Find companies:
Advanced Dermatology
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
29 reviews

Advanced Dermatology Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Medical Assistant (Current Employee), Niceville, Miramar Beach, PCB, PCAugust 4, 2014
Pros: great boss, easy going, great environment.
Cons: travel time, physician is off a lot, some offices are slow
Some offices are busier than others which makes the work day great. The slow offices make for a long boring day. There are 4 offices, so there is a lot of travel involved. Like any office there are great co-workers and not so good ones. Not a lot of management involved, I worked for just one physician. I enjoyed the job overall, just not a fan of all – more... the traveling. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very dedicated and hard-working staff
Customer Service Representative - C.S.R (Former Employee), Lincolnshire, ILApril 28, 2014
A typical day of work at Advanced Dermatology consisted of intake of patients, processing financial transactions including insurances, handling patients questions in person, as well as, through the call center, I learned a lot about providing patients with compassionate care. Also, I was able to gain experience as a Receptionist/ Customer Service Representative – more... in a medical setting, which taught me the importance of patient privacy. Advanced Dermatology has a great atmosphere of hard-working employees. The hardest part of this job was being able to understand all the different types of procedures, both medical and cosmetic, that were offered in the office. It was essential for me to have a full understanding in order for me to answer the patients questions fully. The thing I enjoyed most while working at Advanced Dermatology was the feeling I would get when a patient would leave our office feeling better about themselves due to the help and treatment they received. I sincerely felt that on some level I was able to help our patients in a way that made a big difference. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun work place, and very deicated to every patient
Medical Administrative Assistant (Current Employee), Saint Joseph, MIApril 28, 2014
Pros: having lunch with co-workers being a part of a team
Cons: no cons
My manager is a wonderful person, as well as the co-workers. A typical day at Advanced Dermatology consists of answering phones, scheduling patients in, pulling there charts, locating files, and anything else that is needed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Receptionist (Current Employee), Manhattan, KSApril 22, 2014
Pros: 4 day work week
Co workers are the best! It makes the job! I have learned a lot at this job!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ver fast paced Dermatology office with the ability to grow and learn on the job
Back Office Medical Assistant (Former Employee), San Clemente, CAApril 16, 2014
Pros: full benefits, pto, free product, free lunches on mohs surgery day- once a week, busy and fast paced office!
Cons: my commute 60 miles everyday, scheduling, no office manager, extremely long hours, lunch breaks if schedule permited, average lunch varied from 5 min to 20 min depending on how many extra pts, surgeries ect were added on for that specific day, no set schedule, did not know until the night before what time i needed to be at work, which made it a stressful place to be able to work for due to my commute- excessive overtime
I loved working at Advanced Dermatology, I loved my co workers, Doctors, but most of all i loved my patients, and patient care is why I love what I do.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i love working for medical offices
Medical Receptionist (Former Employee), Astoria , New YorkApril 1, 2014
Pros: great learning experience
Cons: had to leave
greeting customers and meeting new people each day, very busy office but we always wok together and helped eachother, too bad that i had to stop working as per myOB/gyn orders since I had a risk pregnancy
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
co workers and management
Medical biller (Former Employee), Miami, FLFebruary 24, 2014
Pros: great group of women to work with
Cons: 30 min lunch, no 15 min breaks and micro management
your co workers are all female. Their were some very nice women and also some very caddy women. But this is something you expect working with all women. The management can be very caring and understanding aswell as micro managers. They are always on top of you making sure work is getting done rather than allowing you to manage yourself. The starting – more... pay is great but their are no raises, their hasn't been in 6 years. Benefits are great, and your able to use them after 3 months of working. Most of the employees have been apart of the company for plenty of years, some even before the owner. The company does like to keep the same people so I would say they have good job security. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and learned much in this position.
Medical Assistant (Former Employee), Cincinnati, OHFebruary 3, 2014
Pros: learning from the physician
Cons: very long nights on hold or talking to someone regarding, the accutane program, it was directed by the government, tring to get medication for the patients.
Atypical day at work was very fast paced, room patients for minor surgeries or other dermatology problems. Assisted Dr. Patel with
all aspects of the back office. Dr. Patel was great to work with,
He most always took time to answer questions, teach procedures
and when other help needed. The co-workers were great to work with, the back office and the – more... front office kept in contact as far as schedule changes to ICD 9 codes and other communication.
The hardest part of my job was to make time to talk with the drug reps. It was important to make contact with them for Samples of
medication for the patients. A sample could make the difference in
the patients pocket. They could spend money on a new medication
that doesn't work for them.
The best part of the job was interacting with the other employees and making new friends. Laughing and talking when time appropriate.
The manager liked to micro manage. Sometimes that made
it hard to do our jobs. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun And outgoing
Medical Assistant- Medical Transcribing (Former Employee), Evergreen, COJanuary 5, 2014
Typical work day was from 7-5 M-F. I learned so much about Dermatology while i was there for a short period of time. I learn about the different types of skin cancer and how to help prevent getting skin cancer. Also, helped with WLEX. Learned a lot about acne and all the treatments for acne. Assisted physician with biopsies.

The hardest part of my – more... job was that there was so much work for only 2 MA's. the office was so small that only two MA's could work in the back and when your seeing 50-60 patients a day with biopsies Bac. Cultures and triage things get hectic. We saw so many patients that sometimes you where not able to take a lunch because the Dr. took to long with sx or I would work long hrs and get yelled at by the manager for working overtime when the Dr. needs you to work late.

I would have to say that the most enjoyable part of the job was working with such outgoing and fun coworkers and patients as well. I really enjoyed helping the Dr. with the surgeries. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company, superior never satisfied, always nasty, verbal insults daily.
Registered Medical Assistant (Former Employee), Heathrow, FLJanuary 2, 2014
Pros: the great patients, knowledge gained, procedures/treatments learned.
Cons: never knowing what kind of mood your superior was in, always being put down
1. rapid pt.flow, surgery,(3-4) a day, large volume new/regular patients. (38-42)
2. details, medications, various try set up, pt. prep., surgical assisting preferences, Botox, Sclero Therapy, Juvederm, Sculptra, various sutures, time management.
3. I worked well with co-workers, glad to help out where and when needed.
4. putting up with the continued – more... nasty verbal insults, being called a liar, never allowed to feel comfortable, extreme harsh gossiping, excessive personal drama in the work place.
5. loving my job, various procedures learned, surgical assisting, various types of treatments and the every day patient contact. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Advanced Derm
Administrative/Aesthetician (Current Employee), Orlando, FLDecember 16, 2013
Pros: skincare training and perks.
Cons: no room for growth
I was a very loyal and hard working employee for almost 10 years and it seemed it was very difficult to move forward with my career as an esthetician. Although I trained and received a lot of hands on training and experience, it seemed like they kept holding off on offering me an opportunity.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy, Fast Paced Dermatology Office
Medical Assistant (Former Employee), Douglasville, GADecember 9, 2013
I worked for this Dermatology office for three years. My responsibilities included interacting with patients; both front and back office. A typical day working back office would include making sure each room was patient ready, rooming and working up patients, setting up surgery trays, administering injections, writing prescriptions, assisting during – more... surgery, processing tissue for MOHS procedures, and assisting the doctor with anything to make treating patients easier or more efficient. On days I worked front office I would be responsible for working check in/ check out, handling payments, verifying insurances before appointments, entering EOB's, calling on claims, answering phone calls, and setting up future appointments. Both positions were rewarding in their own way, but at the end of the day the most important aspect of my job was making sure patients went home happy and felt like they received the best treatment possible. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Medical Assistant working directly with Dermatologist.
Medical Assistant (Former Employee), Moline, ILNovember 19, 2013
Pros: enjoyed working directly with patients and physician.
Cons: room for advancement limited, no benefits, pay scale low.
Learned medical instrument sterilization techniques.

Assisted physician in surgical room.

Charted and filed medical information.

Scheduled patients for appointments.

Roomed patients and took vitals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very accommodating to my children's school schedule
Patient Scheduler (Former Employee), Lake Mary, FLOctober 21, 2013
I am very grateful that I could work according to my children's school schedule. My only complaint is that I didn't feel like my talents were utilized to the best benefit of the company. I am a very organized person and could have recommended changes to help with the flow of work. I like to stay busy. Down time between calls is wasted time to me. The – more... company needs a better way to cross train employees to help out with other projects between calls. This will help other departments with overflow work and keep schedulers busy during slow call times. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Advanced Dermatology Review: Profession Team and Friendly Clients
Assistant (Current Employee), New York, NYOctober 17, 2013
Pros: free lunch. friday night drinks
Cons: busy environment
I am writing a review of my current employee Advanced Dermatology because I am very happy with the forming environment. My employer, Advanced Dermatology, is nurturing, caring but at the same time they know how to get the best out of you. I love coming to work. I love putting in the extra file. And I love everbody who works here.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The place was not only pleasant but also there was a chance to interact with patients to make them feel comfortable like at home.
Certified Histology Lab Technician (Former Employee), Dayton, Ohio, USAOctober 1, 2013
Pros: if i needed some literature, the doctor would help me obtain it.
Cons: sometimes the hours were long.
Usually, I would start my day by preparing my lab for much work and make sure that all of the equipment and chemicals were in order. Then, I would see if the nurses needed any help. I would also distribute the instrument pack that I had sterilized the evening before to the surgery rooms. Maintaining the cleanliness of the lab and the surgery rooms was – more... one of my duties as well. Once the surgeries begin, I would assist the doctor and the nurse with supplying them with some extra instruments needed at the moment and also wait for the tissue to be removed and then given to me for processing. Next, I would start my main task of mounting and freezing the tissue and then cutting it on the Microtome Microm 505 E. Stain the mounted on the slides tissue and examine it under a microscope. Following that is the delivery of the slides to the doctor for further examination. During the seven years of working there I found ways of cutting different types of skin tissue and producing perfect slides that were even better than those of the people previously working with me. The most difficult part for me was to learn how to cut fatty tissue, and after about two years that task was achieved to perfection. And the most enjoyable part of the job was that I had my results in a very short period of time and I knew that this work done was saving somebody's life, and later seeing those people's smiles. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very busy fast paced environment
Receptionist /Medical Assistant (Former Employee), Fresh Meadows NYJune 20, 2013
Very heavy scheduling of patients and changing of management, however employee scheduling was flexible and accomodative
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Patient Scheduler (Former Employee), Maitland, FlApril 15, 2013
Pros: a consistent 9 to 5 job no weekends
Cons: no room to grow, lots of favortism
A typical day at work would be setting up my computer and start taking incoming calls which consisted of scheduling patients for dermatology appointments.

I learned to be patient as kindness outweighs being short tempered with patients and your day goes smoother

My co-workers and I learned to help each other out which not only made us more productive – more... but took some of the stress out of our day.
The hardest part of the job was dealing with the offices who were not very organized and management who had no time to offer when they were needed to help us with patients – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed atmosphere, always get the job completed within the 8 hour day.
Histologist -All (Current Employee), Aurora, COApril 15, 2013
Pros: pretty much my own boss. i do all my work in a timely manner and everyone seems to be very happy.
Cons: insurance could be a better plan, but it seems like that everywhere you work.
T ypical Histology day starting with embedding, then cutting on microtome, staining and coverslip slides. Presenting slides to Pathologist. Clean up and then start the grossing of specimens for the next days work. Pretty much by myself with help from assistant for accessioning and getting the reports out to the correct Dermatology Drs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work with great benefits
Receptionist/cashier (Current Employee), Zachary, LAApril 12, 2013
I have worked here for 6 years. The benefits are great. I love the hours. Coworkers have been wonderful. I have learned a lot about dermatology and coding.