Find companies:
Advance America
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
468 reviews

Advance America United States Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good start
CSR (Current Employee), Garland, TXMay 1, 2015
I learned a lot from the company.I learned how to submit tax returns! The management could need some work.Not a much potential for growth.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working with customers and helping to solve some financial difficulties they may have
Center Manager (Former Employee), Portland, TNApril 28, 2015
Open Center
Balance Safe
Balance Cash Drawers
Review Reports from previous day
Staff meeting - instruct employees as to the days tasks
Collection calls
Wait on Customers as they come in
Answer phones

Learned how to assist customers in many different ways

Was not given the ability to properly manage the employees of the center.

Trying to get everything done in the time allotted was the hardest had to prioritize

Getting to know people within the community was the most enjoyable
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed environment and good benefits
Center manager (Current Employee), El Dorado, KSApril 28, 2015
I enjoy working for AA. The management team is supportive and open to new ideas. The customers make every day fun. Sales are a key part of the business and a strong, creative sales person will go far with this company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learn lots of legal and office management work
Center Manager (Former Employee), Inverness, FLApril 27, 2015
As long as you are a person with Integrity. The job is Great for you. You have to be a self motivator with the ability to take intuitive. I really enjoyed the customer service I was able to provide to the clients I work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place To Work
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Riverview, MIApril 24, 2015
Good steady schedule with flexibility. Good company to help people in their time of need, sense of satisfaction. Most management was understanding.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
4 Stars
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Coshocton, OHApril 23, 2015
Pros: 10 days of vacation after first year
Cons: Working late in the evening
I enjoy working at Advance America. We have good benefits and quite a bit of time off after your first year is in. Our work hours aren't the best, but they could definitely be worse! The job itself is very simple once you get to know it. You have to have great customer service skills! This place revolves around customer rapport!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
assistant manager
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Huntsville TexasApril 23, 2015
Pros: helping people
Cons: hard to take time off
I was an assistant manager and enjoyed working with people, being able to help people in need. Collections was the hardest part of this job. I went to this place of employment because I was a manager before and had just had a baby, and wanted less stress at the time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Payday Loans
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Pensacola FloridaApril 23, 2015
Pros: Hours
Cons: Did not what you worked next week till Saturday
Reviewed operating results of center daily, weekly and monthly to identify areas of opportunity for increased profits and decreased expenses. Ensured procedures outlining opening, closing, banking, collections, audits, local store marketing (LSM), all Loss Prevention (LP) procedures, and other company policies were followed daily. Ensured compliance with Federal, State, and local laws. Controlled cash flow, balancing and audits while maintaining LP standards. Maintained company standards as related to staffing, operations, marketing, collections and customer service.Managed payroll and other budgeted items; and continuously identified ways to control costs. Recruited, hired, trained, disciplined, evaluated, developed, and terminated center staff.Lead team in collecting Past Due, Non-Sufficient Funds (NSF), Write Offs, and performed field calls.
Adhered to company polices on transaction completion, account maintenance, and employee files.
Created new processes and systems for increasing customer satisfaction.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy to follow processes with primarily independent work
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee), Macclenny, FLApril 23, 2015
Pros: none
Cons: none
The advance America was a very small store and could easily have one person run it most days except the few busy days around government pay days. Collection calls, new customer applications, file audits, opening and closing paperwork, and bank deposits were all a part of my responsibility and part of a typical day. Handling cash in large amounts as customers got or paid loans.

I enjoyed being able to arrange payment plans with past due accounts in order to increase the amount we were collecting on them. There was a daily list of collect calls to make when there was down time, such as in between customers. Making the calls were very tedious but a sense of satisfaction always came with a successful call and arrangement.

For the most part i worked independently as the sole person in the store.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great professional work Place
Customer Service Assistant Supervisor (Current Employee), Riverside, CAApril 21, 2015
Pros: Lunches and breaks.
Cons: Pay
Very professional Work environment, fun learning experience and customer interactions. Great Supervisors and managers as well as great benefits and promotional opportunities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of Compliance
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Oklahoma City, OK Wichita KSApril 17, 2015
Pros: Great Managers
Cons: Needs more employee training
My view on Advance America is a company that provides possibly a last chance for its customers. They offer payday loans to help supply small funds for situations that banks won’t. It could be a rewarding job at the same time miserable. Only because most of its customers had a hard time paying the loans back. There was a lot of time during the day spent making collection calls. I learned a great deal about fraud working for Advance America, probably more so then any other company. I learned to always follow your gut and if you have a feeling that something's not right to always take the extra time to follow thru. The most enjoyable part of the job was working with coworkers and its wide variety of customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive at times, the environment was ok
CUSTOMER SERVICE REP (Current Employee), Martinsville, VAApril 17, 2015
Everyone is out for their selves. There is no team work at all. When something goes wrong everyone is pointing the finger. The customers were amazing. It could have been a nice place to work for, but there is a lot going on and things can't be taught until something happens and that's when problems are brought alone with it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Goal orientated work environment
Store Manager (Former Employee), McAllen, TXApril 14, 2015
Pros: Lot of learning
Cons: No or very small bonus
Review results of last day/week, and analyze the P&L reports to determine the course of action.

A typical day at work involved some of these procedures:

Verifying funds, banking, assign drawers/safe, collection calls.

New accounts: application, enter information on system, gather paperwork, create/organize physical file, explain all legal/mandatory documents and contracts, deliver funds.

Marketing of store: calls to inactive accounts, go out with business partners and look for new ways to bring customers in.

Account maintenance: Calls to customers to remind of payments and call past due accounts.

Store closing: deassign drawer, safe, count, balance, deposit, alarm.

I learned to look at the overall business to be able to get to the ultimate goal of profit.

The hardest part of the job was having ideas to improve the system and difficult to make any changes since Advance America is a very big corporation.

The most enjoyable part of the job is getting to build a relationship with business partners and customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and learning enviroment for a place work
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Reno, NVApril 12, 2015
Pros: Experience in accounts payable and recievable, also experience in collections and taxes
Cons: Unable to help customers who do not want to work with the company to close their accounts
A typical day at work starting with morning duties; I come in and see if there is a deposit from previous work day. If there is I take that to the bank. I then proceed with assembling morning reports. These reports consist of prior work day numbers such as how many transaction took place and how money has come in and gone out. After putting these reports together and putting them in the managers folder. The doors then open to the public and proceed with assisting customers in either qualifying for a pay day loan of an installment loan, we also maintain customers accounts and folders. Also collection calls are made; these consist of customers whose accounts have gone bad and or past due. At the end of day closing the center drawers are counted a deposit is put together if there is any. I have learned how to look at pay stubs and bank statements and know what financial proprieties are in these papers. Also how it important it is to get customer information correctly. I have learned more importantly how the center is ran and maintained through revenue and expenses. The hardest part of this job is telling a customer that they do not qualify for any loans. The most enjoyable part of this job is building a relationship with our customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
iwas always stressed out they were wishy washy company
Assistant Office Manager (Former Employee), Monroeville, ALApril 8, 2015
Pros: i was promoted with in 60 days of employment, job was easy, in the officce the co workers were great if youcould get them to come to work
Cons: supervisor and dm was neither one very good to work for
a typical day at this place I was usually working alone employees would always be late or absent , we were always busy which I liked that part but I would get over whelmed due to the fact id be alone when I needed some one to help me clear the office in a timely manor, the supervisor at the time I did not approve of her ways I had an emergency my kid went missing at the school one day and of course my co worker wasn't there and I needed to leave and she told me that I would be fired if I left the office during business hours she was very demanding and very disrespectful and she didn't have kids so she had no clue how to handle situations for co worker who had small kids . the co worker would not answer her phone and of course I had no relief so I was stuck in that office to worry where my 5 yr old child was or what had happened . finally after 5 hours hunting him they finally called me back n told me that they had found him but shortly she was terminated
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Advance Payday Loan Company
Accounting Associate (Former Employee), Spartanburg, SCApril 8, 2015
Pros: I liked the company and my work.
Cons: Do not show appreication for the employees.
Verify daily deposit at the centers and a file from the bank. Researching any variances. Helping with mail. Updated over short reports at the end of month. Learning new Point Of Sale systems. The management team was up to date. I worked well all of the co-workers. I enjoyed the team working together. The hardest part was expecting to be perfect. The most enjoyable part was the satisfaction of balancing an account.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productivity and work environment
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Columbus, MSApril 3, 2015
I enjoy the work environment with Advance America. A typical day is meeting new people and being able to take care of that customer. We all work together to meet the customers needs. I've learned alot with Advance America as far as financial management and customer service skills. My co-workers are wonderful if there's anything someone needs help with we work together and make sure that we're all on the same page as far as new products and different transactions. The hardest part about the job is our most busy days when your trying to make sure you give each customer their one on one time with you. We strive to make sure everyone is taking care of and leaves the store happy. Which goes back to the great teamwork we all work together to make sure we have seen all of our customers. The most enjoyable of the job is working for a company thats considerate of your well being and shows aprreciation for your hard work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't work here if you have a life beyond the job
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Navarre, FLApril 2, 2015
Pros: Very active and up-beat work environment for those people who like staying busy
Cons: Too many hours, too little reward for very hard work
I've never had a job that was as stressful and exhausting as this one was. My hair literally started falling out from the work overload. Hours are never set, will be changed without notice and you have to work when they say or be let go. You're never at one store because people are constantly quitting the company and you're asked to work in numerous counties all in the same week or even different stores on the same day. Overall a very unhappy place to be.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Corporate has very strange attendance requirements, good benefits, seems easy to progress in company
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Nelsonville, OHApril 2, 2015
Mainly collection calls. Manager of my branch is very understanding of the fact we are humans. Mostly rewarding, however it can take quite a toll on you at the same time. Many people with terrible sad stories that youre forced to collect on by corporate. Good benefits, periodic raises, bonuses on paychecks, quick to start earning time off. On the whole its a pretty decent company to work for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible experience
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Richmond, VAApril 1, 2015
I would never recommend working for this company neither to patronize it. Long hours, terrible pay, management was rude to employees and customers...need I say more.

1 2 3 4 5

About Advance America

Like any entrepreneurial venture, Advance America started as a business enterprise in 1997 to fulfill a marketplace need. In the – Read more

Advance America Salaries

Customer Service Representative
$10.00 per hour
Assistant Manager
$24,000 per year
$11.00 per hour
Customer Service Representative
$20,000 per year
Call Center Manager
$29,760 per year

Advance America Photos

We're looking for customer service oriented employees that can connect with our customers.
One of the top reasons employees love Advance America is helping our customers!
Advance America supports community involvement. We support over 100 organizations.