Find companies:
Advance Employment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
21 reviews

Advance Employment Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work I recommend it to no one.
Materials Administrative Assistant I (Former Employee), Mount Pleasant, MIMarch 24, 2014
Really great place to be. Always made sure I was comfortable where I was working. Made sure I was safe at work. Cared for their employeees!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a job
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Jackson, MIJanuary 1, 2014
Pros: steady work, bonuses, friendly co-workers
Cons: you are not important, short breaks, mandatory overtime, long days with irate customers, attendance system
I worked for this company for 5 years. The pay was barely enough to sustain, but it was steady employment with good security as long as you knew what not to do (keep your call time and transfer rate down, keep up with your attendance, respect the customer and don't let your supervisors see or hear anything that might resemble a cell phone). The work – more... was dreary and monotonous, except for the occasional irate customer (there were some days I actually hoped for a few just to liven things up). Don't expect to be treated like anything important if you work here. I laughed out loud when I read the earlier review that compared employees to cattle because that is what I had been saying for years. The company I worked for was one of the most consistently hiring places in town and because of that we were disposable. You can be told at a moment's notice (less than 24 hours) that the next day, or week, or the rest of the month is mandatory 8-6 Monday-Friday. Supposed days off don't matter. I had to push back 2 trips because of mandatory overtime. The attendance system is merciless. If you want to keep a high ranking and have the option of choosing your schedule, you better pray life doesn't throw you any curves. I watched a woman on my team walk up to our supervisor in tears because her mother had died and they had given her an infraction for taking time off. There is no room for life's little emergencies. Doctor's notes don't matter. If your numbers are not punched in for any reason, you have an infraction. Oh and if you do work for this company and happen to quit for any reason, make sure it is not something that's going to fall through, because your 2 week notice cannot be rescinded and you are ineligible to work for Advance again for 6 months. At least it's a job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Multitasking and good place to work.
Machine Operator (Former Employee), Kalamazoo, MIOctober 23, 2013
Pros: steady schedule
Cons: short breaks.
I have worked in two factories, placed by Advance Employment. I worked at American Axle in Three Rivers, MI and Advantage Sintered Metals in Battle Creek, MI. Both places have given me the discipline for a steady work place and hours.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a temp agency.
Temp (Former Employee), Mount Pleasant, MIOctober 14, 2013
Pros: lots of overtime, lots of money to be made.
Cons: delfield employees.
They sent me to Delfield. A terrible place for any temp ever to go.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service Representive
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Jackson, MISeptember 17, 2013
I learned how to do bills for different energy companies. Starting up accounts and taking payments over the phone.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed atmosphere, as long as you're perfect.
Customer Service Rep (Former Employee), Johnstown, PAJuly 27, 2013
Pros: nice people, fairly relaxed, options to leave early on slow days.
Cons: pay...inequitable gas employees wouldn't do job for triple pay.
Took incoming calls from Inequitable Gas customers regarding their gas bill. Ridiculous procedures demanded for handling each call. Smug gas company reps frequently attended training classes to make sure the line was being toed, or maybe they were just amazed that a sub company was following their ludicrous plan. No way would their own employees do – more... this. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive and workplace with monthly prizes for atendance and work quality
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Jackson, MIMay 21, 2013
Pros: well maintained workplace, competent supervisors, 1on1 help.
Cons: the computer systems tended to crash on a weekly basis. and our equipment was a little outdated
A typical day revolved around sitting at a desk and talking on the phone for 4 to 8 hours. I learned how to maintain my composure and show compassion. The company is very well managed and the staff is knowledgeable and eager to help. We would receive a monetary bonus if we could reach all three of our adherence goals for the month and there were monthly – more... drawings for prize baskets for people with perfect attendance. My co-workers were very nice and friendly however it was hard to make many lasting friendships when taking back to back phone calls. The hardest part of the job was listening to someone blame me for their utilities being shut off or for the weather problems that would temporarily delay their service being reconnected. The best part of the job was the satisfaction i got when i was able to help a customer to the fullest extent of my abilities. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Somewhat fun
CNC Operator (Former Employee), Jackson, MIApril 17, 2013
I Worked there for a little while but got hurt and after they just let me go and didnt go through them after that
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Every day is different in the office.
Front Office Coordinator (Former Employee), Mount Pleasant, MIMarch 24, 2013
Pros: hours were monday- friday 8 am- 5 pm
Cons: often very busy and unable to take mandatory hour lunch.
As a front office coordinator with this company I was resonsible for answering the multi-line telephone, data entry, filing, greeting associates and guests, administering the pre-employment testing, pre-employment drug screens (as needed), checking references, screening applicants, and other duties as assigned. The management staff was helpful when – more... I needed assistance and my co-workers were friendly. The hardest part of my job was answering questions regarding the website not working over the phone. I enjoyed meeting new people and helping them in any way I could. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
declined a job with them at delfield in mt pleasant, it sounded awful
factory (Former Employee), mt pleasant miMarch 20, 2013
Pros: don't think there were any
Cons: read the review
Last summer I was offered a temp positon through advance emp, in Mt Pleasant, Mi to work at Delfield. And I chose to decline given the terms of the job. First, they told me that for the summer they only pay 9.50/hr while hires during the rest of the year start at 11. Also I was required at my own expense obtain steel toed shoes. The worst thing they – more... told me about it was that I would have to pay dues to the union even though I WAS NOT PART OF THE UNION. The union wants to extort money from those who are not even their members. They said I would be receiving union benefits but wouldn’t tell me what they were. I doubt if I would actually receive anything. This was months before Michigan became a right to work state in which they could not make any such demand. I talked to a former employee of Delfield and their 90 temp to hire is actually a temp to fire positon. They dump all or most just before the 90 days are up. It s a way to get to work hard thinking there is something for them when its just a big lie. Other companies do this. Given all these facts I’m pretty certain this whole delfield situation was a SHAM. I have worked at other temp jobs and they were all pretty awful but this one I’m fairly certain was the one with the most bunch of bad terms and lies. Consider this If you want to work for advance they wanted to push me out the door and hope I didn’t ask any questions. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working for Advance Employment
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Jackson, MIMarch 2, 2013
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
Working for Advance Employment is horrible. They treat their employ horrible. I have filed FMLA for them and they denied it, because of lack of information. Once I went into Advance to give them a file full of paperwork that is when they let me go... It had been 3 weeks with no phone call, emial, or letter sent to my home for notification on FMLA paperwork. – more... Also they make you work 10 hours a day with 1 half hour lunch and 2 fifteen minute breaks. Supervisors are rude, and could care less about you as a person just as long as you work good to make them money. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
employees are undervalued
assembly/weld (Former Employee), Mount Pleasant, MIFebruary 13, 2013
Pros: it was a job
Cons: treated poorly
The temp agency treats the employees like cattle going to slaughter. we are not valued we are not believed when something untrue is said and we defend ourselves when the company that we are assigned to allows bullying.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
By far the worst company I've ever worked for
Laborer (Former Employee), MichiganJanuary 21, 2013
Pros: place you pretty quickly
Cons: rude, don't care about you, micro-managed
They act like they care about you as a person but they don't at all. To them you're just a number. Office staff is very rude.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Company
Clerical (Former Employee), Billings, MTJanuary 8, 2013
This is a wonderful company to be employed by. The most friendly and out going office personal.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun but busy work place
customer service rep (Former Employee), Jackson, MIDecember 14, 2012
A typical day includes answering a lot of phone calls. Taking new orders from customers to connect, disconnect and reconnect services. I also took payments with check credit and debit cards over the phone. Management was wonderful if we ever needed help with any issues they were always there to assist with any problems.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great money if you can stand the heat!
Lead Traffic Regulator (Former Employee), Jackson, MIOctober 31, 2012
Pros: good pay, great people
Cons: work environment, traveling, no breaks whatsoever
I was a traffic regulator for advance employment and usually the lead on jobs. Most crews that we worked for were great, others tough. The job doesn't allow for lunch breaks or really breaks in general. It is hot all summer and the working conditions can be brutal. Usually you have to drive hours from where you live and work between 10-14 hours a day. – more... You never know your schedule until the night prior. It pays well when you do work but you aren't always guaranteed the hours. I personally loved this job, but being seasonal it just doesn't pay the bills! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well managed and organized work environment.
Temp (Current Employee), Three Rivers, MIOctober 7, 2012
Pros: good pay, good hours, great management.
Cons: sometimes lay offs happen.
Working through the temp agency has been an eye opening experience for me. I am learning many management skills that i can use in my advancing career.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a place of work for everyone
customer service rep (Former Employee), jackson miMay 14, 2012
i was very un happy there. there is alot of drama things i dont have time for. managment is rude and plays games.,
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working for Advance Employment. I enjoyed the challenges set forth by my supervisors.
Senior Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Jackson, MIMay 14, 2012
Pros: bonus for hitting goals
Cons: customers were very upset. yelling, screaming, swearing, etc.
This job was difficult some days. Other days it was nice and quiet. I very much enjoyed my co-wokers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good agency
pricing (Former Employee), Luton, ENGAugust 19, 2013
Good agency end always helpful.I never was a problem with the leave or weave.

Advance Employment Photos