Advance America

517 reviews

Advance America Employee Reviews

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All about numbers
Center Branch Manager (Former Employee), Fresno, CAAugust 1, 2015
I have learned a lot working for this company, however, it is not a company I wish to pursue a Career in.
There is not a lot of room for Advancement, Also, I feel a lot of the upper Management plays favoritism and it is not fair across the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
b
Center Manager/Trainer (Former Employee), Meridian, IDJuly 28, 2015
WHen I started with the company there were local 9 stores and in the 3 yeard I worked there all stores closed ut 2. I think this really says it all.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pros and Cons
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Lexington, KYJuly 28, 2015
Pros: Work scheduling, relaxed environment, information you learn about lending.
Cons: Bad customers
The work isn't too straining or back breaking and my supervisor was incredible as well as the DDO. One thing that is annoying is being responsible for fraudulent accounts/customers while being harassed for turning customers away.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Making Collections Calls
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Dearborn Heights, MIJuly 27, 2015
Good work place. Make collection calls. Maintain budget. Usually one to four people in store. Good business hours compared to other payday loan companies.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Center Manager/Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Orlando, FLJuly 27, 2015
Pros: company meeting, great team work
Cons: Work Saturdays, long shifts open to close
Every day there is something new to learn from customers or co workers. Fun events for customers "like customer appreciation day" or pizza day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work in.
Customer Service/Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Warren, MIJuly 17, 2015
Pros: The most relaxed environment to work in.
Cons: How some of the upper managment talked to the empolyees
Processed daily applications. Input new customers into the system. Transfer accounts. Daily bank runs and audits. Co-workers were awesome! The most enjoyable part of this job was, seeing my regular customer every week.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Day to day
Customer Service Rep (Current Employee), kingsport tnJuly 15, 2015
I Make collection calls and handle deals for new/existing customers. I have to field call customers to collect payment. Sales and marketing. Its a very laid back easy going job. There is just no room for advancement with this company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High energy with high customer volume busy busy busy...
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Colonial Heights, VAJuly 15, 2015
Pros: benefits, weekends off
Cons: traveling for training, management
The days usually starts off with drawer assignment and bank errands (collecting on delinquent accounts). Transactions between you and customers through out the day including payment processing data entry and funds disbursements. Management had a high turnover rate. Its was difficult to keep up with each managers different preferences. The enjoyable part of the job is the fast pace and the wide array of people you come into contact with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment with good people
CUSTOMER SERVICE REPRESENTATIVE (Former Employee), Youngstown, OHJuly 14, 2015
Pros: Great work environment, paid vacations/holidays
Cons: Extremely small monthly bonus, extensive collections
Advance America is a great company to work at. You have a good time with your coworkers and most customers while getting your job done all at the same time. You have your frustrating moments like any other job. Some unfollows through promises from corporate that were a little frustrating but overall it's a good company to work for!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
We worked as a team and the company helped keep us close.
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Kansas City, KSJuly 13, 2015
Pros: The great customers and co-workers I had at the location I worked at.
Cons: Collecting on delinquent loans when customers lost their jobs, had health problems etc.
Count down the safe, assign the cash drawers to each employee, took the deposits to the bank, assisted customers on the phone and in person. Made collection calls on delinquent loans, moved dead files, opened new loans.
I got along great with upper management and my coworkers. We learned each others strengths and weaknesses and worked together as a team with everything to keep our store successful. The hardest part of the job was collecting on customers that had delinquent loans that we knew were going through difficult times. The most enjoyable part of the job was getting to know my customers and co-workers and helping them when they needed an ear to listen.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Pay, room for advancement
Center Manager (Current Employee), Farmington, MOJuly 13, 2015
Pros: Great Pay
Training on the job, Great pay, can advance within the company. Do have to travel for the job at times. Have to work a lot of hours at times.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
smh
Manager (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLJuly 12, 2015
Pros: none, your a slave to the company
Cons: everything, no safety
if you want a life do not work for this company they can care less about your security!no advancement,no time for your family, and you're probably going to be working alone dealing with cash is not safe at all please do not apply
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
There is not a lot of room for Advancement.
Center Manager (Current Employee), Austin, TxJuly 9, 2015
Cons: No 401k Plan
I have learned a lot working for this company, however, it is not a company I wish to pursue a Career in.
There is not a lot of room for Advancement, Also, I feel a lot of the upper Management plays favoritism and it is not fair across the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable place to work.
Loan Officer (Former Employee), Muskogee & Okmulgee, OklahomaJuly 9, 2015
Pros: Customers
Cons: Collecting
It was an enjoyable place to work due to the great customers & my assistant managers at the time. The collecting part was rather difficult & the management expected a lot due to the fact it is a short term, pay day loan company. I think I did well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Needs more structure with operations.
Contact Center Agent (Current Employee), Spartanburg, SCJuly 7, 2015
I am a top collector with Advance America. I meet the required KPI (key performance indicator) for collections. I am goal oriented and determined. I handle every position and task thrown at me with eagerness to complete and willingness to be the best.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work for goal oriented and ambitious individuals.
Manager (Former Employee), Horn Lake, MSJuly 4, 2015
Fast paced work place with supportive regional management.
A typical day at work for me consisted of,
•Providing exceptional leadership, direction, and provide
On-site training, instruction on aspects of leadership
•Ensuring procedures outlining opening, closing, banking,
collections, audits, local marketing, and loss prevention.
A overall good finance company to work for with opportunity
for advancement, with strong responsibilities entrusted to managers, great for helping you develop managerial skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved the job
Customer Service Rep (Former Employee), Baton Rouge, LAJuly 2, 2015
Fast paced work environment be prepared for irate customers. Loved the customers, when working with this company must be a people's person
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't waste your time!
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Selma, CAJuly 1, 2015
Cons: No real health care, No real hours, No raises
job has no room for any sort of growth, no room for any real opportunities. Very corrupt. Main leads are a complete joke not to mention extremely shady. Its not worth it look else where. They're always hiring for a reason!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Environment
Center Sales Manager (Current Employee), Big Stone Gap VAJune 30, 2015
Each day we handled cash and assisted customers with payday loans and title loans. Easy to get along with one another. Benefits are good. Harder to advance due to low turnover.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible job culture
Center Manager (Current Employee), Mobile, ALJune 27, 2015
Pros: great working hours, rotating saturdays and every sunday off
Cons: as a center manager most of your time will be spent outside of the center traveling
There is terrible compensation for the job itself. There is very little detailed training, however you are still held solely responsible for growth.
Claimed Profile
Headquarters
135 North Church Street
Spartanburg, SC 29306
Revenue
$500M to $1B (USD)
Employees
5,001 to 10,000
Industry
Links
Advance America website

Twitter

Facebook