Advanstar Communications Employee Reviews

Showing all 11 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work envirnoment
Area Manager (Current Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVApril 26, 2017
Started as a regular super agent and progressively moved up. This company allowed me to use a lot of my outside field sales experience and marketing tactics to advance effortlessly.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a publisher of trade magazines. This company also produced trade shows.
Office Administrator (Former Employee) –  Milford, CTApril 7, 2017
Used a lot of multitasking skills in this position. Reception, mailroom, administer service contracts, switchboard. It was a time very busy. Order office supplies, and maintained inventory.
Pros
Great people to work with.
Cons
Sometime, no breaks. I would have to leave the building for that and lunch.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting place to work
Trade Show Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Milford, CTJune 3, 2015
I was the coordinator for The On Demand Digital Printing and Publishing Exposition. We held trade shows in New York City at the Jacob Javits center each year. It was a fun place to work each team worked together to make sure we helped our participants build their business clientele.
Pros
Helping customers
Cons
Industry suffered after .com companies started to fail
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace and felt like family
Electronic Systems Media Manager (Former Employee) –  Duluth MNAugust 24, 2014
This company taught me a lot. When I started with them in 1999, I knew nothing about computers. By the time I left, I was teaching others how to do things that I had learned on the job. The hardest part of the job was the deadlines but you learned to just put your head to the grindstone and work it until it was completed. I was a salary employee so, you stayed until the work was done. It wasn't an issue for me to work like that. The job was hands on learning with little to no supervision. The co-workers became like my "family" and to this day are some of my best friends.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Only a temp
Webinar Marketing Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Iselin, NJMarch 12, 2014
I'm only a temp at the company so I can't speak on benefits. The hourly temp pay is ok, and the environment is very casual and comfortable. overall it is a cool place to work, I wouldn't refuse full time employment.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dynamic, forward moving company
Operations and Customer Relations Director (Former Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 14, 2013
A dynamic environment where we were encouraged to develop new strategies to keep shows interesting & exciting.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced work environment
Electronic Media Systems Manager (Former Employee) –  Duluth, MNJanuary 28, 2013
High demand work environment. Excellent co-workers. I learned a lot about the office setting, email marketing, SPAM rules, etc.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace with friendly office staff
Facilities Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Iselin, NJJuly 31, 2012
My responsibilities put me in a position to gain all-around experience that may set me up for a great future.
Pros
great opportunities, great location
Cons
spending about $300 a week for transportation to get there & back
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Keep a Positive Attitude
Executive Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Woodcliff Lake, NJJune 2, 2012
Typical day was a fast pasted environment
I learned working one on one rathar than a group of people
Management was communicative
Co-workers were friendly
Hardest part was straightening out the library
Most enjoyable time was interacting with the customers’ needs.
Pros
going out to view venue locations
Cons
making sure i stayed within budget
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting and Nice Staff
Event and Series Manager (Former Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXApril 19, 2012
Enjoyed this while it lasted, helped build and create the BooKoo Arenacross Series.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Advanstar Communications. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 11 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.7
Compensation/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
4.0
Management
4.6
Culture
4.3

Advanstar Communications Reviews by Location