Advance America Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun and competitive place to work
Center Manager (Former Employee) –  Detroit, MINovember 13, 2017
I absolutly loved working for Advance America the management team really cared about the team and comlany, what was the best for both and I was able to make a ton of money with them.
Pros
Money pit
Cons
outrageous goals
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good environment
Divisional Training Manager (Current Employee) –  Corpus Christi, TXNovember 12, 2017
Advance America is a good company to work for. Management treats you fairly as well as gives you the necessary tools to reach your goals. The environment feels like a family, and not just people you have met along the way.
Pros
Become close with your co workers
Cons
Hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stressful
Area Manager (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXNovember 8, 2017
working office alone with customers coming in, bank runs, deposits, collection calls and field calls to customer homes.
company was greedy in tring to get customers to rollover loans
did learn financial laws and practices
working with the public
did learn how to manage all office duties
Pros
none
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clean office setting, with many benifits
Office Manager (Current Employee) –  Muskegon, MINovember 7, 2017
Clean small office. Good pay, 7 paid holidays, vacation time, sick time, float days. I enjoy the people I work with. Your schedule is similar every week.
Pros
Time off, schedules, managers
Cons
Have to work certain days of the month
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Competitive salary, but undefined working hours
Analyst (Current Employee) –  Spartanburg, SCNovember 6, 2017
Overall, this is a good company to work for, but the working hours are not defined and you are expected to work weekends, if necessary. There may be a lot of changes over the next 18 months if the CFPB rules get enacted as published.
Pros
salary
Cons
work/life balance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoy
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Lorain, OHNovember 3, 2017
I enjoyed working with the girls I did at my location. We always worked together to make sure our job got done so we could leave on time each night. I liked that I didn't have to bring any work home.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cut-throat and Stressful
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  TexasNovember 3, 2017
They expect you to perform multiple job tasks with little to no support. They expect you to do your own marketing and will not pay for marketing. They do not offer bonuses, no matter how well you do. Their goals are extremely high and they are very pushy regarding meeting them. They micro manage to the extreme and do not pay enough for what they ask. The promote upper management fro the outside and do not higher people who understand the daily processes. It is unequal in upper management gender wise and and an overall stressful company to work for. They expect you to do the collections for them, aggressively. They did offer benefits, but they were just mediocre.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very stressful place to work
Cash teller, loan & collection officer (Former Employee) –  Willard, OHOctober 31, 2017
count money, prepare drawers for business, make collection calls, reminder calls, do payday loans, money gram. buy gold, do title loans, prepaid cards. for me it is extremely hard to demand money from someone that does not have it. When I started I loved my job worked with a very good manager and DDO. The hardest part of my job was the reason I left, I got a new manager that preformed bad loans broke the rules lied about it to management, also got a new DDO and because the rule breaker was the manager believed everything they said. I could not stay and work under those conditions, I follow the rules and I was not going to sit by and see the wrongs going on, I was not going to be part of it. I enjoyed the customers and being able to help them when they needed help.
Pros
Helping the customers with their needs
Cons
the lies, and breaking company policy that was going on under new management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
Center Manager (Former Employee) –  HoustonOctober 29, 2017
They are very unhappy people
If u are a minority with issues
They capitalize on weak people
If you are having issues
They will most definitely love you
Pros
You do t get nothing
Cons
They make you work off the clock
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Accountant Assistant (Former Employee) –  FloridaOctober 25, 2017
The company is very good and understanding to life's changes in events and will accommodate you. However, some store managers are very chatty in a teenage girl sense.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Springfield, MAOctober 25, 2017
The district manager is very two-faced, doesn't care about stepping on her employees to make herself look better, I would not recommend this job to anyone unless they were to make a change in their management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company for growth potential
anonymous (Current Employee) –  West Coast AreaOctober 23, 2017
This is a good company for people to grow in - from an entry level Customer Service Representative more executive positions. They have a comprehensive training program and advancement opportunities. A great place for anyone who's ever worked in the retail industry.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work is not being recognized by upper management or appreciated
Center Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Tallahassee, FLOctober 23, 2017
The job is rewarding because it allows me the opportunity to help those customers in financial need by offering the services provided by the company in a proficient manner.
Pros
close distance from home, work hours, dealing with customers
Cons
unsafe conditions, standing all day, short staffed, inconsistencies with upper management, no overtime allowed, not paid enough for the amount of work expected
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
love the company wish they had a company in atlanta
Assistant Manager/Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLOctober 22, 2017
love the company wish they had a company in atlanta. the pay was great awesome employees. the hardest of the part of the job is having to move and relocate.
Pros
good
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a friendly place to work
ASSISTANT MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Rialto, CAOctober 22, 2017
A bunch of young Hispanic females that are very cut throat. No one could make a clear decision with out getting approval from the DDO. They say your the manager of the office but your not. The DDO is the manager. She has these group of women scared they are going to loose their job if they happen to think for themselves.
Pros
Close to home
Cons
Hours suck
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quick pace enviornment
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Clarksville, TNOctober 21, 2017
Fast paced environment there was always something to do or learn. Great training offered. Very competitive environment with great marketing tools. Very professional and friendly place to work.
Pros
Friendly atmosphere and flexible schedule
Cons
Short lunch breaks, hard to advance positions
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Part time
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Davenport, IAOctober 17, 2017
I really didn't work here long enough to have an opinion about it. My manager was nice but that is really all I remember. I moved very shortly after taking this job
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Advance America
Assistant Manager, Notary, Tax Preparer (Former Employee) –  Anniston, ALOctober 16, 2017
I actually enjoyed working at my location, my manager was very nice and considerate of children( leaving early or changing off days ). We marketed daily which was fun if you went to the right business, we tried making friends and business partners with some local competitors and they were not to friendly and some businesses just did not approve of a payday loan. We were the only one in our division that was behind bullet proof glass so that made me feel very safe in case of a robbery or because sometimes we would get some very upset customers. The pay, in my opinion, starting out was very good but getting a $.71 cent raise in 4 years was not worth staying for. I had the intentions of finding another job that paid more towards the last few months I was there while finishing school online, but we ended up closing down surprisingly. Overall the company is good with paid time off and maternity leaves, but the pay does not change much unless you're above a manager.
Pros
Vacation, Floating Holidays, Sick Days, Maternity Leave, Off Sundays.
Cons
Not behind Bullet Proof Glass, Pay does not change much.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Mobile, ALOctober 16, 2017
I am current employed with Advance America for 7 years and 8 months. The typical day at work will be a busy day and productive day also. You can learn something new every day with an open mind and ready to work hard. The work place is easy going and relaxed. The most enjoyable part of the job is help a customer that is in need and the hardest part of the job is not be able to help a customer that is in need but you will always try to do best job at that time.
Pros
Enjoying your job
Cons
Equal pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a company
Employee (Former Employee) –  Tulsa, OKOctober 15, 2017
It's a job and you get paid for less than u deserve. If anything happens on management fault automatically employee gets the blame.
This company does not train properly
Pros
It pays
Cons
Mgmt does not care about employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Advance America. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 979 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.1
Compensation/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
2.9
Management
3.0
Culture
3.1