Find companies:
Advance Employment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
33 reviews

Advance Employment Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable part of the job
CSR Rep (Former Employee), Jackson, MIAugust 19, 2014
Pros: giving good customer service
Cons: not being able to find a resolution that fits the customer's needs.
The most enjoyable thing about working at this call center is the ability to talk to a multitude of people and be able to go through their accounts with them and give pointers on how to save energy in their home. I am able to de-escalate a customer who is on the phone who may be upset at the beginning but very pleased by the time the phone call is over – more... by being able to find ways that will assist them. It is such a nice feeling when, at the end of the day, to know that you may have made a difference in someone's life. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed the different positions I held while employed with this temp agency.
General Laborer/ Machine Operator (Former Employee), Kalamazoo, MIAugust 11, 2014
Pros: chance to work at different jobs.
Cons: health care was expensive if you chose to have it.
I worked at three different businesses while employed at Advance, I was hired in at the last position I held while employed here.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome customer service, always working to make sure their employees are content
Machine Operator (Former Employee), Portage, MIJuly 6, 2014
A typical day of work consists of basic manufacturing/industrial work. I worked eight hour shifts monday - friday with a ten hour shift on saturday. I received a lot of hands on training and got to meet a lot of interesting people. This job helped me socialize and work with others in a team setting. This company also made sure I was completely satisfied – more... before putting me in any position. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Advance Employment
Construction Flagger (Current Employee), Jackson, MIJune 24, 2014
Upper management is really nice but sometimes does not know exactly what to do or how to handle certain situations. Work fast to solve issues and never show disrespect.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall
Prep Cook (Current Employee), Lansing, MIMay 28, 2014
This was a good place to work and have nice people to work with and get along with
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad place
Automation Technician (Current Employee), Cosma Casting, Springfield, MIMay 23, 2014
Pros: good pay if you don't have a life.
Cons: they do not tell you the truth upon interview
I am currently working a job through them and was told I was to be a straight 40 hour a week no weekends, holidays etc. I have been there for almost 90 days and had one weekend off, worked both three day holiday weekends that have come, and average 16 plus hours of overtime per pay period!! Do not work for this company they will tell you they will give – more... you the moon and give nothing!!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Motavated staff, helping you find a job!
Line worker (Former Employee), Mt. Pleasant, MIMay 22, 2014
Pros: postive staff
Cons: not a lot of jobs to choose from.
The staff here is really motivated to helping you find a job that is suited for you!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable work enviornment
Welder/General Labor (Former Employee), Jackson, MIMay 7, 2014
I enjoyed the job, people, management, and most of all, the customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great job to have!
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Jackson, MIApril 30, 2014
Pros: full time position
Cons: prolonged sitting
- Answering phones at high call volumes each day. Setting arrangements and restoration dates for service.

- I learned how to work independently in a team setting.

- There were many different supervisor's and sometimes it was hard to keep track of who was my supervisor.

- My co-workers would encourage me to push myself harder to reach goals.

- The – more... hardest part of the job was meeting call times

- The most enjoyable part of the job was there was always something new to learn. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No room for advancement with NCO
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Jackson, MSApril 22, 2014
Cons: very little bathroom break time
I was never told that I was eligibility for the few benefits that I could get. There were open enrollment signs but was unaware that being there only a few months I was eligible for these benefits. With NCO, there is no chance for advancement. Would not recommend this posistion to an adult looking for a career.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outgoing staff. Felt more like dealing with close friends then associates.
Assistant Account Manager (Former Employee), Kalamazoo, MiApril 16, 2014
I worked internally and externally for Advance Employment and I have to say it is by far the best staffing firm I have ever worked for. Other staffing firms aren't as polite, thorough, and willing to help an individual with getting started.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work I recommend it to no one.
Materials Administrative Assistant I (Former Employee), Mount Pleasant, MIMarch 24, 2014
Really great place to be. Always made sure I was comfortable where I was working. Made sure I was safe at work. Cared for their employeees!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a job
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Jackson, MIJanuary 1, 2014
Pros: steady work, bonuses, friendly co-workers
Cons: you are not important, short breaks, mandatory overtime, long days with irate customers, attendance system
I worked for this company for 5 years. The pay was barely enough to sustain, but it was steady employment with good security as long as you knew what not to do (keep your call time and transfer rate down, keep up with your attendance, respect the customer and don't let your supervisors see or hear anything that might resemble a cell phone). The work – more... was dreary and monotonous, except for the occasional irate customer (there were some days I actually hoped for a few just to liven things up). Don't expect to be treated like anything important if you work here. I laughed out loud when I read the earlier review that compared employees to cattle because that is what I had been saying for years. The company I worked for was one of the most consistently hiring places in town and because of that we were disposable. You can be told at a moment's notice (less than 24 hours) that the next day, or week, or the rest of the month is mandatory 8-6 Monday-Friday. Supposed days off don't matter. I had to push back 2 trips because of mandatory overtime. The attendance system is merciless. If you want to keep a high ranking and have the option of choosing your schedule, you better pray life doesn't throw you any curves. I watched a woman on my team walk up to our supervisor in tears because her mother had died and they had given her an infraction for taking time off. There is no room for life's little emergencies. Doctor's notes don't matter. If your numbers are not punched in for any reason, you have an infraction. Oh and if you do work for this company and happen to quit for any reason, make sure it is not something that's going to fall through, because your 2 week notice cannot be rescinded and you are ineligible to work for Advance again for 6 months. At least it's a job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Multitasking and good place to work.
Machine Operator (Former Employee), Kalamazoo, MIOctober 23, 2013
Pros: steady schedule
Cons: short breaks.
I have worked in two factories, placed by Advance Employment. I worked at American Axle in Three Rivers, MI and Advantage Sintered Metals in Battle Creek, MI. Both places have given me the discipline for a steady work place and hours.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a temp agency.
Temp (Former Employee), Mount Pleasant, MIOctober 14, 2013
Pros: lots of overtime, lots of money to be made.
Cons: delfield employees.
They sent me to Delfield. A terrible place for any temp ever to go.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service Representive
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Jackson, MISeptember 17, 2013
I learned how to do bills for different energy companies. Starting up accounts and taking payments over the phone.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed atmosphere, as long as you're perfect.
Customer Service Rep (Former Employee), Johnstown, PAJuly 27, 2013
Pros: nice people, fairly relaxed, options to leave early on slow days.
Cons: pay...inequitable gas employees wouldn't do job for triple pay.
Took incoming calls from Inequitable Gas customers regarding their gas bill. Ridiculous procedures demanded for handling each call. Smug gas company reps frequently attended training classes to make sure the line was being toed, or maybe they were just amazed that a sub company was following their ludicrous plan. No way would their own employees do – more... this. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive and workplace with monthly prizes for atendance and work quality
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Jackson, MIMay 21, 2013
Pros: well maintained workplace, competent supervisors, 1on1 help.
Cons: the computer systems tended to crash on a weekly basis. and our equipment was a little outdated
A typical day revolved around sitting at a desk and talking on the phone for 4 to 8 hours. I learned how to maintain my composure and show compassion. The company is very well managed and the staff is knowledgeable and eager to help. We would receive a monetary bonus if we could reach all three of our adherence goals for the month and there were monthly – more... drawings for prize baskets for people with perfect attendance. My co-workers were very nice and friendly however it was hard to make many lasting friendships when taking back to back phone calls. The hardest part of the job was listening to someone blame me for their utilities being shut off or for the weather problems that would temporarily delay their service being reconnected. The best part of the job was the satisfaction i got when i was able to help a customer to the fullest extent of my abilities. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Somewhat fun
CNC Operator (Former Employee), Jackson, MIApril 17, 2013
I Worked there for a little while but got hurt and after they just let me go and didnt go through them after that
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Every day is different in the office.
Front Office Coordinator (Former Employee), Mount Pleasant, MIMarch 24, 2013
Pros: hours were monday- friday 8 am- 5 pm
Cons: often very busy and unable to take mandatory hour lunch.
As a front office coordinator with this company I was resonsible for answering the multi-line telephone, data entry, filing, greeting associates and guests, administering the pre-employment testing, pre-employment drug screens (as needed), checking references, screening applicants, and other duties as assigned. The management staff was helpful when – more... I needed assistance and my co-workers were friendly. The hardest part of my job was answering questions regarding the website not working over the phone. I enjoyed meeting new people and helping them in any way I could. – less

Advance Employment Photos