Advance America Employee Reviews

Found 759 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work at.
Center Sales Manager (Current Employee) –  Alexandria, VAJanuary 22, 2017
The environment is very fast paced. We deal with customers on a daily basis, sale products, originate payday and car title loans. Communicate with banks, DMV and MVA. There are set monthly goals that we have to reach and most of the time we exceed. We collect on past due accounts. We also do taxes. There are times that we have to turn difficult situation with a customer into a positive one. Every associate have to be patient and have great listening skills in order to be able to help our customers. I believe that overcoming work challenges help us grow and advance.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Manager
MANAGER (Former Employee) –  BLUEFIELD VAFebruary 2, 2017
I worked for this company for three years I gave it everything I had to be ask if I wanted a manager postion in another area and I took that postion and I worked so hard and long hours to make the center right and I put my family aside to give this company all I had once I had the place looking good and exactly how they wanted it they let me go at 4 oclock in the evening for un foreseen cursumstances I didnt do anytng wrong except give my job all I had just to be let go for no reason
Pros
THERE WERE NOT ANY
Cons
UPPER MANAGEMENT SAYING THINGS LIKE, I DONT CARE IF A CUSTOMERS CHILD GETS DIAGNOSED WITH CANCER MAKE THEM PAY THERE BILL
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place to work
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  CaliforniaJanuary 11, 2017
Worked for this company for 4 years and always the same routine everyday... if your lucky youll get a break but sometime we were left alone and no chance of breaks at all but we were force to write down that we took one anyway... i loved my manager but the DDO was so mean and didnt care to make you cry everyday about how bad or how you need to do better or else!... save your time! And stress! They dont even pay that great for all the stress you go thru..
Pros
Good health insurance
Cons
No breaks and alot of stress
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A wonderful stepping stone to learn and grow knowlege
Divisional Training Mgr/Asst to the DDO (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OH, Akron OHJanuary 5, 2017
Advance America is a great place to learn what you are capable of. You are able to advance and grow within the company if you are willing to learn and work hard. This is not a place to work if you are just going to work to "get a paycheck", Advance America requires more of you than just showing up.
If you enjoy a challenge for yourself, want to learn to push the limits of your abilities, work for Advance America. This company will build confidence within yourself beyond things you didn't think you could achieve. Only if you are willing to push, dig in and get things done.
Pros
Advancement, Challenges, Confidence building
Cons
coworkers that don't share the same drive to achieve
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Serious and good vision workplace.
Center Sales Manager (Current Employee) –  Orlando, FLDecember 30, 2016
Excellent work experience and very fortunate with direct upper management. Unfortunately very difficult to grow within. Needs 401K boost and a little pay raise and it would be a place to stay.
Direct customer service contact need to be able to deal with situations in a fast pace environment, resolution of any conflicts in a positive way to keep customers happy. Cash handling is a most need to know to deal with accounting reports and schedules.
Easy way to learn the business properly, respect your customers, yourself, your employees and the law.
Pros
Good working environment, health care, frequent update meetings, and much more.
Cons
Growing within if possible if you are patient.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Learning Experience
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Boise, IDDecember 29, 2016
As soon as you walk in, you have a lot of things you need to get done. You don't stop until you lock the door in the end of the night. I learned a lot from this job. Marketing, money handling, loan processing. You are always learning and you have to be sharp about what you are doing. The manager was the best person I had worked with. We got along great and I couldn't have asked for a better manager. The hardest part of the job was the time crunch and trying to get everything done in a timely manner. The most enjoyable part of the job was making everything a challenge and suceeding.
Pros
Great Managment
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
they use you till you have nothing left.
OFFICE MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Albertville, ALFebruary 9, 2017
I worked there for 4 years. Long hours and lots of customers. I was the manager over 3 different centers. Every time they needed me to go take over a center I did it. This was the situation because of the high turnover rate. The upper management was horrible. All they care about are the numbers and nothing u do is ever good enough.
Pros
paid holidays
Cons
horrible upper management, high turnover rate.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful/Dangerous Environment
Branch Manager (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLNovember 25, 2016
I was robbed at gunpoint twice with three attempted robberies, and was expected to be back to work the next day. No set schedule, it fluctuates often due to business needs. Sometimes we would have to make field calls to customer homes when they are delinquent which was very dangerous. You can advance through the company relatively fast due to a high turnover rate, but once you reach branch manager there is little room to grow. I will also say that you will always have Sunday off, and that was a nice thing. Tuesday's and Wednesdays are also fairly laid back.
Pros
Tuition Reimbursement
Cons
Dangerous, Low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning Experience
Account Service Clerk (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLDecember 27, 2016
Working here was a introduction to the corporate work flow, learning the habits of a financial corporation was an eye opener for a young person who is looking to advance in the work force! You will gain a lot of associates in this field that you teach and groom you to become a productive employee!
Pros
Never get off later than 7:30pm
Cons
Not staying in the same location
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not worth it
Center Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  AlabamaOctober 29, 2016
My experience at Advance America starting off as a great experience. I worked there for several years actually enjoying my job until it became more about numbers and not about helping people anymore. Also there was a daily threat to your job everyday. I would not recommend working for this company to ANYONE!!!!...It's very stressful and not worth your time or mental state. It's almost like being in high school all over again. It's not a very mature place to work.
Pros
Off most holidays
Cons
Don't care about you as an employee, just numbers.
Was this review helpful?Yes6NoReport

Want to know more about Advance America?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging
Branch Manager (Former Employee) –  Piedmont, SCNovember 7, 2016
Daily center operations, cash advance/buy back transactions, process payments, data entry, accounts receivable and payables, audits, account write offs, budget and revenue, controlling bad debit, banking responsibility, marketing, training/hiring new employees.

Hardest part of the job is doing field calls


Most enjoyable part of the job is meeting new people
Pros
meeting people
Cons
field calls, driving own car
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good working environment.
CSR (Current Employee) –  Memphis, TNOctober 25, 2016
I have been working at Advance America for 2 years now. I wanted to grow with this company but I'm not up for the child's play that the DDO does. I was looking forward to moving up in the company but I was played with like a rag doll. I had a family Emergency so I had to leave for a while. While gone I hear nothing but bad things being said by the DDO about me to others (How Professional.)Overall the Memphis Market is not a good place to work if you don't want to be stressed. Other then that the company as of business is great.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work Depending on what District manager you get
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Detroit, MINovember 14, 2016
I thought overall the place was great to work, however no room to advance higher than Center Manager. I think I like it because of the people I worked with other than that it was just ok. The pay scale is low and they promote super duper slow.
Pros
None really no discounts or nothing
Cons
Working with different people and seeing different faces
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never again
Center Manager (Former Employee) –  Atmore, ALJanuary 10, 2017
The morality of the whole "payday loan" racket is a set-up to fail scenerio. There is no sympathy or empathy for either their customer base or employees. Every business has a bottom line of profitability, but not at the cost of their customers standard of living. I personally could not continue my career that way. I feel they should all be shamed!
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cheap Company
Customer service representative (Former Employee) –  Hialeah, FLOctober 20, 2016
As far as working for Advance America goes it's too demanding. Stressful work at fast paste with very little pay to go with it. The company only focuses on the errors much more than the hard work one puts into the job. It's all for nothing, felt like one is being used by the company to provide excessive work when needed with no rewards or praises to make one feel like one doing a great job. The lectures are continuous, it's all about the numbers. Not the company I would advice to grow in.
Pros
Friendly Customers and Caring Coworkers
Cons
All work and weak pay with no benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes18No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
helps in a pinch
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Circleville OhioOctober 17, 2016
I usually open the center and may or may not get at the least 2 to 3 customers a day depending on the day. In the meantime you think and think of anything to just keep you busy. I have learned many things about administration, collections, taxes, people, problem solving and marketing. The hardest part of this job is dealing with bad debt and marketing.
Pros
bonuses
Cons
a lot of dead time, debt collections, marketing
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too much micro-management, continues to be low on staff
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  FloridaJanuary 25, 2017
It doesn't matter what the manager of the center wants for that center, such as scheduling, upper management revises it. It is very hard to schedule appointments due to never knowing what day you may have off the next week.
Pros
The people I worked with
Cons
Upper management
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Place-Avoid
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Moore, OKOctober 25, 2016
It took me years to get hired on with this company and they make me wish I never took the time and effort to go through this process. They promised many raises for my hard work and only seen one. I was an Assistant Manager but I did the job of the Store Manager for less pay. If that is what you are looking for by all means go for it.
Pros
None
Cons
No breaks, work alone, poor compensation and benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very settled workplace
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Hartsville, SCOctober 30, 2016
I access customers account answering any questions they may have as well as helping them to keep their accounts up to date and current. Ensure high levels of customer service satisfaction through excellent sale services. Cross sell products and build productive trust relationships with the employees as well as the customers. Maintained and keep work office clean, secured, and in a presentable condition. Opening and closing the office as well as running reports, balancing cash drawers throughout the shift, and making bank deposits. As well as communicating with our branching offices through email and faxing required reports t the headquarters and the beginning and end of the shift.
Pros
gaining experience
Cons
sometimes no breaks if I am the only one in the office for the day
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Work environment
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Valley, ALDecember 16, 2016
Love love love this place! I regret ever leaving! The pay was decent! The hours weren't all that great but it was an awesome place to work for! The supervision was like a second family! They were very caring and understood family issues!
Pros
The pay, the environment
Cons
going marketing without protection
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Advance America. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 761 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.1
Compensation/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.0
Culture
3.1