Advance Auto Parts Employee Reviews

Found 2,732 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy
Mobile driver (Former Employee) –  Schenectady, NYApril 1, 2017
While being a driver my job title wasnt limited. I also helped customers(with the register and on the sales floor), answered phones, stocked the shelves. Helped unload a weekly truck.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a last resort
Sales Representative (Current Employee) –  Nederland, TXApril 1, 2017
very disorganized
does not compensate based on experience
offered fifty cents($ 0.50) raise to enter management
no committment from upper management
you call corporate, & redirected to international (foreign) call center
no commissions
no benefits
i have been dancing with them for full time status
they did not acknowledge my employee anniversary
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Perfect for entry and jr. level professionals
Manager, CRM Marketing (Business-to-Business) (Current Employee) –  Raleigh, NCMarch 31, 2017
If you are just starting your career and want to work for a place where you can learn a little and explore what you "really" what to do with your career, this is a great place to work.

However, if you are a mid-Sr. level professional with strong experience, this will be a great place to make decent money, but you'll working like a CEO of a start up. Basically, you will be a one-man show.

It all depends on your taste. It is not a terrible place, but it is very flat. They will work you like a mule and if you speak up they will treat you like an outsider. They ask for the truth only to shut you out if/when you speak up. Just keep your head down, do your work, don't challenge leadership.

Don't count this organization out, but be careful of lowering the quality of your resume by staying too long if is not working.

Diversity is a bit of an issue as well - just pay attention, take your time and ask questions.
Pros
Laid back culture and work-life balance. Frat boys are welcome
Cons
Cons are relative. Frat boys are welcome
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Go attitude
Delivery Driver (Former Employee) –  Kissimmee, FLMarch 31, 2017
overall great. taking the time to teach people. learn as you go and networking. great job for interaction never a dull moment. I loved the driver part of this job.
Pros
free meals and water
Cons
lunch, breaks, Insurance a must either by state or private
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoying place to work
Sales, Delivery and Parts (Current Employee) –  Chambersburg, PAMarch 31, 2017
I enjoy meeting and interacting with people that come into the store. the employees work as a team. Like working with the customers and helping them to find the issue that is wrong with their car
Pros
teamwork
Cons
hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent company culture.
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Souderton, PAMarch 30, 2017
This company was an average experience. The job is not that intensive, but morale is at a low, and it shows in the customer service. Overall, a decent job to supplement an income with, but it is non constructive beyond that.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nobody follow the rules establish by the corporation.
Assist customers (Former Employee) –  Hollywood, FLMarch 30, 2017
I think the managment team needs to be more into what the business needs vs. Been too friendly with the employees & promote their friends & not the people that really proves that they can do the job.
Pros
DISCOUNTS FOR EMPLOYEE ARE VERY GOOD.
Cons
SHOULD LOOK INTO BETTER EMPLOYEES.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job for a good while
Retail Floor, Commercial Parts Assistant (Current Employee) –  Patapsco, MDMarch 29, 2017
I've worked at Advance for five years now. I've never been a real "car guy" so I didn't know much about car parts at first, but since then everyone helped me learn.
Pros
Friendly staff, regular hours, medical benefits
Cons
Dangerous neighborhood, fewer staff but more workloads, changing rules
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Corporation
Closing Manager (Former Employee) –  Muncie, INMarch 29, 2017
Upper management doesn't care about lower level employees. Even if you do an exceptional job for years don't expect a pay raise. There is some opportunity for advancement, but you won't get vary far. The people you work with are the best part about this job.
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned a lot!!!Love working there,and co-workers were great!!
Auto Parts Sales (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLMarch 29, 2017
We all worked together to make the store look clean and organize we took care of each other it was a really fun place to work even though it was no good benefits
Cons
No real benefits to the employees
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and friendly co workers
Mobile pro (Former Employee) –  Honesdale, PAMarch 29, 2017
I enjoyed working with most staff. My responsibilities included taking phone calls, working front counter and delivering parts to customers.The hardest part of my job was dealing with corporate. Trying to make the required sales.
Pros
fast paced job
Cons
working for corporate
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I guess to say really slow
PARTS SPECIALIST (DIY) (Former Employee) –  Forest Park, GAMarch 29, 2017
had a blast with meeting new people, love be a person that could help
nice and mean people I would say. would I go back? No! Just too slow for progression
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work, Everyone works together as a team
Commercial Parts Professional (Current Employee) –  Clifton Park NYMarch 28, 2017
Good place to work, energetic and fast paced. Fellow employees are fun to work with and it is a team effort. Only downfall is raises are slim to none and advancement isn't always available.
Pros
Good work environment, Friendly people to work with
Cons
Little to no advancement, Raises are far and few between
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for part time work
Retail Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Wadsworth, OHMarch 28, 2017
Not really a career more of a part time endeavor. It was fun to meet new people all the time but was taxing personally on trying to figure out what they needed.
Pros
Part time
Cons
Not a career
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I liked it there
Store Manager - District Manager (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMarch 28, 2017
A great place to work! Fun people, great customers (most of the time) and a DM that understands what we are trying to do. I liked it there and it was a tuff choice to leave.
Pros
Good people
Cons
Pay could be better.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No advancement
Key Holder/Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Byron, GAMarch 28, 2017
If you like cars and need a job fine, but if you expect to get paid for knowing about your stuff and being educated, forget it. Minimal pay, minimal hours, no advancement. They will hire outside company before moving somebody up.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved working here.
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Deridder, LAMarch 28, 2017
My manager was great and the work was fun. The people I worked with were awesome as well, but it didn't pay enough sadly. It seems like every time you find a job you love, it doesn't pay enough to survive working there.
Pros
Fun
Cons
No money
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at Advance Auto Parts is a great part-time experience.
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Fostoria, OHMarch 28, 2017
The sales environment is exciting and it's easy to achieve a sense of true accomplishment as you help customers find what they need. I enjoy working there and can see many places where I could advance in a career.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Commercial Parts Manager (Current Employee) –  Wheaton, MDMarch 27, 2017
It is a great place to begin if you have an interest in the automotive field. You get the chance to learn and have car parts in your hands and visually see what you're selling to the customer.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
short hours but i enjoyed the work
Mobile Pro (Former Employee) –  McComb, MSMarch 27, 2017
I worked as a delivery driver for a few month and I really enjoyed my time there. I just needed more money and more hours. that is the only reason I resigned.
Pros
good work enviorment.
Cons
short hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Advance Auto Parts. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 2,736 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Compensation/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.2
Culture
3.4