Find companies:
Advance America
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
391 reviews

Advance America Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
still employed
Manager (Current Employee), Roanoke, ALJuly 27, 2014
a typical day at work consist of marketing, phone calls, collection calls, treating customers with respect, handling any customer issues, preparing deposits, daily paperwork, weekly audits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job
Certified Sales Representative (Former Employee), Visalia, CAJuly 25, 2014
Customer Service, cash handling, bank deposit, contracts, filing, closing and opening store. The co-workers dressed well and were always on time. The hardest part was not be able to communicate with foreign customers. I enjoyed being in a office and going to seminars.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
demanding and fast past job
Center Manager (Former Employee), Glasgow, KYJuly 24, 2014
On daily basis we opened and number one priorty was to wait on customers, then we made collection calls, worked organize files. I reviewed numbers to see where my goals are and where I needed to be in relation to the goals. I had to make sales to customers from the addition products we offered. I marketed daily and made business contacts to increase – more... customer base. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning experience
Center Manager (Former Employee), Peoria, ILJuly 22, 2014
Pros: advancement
Cons: health care
Typical work day was from open to close. Sometimes six days a week. Learned that with hard work they love to promote within and give you every chance to advance. Co workers are team players and a joy to be around.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience to Work at a BANK
Customer Service Rep (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLJuly 22, 2014
The people You work with are great. No work life balance you have to do your own marketing, banking and do you own collections. This is difficult when you have to see those same people that you are required to call every single day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
they are terrible
assistant manager (Former Employee), cheyene and laramie wyJuly 14, 2014
Cons: management
This company is run so terrible there training is terrible there management is worthless don't waste your time or effort it would be better to be poor than work here
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Co-workers and a wonderful work environement
Bilingual Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Lawton, OKJuly 10, 2014
Pros: good pay
Cons: not very organized
I loved working at Advance America. My day consisted of customer service, cashiering and organizing. Managment was ok, I was at a store where there was no set manager in place. The hardest part of my job was dealing with impatient customers and their horrible remarks. The most enjoyable part of my job was helping customer get what they need.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great stepping stone but pay too little for amount of work.
Branch Manager (Current Employee), Perrysburg, OHJuly 9, 2014
Pros: diverse customer base, excellent upper management
Cons: large amount of work for little pay, inadequate benefits, and holiday blackouts
A typical day at work would be the normal, assist customers, cash handling, collection calls, bank runs, marketing, and filling out tons of paperwork. Every day I would have to track numbers to see how far the center was awayfrom making revenue and sales goals. Then formulate an effective marketing plan to help boost sales by increasing visibility, – more... shop competitors, create business partners, blitz neighborhoods with hundreds of marketing bags, etc. Then, train and coach my staff to maintain quality of customer paperwork and files in the center, train new employees for the division. Answer calls for the DDO is he/she was unavailable. Of course, there were tons and tons of logs that would have to be filled out and sent to the DDO everyday.

Then, when a new product rolls out the work increases even more and the pay and benefits do not. Also, the "bonuses" are mostly unattainable and small for the effort that has to be put in to even dream of reaching it consistently. Long hours and the work to life balance is really hard to deal with. There is a black out from November to the end of February where employees cannot take vacation time to spend with their families around the holidays. The health benefits are extremely expensive and the co-pays are too high (but I like a challenge).

However, the management was not bad. The DDO was fantastic and very supportive. The DDO and RDO both had a coaching style of management and great leadership, even if sales expectations were set too high for the amount of pay. The center staff is great to work with and make it enjoyable to come to work, customers too. Overall, this company is a great stepping stool to something better but could use some improvement in how they treat their employees which are there greatest assets. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Lubbock, TXJuly 9, 2014
It's a good job especially when you work so well with your co workers and a boss that is always so positive makes life easier.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Day in the neighborhood
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Exmore, VAJuly 7, 2014
Pros: bonus incentives
Cons: short-handed in employees
A typical day at work begins with phone calls, making sure customers are helped, and paperwork is completed. I've learned about all the products we offer: prepaid cards, taxes, payday and title loans, and money gram services. I have been able to take on management responsibilities and I get a long with my co-workers. The hardest part of my job is to – more... make sure all work is completed..we are short-handed but we seem to get things done. The most enjoyable part of my job is when I've listened to the customers wants and was able to supply them with the right product to satisfy their need. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun work place
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZJuly 7, 2014
Pros: monthly luncheons/ meetings. hands on marketing
Cons: short breaks, long hours
A typical day at work was very fast paced fun environment. Serviced guested that came in for a payday loan or check cashing. Processed all daily cash deposits. Contacted outstanding accounts.

I learned how to accurately process cash drawers and safes totaling more than $10,000. I learned how to manage other employees, I learned how to problem solve – more... and lead other employees by example.

The hardest part of my job was the sympathy I felt for guests at times in their financial hardships/

The most enjoyable part of the job was working for a great District Manager, servicing guests weekly, getting to know them and their spouses/ children . – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hmmm....
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Wilmington, DEJuly 2, 2014
Pros: meeting new people
Cons: everything else..
Its an ok job for starting out in the field of I guess loans but the people are fine its internal that sucks.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Administrative/Clerical
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Orlando, FLJune 26, 2014
 Processes youth admissions
 Performs the function of master control operator
 Data Entry
 Spreadsheets
 Time Management
 Enter Invoices via QuickBooks
 Process Medical Records
 Switchboard (40+ lines)
 Mail Sort
 Admin/Clerical
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work. Enjoy working with the customers very pleasant and friendly.
csr (Current Employee), MemphisJune 20, 2014
Pros: customers relations
Cons: job security, opportunity to advance
Store manager is very friendly and attentive to customer needs. Goes above and beyond for customer satisfaction. Customers are usually happy and satisfied that they chose our company to do business with
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cash loans
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), ksJune 17, 2014
Pros: hour lunch
worked from 9am till 6pm, learned the system with collections, bad debt and helping customers obtain cash advances.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wouldnt recommend especially if you have small children and a family
Assistant Manager Floater (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INJune 16, 2014
Enjoy working with some co workers. Management didn't care about their employees just their to give orders. Schedule work day was fine.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok Job
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Carson, CAJune 14, 2014
Help Customers
It's an ok company to work for
It's easy job, you get to do some fun things
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work Enviroment
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Orlando, FLJune 12, 2014
Amazing coworkers & our customers made our day exciting and very interesting.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful Place to work
CSR (Current Employee), LouisianaJune 9, 2014
Cons: everything about the job
OMG the paper work is ridiculous and they want you to do house calls for delinquent accounts( NOT SAFE AT ALL Especially for Women) Management is crazzzzyyy Expectations are unreal......
Someone should have warned me!!!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Productive work place . Excellent Training up to date Tech.
Center Manager (Former Employee), Hobart, INJune 9, 2014
Pros: vacation sick days
Cons: healthcare
Excellent place to work until change of company. Process in buying Gold and working with Acid Chemical

About Advance America

Like any entrepreneurial venture, Advance America started as a business enterprise in 1997 to fulfill a marketplace need. In the – Read more

Advance America Photos