Advance America Employee Reviews in United States

Found 637 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company to work for but very stressful, little oppotrunity for advancement
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Crowley, LANovember 9, 2015
opening and closing center
cash management
processing new and inactive loans
upper managment comes down hard on you, even if you are not the manager and not getting paid for the work that you are doing
customers are really great
implement changes without any advance notice
Pros
nice people in the centers
Cons
stress, upper managment comes down hard on you
Was this review helpful?Yes9No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
disappointed in management
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Opelika, ALMay 8, 2016
I have learned a lot with this company. I really like working for them and my co workers are great. I just wish the management would stay true the promises they give their employees. They always tell me how great of a job I am doing just haven't received any rewards that management has promised time after time. I also feel a bit over worked and used because of broken promises.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Postive and motivating.
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Columbus, MSMarch 31, 2016
Working with Advance America was a great experience. The co-workers were very polite and willing to help out at anytime. I enjoyed being employed with Advance America because I was able to learn a lot and it aloud me to interact with people different personalities in a professional way and I was able to set a positive atmosphere for the customer.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a very pleasant job
manager (Former Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LAMay 14, 2015
Calling clients that don't have to money to pay after they have charged off, constant collection calls daily. Managers are expected to market daily for new business in payday loans and title loans and only so much marketing you can do because you can't force anyone to take out a loan and management does not understand that. Senior management leads with fear and intimidation and is not motivating to the employees. The co-workers were nice and the hardest part of the job was work life balance and senior management does not allow managers to lead like managers. The only enjoyable part of the job was meeting and talking with the clients.
Pros
clients and co-workers
Cons
hours, to many duties and not enough time to get completed.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
management sucks
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJanuary 21, 2016
NEEDS NEW MANAGEMENT
Favoritism rules, the csm do as they please and leaves ALL of their work for the assistants and CSRs
Pros
paid holiday
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly environment with great clientele
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAJanuary 26, 2016
Job load was well balanced between co-workers. I learned about bank depositing, how to do end of day paperwork, and how to balance safe. Out supervisor was very down to earth and realistic. He was always more of a coach teaching us new ways to collect without feeling like we are stalking out clients. Hardest part of my job was having to go in on Saturdays. I loved the clients we had, they would sometimes bring us gifts.
Pros
Gifts and lunch from clients.
Cons
Having to work late hours on weekends.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too Much Favortism
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Darlington SCAugust 14, 2015
Too much favoritism that goes on with the managers. Worked for this company for nine years. Never felt appreciated and no room for advancement with this company.
Pros
good benefits OK pay
Cons
bad managers no room for advancement. Nobody on same page.
Was this review helpful?Yes13No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to work for a paycheck
Assistant manager (Former Employee) –  Columbiana, ALMarch 7, 2016
It's an ok place to work for a paycheck. However, there are too many cons to the company. I think overall the reason I didn't like working there was due to what the job is. I did not like putting people into loans that I knew they could not get out of. I did love being able to interact with all of the customers on a daily basis. And I loved my manager. She is a great person.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Many responsibilities.
Center Manager (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXDecember 8, 2015
Company changed to sales and marketing. Required more going out of the store to market product. New responsibilities were added without compensation. Staffing is an issue.
Pros
Work hours
Cons
Compensation doesn't match the with job requirements. Underpaid
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rip Off
Customer Service Representative Lead (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAAugust 30, 2015
Management sucks. They didn't understand work/life balance. They should advertise they want singles only. Didn't understand about employees having a family and things happen.
Pros
hrs
Cons
healthcare, short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes19No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy job, but stay aware
Customers Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Montgomery, ALJanuary 28, 2016
This job is easy but some expectations are unrealistic. When you don't get all of the money you loaned out back, they assume you didn't do your job. They will believe the customer word over yours, even if they are lying. If you like marketing, this job will be a breeze for you. A lot of unnecessary paperwork.
Pros
Easy center work
Cons
expects you to approve everyone and get the money back...from everyone
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLJune 11, 2016
I enjoyed building a relationship with the customers and my co-workers.

In management paying attention to detail is very important, a small mistake could mess up your score or p&l's for the month.

Revenue was very important, marketing was important because it help bring in new revenue
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun company to work for.
Customer Service Loan Representative (Former Employee) –  Gibraltar, MIJune 8, 2016
I love the customer service aspect of working in a tanning salon. I have mad so many great contacts through my outstanding customer service. I like making people feel good about themselves and helping them enhance their self confidence through their body image.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical day in a typical job
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Findlay, OHOctober 7, 2015
A typical day begins at 9:30 with opening procedures including balancing safes, building cash drawers and running reports. With that done we begin calls, past due, write off and inactive customers. We do this 2 to 3 times daily. We also call reminders for those customers due into our center the following day. As a team we share duties as while one is making calls, another may be marketing door to door or visiting business partners. Customers of course come first, if we have a heavy customer day the other duties may go undone. The most difficult part of my job is seeing hard working people trying to make ends meet the only way they can and that is loaning with us. We offer small loans due on pay days and auto title loans. We also offer Money Gram services, a pre paid visa card, Federal and State tax preparation and check cashing. The most enjoyable part is the team I work beside. They are fun, kindly, good people. Makes going to work a pleasure. The corporate company is not so employee friendly, promises broken, equipment is not always functional and often unrealistic in the goals set for each center, not taking demographics into consideration.
Pros
It is my job and I am thankful for that
Cons
low pay, no advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes20No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All about numbers
Center Branch Manager (Former Employee) –  Fresno, CAAugust 1, 2015
I have learned a lot working for this company, however, it is not a company I wish to pursue a Career in.
There is not a lot of room for Advancement, Also, I feel a lot of the upper Management plays favoritism and it is not fair across the company.
Was this review helpful?Yes10No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Office Manager (Former Employee) –  Winfield, ALAugust 5, 2015
Advance America is a standout in the payday loan industry. They care about their employees and they are very well compensated for the job that is required. A typical day at work was making sure that we provided the best customer service possible to our customers. I absolutely loved my job with this company. Upper management were a great group of individuals who would do anything that they could to help. As new products and services began to roll out, they always made sure that we had the best training possible. They are a great company to work for. The most enjoyable part of the job were my customers and meeting new people.
Pros
Great pay and a great environment to work in
Was this review helpful?Yes5No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
relaxed environment, minimal supervision, fun atmosphere
Assistant Manager/ Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Waterford, MIJune 8, 2016
An average place to work, breaks and vacation time provided, employer willing to work around schedule if personal time was needed. Quiet environment.
Pros
breaks, vacation schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work life balance hard to manage
Branch Manager (Former Employee) –  AlabamaSeptember 29, 2015
Hire respectful and professional managers. My suggestion is to teach diversity in the work place and add team building to the business model. Also, more flexibility in work hours and vacation scheduling would help to make this a great place to work
Pros
nice customers
Cons
this is a hard employers to work for. Management watch you on camera through out the day, there is little trust.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Branch Manager (Former Employee) –  Fredericksburg, VANovember 18, 2015
Advance Amercia was a wonderful company. There was not a great work/life balance. Worked with a lot of great people.It was easy to excel within the company.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical day
CENTER SALES MANAGER (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXMay 5, 2016
Cash handling, processing loans and collecting. The hardest part of the job is to collect and get new customers in. Also there are lots of regulations that make it harder for the business to grow. The pay is okay when you compare to the competitors
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Advance America. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 640 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture