Find companies:
Advance Auto Parts
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,114 reviews

Advance Auto Parts Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place for work as a college student
Cashier (Former Employee), Guaynabo, PRJuly 18, 2014
Good place for work as a college student. Learned how to do inventory and handle cash, credit transactions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retail work environment
Assistant store manager (Former Employee), Brockton, MAJuly 18, 2014
High stress work environment. customhouses where mostly un-happy with most results of not having parts on hand, network system to track parts, history, warranty was bad. Not a happy place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice place to work, just don't pay very well
Supervisor Kirk Harris (Former Employee), Hagerstown, MDJuly 17, 2014
Pros: hour lunch, get any time off
Cons: pay wasn't good
Advance was a great job to have, we were treated well, the work environment was nice, management was well trained.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and good workplace.
Sales Representative (Former Employee), Watson, LAJuly 16, 2014
Room to help you grow in understanding of auto parts and care.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a good job, fast paced at times and good people to work with.
Retail Parts Pro (Former Employee), Kansas City, MOJuly 16, 2014
I enjoyed this job. It was the beginning of my last 2 years. I was low man on the totem pole but enjoyed driving all over town delivering parts. I loved my shops. I just couldn't advance in the store I was in so that was a downfall.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work just for the love of cars
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee), Orlando, FLJuly 15, 2014
Pros: car knowledge
got to learn allot more about cars during the time i was employed there and even got to deliver parts for a short while...just had issues with always getting the short end of things with management
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work, with great employees
Retail Parts Pro (Former Employee), Tifton, GAJuly 14, 2014
Pros: great family friendly workplace
Cons: hours
Advance auto parts was one of the best jobs i had. Hours are hard to deal with
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Everyday is a new day
Store Manager (Current Employee), Linden, NJJuly 13, 2014
Pros: team / family oriented
Cons: not all the time i was able to sit down and actually have a quick lunch.
First person in building, walk sales floor and backroom making sure is ready for business, if it was not next step would be to be documented and have a sit down with employees. Another morning task was to read prior day reports, such as sales for DIY and Commercial, returns, inventory reports, shrink , review individual team member performance and when – more... available P&L (Profit & Loss) Report. Open and verify all registers as well as both safes, make a daily plan for team members, review all e-mails. As soon as team members start to arrive, speak with each one and communicate plan for the day. Commercial Manager and I speak for a few minutes regarding his 10X10 calls to make for the day, also make sure he and drivers are aware of sale promotions going on. Most of rest of the day take care of our Customer and Make The Day.

Most hardest part of the job was to finish all important tasks and make the day on a very busy day in both DIY and Commercial Sales.
As for the most enjoyable, honestly was to be able to have a great communication with my team members and also see how many loyal customers we had due to our customer service towards them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Sales Associate/ 2nd Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Pittsburgh, PAJuly 13, 2014
long term job secure learned about the business everyday management and other co workers were very helpful
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent Workplace
Management (Current Employee), Cleveland, TNJuly 12, 2014
learned mechanical skills enjoyed the opportunity to help people fast paced retail environment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding
Retail Parts Pro and Sales Representative (Current Employee), Atlanta,GaJuly 10, 2014
Rewarding place to work. I had the opportunity to assist the community.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Advance Auto Parts
Retail Parts Pro (Current Employee), Memphis, TNJuly 10, 2014
Pros: vehicle knowledge
Cons: low salaries
Great company, an average day is 8 to 10 hours long, I have become very skilled in the area of problem solving and vehicle trouble shooting. The management team provides great leadership and my co-workers are like family. The hardest part of the job is when you can not help someone or their problem is just to serious for store level, and the most enjoyable – more... part of the job is when you get a chance to satisfy that one customer that is in bad shape that really needed your services. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok job for males, not so much for females
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Bluefield, WVJuly 9, 2014
Pros: enjoyed working with most of the co-workers
Cons: no breaks unless you were a smoker, no respect from some men
females were expected to do the same jobs as males such as installing batteries, and the customers did not respect the females
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
Sales Represerntative (Former Employee), Menomonie, WIJuly 9, 2014
Pros: learnng about parts/merchandise, greeting and helping customers, flaxible schedule
Cons: mostly night and weekend work
On a typical day I would greet customers, answer phones, run the register, look-up and order parts, help customers with any questions and installing parts on their vehicle (windshield wipers, batteries, etc.) download faults from vehicles, clean and close the store. I worked here part time, it was really fun, and a change of atmosphere for me. The hardest – more... part of the job was learning to use the scanner machine and decipher what the codes meant so I could convey the correct information to the customer. The most enjoyable part was learning about the merchandise and helping customers make the best choice for them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Space Planner (Current Employee), Bloomington, MNJuly 7, 2014
Large company with a smaller company feel and culture. Opportunity for growth based on area of expertise.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
szcc
mobile parts pro (Current Employee), Rochester, NYJuly 7, 2014
n/aDeliver customers parts
Sales at the counter and take calls from time to time.
Customer service. stock shop shelves
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Advancing Out
Sales Associate/Delivery Driver (Former Employee), Oxon Hill, MDJuly 7, 2014
Pros: working with people to my best abilities.
Cons: the management.
This in particular job i would have to say the best part of it was being able to work with the customers and helping in anyway i can.The hardest part was the management,when your the manager you lead with and by example not by personal conflicts towards your team members.I have learned that even though a person may be the leader they don't always lead – more... there staff to success. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Anti Military
Driver (Former Employee), Allentown PAJuly 7, 2014
The GM at my store is Anti-Veteran/Military. you will work EVERY holiday. The pay is horrible.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
easy going environment to work in
Team member (Former Employee), Carlisle, PAJuly 4, 2014
Most enjoyable part of the job is to help customers fix there vehicles
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Retail Environment
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Martinsburg, WVJuly 3, 2014
A typical day at work depends on your position. As a sales associate you answer phones and provide solutions to automotive problems. The pay and benefits could be better. Good job if you are a student or if you have your sites on becoming a manager.

About Advance Auto Parts

Advance Auto Parts, Inc. (Advance) operates within the United States automotive aftermarket industry, which includes replacement – Read more

Advance Auto Parts Photos