Advance America Employee Reviews in United States

Found 658 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of Turnover
Divisional Director of Operations (Current Employee) –  Spartanburg, SCMarch 12, 2016
Ok company to work for, Leadership is under mass change, Turnover seems to be very high, sometimes expectations can be higher than what can reasonably be produced due to staffing concerns. With possible CFPB sanctions on the Horizon, questions remain as to how long the company can sustain operation depending on what decisions are made by the government. There are still some really Great leaders still in place. But turn over is a concern.
Pros
Compensation is higher than most, Employee relations department is probably the best in the business
Cons
Disorganized from leadership standpoint, Work Life balance, High Turnover rate
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  DelawareJanuary 31, 2016
All of my years of working this is probably the worse place to work. The pay sucks, the upper management sucks, if you don't fit in the "clan", the upper management clan, then your job is always on the line. They have their favorites. You can work your hardest and you will get I appreciate you however you will not get a raise that reflects it. I even had a exceptional review, then upper management changed and when it came time for my raise I was given another review that was satisfactory. The exceptional went right out the window. You have so many things to do. It's like you have six different careers smashed into one. They want you to deliver on all. You have Payday loans, Installment Loans, Title Loans, Net spend cards Money Gram and Taxes. And they want you to be the top at all of it. They have a bad habit of threatening your job if you dont meet up to their standards. If you don't do their count for taxes, cards, or titles then they tell you if you cant do the work get your stuff and get out. THEY SUCK
Was this review helpful?Yes7No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Waste of time.
Center Manager (Former Employee) –  Ocala, FLJanuary 28, 2016
What got me out of bed everyday to deal with the unprofessional BS was my customers. I loved them and they loved me but otherwise you deal with favoritism, lies, talking behind your back to other Managers, the LONG days with NO help. The pay is a joke. Good luck with this one. Smdh.....it was a waste of my time and I could have lived without knowing how evil people are in this type of industry. Your raises aren't based off of merit either. If your liked and you are a tattle tail...you'll get a raise for non performance. It's a horrible negative environment. And your safety is always at risk. Severely understaffed.

It's sad that corporate allows this type of behavior as well. If you NEED a job....by all means BUT if you can hold off for a professional position....HOLD OFF.
Pros
Customers.
Cons
All.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's not all rainbows and butterflies
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Martinsville, VANovember 19, 2015
When I accepted the position I was thrilled. I started off making $10/hr and the schedule was manageable. However, the list of responsibilities continued growing with no increase in pay. I was told in January of this year I was going to be promoted to Assistant Manager and as of November 6th, when I resigned, I still wasn't. However, I had all of the responsibility which comes with the title. I also never received my annual raise. My schedule continued getting worse. It was only myself and my manager in the center and she managed to schedule me open to close every day I worked while she slid by with 10-4 type days. It was 8:30 some nights before I got home with my 3 year old. I resigned because I was told I was selfish for wanting to attend a funeral and the manager would not accommodate for it. I feel the people in management have poor attitudes and are not equipped for the job title they have. All in all, it's nice if you have nothing else. Definitely a stepping stone and not a long term position.
Was this review helpful?Yes38No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An ok place to work
BUSINESS SYSTEMS ANALYST SPARTANBURG, SC (Current Employee) –  Spartanburg, SCMarch 1, 2016
Pros:
Decent Salary
Good work/life balance
Compensation is good

Cons:
Slow pace
Not much room for growth
Lack of direction
Benefits are OK
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Clearwater, SCDecember 23, 2015
Productive and Fun Workplace. Great Co Workers. Definitely Good place to start career. Job Security also is a good choice in company depending on who in upper management and depending on where the company is located.
Pros
great company
Cons
more compensation needed upper management would do much better if there was no favoritism.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very great enviorment
Divisional Training Manager (Current Employee) –  Panama City FlMarch 1, 2016
Very organized enviorment. Great security measures in place upper management is very involved. This is a great company with great benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't do it!
Center Manager (Former Employee) –  MichiganSeptember 28, 2015
Stay at McDonald's you'll feel better about yourself. This company rams tax preparation down your throat for six months out of the year and it accounts for less than one tenth of a percent of total income, not making a blind quota gets constant phone calls from upper management, which is really the only time you talk to upper management. Expect to work late night collection calls 1-3 nights a week as punishment for being forced to reloan to customers with bad payment history, and have your meager bonus taken away if your already poor customers go into bankruptcy because that affects your bottom line.

As far as Salary goes expect to be paid least amount it takes to hire somebody with a pulse. You have to fluent in policies that bank managers have to deal with, collection laws, and sell money gram and pre-paid visa accounts while make less than $26,000 a year.

If you do it and like it well bless you but I hope you don't make the same mistake I did
Pros
none
Cons
short sighted management, fear driven policy, no upward accountibilty, low wages, one person show
Was this review helpful?Yes16No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Many responsibilities.
Center Manager (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXDecember 8, 2015
Company changed to sales and marketing. Required more going out of the store to market product. New responsibilities were added without compensation. Staffing is an issue.
Pros
Work hours
Cons
Compensation doesn't match the with job requirements. Underpaid
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unorganized Upper Management
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Anderson, SCDecember 16, 2015
Worked extremely long hours with no breaks including lunch breaks. Worked alone many times when customer count was overwhelming for one person to handle. Was informed of promotion that never came through in any way. Unrealistic goals to be met in a day for one person. The most enjoyable part of the job was working with the customers..great people.
Pros
customers
Cons
no breaks, overwhelming workload, promises not kept, upper management unorganized
Was this review helpful?Yes8No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible work environment
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Wichita, KSSeptember 25, 2015
A good place to work with a very supportive management and divisional director team. Some incentives if your center does well, and there is a little bit of marketing to do while on the job. Overall, not a bad place to work.
Pros
Good benefits, flexible, nice co workers, great management.
Cons
Not a lot of room for advancement and pay is only okay.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work place
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Woonsocket, RINovember 13, 2015
fun work place if you love to help people. Company has room for advancement. You meet really great people. The company has really good benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Face to face transactions with customers. A lot of cash/contracts.
Branch Manager (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLAugust 26, 2015
There's a lot of room for employees to learn and grow within the company. You work with customers face to face, perform collections, handle contracts, and various other duties. It is a very unsafe environment. You might have great job security, but the chance for robbery is high.
Pros
Opportunity for growth as an individual.
Cons
High-risk environment. Benefits. Staffing levels.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great starter job for customer service!
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Spartanburg, SCFebruary 8, 2016
I honestly love my job at Advance America. The pay is good, schedule is nice, and my coworkers are amazing. However, they only hire for part time unless you are in management and during off season cut hours horrendously.
The job itself is easy to learn. The computer systems are user friendly. You just have to know how to deal with customers who can sometimes be very mean or irritable. This is their money you are dealing with.
Pros
Not physically demanding. Good pay. Nice breaks
Cons
If you are part time you most likely wont be moving up.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High energy with high customer volume busy busy busy...
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Colonial Heights, VAJuly 15, 2015
The days usually starts off with drawer assignment and bank errands (collecting on delinquent accounts). Transactions between you and customers through out the day including payment processing data entry and funds disbursements. Management had a high turnover rate. Its was difficult to keep up with each managers different preferences. The enjoyable part of the job is the fast pace and the wide array of people you come into contact with.
Pros
benefits, weekends off
Cons
traveling for training, management
Was this review helpful?Yes12No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and professional workplace.
Center Sales Manager (Current Employee) –  Lake Worth, TXFebruary 13, 2016
There was always so much to be done but it was easily prioritized by urgency of completion. I was in charge of training and teaching everything we new about ADT and their security system as well as role playing sales situations. We had enough employees in the office to share the workload. Management was very involved and helpful with any issues or concerns. Our coworkers were all comfortable with each other and any problems would be promptly discussed in a team meeting. The hardest part of the job was letting go trainees who couldn't meet job requirements. Most enjoyable part of the job was closing big sales!
Pros
Comfortable fun environment.
Cons
Pay ranges were drastic and felt unfair towards newcomers.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great stepping stone company to start your career with.
Operations Training Specialist (Former Employee) –  Spartanburg, SCSeptember 14, 2015
Focus on the understanding of company's vision, mission and creed. Overall a good company to work for including community oriented fundraisers and volunteerism.
Pros
Free breakfasts and lunches
Cons
No match for 401k, healthcare cost high
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place to work
Center Manager (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHJuly 27, 2016
This company does not care at all about it's employees. They push and push to market your town. This means walking door to door and leaving marketing bags with all products inside. We were made to distribute at the very least 500 per week. Not to mention all the minimum requirements to sell their purpose cards (which charge fees for everything you do) and tax requirements. If you don't meet goals you get wrote up. Training is a joke! The area trainer basically tells the class the answers and then the new hires talk about personal things the rest of the day. Upper management is terrible. Every other word is 'council' meaning if you step out of line it's a 'council'. I do not recommend getting a job here. They ask way too much for the amount of pay. They also don't care about their customers. They keep loaning to customers knowing they can't afford to pay the fees and interest every pay. They expect us to lie to them and just take their money. I hope the government shuts them down soon!
Pros
They are closed Sundays.
Cons
Everything! Run away!
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
upper management truly cares about their employees
Asst. Manager (Former Employee) –  Stillwater, OKApril 15, 2016
This is an excellent company to work for, good benefits, good pay. The hardest part of the job was having to leave, I had developed a lot of friendships over the years of co-workers. The most enjoyable part of the job was getting to know my customers, I made a lot of friends that were customers as well. Upper management really cares about their employees and I got to know several of them on a more personal level. A typical work day consisted of helping customers as they come in with loan applications, bill payment, etc. throughout the morning hours, going to the bank, running errands, making collection calls and completing daily reports. In the afternoon making reminder calls, marketing, cleaning, etc. throughout the day, balancing cash. At close, cleaning, vacuuming, dusting, making deposits.
Pros
bonuses, gift cards, sometimes free lunches
Cons
some travel
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great starter job to get another one.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Mansfield, LAMay 17, 2016
I really enjoyed my coworkers while I was there. I was hired on as a fifth person who never received a computer, didn't have a desk I just sat at a back table. Not really complaining about getting paid and not working. I would alternated with someone sometimes until my computer arrived. It never arrived. Policies change daily and you never knew when or what. You literally have to have no conscience working here or a heart. The company is ripping people off.
Pros
It was local (less than 3 miles away from home)
Cons
The people who are running have no idea of what they are doing, No organization, High turnover rate. 9-6 m-thur 9-7Fri Sat 9-2
Was this review helpful?Yes4No

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 661 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.1
Compensation/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.0
Culture
3.1