Find companies:
Advance America
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
516 reviews

Advance America Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Goal orientated work environment
Store Manager (Former Employee), McAllen, TXApril 14, 2015
Pros: Lot of learning
Cons: No or very small bonus
Review results of last day/week, and analyze the P&L reports to determine the course of action.

A typical day at work involved some of these procedures:

Verifying funds, banking, assign drawers/safe, collection calls.

New accounts: application, enter information on system, gather paperwork, create/organize physical file, explain all legal/mandatory documents and contracts, deliver funds.

Marketing of store: calls to inactive accounts, go out with business partners and look for new ways to bring customers in.

Account maintenance: Calls to customers to remind of payments and call past due accounts.

Store closing: deassign drawer, safe, count, balance, deposit, alarm.

I learned to look at the overall business to be able to get to the ultimate goal of profit.

The hardest part of the job was having ideas to improve the system and difficult to make any changes since Advance America is a very big corporation.

The most enjoyable part of the job is getting to build a relationship with business partners and customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and learning enviroment for a place work
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Reno, NVApril 12, 2015
Pros: Experience in accounts payable and recievable, also experience in collections and taxes
Cons: Unable to help customers who do not want to work with the company to close their accounts
A typical day at work starting with morning duties; I come in and see if there is a deposit from previous work day. If there is I take that to the bank. I then proceed with assembling morning reports. These reports consist of prior work day numbers such as how many transaction took place and how money has come in and gone out. After putting these reports together and putting them in the managers folder. The doors then open to the public and proceed with assisting customers in either qualifying for a pay day loan of an installment loan, we also maintain customers accounts and folders. Also collection – more... calls are made; these consist of customers whose accounts have gone bad and or past due. At the end of day closing the center drawers are counted a deposit is put together if there is any. I have learned how to look at pay stubs and bank statements and know what financial proprieties are in these papers. Also how it important it is to get customer information correctly. I have learned more importantly how the center is ran and maintained through revenue and expenses. The hardest part of this job is telling a customer that they do not qualify for any loans. The most enjoyable part of this job is building a relationship with our customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
iwas always stressed out they were wishy washy company
Assistant Office Manager (Former Employee), Monroeville, ALApril 8, 2015
Pros: i was promoted with in 60 days of employment, job was easy, in the officce the co workers were great if youcould get them to come to work
Cons: supervisor and dm was neither one very good to work for
a typical day at this place I was usually working alone employees would always be late or absent , we were always busy which I liked that part but I would get over whelmed due to the fact id be alone when I needed some one to help me clear the office in a timely manor, the supervisor at the time I did not approve of her ways I had an emergency my kid went missing at the school one day and of course my co worker wasn't there and I needed to leave and she told me that I would be fired if I left the office during business hours she was very demanding and very disrespectful and she didn't have kids so she had no clue how to handle situations for co worker who had small kids . the co worker would not answer her phone and of course I had no relief so I was stuck in that office to worry where my 5 yr old child was or what had happened . finally after 5 hours hunting him they finally called me back n told me that they had found him but shortly she was terminated
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Advance Payday Loan Company
Accounting Associate (Former Employee), Spartanburg, SCApril 8, 2015
Pros: I liked the company and my work.
Cons: Do not show appreication for the employees.
Verify daily deposit at the centers and a file from the bank. Researching any variances. Helping with mail. Updated over short reports at the end of month. Learning new Point Of Sale systems. The management team was up to date. I worked well all of the co-workers. I enjoyed the team working together. The hardest part was expecting to be perfect. The most enjoyable part was the satisfaction of balancing an account.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productivity and work environment
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Columbus, MSApril 3, 2015
I enjoy the work environment with Advance America. A typical day is meeting new people and being able to take care of that customer. We all work together to meet the customers needs. I've learned alot with Advance America as far as financial management and customer service skills. My co-workers are wonderful if there's anything someone needs help with we work together and make sure that we're all on the same page as far as new products and different transactions. The hardest part about the job is our most busy days when your trying to make sure you give each customer their one on one time with you. We strive to make sure everyone is taking care of and leaves the store happy. Which goes back to the great teamwork we all work together to make sure we have seen all of our customers. The most enjoyable of the job is working for a company thats considerate of your well being and shows aprreciation for your hard work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't work here if you have a life beyond the job
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Navarre, FLApril 2, 2015
Pros: Very active and up-beat work environment for those people who like staying busy
Cons: Too many hours, too little reward for very hard work
I've never had a job that was as stressful and exhausting as this one was. My hair literally started falling out from the work overload. Hours are never set, will be changed without notice and you have to work when they say or be let go. You're never at one store because people are constantly quitting the company and you're asked to work in numerous counties all in the same week or even different stores on the same day. Overall a very unhappy place to be.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Corporate has very strange attendance requirements, good benefits, seems easy to progress in company
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Nelsonville, OHApril 2, 2015
Mainly collection calls. Manager of my branch is very understanding of the fact we are humans. Mostly rewarding, however it can take quite a toll on you at the same time. Many people with terrible sad stories that youre forced to collect on by corporate. Good benefits, periodic raises, bonuses on paychecks, quick to start earning time off. On the whole its a pretty decent company to work for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible experience
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Richmond, VAApril 1, 2015
I would never recommend working for this company neither to patronize it. Long hours, terrible pay, management was rude to employees and customers...need I say more.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cheap company, hard schedule
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Peoria,ILMarch 31, 2015
Pros: Medical benefits
Cons: Pay, hours
The pay is very low and their raises are ridiculous. Even for a management position. The hours are long and hard, including weekends and holidays rotation. Benefits such as medical was decent.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I am grateful for the knowledge and experience I gained here, but I need to go another direction in my life now.
Assistant Manager/Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Jackson, MSMarch 30, 2015
Pros: contests for meeting certain goals, free lunches on certain busy Fridays, gift cards for Christmas
Cons: health insurance too expensive for little coverage, not enough pay for amount of responsibility, bonus program was too complicated, stores were never fully staffed the entire time I was there
*A typical day at Advance America was full of customer service, collections, sales, marketing and whatever else the Divisional or Regional Director(s) may have sent through the e-mail system for us to do. It started around 8:30 or 9:00 am and ended around 6:30 pm with an hour lunch in between. We would come in and verify funds on checks that were past due and then start making calls to customers who were either past due on their title or payday loans. Each person had a different group to call. In the meantime, we would answer calls and provide customers service to customers in the store. We – more... would balance our drawers three times a day always making sure they balanced to the panny. When days were slow one or two of us would go marketing or to make field calls.

*I definitely learned a lot from this company. It gave me an opportunity to further perfect my collections and customer service skills, learn to do outside marketing, get some sales experience, loan processing, gain some experience in management, learn about revenue and receivables, learn more about bankruptcy laws and other laws which govern these types of businesses and many other things. The list just goes on and on.

*My co-workers were great, for the most part. I believe any time you put five females in an office for ten hours a day five days a week that there are going to be personality differences but we always made it. I think the different personalities may have been what helped us to work as a team better sometimes.

*The hardest part of the job, to me, was having to put somebody's account in the negative who had been a great customer for years and the only reason they were not able to pay on time was because of a tragedy or a terrible hardship.

*The most enjoyable part of the job was, by far, the customers. I love customer service and collections and this gave me a great opportunity to do both in the same job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Advance America was a productive and satisfying place to work.
Branch Manager (Former Employee), Bradley, ILMarch 26, 2015
Typical day was to open center make bank deposits, customer service, collections, filing, auditing files, scheduling, open and close of loans and etc. I've learned a lot from Advance America, but most of all, that is where I have learned all my management and customers service skills. As a center manager I never really had to deal with upper management but when I did, all members of management was respectful and professional. As, for co- workers I did hire a few throughout my 16 years of service and they challenged me on a few things but they were great. Co- workers throughout our division I got along with everyone and they were very helpful at times. The hardest part of my job was accepting change. I couldn't see past why are procedures would change and than later return back to our old procedure. Eventually, as the years past I started to realize that change is good and can better not only the company but the overall business and its employees. The most enjoyable part of my job was my customer relationships. They trusted me and came to me for advice. I recall many conversation about kids, school, work and etc. I miss them truly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Performer
DIVISIONAL DIRECTOR OF OPERATIONS (Former Employee), MississippiMarch 25, 2015
I loved my job and was a top performer in the company.

I was respected by coworkers, subordinates, supervisors and Corporate personnel.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive office job
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Modesto, CAMarch 22, 2015
A typical day at work included making phone calls, keeping the work area clean, assisting customers, running to the bank, and filing. I learned how to provide excellent customer service, handle the cash register, do collection calls, cash checks, test gold, give out loans and offer additional products.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My overall experience
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Benton Harbor, MIMarch 22, 2015
Pros: great benefits
Cons: preparing tax returns
A typical day of work for me would be to make collection calls, print daily paperwork, assist customers with financial needs, make business partners, promote business with flyers, sell additional products, create schedules, and maintain center cleanliness.

I have learned how to prepare tax returns, meet required goals, work with a lobby full of customers, and be patient.

I was promoted from assistant manager to manager in a month and I performed all duties with exceptional service.

My co workers and I made a great team and all of our customers enjoyed us being very nice and patient with them.

The hardest part of my job is if our computers stopped working, we would have to complete everything manually.

The most enjoyable part of my job was working with our customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Area Management
Branch Manager (Former Employee), AZMarch 20, 2015
Area Management understanding and willing to work with staff regarding family life balance as well as training. Growth expected but fair.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced work enironment with a variety of product lines to offer customers on a daily and seasonal basis, pleasant office environment
CENTER MANAGER (Current Employee), Lansing, MIMarch 18, 2015
Fast paced work environment with a variety of product lines to offer customers on a daily and seasonal basis, pleasant office environment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not good
Manager (Former Employee), Kalamazoo, MIMarch 18, 2015
Pros: no comment
Cons: no comment
For the type of business that they are they do very well. Rates should be lower and loan pay back should be revamped. Company should focus more on economy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very sales driven
AREA MANAGER (Former Employee), Lake Charles, LAMarch 17, 2015
Pros: schedule
Cons: sales quota
The name of the game is sales with this company. The more revenue you collect on a monthly basis in addition to lessening the amount that charges off gives you a greater chance at a bigger bonus check at the end of the month.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional and intelligent work staff very helpful
Divisional Training Manager (Current Employee), Madison, WIMarch 17, 2015
Pros: Co workers
Cons: Health care limits
Our day is structured in a way that allows flexibility that will give a advantage for completing daily tasks by manner of importance and change.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive company with many ideas on expanding.
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Beloit, WIMarch 17, 2015
Fast pace work load. Had a lot of opportunities to meet new, friendly people. Only a few workers in the center. Helped me better my time management and task importance.

About Advance America

Like any entrepreneurial venture, Advance America started as a business enterprise in 1997 to fulfill a marketplace need. In the – Read more

Advance America Salaries

Customer Service Associate
$10.01 per hour
Assistant Manager
$24,000 per year
$11.00 per hour
Call Center Manager
$30,000 per year
Customer Service Associate
$22,900 per year

Advance America Photos

We're looking for customer service oriented employees that can connect with our customers.
One of the top reasons employees love Advance America is helping our customers!
Advance America supports community involvement. We support over 100 organizations.