Find companies:
Advance Financial
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
37 reviews

Advance Financial United States Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Everyone has a unique experience.
CSR/Teller (Current Employee), Clarksville, TNMarch 27, 2015
Pros: Pay and benefits
Cons: Technology and hours
You get what you put in. This job has a high turn over rate but its worth it if you can make it the first 90 days. I love my job and what I do. My customers are a great part of my day. Advance financial is a great resume builder for someone looking for a more serious career but not much experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ALL PROS TURN OUT TO BE CONS
CSR (Former Employee), NashvilleMarch 27, 2015
Pros: The pros are not available for long.
Cons: The cons rule supreme.
TELL US ABOUT:
A TYPICAL DAY AT WORK?
*always exspect to be terminated at anytime...your job is always on the line

WHAT YOU LEARNED?
*never trust a payday loan company, if they will train you to take advantage of others then they are already taking advantage of YOU! As long as you are able to ignore the fact you have a life and you are human, you have a job! The moment someone at the corporate office has to use their brain to think heads roll. Always the worker ants.OH! THE COMPANY MASCOT IS A WORK ANT!!

MANAGEMENT?
*should be drug-tested regularly, and held accountable for their unproffessionalism and actions when reported. More so a " BUDDY SYSTEM."

YOUR COWORKERS?
*overworked employees that were sold someone else's dream. Someone is always worried about being written up or terminated for being human.

THE HARDEST PART OF THE JOB?
*the constant disappointments and letdowns this job brings along with the lack of any job security, consistent chaos and lack of respect the corporate office and upper management has for the employees home and family lives.

THE MOST ENJOYABLE PART OF JOB?
*leaving.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
decent work place
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Knoxville, TNMarch 10, 2015
Pros: 12.oo hr
Cons: no breaks and too many hours never time for my children worked overtime everyday
Teamwork. Communication skills. Meeting new people and taking care of customer needs. This was the worst company to work. Inconsiderate of employees. Took advantage of customers. Managers are young and very unprofessional. Corporate only cared about them and the managers. When managers made mistakes employees got blamed. worked 10-16 hr shifts daily. Always called in on off days Very high turnover rate because of the inconsideration.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very deceitful company
Customer Sales Representative (Former Employee), columbia,Tn.January 12, 2015
You are required to deceive customers. Not at all a good place to work. You are over worked and under paid. You are promised benefits and bonuses that never come. Also, you are always required to clock out for lunch even if you're working alone. This gives the company free labor.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great paying job; that is all
Branch Manager (Current Employee), McMinnville, TNDecember 4, 2014
Pros: pay
Cons: short lunch breaks, no support
Company is okay to work for, co workers are wonderful. District managers do not care about anything other than revenue.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pay isn't bad, but say goodbye to your family.
Overnight Auditor (Current Employee), Spring Hill, TNDecember 3, 2014
Pros: pay, safe environment, benefits
Cons: scheduling, constant changes, lack of communication, long hours
A typical night at work means auditing every transaction, verifying past-due accounts, filing, cleaning and organizing, and handling customers if needed.
I've seen many new managers come and go and I've observed their different styles of leadership. Upper management frequently visits to check in. There is a huge lack of communication between upper management and the retail employees.
When I do see my co-workers it's only for an hour or two.
The hardest part of the job is trying to keep up with the demands of upper management. The lack of communication makes having a voice very difficult and often leads to misunderstandings.
The shifts are at very inconvenient times for those who have families and the scheduling is very inconsistent.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall fast paced customer friendly evnviorment
Branch Manager (Current Employee), Tullahoma, TNNovember 27, 2014
Working with customers to assist with their financial needs. Ive learned many thing in the customer service aspect to be able to deliver great customer service. The most enjoyable part is helping people. The hardest part is being on call 24/7
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Pay bad company
Branch Manager (Former Employee), Springfield, TNOctober 29, 2014
The company takes advantage of the low income. The loan money at outrageous interest rates and then they bully you into renewing the loan instead of paying it off.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stucture
Vault Supervisor (Current Employee), Murfreesboro, TNOctober 25, 2014
Pros: cigna insurance
Cons: everything.
Advance financial has a wonderful concept behind it famous slogan, "Friends Helping Friends", but there is lack of structure within the company. I learned that I will find a job that I am happy and cheerful when coming to work. m
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad
CSR/ Teller (Former Employee), Nashville, TNOctober 15, 2014
Bad, I didnt like it...........................................
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
There is a lot of things they can improve on
Teller (Former Employee), Mount Juliet, TNSeptember 23, 2014
company makes you move to a different store every few months to lower employee theft rates/always hated that concept
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job!
Vault Supervisor (Former Employee), NashvilleSeptember 14, 2014
Pros: overtime
Cons: crazy schedule
It is a very stable position! I got to be a manager and gained alot of knowledge in the finance world!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
summary
CSR (Current Employee), Nashville, TNJuly 21, 2014
Long days, no weekend, can be switched to another store every month.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great pay and benefits
CSR Teller Overnight (Former Employee), Nashville, TNJune 25, 2014
Pros: pay and benefits
Cons: long hours
My overnight teller position was responsible for auditing the daytime tellers. Auditing included but was not limited to reviewing contracts, filing, bank verifications, check audits, and making call lists. I worked without supervision until the manager arrived around 7 a.m. Thus, the position required individuals to be able to work well alone and without being supervised. I also gained good time management skills being that most tasks needed to be completed by certain time frames throughout the night. The hardest part of the job was the long hours. However, the company has lots of room for employees to move up and great pay and benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no job security.. Dont apply!!
csr (Former Employee), Antioch, tnJune 8, 2014
Pros: pay
Cons: everything else
DONT APPLY HERE! I was just like you..wanted a better paying job..go somewhere that apperciates Me and my schedule.. Somewhere that actual gives me hours. I thought I finally found that here. In training they preach and rant about how much they love their employees.. How much they care..but its all a lie to get you to stay!!! They dont tell you about the high turnover rates. In my 6 month duration I at least seen 10 people quit or get fired 1 being a store manager and 1 being a district manager. You have no say so in your job..they will tranfer or move you to a different location and you will be the very last to know. There will be unexplainable shortages and whether its you fault or not it will come out of your check and may cost you job (it did mine!!) not to mention they wont run the cameras back or investigate. They will fire you and won't think twice about. They rip off their customers and do the employees the same. If you work there now..GET OUT WHILE YOU CAN! If you really want to work here DONT PLAN TO BE THERE LONG!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service Rep. Overnight
CUSTOMER SERVICE REPRESENTITIVE (Former Employee), Nashville , TNJune 4, 2014
· Responsible for holding the safe overnight,
· Recon of stores daily transaction reports
· Restore facility for the next day
· Assist customers with services.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Fast paced Customer Friendly environment
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), TNMay 24, 2014
Pros: good healthcare, paid time off, sick days, holiday pay
Cons: long hours, short breaks, no fifteen minute breaks, inconsistant scheduling
I really enjoy the work that I do for Advance Financial. Their motto is "Firends Helping Friends" and I believe we do that every day, for example for mothers day we handed out mothers day cards to all the moms. My manager likes us to engage the customers so when something personal comes up in their life we can make sure they feel special and appericated. If I see a customer who is in need of a drink we are encouraged to give them our personal water. Those things make the hard parts of the job eaiser.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful
Customer Service Representative - Overnight (Current Employee), Manchester, TNMay 15, 2014
Pros: great pay
Cons: dishonesty
This place has horrible management and owners. They are the type that promote the undeserving, while not recognizing the hard working individuals. The make money buy cheating the helpless and uneducated. By making you hide fees and not tell them and talk customer in to refinancing their loans so that they will never get them paid off.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good and bad
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), NashvilleApril 27, 2014
Pros: promotion, fair wage, avg benefits
Cons: schedule is terrible, standing entire shift, 1 break, garnishing check, high turnover
I would highly recommend this for single people with no children. The schedule is always changing and Friday through Sunday are their busiest days so you typically don't get those off on a consistent basis. So having time for tball, soccer, dance, or just personal time is out the window. If you know a month, yes 30 days, in advance you may be able to get some unpaid time off. Even though you get 40 sick hrs and 40 vacation time, the sick time is accounted for with a drs note/vacation is requested and approved in advance, it is rare that retail associates get a consecutive week off. The work is easy. The pay is fair. The opportunity for advancement is there but only if you are willing to take on a tremendous amount of responsibility. If your drawer is short at the end of your shift, it gets taken out of your paycheck. If you're over, it does not get deposited. Your shortages are taken out of the overages, supposedly. You have to keep records of it to prove it. They will move you as they see fit. They want tellers to become safeholders, although the company does not officially recognize the position. It is basically 2/3 the duties of a promotion without the pay.

Basically, you need to be a career driven individual to work here. For those with families, its very hard to work and plan activities because of the schedule changes and you must request unpaid time (with blackout days) 30 days in advance. Weekends don't exist after working here. You may get a Saturday or Sunday off but never back to back. The company does its homework and stays at the forefront of the industry. It's – more... hard to form an honest opinion about the workplace because you work beside those that are not happy and those that trying to advance. immediate management is young and does not have a lot of experience in handling people. I like the idea of moving up but I don't feel the company is there to support me. I feel they are there to correct mistakes not build stronger employees. I feel that any given mistake could be my last and there is no adequate explanation for mistakes or preventing them. Instead there is a programmed response and if you don't get it right, you shouldn't work there. There are 3 types of employees here. Retail - bottom, call center - middle, corporate - the top. All 3 get treated differently and have different rules apply to them. Corporate hours are banker's hours (for the most part), weekends free, and holidays off. Call center works 12 hour shifts but has a better bonus structure and gets consecutive days off(a rotating schedule). Retail works whenever they want you to. There is no method or reasoning with this schedule. Rarely get consecutive days off. Never get a whole weekend off because these are "busiest times". Lunch is the only break for shifts over 6 hours. can not take between the hours of 3 -7pm. 6hr shifts do not get a break at all. So the 11 to 8 shift takes their only break just 1.5 hrs into their shift. You will stand the entire time. You will turn into a "courtesy caller" (telemarketer) if your store is slow. Computer hardware and software will crash frequently. And in most cases its at the store's busiest moments. So I'll let you decide what's fair with the difference in employees.

As far as the morality of business, that's a personal choice. I feel that if customers aren't getting it from us, they will elsewhere. I might as well try make a living from it. There are some shady practices. Like lying (redirecting the question, shifting the focus, not disclosing exact amount of fees, halftruths, whatever else you want to call it) to customers.

Mostly, coworkers are willing to provide honest help. But there are some crooked ones that are hard to prove if they should take from you.

Overall, its not as good as they(anyone) makes it sound and its really not as bad as anyone would describe. I've worked for better companies their size. And I've probably worked for worse. Just be aware of anything they tell you. Assume that whatever they tell you, they are steering you from something they don't want you to know or do and you will be advance in this company. Or take with a grain of salt! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great stepping stone
Customer Service Manager (Current Employee), chattanooga, TNFebruary 17, 2014
Pros: free medical ins..great starting pay
Cons: only 30 min lunch...must stand constantly..no chairs allowed
Great starting pay...difficult to get more than 30 hours a week.

Advance Financial Salaries

Customer Service Representative
$12.00 per hour
$25,000 per year
Branch Manager
$39,500 per year

Advance Financial Photos

Fun Fridays!