Find companies:
Advance America
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
441 reviews

Advance America Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I am grateful for the knowledge and experience I gained here, but I need to go another direction in my life now.
Assistant Manager/Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Jackson, MSMarch 30, 2015
Pros: contests for meeting certain goals, free lunches on certain busy Fridays, gift cards for Christmas
Cons: health insurance too expensive for little coverage, not enough pay for amount of responsibility, bonus program was too complicated, stores were never fully staffed the entire time I was there
*A typical day at Advance America was full of customer service, collections, sales, marketing and whatever else the Divisional or Regional Director(s) may have sent through the e-mail system for us to do. It started around 8:30 or 9:00 am and ended around 6:30 pm with an hour lunch in between. We would come in and verify funds on checks that were past due and then start making calls to customers who were either past due on their title or payday loans. Each person had a different group to call. In the meantime, we would answer calls and provide customers service to customers in the store. We would balance our drawers three times a day always making sure they balanced to the panny. When days were slow one or two of us would go marketing or to make field calls.

*I definitely learned a lot from this company. It gave me an opportunity to further perfect my collections and customer service skills, learn to do outside marketing, get some sales experience, loan processing, gain some experience in management, learn about revenue and receivables, learn more about bankruptcy laws and other laws which govern these types of businesses and many other things. The list just goes on and on.

*My co-workers were great, for the most part. I believe any time you put five females in an office for ten hours a day five days a week that there are going to be personality differences but we always made it. I think the different personalities may have been what helped us to work as a team better sometimes.

*The hardest part of the job, to me, was having to put somebody's account in the negative who had been a great customer for years and the only reason they were not able to pay on time was because of a tragedy or a terrible hardship.

*The most enjoyable part of the job was, by far, the customers. I love customer service and collections and this gave me a great opportunity to do both in the same job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Advance America was a productive and satisfying place to work.
Branch Manager (Former Employee), Bradley, ILMarch 26, 2015
Typical day was to open center make bank deposits, customer service, collections, filing, auditing files, scheduling, open and close of loans and etc. I've learned a lot from Advance America, but most of all, that is where I have learned all my management and customers service skills. As a center manager I never really had to deal with upper management but when I did, all members of management was respectful and professional. As, for co- workers I did hire a few throughout my 16 years of service and they challenged me on a few things but they were great. Co- workers throughout our division I got along with everyone and they were very helpful at times. The hardest part of my job was accepting change. I couldn't see past why are procedures would change and than later return back to our old procedure. Eventually, as the years past I started to realize that change is good and can better not only the company but the overall business and its employees. The most enjoyable part of my job was my customer relationships. They trusted me and came to me for advice. I recall many conversation about kids, school, work and etc. I miss them truly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Performer
DIVISIONAL DIRECTOR OF OPERATIONS (Former Employee), MississippiMarch 25, 2015
I loved my job and was a top performer in the company.

I was respected by coworkers, subordinates, supervisors and Corporate personnel.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive office job
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Modesto, CAMarch 22, 2015
A typical day at work included making phone calls, keeping the work area clean, assisting customers, running to the bank, and filing. I learned how to provide excellent customer service, handle the cash register, do collection calls, cash checks, test gold, give out loans and offer additional products.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My overall experience
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Benton Harbor, MIMarch 22, 2015
Pros: great benefits
Cons: preparing tax returns
A typical day of work for me would be to make collection calls, print daily paperwork, assist customers with financial needs, make business partners, promote business with flyers, sell additional products, create schedules, and maintain center cleanliness.

I have learned how to prepare tax returns, meet required goals, work with a lobby full of customers, and be patient.

I was promoted from assistant manager to manager in a month and I performed all duties with exceptional service.

My co workers and I made a great team and all of our customers enjoyed us being very nice and patient with them.

The hardest part of my job is if our computers stopped working, we would have to complete everything manually.

The most enjoyable part of my job was working with our customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Area Management
Branch Manager (Former Employee), AZMarch 20, 2015
Area Management understanding and willing to work with staff regarding family life balance as well as training. Growth expected but fair.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced work enironment with a variety of product lines to offer customers on a daily and seasonal basis, pleasant office environment
CENTER MANAGER (Current Employee), Lansing, MIMarch 18, 2015
Fast paced work environment with a variety of product lines to offer customers on a daily and seasonal basis, pleasant office environment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not good
Manager (Former Employee), Kalamazoo, MIMarch 18, 2015
Pros: no comment
Cons: no comment
For the type of business that they are they do very well. Rates should be lower and loan pay back should be revamped. Company should focus more on economy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just a Job
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), MississippiMarch 14, 2015
Its ok! I worked there for 3 years. Long hours and they are not family oriented at all. The pay is good but if you have never worked in collections before, you want like it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Center Manager / Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Broadview, ILMarch 10, 2015
limited growth with company, management needs to be held more accountable with their character and attitudes with there employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great and rewarding job
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Troy, ALMarch 9, 2015
Pros: mileage pay, built up personal/sick days, insurance
pay day loans based on clients wage, income, SS benefits
prepared loan applications
filed paper-work
collection calls
advertising (flyers)
NSF retrievals
bank deposits
enjoyed meeting and working with new/old customers
enjoyed working with management
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Difficult and unsafe place to work
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Jackson, MIMarch 9, 2015
Cons: unsafe environment, company cares more about money over their hard working employees
Advance America is a very difficult place to work for. They expect alot from you. With bad pay. I had NO coworkers so i had to play role of management asst manager and customer service rep. Worked open to close by myself very unsafe environment. Has to travel to and from bank sometimes 2 times a day. Atleast 100 collection call a day 30 reminder calls a day 30 inactive calls a day marketing 300 pcs a week and try and retrieve funds on bad checks. While helping up to 60 customers a day. Overall if your applying for a location in jackson MI be prepared to work very hard long busy days with sometimes not even time for a potty break. Good Luck!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with.
Manager (Former Employee), College Station, TXMarch 3, 2015
Pros: paid for mileage
Cons: health benefits
I did work long hours but that was intended with my job title. I learned a lot about customer service and sales. My coworkers were great always supportive. The hardest part about my job was the marketing part trying to meet goals as far as getting new title loan customers. The most enjoyable part of my job was my customers over the years I developed great relationships with them and they enjoyed coming to our store when it was time for them to come in.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good place to work. Supportive.
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Viroqua, WIMarch 2, 2015
Pros: good working enviroment. very team-member oriented.
Cons: sometimes multi-tasking can be a little taxing.
Typically,
Open three loan software systems.
Balance and assign safes and drawers.
Check corporate emails.
Perform a.m. reports.
File previos end of day reports.
Proceed with collections and reminder calls.
Prepare for daily due loans.
Manage daily transactional cash and checking and loan activities.
Closing procedures.

Enjoy: Interaction with customers.
Opening new loans and providing great customer service as well as informing customer of new products and increasing revenues.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
my opinion
Center Assistant Manager (Current Employee), New Orleans, LAMarch 1, 2015
The hours of operation, and holidays off are the best things about working at this company. They require a lot of work, but the pay sucks!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work environment
Asst. Branch Manger (Former Employee), Reno, NevadaFebruary 25, 2015
- proactively initiate and manage long term profitable relationships and proactively sought new relations for the company. Managed existing client relations to identify future needs. Numerous amount of sales, lending, customer service.
Management was very helpful and always there if you needed help.
Hardest part of job was collections but we still managed to achieve our goals and the best part was meeting and helping so many wonderful people. They made our day!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An intresting place to grow.
Office/Center Manager (Former Employee), Midland, MIFebruary 20, 2015
Pros: being recognized for hard work, stable pay and work schedual, and building trusting relationships with customers.
Cons: not alot of vacation time.
With this company I started as a customer service rep and made my way to center manager. I ran all operations in my center. Most of the time my upper management was very kind ands easy to work with! My assistant at the time was a very interesting women who was all surprising me with different out looks on life! The hardest part of my job with this company is that I have a very big hart and at times went out of my way to help my customer, they where like family to me and I don't Ike to see anyone hurting! My job here was also very rewarding by taking the center I was running to the top in the district!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable
Assistant Manager/Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Garden City, KSFebruary 18, 2015
Pros: marketing
Cons: geting the traffic in the door
Typical day
Loans
filing
multitasking
entering information in computer
emails from cooperate offices
marketing
bank runs
Co worker
only had one co worker witch I was under him but he was also called the branch manager so he travel to other stores
Hardest was 99% of the business was taken care by myself because co worker was the branch manager so you had to be on top of everything.
Enjoyable part
was seeing people knowing your customer company you work for had to love working for them and I did .
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meeting different people
Assistant Branch Manager (Former Employee), Kissimmee, FLFebruary 17, 2015
Pros: working with others
Cons: some get more responsibilities than the older people
first clean the front office. I' ve learned to pace myself and look over my work. The management is flexible with hours and days. My co-workers are great people we work as a team. The hardest part of the job is when guest come in before we are done. Making sure the rooms are clean.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Center Store Manager (Current Employee), Opelika, ALFebruary 15, 2015
Advance America is really cracking down on each center getting 25 title loans per month, if you don't and you fall within the 10% you get written up. There's a lot of pressure at this point. On the up side my co-work is awesome, one team one dream in our motto, and that's to succeed.

1 2 3 4 5

About Advance America

Like any entrepreneurial venture, Advance America started as a business enterprise in 1997 to fulfill a marketplace need. In the – Read more

Advance America Photos

Advance America Salaries

Assistant Manager
$23,040 per year
Customer Service Representative
$9.75 per hour
Assistant Manager
$11.00 per hour
Call Center Manager
$30,000 per year
Customer Service Representative
$20,000 per year