Find companies:
Advance Financial
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
29 reviews

Advance Financial Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stucture
Vault Supervisor (Current Employee), Murfreesboro, TNOctober 25, 2014
Pros: cigna insurance
Cons: everything.
Advance financial has a wonderful concept behind it famous slogan, "Friends Helping Friends", but there is lack of structure within the company. I learned that I will find a job that I am happy and cheerful when coming to work. m
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad
CSR/ Teller (Former Employee), Nashville, TNOctober 15, 2014
Bad, I didnt like it...........................................
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
There is a lot of things they can improve on
Teller (Former Employee), Mount Juliet, TNSeptember 23, 2014
company makes you move to a different store every few months to lower employee theft rates/always hated that concept
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job!
Vault Supervisor (Former Employee), NashvilleSeptember 14, 2014
Pros: overtime
Cons: crazy schedule
It is a very stable position! I got to be a manager and gained alot of knowledge in the finance world!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
summary
CSR (Current Employee), Nashville, TNJuly 21, 2014
Long days, no weekend, can be switched to another store every month.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great pay and benefits
CSR Teller Overnight (Former Employee), Nashville, TNJune 25, 2014
Pros: pay and benefits
Cons: long hours
My overnight teller position was responsible for auditing the daytime tellers. Auditing included but was not limited to reviewing contracts, filing, bank verifications, check audits, and making call lists. I worked without supervision until the manager arrived around 7 a.m. Thus, the position required individuals to be able to work well alone and without – more... being supervised. I also gained good time management skills being that most tasks needed to be completed by certain time frames throughout the night. The hardest part of the job was the long hours. However, the company has lots of room for employees to move up and great pay and benefits. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no job security.. Dont apply!!
csr (Former Employee), Antioch, tnJune 8, 2014
Pros: pay
Cons: everything else
DONT APPLY HERE! I was just like you..wanted a better paying job..go somewhere that apperciates Me and my schedule.. Somewhere that actual gives me hours. I thought I finally found that here. In training they preach and rant about how much they love their employees.. How much they care..but its all a lie to get you to stay!!! They dont tell you about – more... the high turnover rates. In my 6 month duration I at least seen 10 people quit or get fired 1 being a store manager and 1 being a district manager. You have no say so in your job..they will tranfer or move you to a different location and you will be the very last to know. There will be unexplainable shortages and whether its you fault or not it will come out of your check and may cost you job (it did mine!!) not to mention they wont run the cameras back or investigate. They will fire you and won't think twice about. They rip off their customers and do the employees the same. If you work there now..GET OUT WHILE YOU CAN! If you really want to work here DONT PLAN TO BE THERE LONG! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service Rep. Overnight
CUSTOMER SERVICE REPRESENTITIVE (Former Employee), Nashville , TNJune 4, 2014
· Responsible for holding the safe overnight,
· Recon of stores daily transaction reports
· Restore facility for the next day
· Assist customers with services.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Fast paced Customer Friendly environment
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), TNMay 24, 2014
Pros: good healthcare, paid time off, sick days, holiday pay
Cons: long hours, short breaks, no fifteen minute breaks, inconsistant scheduling
I really enjoy the work that I do for Advance Financial. Their motto is "Firends Helping Friends" and I believe we do that every day, for example for mothers day we handed out mothers day cards to all the moms. My manager likes us to engage the customers so when something personal comes up in their life we can make sure they feel special and appericated. – more... If I see a customer who is in need of a drink we are encouraged to give them our personal water. Those things make the hard parts of the job eaiser. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful
Customer Service Representative - Overnight (Current Employee), Manchester, TNMay 15, 2014
Pros: great pay
Cons: dishonesty
This place has horrible management and owners. They are the type that promote the undeserving, while not recognizing the hard working individuals. The make money buy cheating the helpless and uneducated. By making you hide fees and not tell them and talk customer in to refinancing their loans so that they will never get them paid off.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good and bad
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), NashvilleApril 27, 2014
Pros: promotion, fair wage, avg benefits
Cons: schedule is terrible, standing entire shift, 1 break, garnishing check, high turnover
I would highly recommend this for single people with no children. The schedule is always changing and Friday through Sunday are their busiest days so you typically don't get those off on a consistent basis. So having time for tball, soccer, dance, or just personal time is out the window. If you know a month, yes 30 days, in advance you may be able to – more... get some unpaid time off. Even though you get 40 sick hrs and 40 vacation time, the sick time is accounted for with a drs note/vacation is requested and approved in advance, it is rare that retail associates get a consecutive week off. The work is easy. The pay is fair. The opportunity for advancement is there but only if you are willing to take on a tremendous amount of responsibility. If your drawer is short at the end of your shift, it gets taken out of your paycheck. If you're over, it does not get deposited. Your shortages are taken out of the overages, supposedly. You have to keep records of it to prove it. They will move you as they see fit. They want tellers to become safeholders, although the company does not officially recognize the position. It is basically 2/3 the duties of a promotion without the pay.

Basically, you need to be a career driven individual to work here. For those with families, its very hard to work and plan activities because of the schedule changes and you must request unpaid time (with blackout days) 30 days in advance. Weekends don't exist after working here. You may get a Saturday or Sunday off but never back to back. The company does its homework and stays at the forefront of the industry. It's hard to form an honest opinion about the workplace because you work beside those that are not happy and those that trying to advance. immediate management is young and does not have a lot of experience in handling people. I like the idea of moving up but I don't feel the company is there to support me. I feel they are there to correct mistakes not build stronger employees. I feel that any given mistake could be my last and there is no adequate explanation for mistakes or preventing them. Instead there is a programmed response and if you don't get it right, you shouldn't work there. There are 3 types of employees here. Retail - bottom, call center - middle, corporate - the top. All 3 get treated differently and have different rules apply to them. Corporate hours are banker's hours (for the most part), weekends free, and holidays off. Call center works 12 hour shifts but has a better bonus structure and gets consecutive days off(a rotating schedule). Retail works whenever they want you to. There is no method or reasoning with this schedule. Rarely get consecutive days off. Never get a whole weekend off because these are "busiest times". Lunch is the only break for shifts over 6 hours. can not take between the hours of 3 -7pm. 6hr shifts do not get a break at all. So the 11 to 8 shift takes their only break just 1.5 hrs into their shift. You will stand the entire time. You will turn into a "courtesy caller" (telemarketer) if your store is slow. Computer hardware and software will crash frequently. And in most cases its at the store's busiest moments. So I'll let you decide what's fair with the difference in employees.

As far as the morality of business, that's a personal choice. I feel that if customers aren't getting it from us, they will elsewhere. I might as well try make a living from it. There are some shady practices. Like lying (redirecting the question, shifting the focus, not disclosing exact amount of fees, halftruths, whatever else you want to call it) to customers.

Mostly, coworkers are willing to provide honest help. But there are some crooked ones that are hard to prove if they should take from you.

Overall, its not as good as they(anyone) makes it sound and its really not as bad as anyone would describe. I've worked for better companies their size. And I've probably worked for worse. Just be aware of anything they tell you. Assume that whatever they tell you, they are steering you from something they don't want you to know or do and you will be advance in this company. Or take with a grain of salt! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great stepping stone
Customer Service Manager (Current Employee), chattanooga, TNFebruary 17, 2014
Pros: free medical ins..great starting pay
Cons: only 30 min lunch...must stand constantly..no chairs allowed
Great starting pay...difficult to get more than 30 hours a week.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
DO NOT APPLY HERE!!!!
Teller (Former Employee), NashvilleFebruary 17, 2014
Pros: pay
Cons: everything else
Working at Advance was a terrible experience that NO ONE should take part in.

They preach in training about how wonderful they treat their employees, while at the same time making you sign papers allowing them to take your hard earned money away from you out of your paychecks if your drawer is short. The company itself brings in a few million dollars – more... every month, whether you lose $20 or $200 they will take every last penny of it from you.

You will NOT get to spend your holidays with your family. But the corporate office people do. (Not fair)

They WILL work you to exhaustion.

They DO NOT work around school schedules. (They give you the days off you need for classes and then work you over 40 hours a week...no time to study or do homework)

They give you a script. You are now their robot. You HAVE to say what they tell you to say or you get written up.

They are write up happy.

They are fire happy.

They WILL NOT pull cameras if you suspect an employee is stealing from your drawer

They have NO paper trail to find errors or mistakes.

They TELL you you made a mistake, they DO NOT prove it to you!

You are no longer a human being capable of making the slightest of mistakes.

If you're a trainee and you're late or your drawer is off, you WILL lose your job immediately.

DO NOT APPLY FOR THIS COMPANY!
They are owned by a money hungry, rich, married couple who hardly have a hand in what takes place in their business.

If you do not like your job with them, they do not care. They tell you to quit because you're just another number to them.

This is a company that is trying to open over 100 locations in the next few years. They're well on their way except they WILL put themselves out of business because all the locations are close to each other putting themselves in competition with themselves. They will no longer have a "busiest store" or "number one store" in their inner rankings.

They're more concerned with opening so many locations that they have terrible supplies in their stores that only work half of the time. Phone lines go down often, their fax machines and scanners rarely send on the first try, their computer system will go down EVERY Friday. Although their "Queen B" of the company will tell you their system is flawless.

If you apply here, good luck. This is all words of experience. You deserve better!!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
money business
Teller/Customer Service (Former Employee), Spring Hill, TNJanuary 26, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: schedules
great growth opportunities if you have no other dreams, very demanding schedule
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced work environment with room for employee growth
Teller/Night Audit (Former Employee), Nashville, TNJanuary 4, 2014
A very employee friendly company that was big on making sure the employee was comfortable with their job (always had training for new and old products) so that they could give the best service to the customer. Owners and corporate people were very open with employees to ensure good lines of communication. Learned how to understand a customer in order – more... to know what product to suggest, and to help them with day to day transactions such as Western Union, bill pays and check cashing. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My day at Advance Financial
Sales Representative (Former Employee), Nashville, TNDecember 10, 2013
Pros: lunches regularly, great insurance with great perks
Cons: not scheduled at same location regularly, unexpected moves.
The day started counting your drawer to make sure your balance was recorded. Advance Financial has an awesome training program. When I finished training, I was able to do 80 percent of the required work, the rest was hands on experience. I enjoyed dealing with the different kinds of personalities everyday. Some of my co-workers will be my friends for – more... the rest of my life. We got lunch on a regular basis and a quick raise and insurance. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast, productive workplace
CSR/Teller (Former Employee), Nashville, TNNovember 26, 2013
Pros: fun friday, free food
Cons: constant still standing
I loved working with the people there as well as my fellow employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Reccomened job for anyone
verification (Former Employee), nashville,tnNovember 1, 2013
Great environment to work however strict rules and not giving employees enough recongnition was a problem. Also they are very quit to fire anyone. I don't recommend this job to anyway management lacks fair opportunites
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good feelings
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Manchester, TNOctober 31, 2013
Pros: fun fridays were we did crazy things
Cons: vagular language
A typical day came in did money count assisted others, learned how to do short term loans title loans signature loans. Management was average so supportive some not, co workers discussable, hardest part of my job was telling someone they were denied, enjoyable was making someones day by them getting approved for any amount.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Worth It
Customer Service Representative/ Sales Person (Former Employee), Nashville, TNOctober 14, 2013
Pros: meeting new people
Cons: scheduling
At first glance it seems as if this company was helping others, and I guess in a way they are. People get caught up in trying to pay this loan back at times. Some were elder people living off of their social security checks and sometimes they didn't have much. It was morally wrong working there knowing people were coming to pay off this "bill" before – more... they paid their real bills just to make ends meet. The scheduling was terrible, ten to twelve hour shifts with thirty minute breaks. I was glad to be let go because I wasn't liking the job too much anymore – less

Advance Financial Photos