Find companies:
Advance America
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
343 reviews

Advance America Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and demanding work place
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLJanuary 27, 2014
A typical day was coming into the store at 0800 to being your daily paperwork and making phone calls. Reminding customers of due dates and keeping in touch regarding delinquent accounts. You get to know extremely interesting people and enjoy working with your team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management, no care for employees.
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Murray, KYJanuary 25, 2014
Pros: healthcare
Cons: breaks, vacation time, management
Management definitely plays favorites. What's fine for one employee is unacceptable for the next. Rules and policies are changed often, sometimes enforced, other times ignored. Things are promised to employees and never given. The management team does NOT care about the happiness or well-being of employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
CSR/Assistant Manager in Training (Current Employee), Jacksonville, FLJanuary 24, 2014
My review of the company is pretty neutral. I feel in some ways they underpaid there employees and as much as we do, we tend to get under paid. I love the people i work with and i love my customers but its just the pay that gets me and makes me want to move on.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Uncomfortable Work Enviroment
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Houston, TXJanuary 23, 2014
Pros: good benefits, one-hour lunch breaks
Cons: bad management
A typical day at work was pretty unpredictable working for Advance America. I worked here for about four months and did not enjoy it very much. A typical day at work included my usual job responsibilities like making phones calls to customers, giving out cash loans, etc., but the management for the store I worked for was not so pleasant. The manager – more... was a bit emotionally unstable and mainly took her bad days out on me. I felt very uncomfortable and nervous most of the time because I never knew when I was going to get yelled out for not apparent reason. My manager was my only other co-worker, so it was impossible to avoid her. I'd say that the hardest part about this job would most definitely be the management. I learned a lot working here about how to provide someone a loan and cash, but I also learned that not everyone can be nice. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working environment inside of the office
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Hattiesburg, MSJanuary 15, 2014
Pros: working environment
Cons: field calls
I was really excited about working with Advance America when I was first hired. I enjoyed the work I was being trained to do and I loved the work environment. However, they implemented field calls into my job description after a few months of working there. Field calls are when you go out to customer's homes and jobs for collection purposes. I decided – more... it was time to go then. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Work place
Branch Manager (Former Employee), Houston, TXJanuary 13, 2014
Assisting customer with loans, training new employees, marketing to grow business,
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun working environment.
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Colorado Springs, COJanuary 9, 2014
Pros: new things to learn everyday.
Cons: having to deny loans to some customers.
Help customers with their loans. Accept payments. Learned how to make collection calls. Management very fun and friendly Co-workers are awesome. Hardest part was having to deny customers for a loan. Most enjoyable was being able to help the customers with their needs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Orlando, FLJanuary 7, 2014
I love this job. Thank you for investing in me. Totally awesome!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging Work
Manager (Former Employee), Midwest City, OKJanuary 7, 2014
Pros: pay was great
Cons: having to locate customers for payment
I enjoyed helping people when it came to them needing a little money to get them through their day. Meeting new people and making new friends.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
TERRIBLE
Center Manager (Former Employee), COJanuary 2, 2014
Cons: everything
GET THREATS FROM CUSTOMERS DAILEY AND HR DOES NOTHING TO HELP
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The job is great, there is always room to grow
Center Manager (Current Employee), Pearl, MSDecember 27, 2013
It is a very nice company to work for. It is a pleasure meeting new people. Throughout life, you never know what kind of impact that you have on someone's life. Being able to meet people and know that you have blessed them in some kind of way mean a lot to me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
none
Divisional Training Manager (Current Employee), Phenix City AlDecember 27, 2013
This is a payday loan company and I believe that it will be closing soon
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Indifferent work environment
ASSISTANT MANAGER (Former Employee), IllinoisDecember 21, 2013
Pros: laid back environment
Cons: pay and no opportunity
Advance America is a very laid back workplace. The daily expectations are very comfortable, but very often the routine of things change. Because the job requires much change, if you are not able to adapt to new situations this is not the job for you. However, I enjoyed my job, but it was only a job (not career)... The pay and chance for advancement – more... is also not the greatest... – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
na
Manager (Former Employee), Milton WADecember 19, 2013
most of the stores closed,management was not supportive, overall customer's were great. I was the manager so I was in charge of write off accounts and providing payment plans.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Royal Oak, MIDecember 17, 2013
Pros: the experience
Cons: no security glass or guard, working alone
This job will test and help improve your customer relation skills. For the most part while I worked for the company I worked alone. Safety is always a concern for anyone at any workplace. That is the downside.
You are able to get to know workers from other locations. And build a connection with them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work Environment
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Tallahassee, FLDecember 16, 2013
Pros: managers, coworkers, culture
Cons: no cons!!
I enjoyed collections, the pay was decent and the managers were great. I enjoyed meeting different people of all walks of life!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive company
Center Manager (Current Employee), Detroit, MIDecember 12, 2013
Pros: bonuses
Cons: not making revenue
Very busy day at work you will learn different personality. Managing your store and keep it organized to maintain a warm welcoming store. Co- workers we work as a team it's always a one on one meeting every morning to be on the same level before opening the store. The hardest part of the job is worrying about being robbed and if we are going to make – more... it home to our family. The most enjoyable part of my job is making it home everyday to my children. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Receptionist
Customer Service (Former Employee), new iberiaNovember 27, 2013
Customer Service answering phone's, payday loans, money order's and money gram.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and goal setting envioroment.
Manager Assistant (Former Employee), Milwaukee, WINovember 27, 2013
I loved to work with the public meeting new people was an ongoing project.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
giving loans and customer service
Divisional Training MGR (Former Employee), Fitzgerald, GANovember 24, 2013
Pros: people
Cons: traveling alot
providing loans to people that qualify
learned how to be patient with people
excellent, promoted within company
my co workers was great and very communicative
the hardest part of the job was turning customers down when they didn't qualify
the most enjoyable part was my coworkers and the customers

About Advance America

Like any entrepreneurial venture, Advance America started as a business enterprise in 1997 to fulfill a marketplace need. In the – Read more

Advance America Photos