Advance America Employee Reviews in United States

Found 666 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Industry at a crossroad
Manager (Former Employee) –  Spartanburg, SCJuly 11, 2016
Overall a very interesting place to work. Recently proposed rules by the CFPB present a unique set of challenges for all lenders of this type.
Pros
A very good place to become familiar with short term consumer lending.
Cons
Advancement opportunities are limited to the future success of the industry.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Advance America was hard to work there
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Webster, TXJuly 11, 2016
Working at Advance America was easy but hard to work there. Easy because customer service was a big roll. Hard because you could get robbed at any moment. I did get robbed. Not much room for growth long work hours and days working by yourself all the time. The best time I had at work was when I was able to get out of the office and go market our business.
Pros
New ecperience
Cons
robberies
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Satifying
Assitant Manager (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLJuly 8, 2016
A typical day at Advance America consist of keying information into the computer and making outbound collection calls. The hardest part of the day is dealing with irate customers which is not so bad when you deal with good customers and to know you are actually helping.
Pros
Possibilities of Advancement
Cons
Breaks still filled work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too much bull sh** here not enough money
Who knows doing everybody job (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 30, 2016
This company SUCKS,they don't care about their employees it's all about money and the higher end get their bonuses,they will tell you that you will move up,having you working Manager position and you will still getting your regular pay nothing but mess all around can't trust no one
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Pay, hours, health insurance, milage pay gas went up smh wouldnt let my worst enemy work here
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
best job for stroke !!!
Center Manager (Former Employee) –  Montgomery, ALJune 30, 2016
Very horrible place to work the pay was great but putting up with customers who don't what to pay back there loan I was moved from one ghetto location to another my manager telling me that I was doin a good job then tell me his Boardman is telling him to fire me I worked so hard for this company I had a stroke came back to work an they fired me because loans where wrote wrong I was in hospital if u want a stroke then this is the company for u DDO was good person with alot on his plate snowball position an it rolls down alot.exit interview was great.
Pros
pay, holidays off
Cons
deadbeat customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very supportive company
Corporate Facilities Manager (Current Employee) –  Spartanburg, SCJune 30, 2016
I enjoy working at this company, great benefits and facility in Spartanburg is a great place to work. They provide you with whatever you need to do your job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace where you can grow
Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Claymont, DEJune 26, 2016
Helping customers with their financial needs. Following up on collection calls and remind calls. I learned how, to be a successful sales rep by offering products such as prepaid cards, money orders or money transfers.
Pros
late start of the day, marketing, and one day off during the week
Cons
working every weekend, and a lot of testing
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A job that keeps you on your toes
MANAGER (Current Employee) –  Laplace, LAJune 25, 2016
Overall, I have thoroughly enjoyed my experience at Advance America. They gave me a great opportunity to start my career when not to me others would after I finished college. I became a manager in 2006 and have been entrenched in that position since. Providing service to the community gives me great joy however, the expectations in regards to growth and meeting profitability goals can be a bit challenging. Overall, I've learned to stay positive and give a full effort everyday while earning the appropriate results.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work to get your foot in the financial business
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Spartanburg, SCJune 11, 2016
Good place to work to learn a lot about collections and lending. This company gives you plenty of training. Also they are very open to advancement with the company. There is a lot to do for the company and they are strict and expect a lot from you. Honestly the pay should be higher for what they expect of you and how strict they are.
Pros
Company takes care of their employees and you learn alot
Cons
Strict and pay should be higher for what is expected of you
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLJune 11, 2016
I enjoyed building a relationship with the customers and my co-workers.

In management paying attention to detail is very important, a small mistake could mess up your score or p&l's for the month.

Revenue was very important, marketing was important because it help bring in new revenue
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun company to work for.
Customer Service Loan Representative (Former Employee) –  Gibraltar, MIJune 8, 2016
I love the customer service aspect of working in a tanning salon. I have mad so many great contacts through my outstanding customer service. I like making people feel good about themselves and helping them enhance their self confidence through their body image.
Was this review helpful?YesNo4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
relaxed environment, minimal supervision, fun atmosphere
Assistant Manager/ Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Waterford, MIJune 8, 2016
An average place to work, breaks and vacation time provided, employer willing to work around schedule if personal time was needed. Quiet environment.
Pros
breaks, vacation schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
banking duties (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNJune 7, 2016
Banking duties (Validated Deposit Log, and Deposit Tracking) and Review End of Day Procedures such as; (Scheduling Ach's, Deposits and MoneyGram Transmission)
Pros
N/A
Cons
N/A
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was not at Advance America long enough to really tell how I liked it
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Reidsville, NC 27320May 29, 2016
Took payments, did filing of new customers. Wish I could have worked longer, before it went out of business. I think I would have enjoyed it.
Pros
Always had something to do
Cons
Needed more business
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Charleston, SCMay 25, 2016
Checkmax is a wonderful company to grow with. The company was sold and brought out. Working at this company I process loans cash handling and more. Met new people
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
CSR (Current Employee) –  Toledo, OHMay 23, 2016
A typical day at advance america is collection calls and customers service selling company products. I have learned how to communicate a lil better in sells. I love my coworkers we have a great relationship.The hardest part of the job is working under staff But what I enjoy most is being able to help the customers and solving any problems they may encounter
Pros
HOLIDAY PAY, SICK DAYS, AND VACATION PAY
Cons
BONUSES ONLY GO TO MANAGEMENT.NO 401K
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Coshocton, OHMay 22, 2016
The job as a customer service representative is pretty basic. The company itself isn't terrible. The pay could be better. The computers and systems are outdated. The internet connection is always terrible. My coworkers are the only thing that make the day go by. Some days are extremely slow with only one or two customers coming in. There's always a chance to get out of the office though. Marketing is a major part of being a csr.
Pros
Easy job
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unprofessional workplace
Teller / CSR (Current Employee) –  Orange Park, FLMay 22, 2016
I have ONE manager that I have some respect for. Other than that, It's a very unprofessional work place. It is a very stressful environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very stressfull
Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  South CarolinaMay 19, 2016
I worked for this company for 6 1/2 yrs, as time went on it became a very stressful job. The demand to bring in new customers was incredible. The DDO in charge is very rude and somewhat mean and degrading to the employees, everyone was quitting including myself, but Corporate does not do anything to remove her. There was no recognition at all when your doing a good job number wise, But you get chewed out when your not doing well. My health was more important than this job. Nothing like self employment.
Pros
Great hours
Cons
Stressfull, Security not very good. Pay isnt that great either and District Mgr not very nice to employees
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Assitant Manager
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  South CarolinaMay 17, 2016
When it comes to the payday loan industry, Advance America is the best out there. The managers knows the ins and out of the company. The promote from within.

The only thing that I didn't like was the hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 668 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.1
Compensation/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.0
Culture
3.1