom such as myself. Managing the store was great, however upper management liked to micro-manage, which included pointless meetings and ridiculous rules imposed on all stores because a few – more... stores could not comply. Coworkers were alright but the turn over rate was extremely high and I believe this was largely due to the way we were treated by upper management. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Houston, TXAugust 14, 2014
Porviding help with loan application, and other financial customer service needs.

The job was very good, but not a very safe area place to work in. And not where i want to grow in field.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unqualified Management, hostile work environment
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Bakersfield, CAAugust 8, 2014
Pros: sundays off from work, and saturday is only a 6 hour work day.
Cons: terrible store management, no osha regs followed, and having to do risky things like buying gold from customers.
This job has managers with no high school diploma or GED running a store alone. Most of the management has little to no education or job experience at all, are many are very young, at least in my division anyway. Promotion from within the company is not usually the policy. OSHA requlations for things like chemicals, using a safe ladder, etc, were not – more... followed. We were forced to prepare tax returns without proper training, as we only did the data entry and etax actually filed the return. Then they would get upset when the customers found that out and didn't want to file with us. Why would you file a tax return where the person inputting your information is ill trained and will make many mistakes? Check one box wrong, and it's a tax audit nightmare down the road. I learned of IRS approved tax training for free, and when I told my district manager I wanted to go so I could be better with the tax program, she discouraged me and told me not to go. We were a payday loan store, but they made us start buying gold, which was risky. We got so/so training on gold buying in the first place, then we were supposed to "negotiate" gold prices by offering someone around 5 bucks for a ring. It could be full of diamonds, but it didn't matter because they don't buy the stones, only the gold. A very expensive piece of jewelry would bring someone $20 bucks. We were told to pay the lowest possible bid the computer gave us, although we could pay much, much more. The computer had a green to red system, green was the lowest of what you could offer (green because it saved the company money) and the red zone was the top offer. In between we had brown, yellow, orange- strange system. We had no idea what the going rate for gold even was, because the computer gave us all the numbers when we put in the karat and weight. Such a scam! Don't sell your gold there, don't file your tax return there, and DEFINITELY don't work there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed my positions from being a CSR to being a Center Manager.
Center Manager (Current Employee), Pensacola, FLAugust 5, 2014
I really enjoy my job here but the management is hard to get in contact as far as my center we ran perfectly on most days but it always seemed very hard to get my managers to come and help with projects as needed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Manager (Former Employee), Louisville, KYAugust 1, 2014
As a Manager of a office I found Advance America a great place to work. The senior management team was always very supportive and the atmosphere was very easy to work in. The hours were a little long however the compensation made up for the long hours.

There was really no part of the job that was difficult. I was already use to managing people and – more... scheduling. I enjoy working with people and handling problems. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
balance Spa buisness
Manager (Former Employee), Bakersfield, CAJuly 31, 2014
Here at Sensia you have that sense of a Spa atmosphere .All the work as independent hair dressers and work well with each other this is good for buisness
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Orlando, FLJuly 29, 2014
Assistant manager. Enjoyed the work relations new business marketing strategies. Very close nit company. Very positive, friendly close positive staff.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was not the position I bargained for
Assistant Manager/ Loan Officer (Former Employee), Tulsa, OKJuly 28, 2014
Pros: all the wonderful customers i was able to provide a service for.
Cons: management.
Unfortunately, I was transferred several times over the course of the year I worked for Advance America. There turn over rate was extraordinarily high, and with the management at this facility, I understand why. This position I applied for was immediately given to me with very little "interviewing". The compensation and benefits I was guaranteed (upon – more... leaving a wonderful position with Capital One Auto Finance) was false. I was not given the pay discussed, and had no negative feed back from management until I brought up that fact. It was very unfortunate because the job in itself was great. A little hectic at times, but the people I got to help on a day-to-day basis were amazing. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
still employed
Manager (Current Employee), Roanoke, ALJuly 27, 2014
a typical day at work consist of marketing, phone calls, collection calls, treating customers with respect, handling any customer issues, preparing deposits, daily paperwork, weekly audits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job
Certified Sales Representative (Former Employee), Visalia, CAJuly 25, 2014
Customer Service, cash handling, bank deposit, contracts, filing, closing and opening store. The co-workers dressed well and were always on time. The hardest part was not be able to communicate with foreign customers. I enjoyed being in a office and going to seminars.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
demanding and fast past job
Center Manager (Former Employee), Glasgow, KYJuly 24, 2014
On daily basis we opened and number one priorty was to wait on customers, then we made collection calls, worked organize files. I reviewed numbers to see where my goals are and where I needed to be in relation to the goals. I had to make sales to customers from the addition products we offered. I marketed daily and made business contacts to increase – more... customer base. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning experience
Center Manager (Former Employee), Peoria, ILJuly 22, 2014
Pros: advancement
Cons: health care
Typical work day was from open to close. Sometimes six days a week. Learned that with hard work they love to promote within and give you every chance to advance. Co workers are team players and a joy to be around.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience to Work at a BANK
Customer Service Rep (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLJuly 22, 2014
The people You work with are great. No work life balance you have to do your own marketing, banking and do you own collections. This is difficult when you have to see those same people that you are required to call every single day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
they are terrible
assistant manager (Former Employee), cheyene and laramie wyJuly 14, 2014
Cons: management
This company is run so terrible there training is terrible there management is worthless don't waste your time or effort it would be better to be poor than work here
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Co-workers and a wonderful work environement
Bilingual Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Lawton, OKJuly 10, 2014
Pros: good pay
Cons: not very organized
I loved working at Advance America. My day consisted of customer service, cashiering and organizing. Managment was ok, I was at a store where there was no set manager in place. The hardest part of my job was dealing with impatient customers and their horrible remarks. The most enjoyable part of my job was helping customer get what they need.

1 2 3 4 5

About Advance America

Like any entrepreneurial venture, Advance America started as a business enterprise in 1997 to fulfill a marketplace need. In the – Read more

Advance America Photos