Advance America Employee Reviews

Found 834 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't- unless you have to.
Assistant Branch Manager (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ALApril 6, 2017
Ethics, job security, moral ineptitude. Just don't.
Usually bored. Work with desperate clients. Pay and benefits are atrocious for the security risks you take. Tasks requested by management are not adequately resourced or funded.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very stressful
Center Sales Manager (Current Employee) –  VirginiaApril 5, 2017
This job is about helping people when they are in a financial situation. I enjoy working with money and my customers are great. It is a lot of paperwork and you have to be able to deal with change. Change in this company comes very fast. The hours does not go with the work that you have to do on a daily basis.
Pros
Healthcare coverage and no long work hours on weekends
Cons
A lot of cold collection calls.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work.
Center Manager (Former Employee) –  Detroit, MIApril 4, 2017
I absolutely love Advance America. I would encourage anyone to apply with them. Great management teams. Great store to store communication. Full Benefits.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Napa, CAApril 4, 2017
Direct in store manager was amazing and always made the work environment fun. However the company itself is a company that does not care about their employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fast Paced Employment
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Copperas Cove, TXApril 3, 2017
A typical day at work included may reports, many customers, and an immense amount of cash handling. I learned the skills of an office manager and how to read profit and loss reports. I enjoyed working in such a vast culture of people and different views. As a part of the management team, I enjoyed working with various people and learning many new ways of thinking and processing problems. Overall, Advance America is very good company to work for. The only thing that I can say negative is that it is not easy to advance within the company. Someone has to leave or be willing to locate across the country to advance.
Pros
Competitive Salary
Cons
Career Advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company but need improvements on their management teams
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Durant, OKApril 3, 2017
The customers are the most enjoyable part of the job. The RDOs and above are very friendly. However, the direct supervisors are often negative and fail to be motivating to their teams.
Pros
Great bonus potential
Cons
Poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Center Manager in Training (Current Employee) –  Fort Mill, SCMarch 29, 2017
A typical day at work is very busy stressful tiring and much more that cant even be described. I would not recommend anyone to work here. The pay is not worth it.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved This Job
Manager (Former Employee) –  Cedar Falls, IAMarch 28, 2017
Advance America is probably one of the best and most reputable cash advance places in the country, which is a hard label to maintain when there are so many other trashy places.
Pros
Great freedom for leadership
Cons
Collection Calls
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice co-workers and nice enviorment, hours not for single parents.
Manager in Training (Current Employee) –  KYMarch 25, 2017
Pretty new employee. Everyone I have met from several offices are very nice and helpful. The enviroment is friendly. The drawback I see is the hours. It sounds nice that most days you don't go in till after 9, but you don't get off till 6 & 7 on Friday. By the time I get home I don't want to cook supper(thank goodness it's just me)it's time for bed before long. Overall it's a good place to be it seems.
Pros
Enviornment, benifits, pay
Cons
Hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Advance america
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Clarksville, TNMarch 25, 2017
Advance America had a lot of wonderful qualities about working there. It was almost always a friendly environment dealing with a lot of customer interaction. Management was friendly, and they work very hard to stay current.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Advance america review summary
Marketing business to business (Current Employee) –  Fresno, CAMarch 23, 2017
nice company to work for if your a student or need a part time job i would recommended to a young individual who needs to get cash experience but not for someone who is looking to get ahead in life ..
Pros
flexible hours
Cons
horrible training no help when need it
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Need better protection like security
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Trussville, ALMarch 21, 2017
Working for this company was good. I met a lot of good peoples. Managing this job was good. I did not like collecting bad checks but
it was part of my job. The security could have been better.
Pros
Good Job
Cons
Need better security for night workers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work as a manager
Manager (Former Employee) –  Merrill, WIMarch 20, 2017
At Advance America I was responsible for everyday operations. Created loans, collection calls, auditing, bank deposits and managing one other co worker. I also did Western Union and check cashing, along with trying to sell the Purpose card debit card.
Pros
Picked my own schedule with limitaions
Cons
too slow
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Columbia, SCMarch 20, 2017
My job was to help people that came into our store with payday loans or advances on their checks. I enjoyed meeting new people from different places, because some of them were traveling nurses that were there for six(6) months. It wasn't what you did, but how you did it. Always with a smile on my face and a pleasant personality.
Pros
Friendly people, and coworkers
Cons
Gas price
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst Place I ever worked
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Starkville, MSMarch 19, 2017
I worked with this company for almost a year and management is horrible. I had two managers that constantly picked at me.. every little thing i did wrong i was picked at constantly moved to different centers back and forth for two months it seem like i could never get anything right or do any thing right. I had a manger threaten my job over something i had nothing to do with. i wouldn't recommend to work for this company in my area.
Cons
Managment
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging Work Enviroment
Center Manager (Current Employee) –  Myrtle Beach, SCMarch 16, 2017
After years of hard work and loyalty, and promises of a promotion to District Manager- the promotion never came. I felt that my tireless efforts and unwavering loyalty were taken for granted.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Culture
Divisional Director of Operations (Current Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKMarch 14, 2017
I am not sure why you make a minimum character count on a review when most things can be summed up in as little as one sentence. This company is not pro management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Learning Experience
Customer Service Rep (Former Employee) –  Orange Park, FLMarch 14, 2017
I had never heard of Advanced america until i got a phone call from them for an interview. I loved how friendly everyone there was, and it was a great learning experience too! They taught me so many tools that i still use today.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This job
CSR - Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Wetumpka, ALMarch 12, 2017
Has been one of the hardest jobs mentally I have ever worked at. I am looking so something different and more flexible so I can spend more time with my son.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job.
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Horn Lake, MSMarch 10, 2017
This is a great place to work. The only reason I'm even considering leaving is for the opportunity to earn more income. I have enjoyed my time here, but the journey is not yet complete.
Pros
Opportunity to Learn
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Advance America. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 837 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.1
Compensation/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
2.9
Management
3.0
Culture
3.1