Find companies:
Advance America
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
354 reviews

Advance America Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great customers poor management
Center Manager (Former Employee), Charlottesville, VAMarch 10, 2014
Making phone calls and helping customers that came in with payday and title loans.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its ok
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Auburn, CAFebruary 28, 2014
Pros: 45 min lunches, short hours on saturdays and sundays off.
Cons: pay isnt the best for the work you do employees are not appreciated
Everyday was different, Most days were moderate. The busiest days were the first week of the month and the last week of the month. I learned to be patient because you will deal with a variety of people everyday. Most of my co- workers were nice. Hardest part of the job was finding more do to after your goals were met. Most enjoyable part was seeing – more... customers and becoming friends with them and building good re-pore. Management could use a little more work, they are not very motivational and do not appreciate what you do only focus on what needs work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This company offered a friendly work environment
Branch Manager (Former Employee), Danville, KYFebruary 26, 2014
Pros: friendly work environment
A typical day at work was meeting and speaking with current and potential customers . I enjoyed working for this company due to friendly work environment and I learned from my Divisional Director that you have to lead by example.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Great Place to work, Bonuses
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee), Abingdon, VAFebruary 23, 2014
Pros: bonuses
Open/close store, field collections, made me feel part of a group that has an important purpose in the world of finance. No hard parts of the job. Everyday was enjoyable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Training Required
Assistant Manager/ Loan Officer (Current Employee), Tulsa, OKFebruary 21, 2014
Pros: although there was much to do, it typically wasn't micro managed and at a self pace. within reason, of course.
Cons: lack of direct training through upper management, computer based training modules that don't have any personal or direct training with administrators, constant transfering without much knowlegde in advance
My typical work day. I would open the store at 9:30AM each day. We first counted safe to balance, create drawer for transactions, read over email and daily stats, verify any potentially available funds due to company by calling and verifying with bank. Then open store. Would assist customers with financial needs and continue collections on past due – more... accounts in between new customers.

In this position I did learn a lot about state law. You also have to learn how to interact with all different types of people from all walks of life. The way this is different than my previous work experience is that this is face to face and much more personal than over-the-phone collection and call centers.

Management, in my opinion, needed to be on the same page. They had a tendency to turn against one another and there would be quite a bit of conflict between them. It is very difficult to maintain a positive attitude and grow in an institution that doesn't have a strong upper management.

My co workers were amazing. Most very friendly and willing to help at any time and for any reason. We did our best to stick together. There are typically only two employees per center, so contact was fairly limited.

The hardest part of my job was having to issue "assistance" to people that I just didn't believe would help them. It is very difficult to be your best you when you don't fully believe in the job you are doing.

The most enjoyable part of my job was getting to know my customers on a personal level and being able to see them face to face. I thoroughly enjoyed the company/consumer relationship more that way. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer server
Center Manager (Former Employee), Miami, FLFebruary 17, 2014
At Advance America you get to meet people all different kind of people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and challenging workplace
Assistant Financial Center Manager (Former Employee), Sarasota, flFebruary 12, 2014
A typical day at work would include making deals for short term loans, collection calls, cash handling. I learned a lot of aspects of the financial field. Management was kind of ruff. Co workers were fun. The hardest part of the job was the hours. The most enjoyable part of the job was the customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Advance America
Manager (Current Employee), Abilene, TexasFebruary 5, 2014
Pros: off on sundays
Cons: work long hours......
calling customers, customer service, auto title loans, buying gold, money gram, payday loans,
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An amazing place to work with great co-workers
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Maryville, MOFebruary 4, 2014
Pros: great co-workers
Cons: not many hours, not great pay.
In my normal work day at Advance America, I would help customers, handle cash, file customers folders/ checks, make collections calls, answer emails from my DDO,deposit money into our bank, verify customers funds with their banks, input data into our computer programs, help customers with Tax preparation, and document every customer I helped/ called – more... during the day. I learned a lot while working with this company. I learned how to test gold for it's purity, and how Payday Advances really work, and the co-workers were phenomenal, they were all very nice, and willing to help you whenever you needed it. I think for me the hardest part of the job was the down time. We had a few hours during the day where the store would be completely dead. We wouldn't have any calls or customers coming in so I had to make up things to do, but it was all worth it, because the best thing about this job was I got to know all of my customers individually and started to feel like they were actually incorporating me into their daily lives. I wouldn't trade my time with this company for anything. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Entry level Management Title
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Wichita, KSJanuary 27, 2014
Pros: good security and gives a good title to employees.
Cons: actual holiday off only, not very well managed at times
Pay attention to detail, based on reviewing bank statements, pay stubs, and ID's. Make sure customer is treated with respect and do everything to our full potential to help meet customers needs. Help customers with bill payments, money sends or receives. Perform weekly check audits and make sure all checks are written correctly and have the appropriate – more... stamps. Answer all incoming calls and make proper collection calls everyday. Keep track of P and L's and monthly performance revenues. Communicate with coworkers to come up with new ideas to profit the center and market in new areas to earn partnerships with different businesses. Hardest part of the job is observation and attention to detail on information brought in by customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
?Working with people by helping fit their needs.
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Antioch, ILJanuary 27, 2014
Pros: greeting new and old customers, making the customer satisfied they came to our establishment.
Cons: collection calls that have to made to the clients.
I really enjoyed my job with Advance America. We really had good friendly customers that liked coming to our center before it closed down. I worked with many good people and great bosses (whom) I miss. I think that this company is a great way for people wanting to get involved with learning knowledge on payday/installment loans by introducing them to – more... what they are about by offering the other services that this company does besides payday/installment loans. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and demanding work place
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLJanuary 27, 2014
A typical day was coming into the store at 0800 to being your daily paperwork and making phone calls. Reminding customers of due dates and keeping in touch regarding delinquent accounts. You get to know extremely interesting people and enjoy working with your team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management, no care for employees.
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Murray, KYJanuary 25, 2014
Pros: healthcare
Cons: breaks, vacation time, management
Management definitely plays favorites. What's fine for one employee is unacceptable for the next. Rules and policies are changed often, sometimes enforced, other times ignored. Things are promised to employees and never given. The management team does NOT care about the happiness or well-being of employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
CSR/Assistant Manager in Training (Current Employee), Jacksonville, FLJanuary 24, 2014
My review of the company is pretty neutral. I feel in some ways they underpaid there employees and as much as we do, we tend to get under paid. I love the people i work with and i love my customers but its just the pay that gets me and makes me want to move on.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Uncomfortable Work Enviroment
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Houston, TXJanuary 23, 2014
Pros: good benefits, one-hour lunch breaks
Cons: bad management
A typical day at work was pretty unpredictable working for Advance America. I worked here for about four months and did not enjoy it very much. A typical day at work included my usual job responsibilities like making phones calls to customers, giving out cash loans, etc., but the management for the store I worked for was not so pleasant. The manager – more... was a bit emotionally unstable and mainly took her bad days out on me. I felt very uncomfortable and nervous most of the time because I never knew when I was going to get yelled out for not apparent reason. My manager was my only other co-worker, so it was impossible to avoid her. I'd say that the hardest part about this job would most definitely be the management. I learned a lot working here about how to provide someone a loan and cash, but I also learned that not everyone can be nice. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working environment inside of the office
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Hattiesburg, MSJanuary 15, 2014
Pros: working environment
Cons: field calls
I was really excited about working with Advance America when I was first hired. I enjoyed the work I was being trained to do and I loved the work environment. However, they implemented field calls into my job description after a few months of working there. Field calls are when you go out to customer's homes and jobs for collection purposes. I decided – more... it was time to go then. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Work place
Branch Manager (Former Employee), Houston, TXJanuary 13, 2014
Assisting customer with loans, training new employees, marketing to grow business,
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun working environment.
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Colorado Springs, COJanuary 9, 2014
Pros: new things to learn everyday.
Cons: having to deny loans to some customers.
Help customers with their loans. Accept payments. Learned how to make collection calls. Management very fun and friendly Co-workers are awesome. Hardest part was having to deny customers for a loan. Most enjoyable was being able to help the customers with their needs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Orlando, FLJanuary 7, 2014
I love this job. Thank you for investing in me. Totally awesome!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging Work
Manager (Former Employee), Midwest City, OKJanuary 7, 2014
Pros: pay was great
Cons: having to locate customers for payment
I enjoyed helping people when it came to them needing a little money to get them through their day. Meeting new people and making new friends.

About Advance America

Like any entrepreneurial venture, Advance America started as a business enterprise in 1997 to fulfill a marketplace need. In the – Read more

Advance America Photos